DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
(Submitted on 7/17/2026)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
- The applicant argues on Page 6 that the references Wang and Shaffer does not teach the amended limitation of claims 1, 13 and 20 reciting “obtaining a continuous Hamiltonian”, “ discretization of the Hamiltonian” and “compiling the piecewise Hamiltonian”.
Examiners’ Response
The examiner without conceding the arguments, submits that a new reference “Wei” teaches these amendments in claims 1, 13 and 20. The examiner also uses a new reference “Haah” to teach the amended claim 10. The
In Conclusion, the examiner rejects the claims 1-20 under 103 and MOVE the application to FINAL REJECTION.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 13-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Xin WANG et.al. (hereinafter WANG) US 2022/0076154 A1,
In view of Haiqing Wei et al. (hereinafter Wei) US 2023/0016119 A1.
In regard to claim 1: (Currently Amended)
WANG discloses:
- A system for quantum simulation, the system comprising:
a processor; and a memory, including instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the processor, cause the system to:
[0147]: “an optimization unit configured to optimize a pulse parameter of the initial simulated pulse based on a relationship between the simulated quantum gate obtained through simulation and the quantum logic gate”,
[0005]:” According to one aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a control pulse generation method”,
[Abstract]:” the method includes: acquiring a system Hamiltonian; acquiring an initial control pulse of a quantum logic gate included in a parameterized quantum circuit to obtain an initial pulse sequence for a gate sequence formed for all the quantum logic gates in the parameterized quantum circuit, which is obtained through simulation based on the system Hamiltonian,
[0173]:” The computing unit 1201 may be various general-purpose and/or special-purpose processing components with processing and computing capabilities. Some examples of the computing unit 1201 include, but not limited to, a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), various dedicated artificial intelligence (AI) computing chips, various computing units running machine learning model algorithms”,
[0173]:” The computing unit 1201 performs various methods and processes described above, for example a control pulse generation method. For example, in some embodiments, the control pulse generation method may be implemented as a computer software program, which is tangibly included in a machine-readable medium, for example a storage unit 1208. In some embodiments, part or all of the computer program may be loaded and/or installed on the electronic device 1200 via the ROM 1202 and/or the communication unit 1209. If the computer program is loaded into the RAM 1203 and executed by the computing unit 1201, one or more steps of the control pulse generation method described above may be performed. Alternatively, in other embodiments, the computing unit 1201 may be configured to perform the control pulse generation method by any other appropriate means (for example, by means of firmware).
- obtain a selection of a target quantum device;
[0075]:” The Hamiltonian definition module is used to provide a relevant physical parameter of a quantum hardware device and create a Hamiltonian according to the physical model of the quantum system selected by the user (that is, the quantum system characterized by the target quantum hardware device). The Hamiltonian includes the following information of quantum system, including but not limited to: structure information of the quantum hardware device, a hardware parameter of the quantum hardware device, a pulse parameter, a pulse waveform, a pulse sequence, the number of physical qubits and energy level of each physical qubit, etc.
- access an abstract analog instruction set configured to cause an evolution in the selected target quantum device;
[0081]:”The simulator solves the evolution process of state information (such as a quantum state of a qubit) of a quantum system indicated by the target quantum hardware device, according to the Schrodinger equation and Hamiltonian numerical value.
[0049] :” Further, dynamical evolution processing is performed on the system Hamiltonian based on the initial simulated pulse of the quantum logic gate included in the parameterized quantum circuit, to simulate the application of the initial simulated pulse to physical qubits in the target quantum hardware device, and a simulated quantum gate achieved by the initial simulated pulse is obtained through simulation; a pulse parameter of the initial simulated pulse is optimized based on a relationship between the simulated quantum gate obtained through simulation and the quantum logic gate, to obtain the initial control pulse of the quantum logic gate included in the parameterized quantum circuit, wherein an approximate quantum logic gate can be obtained based on the initial control pulse
[0049]:” the evolution process is simulated based on the system Hamiltonian of the target quantum hardware device to obtain a quantifiable result, such as the simulated quantum gate that can be achieved is obtained through evolution, and the initial simulated pulse is optimized based on the quantifiable result, which lays a foundation for simplifying the overall optimization process and improving the overall processing efficiency.
[0028]: ” FIG. 3 is a schematic structural diagram of a parameterized quantum circuit in a specific example of a control pulse generation method”,
[0031]:” FIGS. 6 and 7 are schematic diagrams of a target pulse sequence and a chromatographic pulse sequence in a specific example of a control pulse generation method”,
[0115]:” Step g: a benchmark test module is invoked to obtain a chromatographic pulse sequence for the quantum state chromatography of physical qubits, and the chromatographic pulse sequence is added after the initial pulse sequence”.
(BRI: in the context of Fig 6 as presented, the chromatographic pulse can be considered as an analog control pulse acting as a “analog instruction set”).
[0155] :” In a specific example of the solution of the present disclosure, further includes a chromatographic pulse sequence acquisition unit and a measurement result acquisition unit, wherein
[0156]:” the chromatographic pulse sequence acquisition unit is configured to acquire a chromatographic pulse sequence”,
[0157]: “ the measurement result acquisition unit is configured to acquire a measurement result returned after applying the chromatographic pulse sequence, after the target pulse sequence is applied to the target quantum hardware device”,
[0158]: “ the state information acquisition unit is further configured to obtain state information of each physical qubit in the target quantum hardware device based on the measurement result, to obtain the system state information of the quantum system.
[0103]:” The scheduler obtains optimal control pulses optimized by the optimizer to achieve respective quantum logic gates in the parameterized quantum circuit, that is, an initial control pulse of which the fidelity meets the preset fidelity requirement. According to the built-in scheduling rule matched with the target quantum hardware device and the quantum circuit structure obtained after the mapper completes the mapping of qubits, all the acquired control pulses are arranged and scheduled to obtain an initial pulse sequence for the parameterized quantum circuit.
(BRI: this is a programming physical quantum system with pulse-level control in which the process involves arranging and scheduling the acquired control pulses to form an initial pulse sequence from the quantum circuit which represents an abstract analog instruction set)
WANG does not explicitly disclose:
- obtain a continuous Hamiltonian equation;
- discretize the continuous Hamiltonian equation into a piecewise constant Hamiltonian
- and compile the piecewise constant Hamiltonian to generate a pulse schedule based on the abstract analog instruction set for the target quantum device.
