DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 13-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated over
Xin WANG et.al. (hereinafter WANG) US 2022/0076154 A1,
In view of Ryan Shaffer et al. (hereinafter Shaffer) Practical verification protocols for analog quantum simulators, npj Quantum Information 7.1 (2021): 46.
In regard to claim 1:
WANG discloses:
- A system for quantum simulation, the system comprising:
a processor; and a memory, including instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the processor, cause the system to:
in [0147]:
an optimization unit configured to optimize a pulse parameter of the initial simulated pulse based on a relationship between the simulated quantum gate obtained through simulation and the quantum logic gate,
in [0005]:
According to one aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a control pulse generation method
In [Abstract]:
the method includes: acquiring a system Hamiltonian; acquiring an initial control pulse of a quantum logic gate included in a parameterized quantum circuit to obtain an initial pulse sequence for a gate sequence formed for all the quantum logic gates in the parameterized quantum circuit, which is obtained through simulation based on the system Hamiltonian;
in [0173]:
The computing unit 1201 may be various general-purpose and/or special-purpose processing components with processing and computing capabilities. Some examples of the computing unit 1201 include, but not limited to, a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), various dedicated artificial intelligence (AI) computing chips, various computing units running machine learning model algorithms
In [0173]:
The computing unit 1201 performs various methods and processes described above, for example a control pulse generation method. For example, in some embodiments, the control pulse generation method may be implemented as a computer software program, which is tangibly included in a machine-readable medium, for example a storage unit 1208. In some embodiments, part or all of the computer program may be loaded and/or installed on the electronic device 1200 via the ROM 1202 and/or the communication unit 1209. If the computer program is loaded into the RAM 1203 and executed by the computing unit 1201, one or more steps of the control pulse generation method described above may be performed. Alternatively, in other embodiments, the computing unit 1201 may be configured to perform the control pulse generation method by any other appropriate means (for example, by means of firmware).
- obtaining a selection of a target quantum device;
In [0075]:
The Hamiltonian definition module is used to provide a relevant physical parameter of a quantum hardware device and create a Hamiltonian according to the physical model of the quantum system selected by the user (that is, the quantum system characterized by the target quantum hardware device). The Hamiltonian includes the following information of quantum system, including but not limited to: structure information of the quantum hardware device, a hardware parameter of the quantum hardware device, a pulse parameter, a pulse waveform, a pulse sequence, the number of physical qubits and energy level of each physical qubit, etc.
- access an abstract analog instruction set configured to cause an evolution in the selected target quantum device;
In [0081]:
The simulator solves the evolution process of state information (such as a quantum state of a qubit) of a quantum system indicated by the target quantum hardware device, according to the Schrodinger equation and Hamiltonian numerical value.
In [0049] :
Further, dynamical evolution processing is performed on the system Hamiltonian based on the initial simulated pulse of the quantum logic gate included in the parameterized quantum circuit, to simulate the application of the initial simulated pulse to physical qubits in the target quantum hardware device, and a simulated quantum gate achieved by the initial simulated pulse is obtained through simulation; a pulse parameter of the initial simulated pulse is optimized based on a relationship between the simulated quantum gate obtained through simulation and the quantum logic gate, to obtain the initial control pulse of the quantum logic gate included in the parameterized quantum circuit, wherein an approximate quantum logic gate can be obtained based on the initial control pulse
In [0049]:
the evolution process is simulated based on the system Hamiltonian of the target quantum hardware device to obtain a quantifiable result, such as the simulated quantum gate that can be achieved is obtained through evolution, and the initial simulated pulse is optimized based on the quantifiable result, which lays a foundation for simplifying the overall optimization process and improving the overall processing efficiency.
In [0028]:
FIG. 3 is a schematic structural diagram of a parameterized quantum circuit in a specific example of a control pulse generation method
In [0031]:
FIGS. 6 and 7 are schematic diagrams of a target pulse sequence and a chromatographic pulse sequence in a specific example of a control pulse generation method
in [0115]:
Step g: a benchmark test module is invoked to obtain a chromatographic pulse sequence for the quantum state chromatography of physical qubits, and the chromatographic pulse sequence is added after the initial pulse sequence.
(BRI: in the context of Fig 6 as presented, the chromatographic pulse can be considered as an analog control pulse acting as a “analog instruction set”).
In [0155] :
In a specific example of the solution of the present disclosure, further includes a chromatographic pulse sequence acquisition unit and a measurement result acquisition unit, wherein [
In [0156]:
the chromatographic pulse sequence acquisition unit is configured to acquire a chromatographic pulse sequence;
in [0157]:
the measurement result acquisition unit is configured to acquire a measurement result returned after applying the chromatographic pulse sequence, after the target pulse sequence is applied to the target quantum hardware device;
In [0158]:
the state information acquisition unit is further configured to obtain state information of each physical qubit in the target quantum hardware device based on the measurement result, to obtain the system state information of the quantum system.
in [0103]:
The scheduler obtains optimal control pulses optimized by the optimizer to achieve respective quantum logic gates in the parameterized quantum circuit, that is, an initial control pulse of which the fidelity meets the preset fidelity requirement. According to the built-in scheduling rule matched with the target quantum hardware device and the quantum circuit structure obtained after the mapper completes the mapping of qubits, all the acquired control pulses are arranged and scheduled to obtain an initial pulse sequence for the parameterized quantum circuit.
