DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Status of Objections and Rejections
The previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112a and 35 U.S.C. 103 are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “the region being defined by the fixed arrangement of the tank’s electrodes, internal structures, and fluid geometry” contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The original specification does not support the phrase as the specification does not relate “the region” to any particular structural elements including the tank’s electrodes, internal structures and/or fluid geometry. The internal structures are not defined or discussed. The fluid geometry is not defined or discussed.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the tank’s electrodes" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the fixed arrangement" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9-11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stahl et al. (US 2015/0008132) in view of Birang et al (US 2011/0031112).
Regarding claim 1, Stahl discloses an electrochemical deposition apparatus (title) (= a plating apparatus) comprising:
A plating chamber (10) [0050] (= a plating tank);
A working electrode (11) (abstract, [0050]) (= a substrate holder that holds a substrate; a substate holder is intrinsically present since a substrate is supported);
A counter electrode (12) [0050] (= an anode disposed, in the plating tank, facing the substrate held by the substrate holder), and
Instruments for measuring and providing film deposition results (16 = measuring instruments, 17, 18 voltmeters) (Figure 3) [0050] (= a film thickness measuring module including a sensor that detects a parameter related to a plating film formed on a surface to be plated of the substrate, the film thickness measuring module measuring a film thickness of the plating film based on a detection value or the sensor during a plating treatment), wherein the sensor comprises:
Multiple reference electrodes (13, 13’) disposed either between the substrate and anode (Figures 3-4) and/or in a location outside the space between the substrate and anode (Figures 6 and 8) [0044]-[0045] (= first, second and third potential sensors), and
Measuring a potential difference [0017], [0088].
Stahl differs from the instant claim in that Stahl presents the reference electrodes outside the substrate and anode in one embodiment (Figures 6 and 8) and the reference electrode between the substrate and anode in another embodiment (Figures 3-4), however, combining the embodiments including providing multiple reference electrodes in multiple locations would have been an obvious engineering design choice to measure voltages at various, multiple locations. Stahl discloses that the system may be presented in a more complex manner [0060].
Stahl discloses measuring the voltage and calculating the differences to obtain film results, however, Stahl does not explicitly disclose the film results including a film thickness.
Birang discloses an electroplating apparatus (title) comprising a plating cell (300) [0050], a substrate (315) supported by contact ring (314) [0050], a disk shaped anode member (105, 405) [0044], [0059] (Figure 4A), a sensor assembly including an array of sensors configured to measure cell current distributions during plating and wherein a thickness profile of plated metal can be generated from the cell current distributions [0041], a first potential sensor (331) disposed between the substrate (315) and anode (305) (Figure 3) [0050], the film thickness measuring module measures a first potential difference that is a potential difference between different positions of the array of sensors [0060].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce an apparatus comprising using potential sensors to obtain potential differences to measure a film thickness because Birang discloses that obtaining potential differences in a plating cell are used to determine film thickness profile.
Regarding claim 2, Birang discloses wherein the measuring of the sensors allow estimating the local current density [0059].
Regarding claim 3, Birang discloses that estimating the local current density can then be correlated to a total charge and a local plating thickness [0059].
Regarding claim 5, Birang discloses adjusting one or more process parameters according to the real time thickness profile [0013]-[0015], [0051].
Regarding claim 9, Birang discloses head rotation [0073].
Regarding claims 10-11, Birang discloses a plurality of first potential sensors are provided from an outer circumference to an inner circumference of the substrate (Figure 3) [0051] including an outer edge as applied to claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, Stahl discloses wherein the substrate is held oriented downwards (Figures 6 and 8). Birang discloses wherein the substrate holder is configured to hold the substrate with the surface to be plated being oriented downward in the plating tank (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, Stahl discloses wherein the substrate is held to a side of the tank (Figures 6 and 8). Birang discloses the surface of the substrate positioned to a side of the cell (Figure 5). The instant claim language is not particularly limiting and does not require the surface to be facing the side of the cell. Moreover, even if the instant claim did require the surface to be facing a sidewall, which it does not currently, the mere rearrangement of parts does is not patentably distinct and would have been an obvious engineering design to carry out the same electroplating process.