However, Wei discloses:
- obtain a continuous Hamiltonian equation;
[0508]” solving a general classical or quantum computational problem via Monte Carlo quantum computing, which firstly designs a quantum algorithm that solves the given computational problem, then synthesizes a quantum circuit and creates a Feynman-Kitaev construct whose bi-fermion implementation has either a time-independent SFF Hamiltonian”,
[0528]” Homophysically mapping said either time-independent Hamiltonian or a periodic sequence of Hamiltonians to an either time-independent SFF Hamiltonian or an SFF periodic sequence of Hamiltonians that governs a physical system of bi-fermions;
[0037]” The quantum physics of such a physical system is governed by one particular self-adjoint operator H∈ L(C), called the Hamiltonian,
[0052]” if
λ
0
∈
R
is the smallest eigenvalue of a self-adjoint operator H∈ B(C), then the ground state energy of the shifted partial Hamiltonian.
[BRI: A time-independent Hamiltonian does indeed provide a continuous time evolution of the system, but the nature of that evolution depends on whether you are in classical Hamiltonian mechanics or quantum mechanics. In quantum mechanics, a time-independent Hamiltonian has a complete set of energy eigenstates for such a system]
- discretize the continuous Hamiltonian equation into a piecewise constant Hamiltonian
[0066]” A CD-multiplicatively coupled partial Hamiltonian H ∈
L
0
( M x P) is called CD-separately moving if it can be written as H=
H
C
+
H
D
with
being called the continuous and the discrete parts of H respectively, where
0067] “ A discrete part
H
D
of a partial Hamiltonian H occurs naturally, for example, in dealing with a physical system consisting of particles with spins, or in describing quantum tunneling of electrons between nearby nano-structures such as quantum wells, quantum wires, and quantum dots, or in a model of computational physics that involves a discrete dynamical variable, such as a Hubbard model or a lattice field theory.”,
[0151]” The celebrated Feynman path integral and the corresponding path integral Monte Carlo (PIMC) provide general and powerful methods for computing and simulating Gibbs operators and their associated Gibbs wavefunctions and kernels [4-8, 94-97, 164-176]. Generally, it may be desired to compute a Gibbs operator, specifically its associated Gibbs wavefunctions and kernels, corresponding to a piecewise constant sequence of partial Hamiltonians {H.sub.m: m∈[1, M]}, M ∈
N
, with each H.sub.m, m ∈ [1, M] being a constant operator applied to a many-fermion quantum system during an interval (
τ
.sub.m−1,
τ
.sub.m] of (imaginary) time, where {
τ
.
sub.m: m∈[0, M]}.Math.[0, ∞).sup.M+1 is a predetermined sequence of time instants, with
τ
.sub.0=0,
τ
.sub.m>
τ
.sub.m−1, ∀ m ∈[1, M]. Within each time interval (
τ
.sub.m−1,
τ
.sub.m], the partial Hamiltonian H.sub.m, m ∈ [1, M] effects a Gibbs operator”,
[0168]” A piecewise C.sup.1,2 path of Hamiltonians is a concatenation (also known as product) of a finite number of C.sup.1,2 paths of Hamiltonians.
- and compile the piecewise constant Hamiltonian to generate a pulse schedule based on the abstract analog instruction set for the target quantum device.
[0525]: ” taking cue from the hierarchically leveled specialization, organization, and cooperation of programming languages and software in the tremendously successful industry of classical computing, where there are low-level programming languages such as machine codes and assembly languages, that are strongly coupled to specific hardware architectures and machine instruction sets”,
[0525]: “ it is easily envisioned that a large scale adoption of Monte Carlo quantum computing will benefit from an MCQC compiler that lies in between and bridges two specialized domains of quantum computing and applications, where in the higher-level domain, users and applications of quantum computing can be oblivious of the underlying MCQC mechanism, particularly the MCMC details, but focus on constructing/programming general and abstract quantum algorithms/circuits
[0525]” an MCQC compiler and programming and software utilities take care automatically, and free users of higher-level quantum programming and applications from considerations of:
[0526]:” 1) Creating a Feynman-Kitaev construct that turns a quantum algorithm/circuit into either a time-independent Hamiltonian or a periodic sequence of Hamiltonians”.
[0528]: “ periodic sequence of Hamiltonians, which generates either a time-homogeneous or a lifted periodic Markov chain”.
[BRI: a compiler that outputs a time-independent Hamiltonian or a periodic sequence of Hamiltonians is producing a piecewise Hamiltonian in the sense that the Hamiltonian is constant over time intervals. In both homogeneous and lifted periodic cases, the Hamiltonian is constant over each fixed time interval [nT, (n+1)T). The “lifting” refers to the fact that the Hamiltonian changes periodically in time, but within each interval it is constant. This is the standard setup for periodic driving in quantum mechanics ]
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG and Wei.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection.
Wei teaches obtaining continuous Hamiltonian equation, discretizing the continuous equation into a piecewise constant Hamiltonian and compiling the piecewise constant Hamiltonian.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG and Wei that can provide optimized numerical estimate to the expectation value for computational task (simulation task) where high-dimensional density is involved (Wei[0394].
In regard to claim 2: (Original)
WANG discloses:
- wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the system to: transmit the pulse schedule to the target quantum device to create an evolution in the target quantum device.
[0077]:” after receiving the system Hamiltonian and the target quantum control task uploaded by the client, the cloud server will invoke various corresponding functional modules according to the target quantum control task and the system Hamiltonian to achieve the target quantum control task. The cloud server also provides an interface for third-party hardware (such as a real target quantum hardware device), and transmits a generated pulse instruction (such as a target pulse sequence) for achieving the target quantum control task onto the real target quantum hardware device, such as a quantum processor.
In regard to claim 3: (Original)
WANG discloses:
- wherein the target quantum device is one of a plurality of quantum devices.
[0054]:” in actual applications, in a case that the target quantum control task includes a plurality of quantum logic gates, even if the obtained approximate quantum logic gates meet the preset fidelity requirement, after all the approximate quantum logic gates are combined, the obtained quantum gate will deviate from the expected approximate quantum logic gate due to crosstalk and other problems, resulting in the fidelity of the obtained quantum gate no longer meeting the preset fidelity requirement
In regard to claim 4: (Original)
WANG discloses:
- wherein the pulse schedule includes one or more patterns of analog pulses.