(BRI: this is a programming physical quantum system with pulse-level control in which the process involves arranging and scheduling the acquired control pulses to form an initial pulse sequence from the quantum circuit which represents an abstract analog instruction set)
- and compile the Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule based on the abstract analog instruction set for the target quantum device.
In [0007]:
acquiring an initial control pulse of a quantum logic gate included in the parameterized quantum circuit, to obtain an initial pulse sequence for a gate sequence formed for all the quantum logic gates in the parameterized quantum circuit, wherein the initial control pulse is obtained through simulation based on the system Hamiltonian;
in [0042]:
Step 101: acquiring a system Hamiltonian, wherein the system Hamiltonian is constructed based on a relevant physical parameter of a target quantum hardware device and is used for characterizing a Hamiltonian of a quantum system corresponding to the target quantum hardware device.
in [0101] :
Further, after the mapping process of mapping the logical qubits to the physical qubits is completed, each quantum logic gate in the parameterized quantum circuit is compiled to obtain an initial pulse parameter, which may also be called as an initial simulated pulse.
In [0101]:
the optimizer is invoked to optimize the initial simulated pulse based on the target state information required to be achieved by the target quantum control task, or the optimizer is invoked to optimize the initial simulated pulse based on a quantum logic gate required to be achieved by the target quantum control task
in [0103]:
The scheduler obtains optimal control pulses optimized by the optimizer to achieve respective quantum logic gates in the parameterized quantum circuit, that is, an initial control pulse of which the fidelity meets the preset fidelity requirement. According to the built-in scheduling rule matched with the target quantum hardware device and the quantum circuit structure obtained after the mapper completes the mapping of qubits, all the acquired control pulses are arranged and scheduled to obtain an initial pulse sequence for the parameterized quantum circuit.
WANG does not explicitly disclose:
- obtaining a Hamiltonian equation;
However, Shaffer discloses:
- obtaining a Hamiltonian equation;
In [RESULTS, Page 3]:
In this work, we treat noise sources in an analog quantum simulation as modifications of the target Hamiltonian. Physically, these could be caused by variations in quantities such as laser intensity, microwave intensity, magnetic fields, or other terms which could create undesired interactions with the system. We can then represent the full Hamiltonian implemented by the system as
Where H is the target Hamiltonian to be simulated, which we assume is time-independent and
represents any unwanted time-dependence and other miscalibrations present in the physical system.
In [Experimental demonstration with trapped ions, Page 7]:
To demonstrate the feasibility of implementing these verification protocols experimentally, we choose a simple two-site Ising model with transverse field
and we choose J=2π × 139 Hz and b=2π × 227 Hz. We implement this model in a trapped-ion analog quantum simulator containing two Ca+ ions.
In [Experimental demonstration with trapped ions, Page 8]:
For the ideal Hamiltonian H, defined in Eq. (22), we use the target values (J=2π× 139 Hz, b= 2π × 227Hz) and perform unitary evolution under the Schrödinger equation to obtain the dynamics of the ideal state
For the experimentally-miscalibrated Hamiltonian ~ H, we use parameters that approximately match the observed measurements (J=2π × 250Hz, b=2π × 102Hz) with an appropriate dephasing rate (
y
ϕ
= 2π × 38 Hz).
The examiner interprets the core theme of the invention compiling a Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule to select a target quantum device using an abstract analog instruction and provide evolution in the selected target quantum device.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG and Shaffer.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection and compiling Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule.
Shaffer teaches obtaining Hamiltonian equation.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG and Shaffer to provide a metric related to the fidelity of the quantum device to compare the performance of wide variety of the physical devices (Shaffer [Randomized analog verification protocol, Page 5])
In regard to claim 2:
WANG discloses:
- wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the system to: transmit the pulse schedule to the target quantum device to create an evolution in the target quantum device.
In [0077]:
after receiving the system Hamiltonian and the target quantum control task uploaded by the client, the cloud server will invoke various corresponding functional modules according to the target quantum control task and the system Hamiltonian to achieve the target quantum control task. The cloud server also provides an interface for third-party hardware (such as a real target quantum hardware device), and transmits a generated pulse instruction (such as a target pulse sequence) for achieving the target quantum control task onto the real target quantum hardware device, such as a quantum processor.
In regard to claim 3:
WANG discloses:
- wherein the target quantum device is one of a plurality of quantum devices.
In [0054]:
in actual applications, in a case that the target quantum control task includes a plurality of quantum logic gates, even if the obtained approximate quantum logic gates meet the preset fidelity requirement, after all the approximate quantum logic gates are combined, the obtained quantum gate will deviate from the expected approximate quantum logic gate due to crosstalk and other problems, resulting in the fidelity of the obtained quantum gate no longer meeting the preset fidelity requirement
In regard to claim 4:
WANG discloses:
- wherein the pulse schedule includes one or more patterns of analog pulses.
