DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Specification
2. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
As per listing of serial numbers in the spec, it is informed that applicants are responsible for updating the spec if applications have matured into patents. For example, 16/356,500 listed in paragraph [0001] is now patented (US 11709910 B1) and the spec should be updated to reflect current status of that application.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1-8, 10 and 15-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-13, 16-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,709,910 B1. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims recite the same iterative, model-based imputation of missing values in a patient data set that is claimed in U.S. Patent No. 11,709,910 B1 and constitutes an obvious variation. Further it would be obvious to claim a program and apparatus/system off the method/ non-transitory computer-readable medium.
The instant Invention
Copending Application 16485784
1. A system comprising:a computer readable medium including a data set with data stored in rows and columns, wherein each of the rows is associated with one individual patient, and wherein each of the columns is associated with one type of data for patients; and one or more processors configured to:
(i) initialize missing values in ones of the columns in the data;
(ii) generate mathematical models for ones of the columns having one or more missing values, respectively, based on non-missing values of other ones of the columns in the data set;
(iii) for each of the rows having one or more missing values in one or more of the columns, respectively, update ones of the values for the one or more of the columns based on (a) non-missing values of that row, (b) the one or more of the mathematical models for the one or more of the columns, respectively, and (c) ones of the values for the other ones of the ones of the N columns with missing values;
(iv) updating the one or more mathematical models for the columns based on values in other columns and the updated ones of the values; and
(v) when an increase in performance of the mathematical models is less than a predetermined value, fill missing values in the M ones of the N columns in the data set with the M values, respectively.
2. The system of claim 1 wherein at least one of the columns includes categorical data that is limited to being in a first state, in a second state, or missing.
3. The system of claim 1 wherein at least one of the columns includes continuous data that is within a range of values or missing.
4. The system of claim 1 wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, when the increase in performance is greater than the predetermined value, repeat (iii) and (iv).
5. The system of claim 1 wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the performance of the mathematical models after (iv).
6. The system of claim 1 wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the performance using a root mean square error (RMSE) function.
7. The system of claim 1 wherein:the computer readable medium further includes a second data set with reserved data storede in rows and columns; and the one or more processors are configured to determine the performance based on the second data set.
10. A system comprising: a computer readable medium including a data set with data stored in rows and columns, wherein each of the rows is associated with one individual patient, and wherein each of the columns is associated with one type of data for patients; and one or more processors configured to:(i) determine initial values for missing values, respectively, of a row; (ii) generate a mathematical model for each column based on the data in one or more of the other columns; (iii) for a column with a missing value in the row, predict the missing value for the column using the mathematical model of that column and values of the other columns in the row; (iv) replace the missing value in the row with the prediction of the missing value; (v) update the mathematical models after (iv); (vi) determine an error metric based on the values of the row including the prediction of the missing value; and (vii) repeat (iii) - (vi) until the error metric converges; and (viii) after the error metric converges, fill missing values in the dataset using the mathematical models.
16. A method comprising:obtaining, from a computer readable medium, a data set with data stored in rows and columns, wherein each of the rows is associated with one individual patient, and wherein each of the columns is associated with one type of data for patients; and by one or more processors: (i) determining initial values for missing values, respectively, of a row; (ii) generating a mathematical model for each column based on the data in one or more of the other columns; (iii) for a column with a missing value in the row, predicting the missing value for the column using the mathematical model of that column and values of the other columns in the row; (iv) replacing the missing value in the row with the prediction of the missing value; (v) updating the mathematical models after (iv); (vi) determining an error metric based on the values of the row including the prediction of the missing value; and (vii) repeating (iii) - (vi) until the error metric converges; and (viii) after the error metric converges, filling missing values in the dataset using the mathematical models.
