DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-9 and 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 18, 2025.
Double Patenting
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of U.S. Patent application 2023/0076717 to which a notice of allowance was issued on January 13, 2026. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent does not include the limitation that the polymer alters the hydration, rheology or both is achieved through mucoadhesion, mucolability, mucointegration, or combinations thereof. However, the specification of the patent does include the missing information in the application paragraph 0009.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Davidson et al (US 2023/0076717).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
With regards to claim 10, Davidson teaches a water-soluble polymer and methods of making said polymer (abstract) hat has a backbone formed from a methacrylamide monomer (0039) and a mucin-binding unit (0041) and being a branched or hyperbranched polymer (0036) having a molecular weight of 10 kDa to 10,000 kDa (0031). Davidson teaches the amount of the muncin-binding unit to be from 1 unit to 50% based on the molecular weight (0044). Davidson teaches the polymer to alter the hydration, rheology, or both through mucoadhesion, mucolability, mucointegration, or combinations thereof (0009).
With regards to claim 11, Davidson teaches the polymerization to include radical polymerization, conventional radical polymerization, RAFT, MADIX, ATRP, or SFRP (0054).
With regards to claim 12, Davidson is silent on the use of multifunctional monomers, however, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim reads that less than 1% includes 0. Therefore, the limitations of this claim have been met.
With regards to claim 14, Davidson teaches the mucin binding unit to include a compound including a boronic acid group, a carboxylate group, a carboxylica acid group, a hydrogen bonding group, a hydrophobic group, and a group capable of forming disulfide linkages (0041).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson et al (US 2023/0076717).
The disclosure of Davidson is adequately set forth in paragraph 6 above and is herein incorporated by reference.
With regards to claim 13, Davidson does not teach the degree of branching of the polymer.
However, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 124 (CCPA 1955). In this case, one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention would know that altering the degree of branching alters the flexibility, strength, and versatility of the polymer. Therefore, through routine experimentation, the degree of branching would be optimized in order to achieve the desired properties listed above.
Claims 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanderbilt et al (US 7,832,856) in view of Favero et al (US 2021/0171684).
With regards to claim 10, Vanderbilt teaches a first polymer having a backbone formed from N,N-dimethylacrylamide (column 2 line 64 to column 3 line 14) and a group having affinity to mucin being a boronic acid group compound (column 7, lines 45-57) wherein the amount of the boronic acid group is from 1 to 30 mole percent (column 8 lines 46-67).
Vanderbilt is silent on the molecular weight of the polymer.
Favero teaches a water-soluble polymer obtained by the polymerization of acrylamide (as applicants cite in the specification as reading on the claimed backbone) and acrylic acid (as applicants cite in the specification and dependent claims a reading on a mucin-binding unit) (abstract) wherein the amount of the acrylic acid is 25 mol% (0048). Favero teaches the molecular weight of the polymer to 10 to 15 millions g/mol (0051). One skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention would know to alter the molecular weight of a polymer in order to achieve the desfired mechanical properties such as tensile strength, processability, thermal properties, and chemical resistance.
With regards to claim 11, Vanderbilt teaches the polymers to be formed by radical polymerization (column 2, lines 39-63).
With regards to claim 12, Vanderbilt is silent on the use of multifunctional monomers, however, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim reads that less than 1% includes 0. Therefore, the limitations of this claim have been met.
With regards to claim 14, Vanderbilt teaches the compound with affinity to mucin to be a boronic acid group compound (column 7, lines 45-57).
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763