In [0031]:
FIGS. 6 and 7 are schematic diagrams of a target pulse sequence and a chromatographic pulse sequence in a specific example of a control pulse generation method according to an embodiment of the present disclosure;
(BRI: this is a pulse modulation and Fig 6 shows the pulse modulation as the amplitude varies over time)
In regard to claim 13:
WANG discloses:
- processor-implemented method for quantum simulation, the method comprising:
in [0147]:
an optimization unit configured to optimize a pulse parameter of the initial simulated pulse based on a relationship between the simulated quantum gate obtained through simulation and the quantum logic gate,
in [0005]:
According to one aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a control pulse generation method
In [Abstract]:
the method includes: acquiring a system Hamiltonian; acquiring an initial control pulse of a quantum logic gate included in a parameterized quantum circuit to obtain an initial pulse sequence for a gate sequence formed for all the quantum logic gates in the parameterized quantum circuit, which is obtained through simulation based on the system Hamiltonian;
- obtaining a selection of a target quantum device;
In [0075]:
The Hamiltonian definition module is used to provide a relevant physical parameter of a quantum hardware device and create a Hamiltonian according to the physical model of the quantum system selected by the user (that is, the quantum system characterized by the target quantum hardware device). The Hamiltonian includes the following information of quantum system, including but not limited to: structure information of the quantum hardware device, a hardware parameter of the quantum hardware device, a pulse parameter, a pulse waveform, a pulse sequence, the number of physical qubits and energy level of each physical qubit, etc.
- accessing an abstract analog instruction set configured to cause an evolution in the selected target quantum device;
In [0081]:
The simulator solves the evolution process of state information (such as a quantum state of a qubit) of a quantum system indicated by the target quantum hardware device, according to the Schrodinger equation and Hamiltonian numerical value.
In [0049] :
Further, dynamical evolution processing is performed on the system Hamiltonian based on the initial simulated pulse of the quantum logic gate included in the parameterized quantum circuit, to simulate the application of the initial simulated pulse to physical qubits in the target quantum hardware device, and a simulated quantum gate achieved by the initial simulated pulse is obtained through simulation; a pulse parameter of the initial simulated pulse is optimized based on a relationship between the simulated quantum gate obtained through simulation and the quantum logic gate, to obtain the initial control pulse of the quantum logic gate included in the parameterized quantum circuit, wherein an approximate quantum logic gate can be obtained based on the initial control pulse
In [0049]:
the evolution process is simulated based on the system Hamiltonian of the target quantum hardware device to obtain a quantifiable result, such as the simulated quantum gate that can be achieved is obtained through evolution, and the initial simulated pulse is optimized based on the quantifiable result, which lays a foundation for simplifying the overall optimization process and improving the overall processing efficiency.
In [0028]:
FIG. 3 is a schematic structural diagram of a parameterized quantum circuit in a specific example of a control pulse generation method
In [0031]:
FIGS. 6 and 7 are schematic diagrams of a target pulse sequence and a chromatographic pulse sequence in a specific example of a control pulse generation method
in [0115]:
Step g: a benchmark test module is invoked to obtain a chromatographic pulse sequence for the quantum state chromatography of physical qubits, and the chromatographic pulse sequence is added after the initial pulse sequence.
(BRI: in the context of Fig 6 as presented, the chromatographic pulse can be considered as an analog control pulse acting as a “analog instruction set”).
In [0155] :
In a specific example of the solution of the present disclosure, further includes a chromatographic pulse sequence acquisition unit and a measurement result acquisition unit, wherein [
In [0156]:
the chromatographic pulse sequence acquisition unit is configured to acquire a chromatographic pulse sequence;
in [0157]:
the measurement result acquisition unit is configured to acquire a measurement result returned after applying the chromatographic pulse sequence, after the target pulse sequence is applied to the target quantum hardware device;
In [0158]:
the state information acquisition unit is further configured to obtain state information of each physical qubit in the target quantum hardware device based on the measurement result, to obtain the system state information of the quantum system.
in [0103]:
The scheduler obtains optimal control pulses optimized by the optimizer to achieve respective quantum logic gates in the parameterized quantum circuit, that is, an initial control pulse of which the fidelity meets the preset fidelity requirement. According to the built-in scheduling rule matched with the target quantum hardware device and the quantum circuit structure obtained after the mapper completes the mapping of qubits, all the acquired control pulses are arranged and scheduled to obtain an initial pulse sequence for the parameterized quantum circuit.
(BRI: this is a programming physical quantum system with pulse-level control in which the process involves arranging and scheduling the acquired control pulses to form an initial pulse sequence from the quantum circuit which represents an abstract analog instruction set)
- and compiling the Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule based on the abstract analog instruction set for the target quantum device.
[0007]:
acquiring an initial control pulse of a quantum logic gate included in the parameterized quantum circuit, to obtain an initial pulse sequence for a gate sequence formed for all the quantum logic gates in the parameterized quantum circuit, wherein the initial control pulse is obtained through simulation based on the system Hamiltonian;
in [0042]:
Step 101: acquiring a system Hamiltonian, wherein the system Hamiltonian is constructed based on a relevant physical parameter of a target quantum hardware device and is used for characterizing a Hamiltonian of a quantum system corresponding to the target quantum hardware device.
in [0101] :
Further, after the mapping process of mapping the logical qubits to the physical qubits is completed, each quantum logic gate in the parameterized quantum circuit is compiled to obtain an initial pulse parameter, which may also be called as an initial simulated pulse.
In [0101]:
the optimizer is invoked to optimize the initial simulated pulse based on the target state information required to be achieved by the target quantum control task, or the optimizer is invoked to optimize the initial simulated pulse based on a quantum logic gate required to be achieved by the target quantum control task
in [0103]:
The scheduler obtains optimal control pulses optimized by the optimizer to achieve respective quantum logic gates in the parameterized quantum circuit, that is, an initial control pulse of which the fidelity meets the preset fidelity requirement. According to the built-in scheduling rule matched with the target quantum hardware device and the quantum circuit structure obtained after the mapper completes the mapping of qubits, all the acquired control pulses are arranged and scheduled to obtain an initial pulse sequence for the parameterized quantum circuit.