1. A system comprising:
a computer readable medium including a data set with data stored in rows and columns, wherein each of the rows is associated with one individual patient, and wherein each of the columns is associated with one type of data for patients; and one or more processors configured to:
(i) initialize missing values in ones of the columns in the data; (ii) generate mathematical models for ones of the columns having one or more missing values, respectively, based on non-missing values of other ones of the columns in the data set;
(iii) for each of the rows having one or more missing values in one or more of the columns, respectively, update ones of the values for the one or more of the columns based on (a) non-missing values of that row, (b) the one or more of the mathematical models for the one or more of the columns, respectively, and (c) ones of the values for the other ones of the ones of the N columns with missing values;
(iv) updating the one or more mathematical models for the columns based on values in other columns and the updated ones of the values; and
(v) when an increase in performance of the mathematical models is less than a predetermined value, fill missing values in the M ones of the N columns in the data set with the M values, respectively.
2. The system of claim 1 wherein at least one of the columns includes categorical data that is limited to being in a first state, in a second state, or missing.
3. The system of claim 1 wherein at least one of the columns includes continuous data that is within a range of values or missing.
4. The system of claim 1 wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, when the increase in performance is greater than the predetermined value, repeat (iii) and (iv).
5. The system of claim 1 wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the performance of the mathematical models after (iv).
6. The system of claim 1 wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the performance using a root mean square error (RMSE) function.
7. The system of claim 1 wherein:the computer readable medium further includes a second data set with reserved data storede in rows and columns; and the one or more processors are configured to determine the performance based on the second data set.
1. A system comprising: a computer readable medium including a data set with data stored in rows and N columns, wherein each of the rows is associated with one individual patient, wherein each of the N columns is associated with one type of data for patients, and wherein N is an integer greater than one; and one or more processors configured to:
(i) initialize missing values in M ones of the N columns in the data set with M values for the M ones of the N columns, respectively, wherein M is an integer that is greater than zero and less than or equal to N;
(ii) generate M mathematical models for the M ones of the N columns of the data set having one or more missing values, respectively, based on non-missing values of the other ones of the N columns in the data set; (iii) for each of the rows of the data set having one or more missing values, update ones of the M values for the M ones of the N columns based on non-missing values of that row of the data set, the ones of the M mathematical models, respectively, and ones of the M values for other ones of the M ones of the N columns with missing values; and
(iv) fill missing values in the M ones of the N columns in the data set with the M values, respectively.
8. The system of claim 1 wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, after (iii), update the M mathematical models.
3. The system of claim 1 wherein at least one of the M ones of the N columns includes categorical data that is limited to being in a first state, in a second state, or missing.
4. The system of claim 1 wherein at least one of the M ones of the N columns includes continuous data that is within a range of values or missing.
5. The system of claim 1 wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine an error value based on the M values and to selectively repeat (iii) and (iv) based on the error value.
6. The system of claim 5 wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the error value using a root mean square error (RMSE) function.
7. The system of claim 5 wherein: the computer readable medium further includes a second data set with reserved data stored in rows and N columns; and the one or more processors are configured to determine the error value further based on the second data set.
9. A system comprising: a database including: a first data set with data stored in rows and N columns, wherein each of the rows is associated with one individual patient, wherein each of the N columns is associated with one type of data for patients, and wherein N is an integer greater than one; and a second data set with reserved data stored in rows and N columns; and one or more processors configured to: (i) initialize missing values in M ones of the N columns in the first data set with M values for the M ones of the N columns, respectively, wherein M is an integer that is greater than zero and less than or equal to N; (ii) generate M mathematical models for the M ones of the N columns of the first data set having one or more missing values, respectively, based on non-missing values of the other ones of the N columns in the first data set; (iii) for each of the rows of the first data set having one or more missing values, update ones of the M values for the M ones of the N columns based on non-missing values of that row of the first data set, the ones of the M mathematical models, respectively, and ones of the M values for other ones of the M ones of the N columns with missing values, (iv) update each one the M mathematical models for the M ones of the N columns based on values in other ones of the N columns, the first data set, and the M values; (v) determine a performance value for the M mathematical models based on the M values and the second data set; (vi) repeat (iii) - (v) when an increase in the performance value is greater than a predetermined value; and (vii) when the increase in the performance value is not greater than the predetermined value, fill missing values in the M ones of the N columns in the first data set with the M values, respectively.
