Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (MPEP 2173.05(p)). In this case, the amended limitation “wherein the photocurrent includes carriers flowing from said second-type semiconductor light- receiving region to said second-type semiconductor conduction region via said first-type semiconductor substrate” is directed to events that occur during the use of the device, necessarily implying a method of use, rendering the claim indefinite. The limitation will not be read into the claim for purposes of examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20020185665 to Kuhara et al. (Kuhara).
Regarding Claim 1, Kuhara teaches an optoelectronic semiconductor structure, comprising:
a first-type N semiconductor substrate 1/21/22, having a top surface (facing up on page);
a second-type P semiconductor light-receiving region 12; and
a second-type semiconductor conduction region 6, disposed on said top surface of said first-type semiconductor substrate, used for conducting a photocurrent, said second-type semiconductor light-receiving region surrounding said second-type semiconductor conduction region, and said second-type semiconductor conduction region and said second-type semiconductor light-receiving region spaced by a distance (see Figs. 7-8).
Regarding Claim 2, Kuhara teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein said second-type semiconductor light-receiving region surrounds or partially surrounds said second-type semiconductor conduction region (see Figs. 7-8).
Regarding Claim 3, Kuhara teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein
said first-type semiconductor substrate includes a spacer part;
the inner side of said spacer part surrounds or partially surrounds said second-type semiconductor conduction region; and
the outer side of said spacer part is adjacent to said second-type semiconductor light-receiving region (gap between 6 and 12 defines a spacer).
Regarding Claim 9, Kuhara teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein said second-type semiconductor light-receiving region is disposed on said top surface of said first-type semiconductor substrate (see Figs. 7-8).
Regarding Claim 15, Kuhara teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein said second-type semiconductor light-receiving region is a second-type semiconductor well, and said second-type semiconductor conduction region is a second-type semiconductor with high doping concentration (10^19, [0058]).
Regarding Claim 18, Kuhara teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein when said first-type semiconductor substrate is n-type, said photocurrent includes the holes flowing from said second-type semiconductor light-receiving region to said second-type semiconductor conduction region via said first-type semiconductor substrate (see Figs. 7-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 16 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuhara.
Regarding Claim 9, Kuhara teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor structure of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that said second-type semiconductor conduction region is coupled to an analog-to-digital converter. Kuhara does teach in Fig. 12 coupling the output of the detector to an amplifier 28. It would further be obvious to digitize this output in order to more easily manipulate the output data.
Regarding Claim 16, Kuhara teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor structure of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the concentration of ions implanted into said second-type semiconductor conduction region is higher than the concentration of ions implanted into said second-type semiconductor light-receiving region. Kuhara is silent regarding dopant concentrations other than that it is “high.” The person of ordinary skill having the benefit of Kuhara is thus motivated to experiment with various dopant concentrations in the various regions to optimize and best practice the invention of Kuhara and my readily arrive at such an arrangement.
Regarding Claim 17, Kuhara teaches the optoelectronic semiconductor structure of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that when said first-type semiconductor substrate is p-type, said photocurrent includes the photoelectrons flowing from said second-type semiconductor light-receiving region to said second-type semiconductor conduction region via said first-type semiconductor substrate. Kuhara teaches the inverse dopant scheme. Forming the required PN junctions taught by Kuhara throughout may be formed with either dopant scheme and are obvious variants.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior art does not teach a bias gate layer, covering said top surface of said first-type semiconductor substrate, and located between said second-type semiconductor light-receiving region and said second-type semiconductor conduction region, or a first-type semiconductor shelter layer, disposed on said second-type semiconductor light-receiving region and said top surface of said first-type semiconductor substrate. The remaining claims are allowable as being dependent on an allowable base claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVREN SEVEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812