WANG does not explicitly disclose:
- obtaining a Hamiltonian equation;
However, Shaffer discloses:
- obtaining a Hamiltonian equation;
In [RESULTS, Page 3]:
In this work, we treat noise sources in an analog quantum simulation as modifications of the target Hamiltonian. Physically, these could be caused by variations in quantities such as laser intensity, microwave intensity, magnetic fields, or other terms which could create undesired interactions with the system. We can then represent the full Hamiltonian implemented by the system as
Where H is the target Hamiltonian to be simulated, which we assume is time-independent and
represents any unwanted time-dependence and other miscalibrations present in the physical system.
In [Experimental demonstration with trapped ions, Page 7]:
To demonstrate the feasibility of implementing these verification protocols experimentally, we choose a simple two-site Ising model with transverse field
and we choose J=2π × 139 Hz and b=2π × 227 Hz. We implement this model in a trapped-ion analog quantum simulator containing two Ca+ ions.
In [Experimental demonstration with trapped ions, Page 8]:
For the ideal Hamiltonian H, defined in Eq. (22), we use the target values (J=2π× 139 Hz, b= 2π × 227Hz) and perform unitary evolution under the Schrödinger equation to obtain the dynamics of the ideal state
For the experimentally-miscalibrated Hamiltonian ~ H, we use parameters that approximately match the observed measurements (J=2π × 250Hz, b=2π × 102Hz) with an appropriate dephasing rate (
y
ϕ
= 2π × 38 Hz).
The examiner interprets the core theme of the invention compiling a Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule to select a target quantum device using an abstract analog instruction and provide evolution in the selected target quantum device.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG and Shaffer.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection and compiling Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule.
Shaffer teaches obtaining Hamiltonian equation.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG and Shaffer to provide a metric related to the fidelity of the quantum device to compare the performance of wide variety of the physical devices (Shaffer [Randomized analog verification protocol, Page 5])
In regard to claim 14:
WANG discloses:
- wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the system to: transmit the pulse schedule to the target quantum device to create an evolution in the target quantum device.
In [0077]:
after receiving the system Hamiltonian and the target quantum control task uploaded by the client, the cloud server will invoke various corresponding functional modules according to the target quantum control task and the system Hamiltonian to achieve the target quantum control task. The cloud server also provides an interface for third-party hardware (such as a real target quantum hardware device), and transmits a generated pulse instruction (such as a target pulse sequence) for achieving the target quantum control task onto the real target quantum hardware device, such as a quantum processor.
In regard to claim 15:
WANG discloses:
- wherein the target quantum device is one of a plurality of quantum devices.
In [0054]:
in actual applications, in a case that the target quantum control task includes a plurality of quantum logic gates, even if the obtained approximate quantum logic gates meet the preset fidelity requirement, after all the approximate quantum logic gates are combined, the obtained quantum gate will deviate from the expected approximate quantum logic gate due to crosstalk and other problems, resulting in the fidelity of the obtained quantum gate no longer meeting the preset fidelity requirement
In regard to claim 16:
WANG discloses:
- wherein the pulse schedule includes one or more patterns of analog pulses.
In [0031]:
FIGS. 6 and 7 are schematic diagrams of a target pulse sequence and a chromatographic pulse sequence in a specific example of a control pulse generation method according to an embodiment of the present disclosure;
(BRI: this is a pulse modulation and Fig 6 shows the pulse modulation as the amplitude varies over time)
In regard to claim 20:
WANG discloses:
- A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a processor to execute a method of quantum simulation, the method comprising:
In [0022]:
According to another aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing computer instructions, wherein the computer instructions are executed by a computer to cause the computer to perform the method in any embodiment of the present disclosure.
- obtaining a target quantum device;
In [0075]:
The Hamiltonian definition module is used to provide a relevant physical parameter of a quantum hardware device and create a Hamiltonian according to the physical model of the quantum system selected by the user (that is, the quantum system characterized by the target quantum hardware device). The Hamiltonian includes the following information of quantum system, including but not limited to: structure information of the quantum hardware device, a hardware parameter of the quantum hardware device, a pulse parameter, a pulse waveform, a pulse sequence, the number of physical qubits and energy level of each physical qubit, etc.
- accessing an abstract analog instruction set configured to cause an evolution in the target quantum device;
In [0081]:
The simulator solves the evolution process of state information (such as a quantum state of a qubit) of a quantum system indicated by the target quantum hardware device, according to the Schrodinger equation and Hamiltonian numerical value.
In [0049] :
Further, dynamical evolution processing is performed on the system Hamiltonian based on the initial simulated pulse of the quantum logic gate included in the parameterized quantum circuit, to simulate the application of the initial simulated pulse to physical qubits in the target quantum hardware device, and a simulated quantum gate achieved by the initial simulated pulse is obtained through simulation; a pulse parameter of the initial simulated pulse is optimized based on a relationship between the simulated quantum gate obtained through simulation and the quantum logic gate, to obtain the initial control pulse of the quantum logic gate included in the parameterized quantum circuit, wherein an approximate quantum logic gate can be obtained based on the initial control pulse
In [0049]:
the evolution process is simulated based on the system Hamiltonian of the target quantum hardware device to obtain a quantifiable result, such as the simulated quantum gate that can be achieved is obtained through evolution, and the initial simulated pulse is optimized based on the quantifiable result, which lays a foundation for simplifying the overall optimization process and improving the overall processing efficiency.