[0031]: “ FIGS. 6 and 7 are schematic diagrams of a target pulse sequence and a chromatographic pulse sequence in a specific example of a control pulse generation method according to an embodiment of the present disclosure;
[BRI: this is a pulse modulation and Fig 6 shows the pulse modulation as the amplitude varies over time]
In regard to claim 13: (Currently Amended)
WANG discloses:
- processor-implemented method for quantum simulation, the method comprising:
[0147]:
an optimization unit configured to optimize a pulse parameter of the initial simulated pulse based on a relationship between the simulated quantum gate obtained through simulation and the quantum logic gate,
in [0005]:
According to one aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a control pulse generation method
[Abstract]:
the method includes: acquiring a system Hamiltonian; acquiring an initial control pulse of a quantum logic gate included in a parameterized quantum circuit to obtain an initial pulse sequence for a gate sequence formed for all the quantum logic gates in the parameterized quantum circuit, which is obtained through simulation based on the system Hamiltonian;
- obtain a selection of a target quantum device;
[0075]:
The Hamiltonian definition module is used to provide a relevant physical parameter of a quantum hardware device and create a Hamiltonian according to the physical model of the quantum system selected by the user (that is, the quantum system characterized by the target quantum hardware device). The Hamiltonian includes the following information of quantum system, including but not limited to: structure information of the quantum hardware device, a hardware parameter of the quantum hardware device, a pulse parameter, a pulse waveform, a pulse sequence, the number of physical qubits and energy level of each physical qubit, etc.
- accessing an abstract analog instruction set configured to cause an evolution in the selected target quantum device;
[0081]:
The simulator solves the evolution process of state information (such as a quantum state of a qubit) of a quantum system indicated by the target quantum hardware device, according to the Schrodinger equation and Hamiltonian numerical value.
[0049] :
Further, dynamical evolution processing is performed on the system Hamiltonian based on the initial simulated pulse of the quantum logic gate included in the parameterized quantum circuit, to simulate the application of the initial simulated pulse to physical qubits in the target quantum hardware device, and a simulated quantum gate achieved by the initial simulated pulse is obtained through simulation; a pulse parameter of the initial simulated pulse is optimized based on a relationship between the simulated quantum gate obtained through simulation and the quantum logic gate, to obtain the initial control pulse of the quantum logic gate included in the parameterized quantum circuit, wherein an approximate quantum logic gate can be obtained based on the initial control pulse
[0049]:
the evolution process is simulated based on the system Hamiltonian of the target quantum hardware device to obtain a quantifiable result, such as the simulated quantum gate that can be achieved is obtained through evolution, and the initial simulated pulse is optimized based on the quantifiable result, which lays a foundation for simplifying the overall optimization process and improving the overall processing efficiency.
[0028]:
FIG. 3 is a schematic structural diagram of a parameterized quantum circuit in a specific example of a control pulse generation method
[0031]:
FIGS. 6 and 7 are schematic diagrams of a target pulse sequence and a chromatographic pulse sequence in a specific example of a control pulse generation method
[0115]:
Step g: a benchmark test module is invoked to obtain a chromatographic pulse sequence for the quantum state chromatography of physical qubits, and the chromatographic pulse sequence is added after the initial pulse sequence.
(BRI: in the context of Fig 6 as presented, the chromatographic pulse can be considered as an analog control pulse acting as a “analog instruction set”).
[0155] :
In a specific example of the solution of the present disclosure, further includes a chromatographic pulse sequence acquisition unit and a measurement result acquisition unit, wherein
[0156]:
the chromatographic pulse sequence acquisition unit is configured to acquire a chromatographic pulse sequence;
[0157]:
the measurement result acquisition unit is configured to acquire a measurement result returned after applying the chromatographic pulse sequence, after the target pulse sequence is applied to the target quantum hardware device;
[0158]:
the state information acquisition unit is further configured to obtain state information of each physical qubit in the target quantum hardware device based on the measurement result, to obtain the system state information of the quantum system.
[0103]:
The scheduler obtains optimal control pulses optimized by the optimizer to achieve respective quantum logic gates in the parameterized quantum circuit, that is, an initial control pulse of which the fidelity meets the preset fidelity requirement. According to the built-in scheduling rule matched with the target quantum hardware device and the quantum circuit structure obtained after the mapper completes the mapping of qubits, all the acquired control pulses are arranged and scheduled to obtain an initial pulse sequence for the parameterized quantum circuit.
(BRI: this is a programming physical quantum system with pulse-level control in which the process involves arranging and scheduling the acquired control pulses to form an initial pulse sequence from the quantum circuit which represents an abstract analog instruction set)
WANG does not explicitly disclose:
- obtaining a continuous Hamiltonian equation;
- discretizing the continuous Hamiltonian equation into a piecewise constant Hamiltonian
- and compiling the piecewise constant Hamiltonian to generate a pulse schedule based on the abstract analog instruction set for the target quantum device.
However, Wei discloses:
- obtaining a continuous Hamiltonian equation;
[0508]” solving a general classical or quantum computational problem via Monte Carlo quantum computing, which firstly designs a quantum algorithm that solves the given computational problem, then synthesizes a quantum circuit and creates a Feynman-Kitaev construct whose bi-fermion implementation has either a time-independent SFF Hamiltonian”,
[0528]” Homophysically mapping said either time-independent Hamiltonian or a periodic sequence of Hamiltonians to an either time-independent SFF Hamiltonian or an SFF periodic sequence of Hamiltonians that governs a physical system of bi-fermions;
[0037]” The quantum physics of such a physical system is governed by one particular self-adjoint operator H∈ L(C), called the Hamiltonian,
[0052]” if
λ
0
∈
R
is the smallest eigenvalue of a self-adjoint operator H∈ B(C), then the ground state energy of the shifted partial Hamiltonian.
[BRI: A time-independent Hamiltonian does indeed provide a continuous time evolution of the system, but the nature of that evolution depends on whether you are in classical Hamiltonian mechanics or quantum mechanics. In quantum mechanics, a time-independent Hamiltonian has a complete set of energy eigenstates for such a system]
- discretizing the continuous Hamiltonian equation into a piecewise constant Hamiltonian
[0066]” A CD-multiplicatively coupled partial Hamiltonian H ∈
L
0
( M x P) is called CD-separately moving if it can be written as H=
H
C
+
H
D
with
being called the continuous and the discrete parts of H respectively, where
0067] “ A discrete part
H
D
of a partial Hamiltonian H occurs naturally, for example, in dealing with a physical system consisting of particles with spins, or in describing quantum tunneling of electrons between nearby nano-structures such as quantum wells, quantum wires, and quantum dots, or in a model of computational physics that involves a discrete dynamical variable, such as a Hubbard model or a lattice field theory.”,
[0151]” The celebrated Feynman path integral and the corresponding path integral Monte Carlo (PIMC) provide general and powerful methods for computing and simulating Gibbs operators and their associated Gibbs wavefunctions and kernels [4-8, 94-97, 164-176]. Generally, it may be desired to compute a Gibbs operator, specifically its associated Gibbs wavefunctions and kernels, corresponding to a piecewise constant sequence of partial Hamiltonians {H.sub.m: m∈[1, M]}, M ∈
N
, with each H.sub.m, m ∈ [1, M] being a constant operator applied to a many-fermion quantum system during an interval (
τ
.sub.m−1,
τ
.sub.m] of (imaginary) time, where {
τ
.