11. The system of claim 9 wherein at least one of the M ones of the N columns includes categorical data that is limited to being in a first state, in a second state, or missing.
12. The system of claim 9 wherein at least one of the M ones of the N columns includes continuous data that is within a range of values or missing.
13. The system of claim 9 wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the performance value using a root mean square error (RMSE) function.
14. A method comprising: by one or more processors, selectively retrieving, from a database, a data set with patient data stored in rows and N columns, wherein each of the rows is associated with one individual patient, wherein each of the N columns is associated with one type of data for patients, and wherein N is an integer greater than one; and by the one or more processors, (i) initializing missing values in M ones of the N columns in the data set with M values for the M ones of the N columns, respectively, wherein M is an integer that is greater than zero and less than or equal to N; by the one or more processors, (ii) generating M mathematical models for the M ones of the N columns of the data set having one or more missing values, respectively, based on non-missing values of the other ones of the N columns in the data set; by the one or more processors, (iii) for each of the rows of the data set having one or more missing values, updating ones of the M values for the M ones of the N columns based on non-missing values of that row of the data set, the ones of the M mathematical models, respectively, and ones of the M values for other ones of the M ones of the N columns with missing values; and by the one or more processors, (iv) filling missing values in the M ones of the N columns in the data set with the M values, respectively.
16. The method of claim 14 wherein at least one of the M ones of the N columns includes categorical data that is limited to being in a first state, in a second state, or missing.
17. The method of claim 14 wherein at least one of the M ones of the N columns includes continuous data that is within a range of values or missing.
18. The method of claim 14 further comprising: by the one or more processors, determining an error value based on the M values; and selectively repeating (iii) and (iv) based on the error value.
19. The method of claim 18 wherein determining the error value includes, by the one or more processors, determining the error value using a root mean square error (RMSE) function.
21. The method of claim 14 further comprising, by the one or more processors, update the M mathematical models.
22. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, perform functions comprising: selectively retrieving, from a database: a first data set with patient data stored in rows and N columns, wherein each of the rows is associated with one individual patient, wherein each of the N columns is associated with one type of data for patients, and wherein N is an integer greater than one; and a second data set with reserved data stored in rows and N columns; (i) initializing missing values in M ones of the N columns in the first data set with M values for the M ones of the N columns, respectively, wherein M is an integer that is greater than zero and less than or equal to N; (ii) generating M mathematical models for the M ones of the N columns of the first data set having one or more missing values, respectively, based on non-missing values of the other ones of the N columns in the first data set; (iii) for each of the rows of the first data set having one or more missing values, updating ones of the M values for the M ones of the N columns based on non-missing values of that row of the first data set, the ones of the M mathematical models, respectively, and ones of the M values for other ones of the M ones of the N columns with missing values; and (iv) filling missing values in the M ones of the N columns in the first data set with the M values, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per Claim 1, it recites the limitation “the M ones of the N columns” and “the M values” in the step of (v) which lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 1 recites “a data set with data stored in rows and column” but never introduces “N columns,” “M ones” of those columns, or “M values.”. It is unclear which columns and which values the recitations “the N columns,” “the M ones of the N columns,” and “the M values” refer to. Examiner Interpretation - the “the M ones of the N columns” is interpreted as the ones of the columns having one or more missing values that are initialized and filled in steps (i) and (v), and “the M values” as the values used to fill those columns.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
(Step 1) Claim 1-15 is directed to a system comprising a computer-readable medium which is a statutory category of invention. The claim 16-20 recite steps or acts including filling missing values in the dataset using the mathematical models; thus, the claims are to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
(Step 2A – Prong One) For the sake of identifying the abstract ideas, a copy of the claim is provided below. Abstract ideas are bolded.