In [0028]:
FIG. 3 is a schematic structural diagram of a parameterized quantum circuit in a specific example of a control pulse generation method
In [0031]:
FIGS. 6 and 7 are schematic diagrams of a target pulse sequence and a chromatographic pulse sequence in a specific example of a control pulse generation method
in [0115]:
Step g: a benchmark test module is invoked to obtain a chromatographic pulse sequence for the quantum state chromatography of physical qubits, and the chromatographic pulse sequence is added after the initial pulse sequence.
(BRI: in the context of Fig 6 as presented, the chromatographic pulse can be considered as an analog control pulse acting as a “analog instruction set”).
In [0155] :
In a specific example of the solution of the present disclosure, further includes a chromatographic pulse sequence acquisition unit and a measurement result acquisition unit, wherein [
In [0156]:
the chromatographic pulse sequence acquisition unit is configured to acquire a chromatographic pulse sequence;
in [0157]:
the measurement result acquisition unit is configured to acquire a measurement result returned after applying the chromatographic pulse sequence, after the target pulse sequence is applied to the target quantum hardware device;
In [0158]:
the state information acquisition unit is further configured to obtain state information of each physical qubit in the target quantum hardware device based on the measurement result, to obtain the system state information of the quantum system.
in [0103]:
The scheduler obtains optimal control pulses optimized by the optimizer to achieve respective quantum logic gates in the parameterized quantum circuit, that is, an initial control pulse of which the fidelity meets the preset fidelity requirement. According to the built-in scheduling rule matched with the target quantum hardware device and the quantum circuit structure obtained after the mapper completes the mapping of qubits, all the acquired control pulses are arranged and scheduled to obtain an initial pulse sequence for the parameterized quantum circuit.
(BRI: this is a programming physical quantum system with pulse-level control in which the process involves arranging and scheduling the acquired control pulses to form an initial pulse sequence from the quantum circuit which represents an abstract analog instruction set)
- and compiling the Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule based on the abstract analog instruction set for the target quantum device.
In [0007]:
acquiring an initial control pulse of a quantum logic gate included in the parameterized quantum circuit, to obtain an initial pulse sequence for a gate sequence formed for all the quantum logic gates in the parameterized quantum circuit, wherein the initial control pulse is obtained through simulation based on the system Hamiltonian;
in [0042]:
Step 101: acquiring a system Hamiltonian, wherein the system Hamiltonian is constructed based on a relevant physical parameter of a target quantum hardware device and is used for characterizing a Hamiltonian of a quantum system corresponding to the target quantum hardware device.
in [0101] :
Further, after the mapping process of mapping the logical qubits to the physical qubits is completed, each quantum logic gate in the parameterized quantum circuit is compiled to obtain an initial pulse parameter, which may also be called as an initial simulated pulse.
In [0101]:
the optimizer is invoked to optimize the initial simulated pulse based on the target state information required to be achieved by the target quantum control task, or the optimizer is invoked to optimize the initial simulated pulse based on a quantum logic gate required to be achieved by the target quantum control task
in [0103]:
The scheduler obtains optimal control pulses optimized by the optimizer to achieve respective quantum logic gates in the parameterized quantum circuit, that is, an initial control pulse of which the fidelity meets the preset fidelity requirement. According to the built-in scheduling rule matched with the target quantum hardware device and the quantum circuit structure obtained after the mapper completes the mapping of qubits, all the acquired control pulses are arranged and scheduled to obtain an initial pulse sequence for the parameterized quantum circuit.
WANG does not explicitly disclose:
- obtaining a Hamiltonian equation;
However, Shaffer discloses:
- obtaining a Hamiltonian equation;
In [RESULTS, Page 3]:
In this work, we treat noise sources in an analog quantum simulation as modifications of the target Hamiltonian. Physically, these could be caused by variations in quantities such as laser intensity, microwave intensity, magnetic fields, or other terms which could create undesired interactions with the system. We can then represent the full Hamiltonian implemented by the system as
Where H is the target Hamiltonian to be simulated, which we assume is time-independent and
represents any unwanted time-dependence and other miscalibrations present in the physical system.
In [Experimental demonstration with trapped ions, Page 7]:
To demonstrate the feasibility of implementing these verification protocols experimentally, we choose a simple two-site Ising model with transverse field
and we choose J=2π × 139 Hz and b=2π × 227 Hz. We implement this model in a trapped-ion analog quantum simulator containing two Ca+ ions.
In [Experimental demonstration with trapped ions, Page 8]:
For the ideal Hamiltonian H, defined in Eq. (22), we use the target values (J=2π× 139 Hz, b= 2π × 227Hz) and perform unitary evolution under the Schrödinger equation to obtain the dynamics of the ideal state
For the experimentally-miscalibrated Hamiltonian ~ H, we use parameters that approximately match the observed measurements (J=2π × 250Hz, b=2π × 102Hz) with an appropriate dephasing rate (
y
ϕ
= 2π × 38 Hz).
The examiner interprets the core theme of the invention compiling a Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule to select a target quantum device using an abstract analog instruction and provide evolution in the selected target quantum device.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG and Shaffer.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection and compiling Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule.