sub.m: m∈[0, M]}.Math.[0, ∞).sup.M+1 is a predetermined sequence of time instants, with
τ
.sub.0=0,
τ
.sub.m>
τ
.sub.m−1, ∀ m ∈[1, M]. Within each time interval (
τ
.sub.m−1,
τ
.sub.m], the partial Hamiltonian H.sub.m, m ∈ [1, M] effects a Gibbs operator”,
[0168]” A piecewise C.sup.1,2 path of Hamiltonians is a concatenation (also known as product) of a finite number of C.sup.1,2 paths of Hamiltonians.
- and compiling the piecewise constant Hamiltonian to generate a pulse schedule based on the abstract analog instruction set for the target quantum device.
[0525]: ” taking cue from the hierarchically leveled specialization, organization, and cooperation of programming languages and software in the tremendously successful industry of classical computing, where there are low-level programming languages such as machine codes and assembly languages, that are strongly coupled to specific hardware architectures and machine instruction sets”,
[0525]: “ it is easily envisioned that a large scale adoption of Monte Carlo quantum computing will benefit from an MCQC compiler that lies in between and bridges two specialized domains of quantum computing and applications, where in the higher-level domain, users and applications of quantum computing can be oblivious of the underlying MCQC mechanism, particularly the MCMC details, but focus on constructing/programming general and abstract quantum algorithms/circuits
[0525]” an MCQC compiler and programming and software utilities take care automatically, and free users of higher-level quantum programming and applications from considerations of:
[0526]:” 1) Creating a Feynman-Kitaev construct that turns a quantum algorithm/circuit into either a time-independent Hamiltonian or a periodic sequence of Hamiltonians”.
[0528]: “ periodic sequence of Hamiltonians, which generates either a time-homogeneous or a lifted periodic Markov chain”.
[BRI: a compiler that outputs a time-independent Hamiltonian or a periodic sequence of Hamiltonians is producing a piecewise Hamiltonian in the sense that the Hamiltonian is constant over time intervals. In both homogeneous and lifted periodic cases, the Hamiltonian is constant over each fixed time interval [nT, (n+1)T). The “lifting” refers to the fact that the Hamiltonian changes periodically in time, but within each interval it is constant. This is the standard setup for periodic driving in quantum mechanics ]
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG and Wei.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection.
Wei teaches obtaining continuous Hamiltonian equation, discretizing the continuous equation into a piecewise constant Hamiltonian and compiling the piecewise constant Hamiltonian.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG and Wei that can provide optimized numerical estimate to the expectation value for computational task (simulation task) where high-dimensional density is involved (Wei[0394].
In regard to claim 14: (Original)
WANG discloses:
- wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the system to: transmit the pulse schedule to the target quantum device to create an evolution in the target quantum device.
[0077]: “after receiving the system Hamiltonian and the target quantum control task uploaded by the client, the cloud server will invoke various corresponding functional modules according to the target quantum control task and the system Hamiltonian to achieve the target quantum control task. The cloud server also provides an interface for third-party hardware (such as a real target quantum hardware device), and transmits a generated pulse instruction (such as a target pulse sequence) for achieving the target quantum control task onto the real target quantum hardware device, such as a quantum processor”.
In regard to claim 15: (Original)
WANG discloses:
- wherein the target quantum device is one of a plurality of quantum devices.
[0054]: “ in actual applications, in a case that the target quantum control task includes a plurality of quantum logic gates, even if the obtained approximate quantum logic gates meet the preset fidelity requirement, after all the approximate quantum logic gates are combined, the obtained quantum gate will deviate from the expected approximate quantum logic gate due to crosstalk and other problems, resulting in the fidelity of the obtained quantum gate no longer meeting the preset fidelity requirement”
In regard to claim 16: (Original)
WANG discloses:
- wherein the pulse schedule includes one or more patterns of analog pulses.
[0031]:” FIGS. 6 and 7 are schematic diagrams of a target pulse sequence and a chromatographic pulse sequence in a specific example of a control pulse generation method according to an embodiment of the present disclosure;
(BRI: this is a pulse modulation and Fig 6 shows the pulse modulation as the amplitude varies over time)
In regard to claim 20: (Currently Amended)
WANG discloses:
- A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a processor to execute a method of quantum simulation, the method comprising:
[0022]: “ According to another aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing computer instructions, wherein the computer instructions are executed by a computer to cause the computer to perform the method in any embodiment of the present disclosure.
- obtaining a target quantum device;
[0075]: “ The Hamiltonian definition module is used to provide a relevant physical parameter of a quantum hardware device and create a Hamiltonian according to the physical model of the quantum system selected by the user (that is, the quantum system characterized by the target quantum hardware device). The Hamiltonian includes the following information of quantum system, including but not limited to: structure information of the quantum hardware device, a hardware parameter of the quantum hardware device, a pulse parameter, a pulse waveform, a pulse sequence, the number of physical qubits and energy level of each physical qubit, etc”.
- accessing an abstract analog instruction set configured to cause an evolution in the target quantum device;
[0081]:” The simulator solves the evolution process of state information (such as a quantum state of a qubit) of a quantum system indicated by the target quantum hardware device, according to the Schrodinger equation and Hamiltonian numerical value”,
[0049] :”Further, dynamical evolution processing is performed on the system Hamiltonian based on the initial simulated pulse of the quantum logic gate included in the parameterized quantum circuit, to simulate the application of the initial simulated pulse to physical qubits in the target quantum hardware device, and a simulated quantum gate achieved by the initial simulated pulse is obtained through simulation; a pulse parameter of the initial simulated pulse is optimized based on a relationship between the simulated quantum gate obtained through simulation and the quantum logic gate, to obtain the initial control pulse of the quantum logic gate included in the parameterized quantum circuit, wherein an approximate quantum logic gate can be obtained based on the initial control pulse
[0049]:” the evolution process is simulated based on the system Hamiltonian of the target quantum hardware device to obtain a quantifiable result, such as the simulated quantum gate that can be achieved is obtained through evolution, and the initial simulated pulse is optimized based on the quantifiable result, which lays a foundation for simplifying the overall optimization process and improving the overall processing efficiency”,
[0028]: “ FIG. 3 is a schematic structural diagram of a parameterized quantum circuit in a specific example of a control pulse generation method”,
[0031]: “FIGS. 6 and 7 are schematic diagrams of a target pulse sequence and a chromatographic pulse sequence in a specific example of a control pulse generation method
[0115]:
Step g: a benchmark test module is invoked to obtain a chromatographic pulse sequence for the quantum state chromatography of physical qubits, and the chromatographic pulse sequence is added after the initial pulse sequence.