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stahl et al. (US 2015/0008132), in view of Birang et al (US 2011/0031112) and in further view of Reid et al. (KR 20160132140).
Regarding claim 4, Stahl in view of Birang fail to disclose the claimed resistor.
In the same or similar field of electroplating devices, Reid discloses the device comprising an ionic resistor (119) having perforations which is used to mitigate or eliminate the end effect when plating [0004], [0015], [0071], [0076]. Reid discloses the resistor positioned adjacent to the wafer [0077] and between the wafer and substrate (Figure 5).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a device comprising a resistor because Reid discloses a resistor positioned between a wafer and anode to mitigate or eliminate the end effect which produces a non-uniform deposit. Regarding the positioning of the sensor between the resistor and the substrate, it would have been obvious to position the sensor of Stahl in view of Birang between the resistor and substrate for accurately measuring the potential in a position near the substrate. Moreover, rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice (MPEP § 2144.04 VI C).
Regarding claim 7, Reid discloses the gap between the resistor and wafer is adjustable [0077] therefore a drive mechanism is intrinsically present. The device of Stahl in view of Birang and Reid is capable of adjusting the gap based on the film thickness particularly in view of the monitoring and control as described by Birang [0009]. Moreover, the claim language is directed towards the manner of operating the device which is not structurally distinct from the device of Stahl in view of Birang and Reid (MPEP § 2114 II).
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stahl et al. (US 2015/0008132), in view of Birang et al (US 2011/0031112) and in further view of Mayer et al. (US 6,402,923).
Regarding claim 6, Birang discloses a membrane or collimator (2113, 2111) [0077] which operate as a fluid flow restrictor to even out the flow pattern across the surface of the substrate [0046]. Stahl in view of Birang fail to disclose a retreated position of a shielding body.
In the same or similar field of endeavor, Mayer discloses a shield (502) that is actuated by a controller to position the shield to control and vary an electric field around the wafer during electroplating operations (Col. 7 lines 3-11, claim 15). Mayer discloses the shield for screening the applied field during electroplating operations to compensate for potential drop along the radius of a wafer (abstract). Mayer discloses that a pair of stepper motor-driven screen assemblies (504, 506) are actuated by controller (424) to impart X and Y motion to the shield (502) (Col. 7 lines 3-11).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a device comprising a shield that is movable between a shielding position and a retracted position because Mayer discloses a shield for controlling the electric field and wherein the shield is movable about the electroplating cell. Regarding the claimed retracted position, positioning the shield of Mayer to be in a retracted position would have been an obvious engineering design choice in a scenario that the shield function is not required and/or for routine maintenance. The controller of Mayer is capable of positioning the shield in a retracted position based on the desired electroplating operations.
Regarding claim 8, the shield (416) of Mayer reads on the claimed anode mask since it is located above the anode and directs electric current to the substrate (Figure 4). Mayer discloses that the controller (422) controls the diameter D2 of the iris (418) to provide a more direct route to the wafer with less curvature of field lines (420a-c) along electrical pathway (410) (Col. 5 line 50 – Col. 6 line 19).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stahl et al. (US 2015/0008132), in view of Birang et al (US 2011/0031112) and in further view of Amaya (JP 2008-014699).
Regarding claim 12, the claimed “is configured to move” is merely an obvious engineering design choice since mobility is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected results (MPEP § 2144.04 V). Moreover, the teachings of Amaya are herein cited for disclosing that thickness measurement sensors in an electroplating device are designed to scan across the substrate to obtain thickness information. Amaya discloses an electrolytic device (title) comprising sensors that scan an entire object [0015] to obtain surface current density information and thereby measure the thickness of the object [0013].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a device comprising wherein the film thickness measuring module is configured to move because Amaya discloses that an entire object to be plated is scanned by sensors to obtain current density information and thereby determine the thickness profile. Regarding the claimed during the plating treatment, the claim language is directed towards the manner of operating the claimed device and does not further structurally limit the claimed invention (MPEP § 2114 II).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 January 2026 have been fully considered. The remarks on pages 5-8 are directed towards the previous grounds of rejection which have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment and therefore will not be specifically addressed at this time. New grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2006/0289299 thickness based on local currents
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stefanie S Wittenberg/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795