Shaffer teaches obtaining Hamiltonian equation.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG and Shaffer to provide a metric related to the fidelity of the quantum device to compare the performance of wide variety of the physical devices (Shaffer [Randomized analog verification protocol, Page 5])
Claims 5-12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated over
Xin WANG et.al. (hereinafter WANG) US 2022/0076154 A1,
In view of Ryan Shaffer et al. (hereinafter Shaffer) Practical verification protocols for analog quantum simulators, npj Quantum Information 7.1 (2021): 46.
further in view of Eyob Sete (hereinafter Sete) US 2018/0123597 A1.
In regard to claim 5:
WANG and Shaffer do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein programming the target quantum device comprises: transmitting signals in the form of pulses through one or more signal carriers.
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein programming the target quantum device comprises: transmitting signals in the form of pulses through one or more signal carriers.
In [0060]:
the quality measure is computed at 706 based on a simulation of the quantum logic process produced by the control signal
In [0043]:
The quality measure can be computed based on measurements of the quantum process produced by delivering an instance of the control signal in the quantum circuit. For instance, the quality measure can be based on measurements obtained by quantum state tomography
In [0031]:
The density operator ρ representing the state of the quantum system obeys the Schrodinger equation and may be subject to qubit relaxation and dephasing processes:
where
σ
±
are the raising and lowering operators for a qubit,
y
j
,
y
ϕ
,
j
are relaxation and dephasing rates for a qubit. Here, H=
H
0
+
∑
k
Ω
k
(t)
H
k
can represent the total Hamiltonian of one or more qubits, with
H
o
being the free Hamiltonian, while
H
k
are control Hamiltonians describing qubit-control signal couplings or qubit-qubit interactions, and Ω.sub.k(t) are control signal parameters
In [0027]:
The waveform generator system can output the analog signal for delivery to the quantum circuit 104. The analog signal can be, for example, a radio frequency or microwave frequency pulse produced on a physical transmission line.
The examiner interprets the core theme of the invention compiling a Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule to select a target quantum device using an abstract analog instruction and provide evolution in the selected target quantum device.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG , Shaffer and Sete.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection and compiling Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule.
Shaffer teaches obtaining Hamiltonian equation.
Sete discloses transmitting signals over carries in which signals indicating amplitude, and storing the Hamiltonians.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG , Shaffer and that provide optimized quantum circuit by tunning the parameters of a control signal that executes the quantum logic (Sete [0015]).
In regard to claim 6:
WANG and Shaffer do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein the signals are configurable through parameters including at least one of amplitude over time or phase over time.
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein the signals are configurable through parameters including at least one of amplitude over time or phase over time.
In [0058]:
At 702, a parameter set for a control signal is accessed. The parameter set includes digital information that specifies a control signal for a superconducting quantum circuit. For example, the control signal can be configured to control the example quantum circuit 104 shown in FIG. 1 or another type of quantum circuit.
in [0051] :
initial voltage amplitudes Ω.sub.k.sup.(l) shown in FIG. 4A represent a version of the control signal that is analyzed on the l-th iteration of an iterative process (e.g., the process 300 shown in FIG. 3A or another type of process).
The examiner interprets the core theme of the invention compiling a Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule to select a target quantum device using an abstract analog instruction and provide evolution in the selected target quantum device.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG , Shaffer and Sete.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection and compiling Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule.
Shaffer teaches obtaining Hamiltonian equation.
Sete discloses transmitting signals over carries in which signals indicating amplitude, and storing the Hamiltonians.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG , Shaffer and that provide optimized quantum circuit by tunning the parameters of a control signal that executes the quantum logic (Sete [0015]).
In regard to claim 7:
WANG and Shaffer do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein the one or more signal carriers are abstracted as signal lines.
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein the one or more signal carriers are abstracted as signal lines.
In [0027]:
The waveform generator system can output the analog signal for delivery to the quantum circuit 104. The analog signal can be, for example, a radio frequency or microwave frequency pulse produced on a physical transmission line.
In regard to claim 8:
WANG and Shaffer do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein each signal line includes instructions to represent the signals sent through the signal carriers.
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein each signal line includes instructions to represent the signals sent through the signal carriers.
In [0026]:
In some implementations, the control system 110 includes a computer system (e.g., the computer system 200 shown in FIG. 2 or another type of computer system) that generates control information for the quantum processor cell 102. For example, the control information can include parameter sets that define control signals for individual devices (e.g., qubit devices, coupler devices, readout devices, etc.) or for combinations of devices in the quantum circuit 104. Each parameter set can include digital information and can be generated by a classical computing system running a software program. For example, a parameter set may be generated, analyzed and modified by code running in Python or MATLAB® software (available from The MathWorks, Inc.) or another type of software program.
In [0027] 0026] In some implementations, the control system 110 includes a computer system (e.g., the computer system 200 shown in FIG. 2 or another type of computer system) that generates control information for the quantum processor cell 102. For example, the control information can include parameter sets that define control signals for individual devices (e.g., qubit devices, coupler devices, readout devices, etc.) or for combinations of devices in the quantum circuit 104. Each parameter set can include digital information and can be generated by a classical computing system running a software program. For example, a parameter set may be generated, analyzed and modified by code running in Python or MATLAB® software (available from The MathWorks, Inc.) or another type of software program. In some instances, the classical computer analyzes a parameter set and updates all or part of the parameter set, for example, to improve the control signal based on a quality measure (e.g., fidelity or another figure of merit). For instance, the control system 110 may include a computer system configured to perform one or more of the operations represented in FIGS. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B, and 7.