(BRI: in the context of Fig 6 as presented, the chromatographic pulse can be considered as an analog control pulse acting as a “analog instruction set”).
[0155] :
In a specific example of the solution of the present disclosure, further includes a chromatographic pulse sequence acquisition unit and a measurement result acquisition unit, wherein
[0156]:
the chromatographic pulse sequence acquisition unit is configured to acquire a chromatographic pulse sequence;
[0157]:
the measurement result acquisition unit is configured to acquire a measurement result returned after applying the chromatographic pulse sequence, after the target pulse sequence is applied to the target quantum hardware device;
[0158]:
the state information acquisition unit is further configured to obtain state information of each physical qubit in the target quantum hardware device based on the measurement result, to obtain the system state information of the quantum system.
[0103]:
The scheduler obtains optimal control pulses optimized by the optimizer to achieve respective quantum logic gates in the parameterized quantum circuit, that is, an initial control pulse of which the fidelity meets the preset fidelity requirement. According to the built-in scheduling rule matched with the target quantum hardware device and the quantum circuit structure obtained after the mapper completes the mapping of qubits, all the acquired control pulses are arranged and scheduled to obtain an initial pulse sequence for the parameterized quantum circuit.
(BRI: this is a programming physical quantum system with pulse-level control in which the process involves arranging and scheduling the acquired control pulses to form an initial pulse sequence from the quantum circuit which represents an abstract analog instruction set)
WANG does not explicitly disclose:
- obtaining a continuous Hamiltonian equation;
- discretizing the continuous Hamiltonian equation into a piecewise constant Hamiltonian
- and compiling the piecewise constant Hamiltonian to generate a pulse schedule based on the abstract analog instruction set for the target quantum device.
However, Wei discloses:
- obtaining a continuous Hamiltonian equation;
[0508]” solving a general classical or quantum computational problem via Monte Carlo quantum computing, which firstly designs a quantum algorithm that solves the given computational problem, then synthesizes a quantum circuit and creates a Feynman-Kitaev construct whose bi-fermion implementation has either a time-independent SFF Hamiltonian”,
[0528]” Homophysically mapping said either time-independent Hamiltonian or a periodic sequence of Hamiltonians to an either time-independent SFF Hamiltonian or an SFF periodic sequence of Hamiltonians that governs a physical system of bi-fermions;
[0037]” The quantum physics of such a physical system is governed by one particular self-adjoint operator H∈ L(C), called the Hamiltonian,
[0052]” if
λ
0
∈
R
is the smallest eigenvalue of a self-adjoint operator H∈ B(C), then the ground state energy of the shifted partial Hamiltonian.
[BRI: A time-independent Hamiltonian does indeed provide a continuous time evolution of the system, but the nature of that evolution depends on whether you are in classical Hamiltonian mechanics or quantum mechanics. In quantum mechanics, a time-independent Hamiltonian has a complete set of energy eigenstates for such a system]
- discretizing the continuous Hamiltonian equation into a piecewise constant Hamiltonian
[0066]” A CD-multiplicatively coupled partial Hamiltonian H ∈
L
0
( M x P) is called CD-separately moving if it can be written as H=
H
C
+
H
D
with
being called the continuous and the discrete parts of H respectively, where
[0067]: “ A discrete part
H
D
of a partial Hamiltonian H occurs naturally, for example, in dealing with a physical system consisting of particles with spins, or in describing quantum tunneling of electrons between nearby nano-structures such as quantum wells, quantum wires, and quantum dots, or in a model of computational physics that involves a discrete dynamical variable, such as a Hubbard model or a lattice field theory.”,
[0151]” The celebrated Feynman path integral and the corresponding path integral Monte Carlo (PIMC) provide general and powerful methods for computing and simulating Gibbs operators and their associated Gibbs wavefunctions and kernels [4-8, 94-97, 164-176]. Generally, it may be desired to compute a Gibbs operator, specifically its associated Gibbs wavefunctions and kernels, corresponding to a piecewise constant sequence of partial Hamiltonians {H.sub.m: m∈[1, M]}, M ∈
N
, with each H.sub.m, m ∈ [1, M] being a constant operator applied to a many-fermion quantum system during an interval (
τ
.sub.m−1,
τ
.sub.m] of (imaginary) time, where {
τ
.
sub.m: m∈[0, M]}.Math.[0, ∞).sup.M+1 is a predetermined sequence of time instants, with
τ
.sub.0=0,
τ
.sub.m>
τ
.sub.m−1, ∀ m ∈[1, M]. Within each time interval (
τ
.sub.m−1,
τ
.sub.m], the partial Hamiltonian H.sub.m, m ∈ [1, M] effects a Gibbs operator”,
[0168]” A piecewise C.sup.1,2 path of Hamiltonians is a concatenation (also known as product) of a finite number of C.sup.1,2 paths of Hamiltonians.
- and compiling the piecewise constant Hamiltonian to generate a pulse schedule based on the abstract analog instruction set for the target quantum device.
[0525]: ” taking cue from the hierarchically leveled specialization, organization, and cooperation of programming languages and software in the tremendously successful industry of classical computing, where there are low-level programming languages such as machine codes and assembly languages, that are strongly coupled to specific hardware architectures and machine instruction sets”,
[0525]: “ it is easily envisioned that a large scale adoption of Monte Carlo quantum computing will benefit from an MCQC compiler that lies in between and bridges two specialized domains of quantum computing and applications, where in the higher-level domain, users and applications of quantum computing can be oblivious of the underlying MCQC mechanism, particularly the MCMC details, but focus on constructing/programming general and abstract quantum algorithms/circuits
[0525]” an MCQC compiler and programming and software utilities take care automatically, and free users of higher-level quantum programming and applications from considerations of:
[0526]:” 1) Creating a Feynman-Kitaev construct that turns a quantum algorithm/circuit into either a time-independent Hamiltonian or a periodic sequence of Hamiltonians”.
[0528]: “ periodic sequence of Hamiltonians, which generates either a time-homogeneous or a lifted periodic Markov chain”.