In [0027]:
In some implementations, the control system 110 includes a waveform generator system that can synthesize analog signals from digital information. For example, the control system 110 may include an arbitrary waveform generator or another type of system having a digital-to-analog converter (DAC), which converts digital information to analog signals. In some instances, the digital information represents a parameter set for a control signal, and analog signal produced by the waveform generator system represents an instance of the control signal. The waveform generator system can output the analog signal for delivery to the quantum circuit 104. The analog signal can be, for example, a radio frequency or microwave frequency pulse produced on a physical transmission line.
combine
In regard to claim 9:
WANG and Shaffer do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein at each point in time the signal line carries no more than one instruction of the instruction
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein at each point in time the signal line carries no more than one instruction of the instruction
In [0035]:
The computer system 200 may be connected to a communication link, which may include any type of communication channel, connector, data communication network, or other link. For example, the communication link can include a wireless or a wired network, a Local Area Network (LAN), a Wide Area Network (WAN), a private network, a public network (such as the Internet), a WiFi network.
in [0034]:
The input devices and output devices can receive and transmit data in analog or digital form over communication links such as a serial link, a wireless link (e.g., infrared, radio frequency, or others), a parallel link, or another type of link)
In regard to claim 10:
WANG and Shaffer do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein when compiling the Hamiltonian equation, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the system to: declare zero, one or more local variables that are tuned for each invocation when compiling the target Hamiltonian
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein when compiling the Hamiltonian equation, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the system to: declare zero, one or more local variables that are tuned for each invocation when compiling the target Hamiltonian
In [0037] :
FIG. 3A is a flow diagram for an example process 300 for analyzing a control signal. In some instances, the process 300 can be used to optimize a control signal based on a quality measure for a quantum logic gate. All or part of the example process 300 can be performed by a computer system, for example, by executing one or more software programs on a classical computer system. For instance, the operations in the process 300 may be performed by the processor(s) 203 executing one or more of the programs 208 in FIG. 2.
In [0038]:
As shown in FIG. 3A, the process 300 includes an outer loop 322 and an inner loop 302
In [0040]:
Counters are also initialized at 302. In the example shown, a counter m=0 is initialized to count iterations of the outer loop 322, and a counter l=0 is initialized to count the number of times the control signal amplitudes are updated (at 312).
The examiner interprets the core theme of the invention compiling a Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule to select a target quantum device using an abstract analog instruction and provide evolution in the selected target quantum device.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG , Shaffer and Sete.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection and compiling Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule.
Shaffer teaches obtaining Hamiltonian equation.
Sete discloses transmitting signals over carries in which signals indicating amplitude, and storing the Hamiltonians.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG , Shaffer and that provide optimized quantum circuit by tunning the parameters of a control signal that executes the quantum logic (Sete [0015]).
In regard to claim 11:
WANG and Shaffer do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein Hamiltonians used in the Hamiltonian equation are stored in a dictionary as linear combinations of product Hamiltonians.
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein Hamiltonians used in the Hamiltonian equation are stored in a dictionary as linear combinations of product Hamiltonians.
In [0031]:
The density operator ρ representing the state of the quantum system obeys the Schrodinger equation and may be subject to qubit relaxation and dephasing processes:
where
σ
±
are the raising and lowering operators for a qubit,
y
j
,
y
ϕ
,
j
are relaxation and dephasing rates for a qubit. Here, H=
H
0
+
∑
k
Ω
k
(t)
H
k
can represent the total Hamiltonian of one or more qubits, with
H
o
being the free Hamiltonian, while
H
k
are control Hamiltonians describing qubit-control signal couplings or qubit-qubit interactions, and
Ω
k
(t)
H
k
are control signal parameters
(BRI: A summation that provides the total Hamiltonian is a linear combination)
In [0024]:
In the example shown in FIG. 1, the signal delivery system 106 provides communication between the control system 110 and the quantum processor cell 102. For example, the signal delivery system 106 can receive control signals from the control system 110 and deliver the control signals to the quantum processor cell 102. In some instances, the signal delivery system 106 performs preprocessing, signal conditioning, or other operations to the control signals before delivering them to the quantum processor cell 102.
In [0022]:
In the example quantum circuit 104, the qubit devices each store a single qubit of information, and the qubits can collectively represent the computational state of a quantum processor or quantum memory. The quantum circuit 104 in the quantum processor cell 102 may also include readout devices that selectively interact with the qubit devices to detect their quantum states. For example, the readout devices may generate readout signals that indicate the computational state of the quantum processor or quantum memory. The quantum circuit 104 may also include coupler devices that selectively operate on individual qubits or pairs of qubits. For example, the coupler devices may produce entanglement or other multi-qubit states over two or more qubits in a quantum processor cell 102.
The examiner interprets the core theme of the invention compiling a Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule to select a target quantum device using an abstract analog instruction and provide evolution in the selected target quantum device.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG , Shaffer and Sete.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection and compiling Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule.
Shaffer teaches obtaining Hamiltonian equation.
Sete discloses transmitting signals over carries in which signals indicating amplitude, and storing the Hamiltonians.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG , Shaffer and that provide optimized quantum circuit by tunning the parameters of a control signal that executes the quantum logic (Sete [0015]).