[BRI: a compiler that outputs a time-independent Hamiltonian or a periodic sequence of Hamiltonians is producing a piecewise Hamiltonian in the sense that the Hamiltonian is constant over time intervals. In both homogeneous and lifted periodic cases, the Hamiltonian is constant over each fixed time interval [nT, (n+1)T). The “lifting” refers to the fact that the Hamiltonian changes periodically in time, but within each interval it is constant. This is the standard setup for periodic driving in quantum mechanics ]
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG and Wei.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection.
Wei teaches obtaining continuous Hamiltonian equation, discretizing the continuous equation into a piecewise constant Hamiltonian and compiling the piecewise constant Hamiltonian.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG and Wei that can provide optimized numerical estimate to the expectation value for computational task (simulation task) where high-dimensional density is involved (Wei[0394].
Claims 5-9, 11-12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Xin WANG et.al. (hereinafter WANG) US 2022/0076154 A1,
In view of Haiqing Wei et al. (hereinafter Wei) US 2023/0016119 A1.
further in view of Eyob Sete (hereinafter Sete) US 2018/0123597 A1.
In regard to claim 5: (Original)
WANG and Wei do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein programming the target quantum device comprises: transmitting signals in the form of pulses through one or more signal carriers.
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein programming the target quantum device comprises: transmitting signals in the form of pulses through one or more signal carriers.
[0060]: “the quality measure is computed at 706 based on a simulation of the quantum logic process produced by the control signal”,
[0043]:” The quality measure can be computed based on measurements of the quantum process produced by delivering an instance of the control signal in the quantum circuit. For instance, the quality measure can be based on measurements obtained by quantum state tomography”,
[0016] :” In some implementations, one or more parameters of a control signal for a quantum circuit are accessed. For example, a parameter set may include a series of voltage amplitudes for respective time segments of the control signal. A subset of the time segments can be selected and updated in a manner that improves a quality measure of a quantum logic operation (e.g., a quantum logic gate) to be executed by the control signal”,
[0067]: “ After the parameter set is updated at 714, the process 700 returns to 706 for another iteration. The process 700 may continue iterating, for instance, until the quality measure sought is achieved at 708”,
[0031]: The density operator ρ representing the state of the quantum system obeys the Schrodinger equation and may be subject to qubit relaxation and dephasing processes:
where
σ
±
are the raising and lowering operators for a qubit,
y
j
,
y
ϕ
,
j
are relaxation and dephasing rates for a qubit. Here, H=
H
0
+
∑
k
Ω
k
(t)
H
k
can represent the total Hamiltonian of one or more qubits, with
H
o
being the free Hamiltonian, while
H
k
are control Hamiltonians describing qubit-control signal couplings or qubit-qubit interactions, and Ω.sub.k(t) are control signal parameters”,
[0027]: “ The waveform generator system can output the analog signal for delivery to the quantum circuit 104. The analog signal can be, for example, a radio frequency or microwave frequency pulse produced on a physical transmission line”.
[BRI: within the context of time segments for control signals and control Hamiltonian represents “continuous Hamiltonians”
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG , Wei and Sete.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG and Wei.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection.
Wei teaches obtaining continuous Hamiltonian equation, discretizing the continuous equation into a piecewise constant Hamiltonian and compiling the piecewise constant Hamiltonian.
Sete discloses transmitting signals over carries in which signals indicating amplitude, and storing the Hamiltonians.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG , Wei and Sete that provide optimized quantum circuit by tunning the parameters of a control signal that executes the quantum logic (Sete [0015]).
In regard to claim 6: (Original)
WANG and Wei do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein the signals are configurable through parameters including at least one of amplitude over time or phase over time.
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein the signals are configurable through parameters including at least one of amplitude over time or phase over time.
[0058]:” At 702, a parameter set for a control signal is accessed. The parameter set includes digital information that specifies a control signal for a superconducting quantum circuit. For example, the control signal can be configured to control the example quantum circuit 104 shown in FIG. 1 or another type of quantum circuit”,
[0051] : “ initial voltage amplitudes Ω.sub.k.sup.(l) shown in FIG. 4A represent a version of the control signal that is analyzed on the l-th iteration of an iterative process (e.g., the process 300 shown in FIG. 3A or another type of process)”.
In regard to claim 7: (Original)
WANG and Wei do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein the one or more signal carriers are abstracted as signal lines.
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein the one or more signal carriers are abstracted as signal lines.
[0027]:” The waveform generator system can output the analog signal for delivery to the quantum circuit 104. The analog signal can be, for example, a radio frequency or microwave frequency pulse produced on a physical transmission line”.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG , Wei and Sete.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection.
Wei teaches obtaining continuous Hamiltonian equation, discretizing the continuous equation into a piecewise constant Hamiltonian and compiling the piecewise constant Hamiltonian.
Sete discloses transmitting signals over carries in which signals indicating amplitude, and storing the Hamiltonians.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG , Wei and Sete that provide optimized quantum circuit by tunning the parameters of a control signal that executes the quantum logic (Sete [0015]).
In regard to claim 8: (Original)
WANG and Wei do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein each signal line includes instructions to represent the signals sent through the signal carriers.
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein each signal line includes instructions to represent the signals sent through the signal carriers.
[0026]: “ In some implementations, the control system 110 includes a computer system (e.g., the computer system 200 shown in FIG. 2 or another type of computer system) that generates control information for the quantum processor cell 102. For example, the control information can include parameter sets that define control signals for individual devices (e.g., qubit devices, coupler devices, readout devices, etc.) or for combinations of devices in the quantum circuit 104. Each parameter set can include digital information and can be generated by a classical computing system running a software program. For example, a parameter set may be generated, analyzed and modified by code running in Python or MATLAB® software (available from The MathWorks, Inc.) or another type of software program.
[0027]:” The waveform generator system can output the analog signal for delivery to the quantum circuit 104. The analog signal can be, for example, a radio frequency or microwave frequency pulse produced on a physical transmission line”.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG , Wei and Sete.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection.
Wei teaches obtaining continuous Hamiltonian equation, discretizing the continuous equation into a piecewise constant Hamiltonian and compiling the piecewise constant Hamiltonian.
Sete discloses transmitting signals over carries in which signals indicating amplitude, and storing the Hamiltonians.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG , Wei and Sete that provide optimized quantum circuit by tunning the parameters of a control signal that executes the quantum logic (Sete [0015]).