In regard to claim 12:
WANG and Shaffer do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein the analog instruction set includes one or more site identifiers in a set to represent qubit sites of the target quantum device.
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein the analog instruction set includes one or more site identifiers in a set to represent qubit sites of the target quantum device.
In [0019]:
In some implementation the quantum computing system 100 can operate using gate-based models for quantum computing.
In [0019]:
For example, topological quantum error correction schemes can operate on a lattice of nearest-neighbor coupled qubits.
In [0019]:
Adjacent pairs of qubits in the lattice can be addressed, for example, with two-qubit logic operations that are capable of generating entanglement, independent of other pairs in the lattice
In [0016:
In some implementations, one or more parameters of a control signal for a quantum circuit are accessed. For example, a parameter set may include a series of voltage amplitudes for respective time segments of the control signal
In [0016]:
A subset of the time segments can be selected and updated in a manner that improves a quality measure of a quantum logic operation (e.g., a quantum logic gate) to be executed by the control signal.
(BRI: time segments are the identifiers)
The examiner interprets the core theme of the invention compiling a Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule to select a target quantum device using an abstract analog instruction and provide evolution in the selected target quantum device.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG , Shaffer and Sete.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection and compiling Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule.
Shaffer teaches obtaining Hamiltonian equation.
Sete discloses transmitting signals over carries in which signals indicating amplitude, and storing the Hamiltonians.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG , Shaffer and that provide optimized quantum circuit by tunning the parameters of a control signal that executes the quantum logic (Sete [0015]).
In regard to claim 17:
WANG and Shaffer do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein programming the target quantum device comprises: transmitting signals in the form of pulses through one or more signal carriers.
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein programming the target quantum device comprises: transmitting signals in the form of pulses through one or more signal carriers.
In [0060]:
the quality measure is computed at 706 based on a simulation of the quantum logic process produced by the control signal
In [0043]:
The quality measure can be computed based on measurements of the quantum process produced by delivering an instance of the control signal in the quantum circuit. For instance, the quality measure can be based on measurements obtained by quantum state tomography
In [0031]:
The density operator ρ representing the state of the quantum system obeys the Schrodinger equation and may be subject to qubit relaxation and dephasing processes:
where
σ
±
are the raising and lowering operators for a qubit,
y
j
,
y
ϕ
,
j
are relaxation and dephasing rates for a qubit. Here, H=
H
0
+
∑
k
Ω
k
(t)
H
k
can represent the total Hamiltonian of one or more qubits, with
H
o
being the free Hamiltonian, while
H
k
are control Hamiltonians describing qubit-control signal couplings or qubit-qubit interactions, and Ω.sub.k(t) are control signal parameters
In [0027]:
The waveform generator system can output the analog signal for delivery to the quantum circuit 104. The analog signal can be, for example, a radio frequency or microwave frequency pulse produced on a physical transmission line.
The examiner interprets the core theme of the invention compiling a Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule to select a target quantum device using an abstract analog instruction and provide evolution in the selected target quantum device.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG , Shaffer and Sete.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection and compiling Hamiltonian equation to generate a pulse schedule.
Shaffer teaches obtaining Hamiltonian equation.
Sete discloses transmitting signals over carries in which signals indicating amplitude, and storing the Hamiltonians.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG , Shaffer and that provide optimized quantum circuit by tunning the parameters of a control signal that executes the quantum logic (Sete [0015]).
In regard to claim 18:
WANG and Shaffer do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein the signals are configurable through parameters including at least one of amplitude over time or phase over time.
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein the signals are configurable through parameters including at least one of amplitude over time or phase over time.
In [0058]:
At 702, a parameter set for a control signal is accessed. The parameter set includes digital information that specifies a control signal for a superconducting quantum circuit. For example, the control signal can be configured to control the example quantum circuit 104 shown in FIG. 1 or another type of quantum circuit.
in [0051] :
initial voltage amplitudes Ω.sub.k.sup.(l) shown in FIG. 4A represent a version of the control signal that is analyzed on the l-th iteration of an iterative process (e.g., the process 300 shown in FIG. 3A or another type of process).
In regard to claim 19:
WANG and Shaffer do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein the analog instruction set includes one or more site identifiers in a set to represent qubit sites of the target quantum device.
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein the analog instruction set includes one or more site identifiers in a set to represent qubit sites of the target quantum device.
In [0019]:
In some implementation the quantum computing system 100 can operate using gate-based models for quantum computing.
In [0019]:
For example, topological quantum error correction schemes can operate on a lattice of nearest-neighbor coupled qubits.
In [0019]:
Adjacent pairs of qubits in the lattice can be addressed, for example, with two-qubit logic operations that are capable of generating entanglement, independent of other pairs in the lattice
In [0016:
In some implementations, one or more parameters of a control signal for a quantum circuit are accessed. For example, a parameter set may include a series of voltage amplitudes for respective time segments of the control signal
In [0016]:
A subset of the time segments can be selected and updated in a manner that improves a quality measure of a quantum logic operation (e.g., a quantum logic gate) to be executed by the control signal.
(BRI: time segments are the identifiers)
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to TIRUMALE KRISHNASWAMY RAMESH whose telephone number is (571)272-4605. The examiner can normally be reached by phone.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TIRUMALE K RAMESH/Examiner, Art Unit 2121
/Li B. Zhen/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2121