In regard to claim 9: (Original)
WANG and Wei do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein at each point in time the signal line carries no more than one instruction of the instruction
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein at each point in time the signal line carries no more than one instruction of the instruction
[0035]: “The computer system 200 may be connected to a communication link, which may include any type of communication channel, connector, data communication network, or other link. For example, the communication link can include a wireless or a wired network, a Local Area Network (LAN), a Wide Area Network (WAN), a private network, a public network (such as the Internet), a WiFi network.
[0034]: “ The input devices and output devices can receive and transmit data in analog or digital form over communication links such as a serial link, a wireless link (e.g., infrared, radio frequency, or others), a parallel link, or another type of link)
In regard to claim 11: (Currently Amended)
WANG and Wei do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein Hamiltonians used in the continuous Hamiltonian equation are stored in a dictionary as linear combinations of product Hamiltonians.
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein Hamiltonians used in the continuous Hamiltonian equation are stored in a dictionary as linear combinations of product Hamiltonians.
[0031]:” The density operator ρ representing the state of the quantum system obeys the Schrodinger equation and may be subject to qubit relaxation and dephasing processes:
where
σ
±
are the raising and lowering operators for a qubit,
y
j
,
y
ϕ
,
j
are relaxation and dephasing rates for a qubit. Here, H=
H
0
+
∑
k
Ω
k
(t)
H
k
can represent the total Hamiltonian of one or more qubits, with
H
o
being the free Hamiltonian, while
H
k
are control Hamiltonians describing qubit-control signal couplings or qubit-qubit interactions, and
Ω
k
(t)
H
k
are control signal parameters”,
[BRI: A summation that provides the total Hamiltonian is a linear combination)
[0024]: “ In the example shown in FIG. 1, the signal delivery system 106 provides communication between the control system 110 and the quantum processor cell 102. For example, the signal delivery system 106 can receive control signals from the control system 110 and deliver the control signals to the quantum processor cell 102. In some instances, the signal delivery system 106 performs preprocessing, signal conditioning, or other operations to the control signals before delivering them to the quantum processor cell 102”,
[0022]:” In the example quantum circuit 104, the qubit devices each store a single qubit of information, and the qubits can collectively represent the computational state of a quantum processor or quantum memory. The quantum circuit 104 in the quantum processor cell 102 may also include readout devices that selectively interact with the qubit devices to detect their quantum states. For example, the readout devices may generate readout signals that indicate the computational state of the quantum processor or quantum memory. The quantum circuit 104 may also include coupler devices that selectively operate on individual qubits or pairs of qubits. For example, the coupler devices may produce entanglement or other multi-qubit states over two or more qubits in a quantum processor cell 102”,
[0071]: “ In a first example, one or more parameters of a control signal of a superconducting quantum circuit are accessed. A parameter set that includes initial voltage amplitudes for respective time segments of the control signal are accessed. A first subset of time segments is selected to construct the control signal that improves the quality measure of a quantum logic operation”,
[BRI: Within the context of time segments of the control signals and the control Hamiltonian, the Hamiltonian is a “continuous Hamiltonian”]
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG , Wei and Sete.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG and Wei.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection.
Wei teaches obtaining continuous Hamiltonian equation, discretizing the continuous equation into a piecewise constant Hamiltonian and compiling the piecewise constant Hamiltonian.
Sete discloses transmitting signals over carries in which signals indicating amplitude, and storing the Hamiltonians.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG , Wei and Sete that provide optimized quantum circuit by tunning the parameters of a control signal that executes the quantum logic (Sete [0015]).
In regard to claim 12: (Original)
WANG and Wei do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein the analog instruction set includes one or more site identifiers in a set to represent qubit sites of the target quantum device.
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein the analog instruction set includes one or more site identifiers in a set to represent qubit sites of the target quantum device.
[0019]: “ In some implementation the quantum computing system 100 can operate using gate-based models for quantum computing”.
[0019]: “ For example, topological quantum error correction schemes can operate on a lattice of nearest-neighbor coupled qubits”.
[0019]:”Adjacent pairs of qubits in the lattice can be addressed, for example, with two-qubit logic operations that are capable of generating entanglement, independent of other pairs in the lattice”.
[0016]: “ In some implementations, one or more parameters of a control signal for a quantum circuit are accessed. For example, a parameter set may include a series of voltage amplitudes for respective time segments of the control signal”.
[0016]:” A subset of the time segments can be selected and updated in a manner that improves a quality measure of a quantum logic operation (e.g., a quantum logic gate) to be executed by the control signal.
(BRI: time segments are the identifiers)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG , Wei and Sete.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG and Wei.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection.
Wei teaches obtaining continuous Hamiltonian equation, discretizing the continuous equation into a piecewise constant Hamiltonian and compiling the piecewise constant Hamiltonian.
Sete discloses transmitting signals over carries in which signals indicating amplitude, and storing the Hamiltonians.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG , Wei and Sete that provide optimized quantum circuit by tunning the parameters of a control signal that executes the quantum logic (Sete [0015]).
In regard to claim 17: (Original)
WANG and Wei do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein programming the target quantum device comprises: transmitting signals in the form of pulses through one or more signal carriers.
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein programming the target quantum device comprises: transmitting signals in the form of pulses through one or more signal carriers.
[0060]:” the quality measure is computed at 706 based on a simulation of the quantum logic process produced by the control signal”,
[0043]: “ The quality measure can be computed based on measurements of the quantum process produced by delivering an instance of the control signal in the quantum circuit. For instance, the quality measure can be based on measurements obtained by quantum state tomography”,
[0031]:” The density operator ρ representing the state of the quantum system obeys the Schrodinger equation and may be subject to qubit relaxation and dephasing processes:
where
σ
±
are the raising and lowering operators for a qubit,
y
j
,
y
ϕ
,
j
are relaxation and dephasing rates for a qubit. Here, H=
H
0
+
∑
k
Ω
k
(t)
H
k
can represent the total Hamiltonian of one or more qubits, with
H
o
being the free Hamiltonian, while
H
k
are control Hamiltonians describing qubit-control signal couplings or qubit-qubit interactions, and Ω.sub.k(t) are control signal parameters
[0027]: “ The waveform generator system can output the analog signal for delivery to the quantum circuit 104. The analog signal can be, for example, a radio frequency or microwave frequency pulse produced on a physical transmission line.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG , Wei and Sete.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection.
Wei teaches obtaining continuous Hamiltonian equation, discretizing the continuous equation into a piecewise constant Hamiltonian and compiling the piecewise constant Hamiltonian.
Sete discloses transmitting signals over carries in which signals indicating amplitude, and storing the Hamiltonians.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG , Wei and Sete that provide optimized quantum circuit by tunning the parameters of a control signal that executes the quantum logic (Sete [0015]).
In regard to claim 18: (Original)
WANG and Wei do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein the signals are configurable through parameters including at least one of amplitude over time or phase over time.
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein the signals are configurable through parameters including at least one of amplitude over time or phase over time.
[0058]: “At 702, a parameter set for a control signal is accessed. The parameter set includes digital information that specifies a control signal for a superconducting quantum circuit. For example, the control signal can be configured to control the example quantum circuit 104 shown in FIG. 1 or another type of quantum circuit.
[0051] : “ initial voltage amplitudes Ω.sub.k.sup.(l) shown in FIG. 4A represent a version of the control signal that is analyzed on the l-th iteration of an iterative process (e.g., the process 300 shown in FIG. 3A or another type of process).
In regard to claim 19: (Original)
WANG and Wei do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein the analog instruction set includes one or more site identifiers in a set to represent qubit sites of the target quantum device.
However, Sete discloses:
- wherein the analog instruction set includes one or more site identifiers in a set to represent qubit sites of the target quantum device.
[0019]: “ In some implementation the quantum computing system 100 can operate using gate-based models for quantum computing”,
[0019]: “ For example, topological quantum error correction schemes can operate on a lattice of nearest-neighbor coupled qubits”,
[0019]:” Adjacent pairs of qubits in the lattice can be addressed, for example, with two-qubit logic operations that are capable of generating entanglement, independent of other pairs in the lattice”,
[0016]: “ In some implementations, one or more parameters of a control signal for a quantum circuit are accessed. For example, a parameter set may include a series of voltage amplitudes for respective time segments of the control signal
[0016]: “ A subset of the time segments can be selected and updated in a manner that improves a quality measure of a quantum logic operation (e.g., a quantum logic gate) to be executed by the control signal.
(BRI: time segments are the identifiers)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG , Wei and Sete.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG and Wei.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection.
Wei teaches obtaining continuous Hamiltonian equation, discretizing the continuous equation into a piecewise constant Hamiltonian and compiling the piecewise constant Hamiltonian.
Sete discloses transmitting signals over carries in which signals indicating amplitude, and storing the Hamiltonians.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG , Wei and Sete that provide optimized quantum circuit by tunning the parameters of a control signal that executes the quantum logic (Sete [0015]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Xin WANG et.al. (hereinafter WANG) US 2022/0076154 A1,
In view of Haiqing Wei et al. (hereinafter Wei) US 2023/0016119 A1,
further in view of Jeongwan Haah (hereinafter Haah) US 2020/0143280 A1.
In regard to claim 10: (Currently Amended)
WANG and Wei do not explicitly disclose:
- wherein when compiling the piecewise constant Hamiltonian, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the system to: declare zero, one or more local variables that are tuned for each invocation when compiling the target Hamiltonian
However, Haah discloses:
- wherein when compiling the piecewise constant Hamiltonian, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the system to: declare zero, one or more local variables that are tuned for each invocation when compiling the piecewise constant Hamiltonian
[0054] “ in one example, the quantum controller 420 facilitates implementation of the compiled quantum circuit by sending instructions to one or more memories (e.g., lower-temperature memories”,
[0055]: “ The compilation can be performed by a compiler 422 using a classical processor 410 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1) of the environment 400 which loads the high-level description from memory or storage devices 412 and stores the resulting quantum computer circuit description in the memory or storage devices 412”,
[0039]:” In this disclosure, local Hamiltonians on (hyper)cubic lattices embedded in some Euclidean space were analyzed”,
[0039]:” Given an arbitrary Hermitian operator that is a sum of terms, one can define a graph on qubits by defining edges between qubits whenever there is a term of the Hamiltonian acting on the both qubits. The distance is then the minimum number of edges on the path that connects vertices. Sometimes this is called the interaction graph of the Hamiltonian. If the number of paths of a given length between two vertices is at most
e.sup.cl for some constant c>0 where l is the distance between the two vertices, then Lieb-Robinson bounds holds, and it is possible to decompose the real time evolution operator in a similar fashion as above. Note that, it depends on the expansion property of the interaction graph whether this method eventually gives a better gate count than previous methods do”
[0027]:” One can adapt the decomposition of time evolution unitary based on Lieb-Robinson bounds when there is inhomogeneity in interaction strength across the lattice. For this section, it is not assumed that ∥ h.sub.x ∥ ≤1 for all X⊂Λ. Instead, suppose there is one term h.sub.X.sub.0 in the Hamiltonian with ∥h.sub.X.sub.0∥=»1 while all the other terms h.sub.X have ∥h.sub.X∥≤1, the prescription above says that one would have to divide the tune step in pieces, and simulate each time slice”,
[0017]:” The normalization convention used herein is as follows. Let H=Σ.sub.X ⊂ Λh.sub.X be a local Hamiltonian on a finite lattice Λ⊂.sup.D such that ∥h.sub.X∥≤1 for every X. Each term may or may not depend on time. Here, the locality means that h.sub.X is supported on region X, and h.sub.X=0 whenever diam(X)>1. These conditions are not restrictions at all since one can rescale the spacetime metric for the norm bound and the locality to hold. More physically speaking, the distance and the norm of Hamiltonian (energy) are not dimensionless quantities, and one can set the units for these properties to hold. The space dimension D is considered constant, and is hence ignored in big- notations.
[BRI: for each invocation (time step or segment), this represents declaring local variables to hold: at the current time step with a constant Hamiltonian value for that interval.
Decomposing the time evolution operator for a piecewise constant Hamiltonian H represents the total evolution into a sequence of small steps, each applying a subset of the Hamiltonian’s local terms and with the decomposition having tune steps divided will update one or more local variables per invocation, and locality/norm bounds still hold if each step respects the local structure of the Hamiltonian].
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine WANG , Wei and Haah.
WANG teaches accessing an analog instruction for quantum device selection.
Wei teaches obtaining continuous Hamiltonian equation, discretizing the continuous equation into a piecewise constant Hamiltonian and compiling the piecewise constant Hamiltonian.
Haah teaches one or more local variables tuned for each invocation when compiling the target Hamiltonian.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine WANG , Wei and Haah that can reduce the number of layers in higher dimensions (Haah [0028]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to TIRUMALE KRISHNASWAMY RAMESH whose telephone number is (571)272-4605. The examiner can normally be reached by phone.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Zhen can be reached on phone (571-272-3768). The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TIRUMALE K RAMESH/Examiner, Art Unit 2121
/Li B. Zhen/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2121