The claim 1 recites:
(i) initialize missing values in ones of the columns in the data values (under its broadest reasonable interpretation, mental process that convers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion);
(ii) generate mathematical models for ones of the columns having one or more missing values, respectively, based on non-missing values of other ones of the columns in the data set pallets (under its broadest reasonable interpretation, a mathematical concept and mental process that convers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion);
(iii) for each of the rows having one or more missing values in one or more of the columns, respectively, update ones of the values for the one or more of the columns based on (a) non-missing values of that row, (b) the one or more of the mathematical models for the one or more of the columns, respectively, and (c) ones of the values for the other ones of the ones of the N columns with missing values (under its broadest reasonable interpretation, mental process that convers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion);
(iv) updating the one or more mathematical models for the columns based on values in other columns and the updated ones of the values (under its broadest reasonable interpretation, a mathematical concept and mental process that convers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion); and
(v) when an increase in performance of the mathematical models is less than a predetermined value, fill missing values in the M ones of the N columns in the data set with the M values, respectively (under its broadest reasonable interpretation, mental process that convers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion).
The claim 10 and 16 recite:
(i) determine initial values for missing values, respectively, of a row data values (under its broadest reasonable interpretation, mental process that convers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion);
(ii) generate a mathematical model for each column based on the data in one or more of the other columns (under its broadest reasonable interpretation, a mathematical concept and mental process that convers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion);
(iii) for a column with a missing value in the row, predict the missing value for the column using the mathematical model of that column and values of the other columns in the row (under its broadest reasonable interpretation, a mathematical concept and mental process that convers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion);
(iv) replace the missing value in the row with the prediction of the missing value (under its broadest reasonable interpretation, a mental process that convers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion);
(v) update the mathematical models after (iv) (under its broadest reasonable interpretation, a mathematical concept and mental process that convers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion);
(vi) determine an error metric based on the values of the row including the prediction of the missing value converges (under its broadest reasonable interpretation, a mathematical concept and mental process that convers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion); and
(vii) repeat (iii) - (vi) until the error metric converges (under its broadest reasonable interpretation, a mathematical concept and mental process that convers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion); and
(viii) after the error metric converges, fill missing values in the dataset using the mathematical models (under its broadest reasonable interpretation, a mathematical concept and mental process that convers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion).
Therefore, the limitations, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, have been identified to recite judicial exceptions, an abstract idea.
(Step 2A – Prong Two: integration into practical application) This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the following additional elements of “A system comprising: a computer readable medium including a data set with data stored in rows and columns,” (Claim 1), “a computer readable medium” (Claim 10 and 16), “a data set with data stored in rows and columns” (Claim 1, 10 and 16), and “processors” (Claim 1, 10 and 16) which is recited at high level generality and recited so generally that they represent more than mere instruction to apply the judicial exception on a computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). The limitation can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer (see MPEP 2106.05(d)). Further the additional elements of “wherein each of the rows is associated with one individual patient, and wherein each of the columns is associated with one type of data for patients” is an insignificant extra-solution activity which is generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Further Claims recite the limitation which is an insignificant extra-solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)): (Claim 16) “obtaining, …, a data set with data stored in rows and columns, wherein each of the rows is associated with one individual patient” (insignificant extra-solution activity – data gathering).
Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is directed to the judicial exception.
(Step 2B - inventive concept) The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “A system comprising: a computer readable medium including a data set with data stored in rows and columns,” (Claim 1), “a computer readable medium” (Claim 10 and 16), “a data set with data stored in rows and columns” (Claim 1, 10 and 16), and “processors” (Claim 1, 10 and 16) which is recited at high level generality and recited so generally that they represent more than mere instruction to apply the judicial exception on a computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). The limitation can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer (see MPEP 2106.05(d)). Further the additional elements of “wherein each of the rows is associated with one individual patient, and wherein each of the columns is associated with one type of data for patients” is an insignificant extra-solution activity which is generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Further Claims recite the limitation which is an insignificant extra-solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) which is the element that the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine, conventional activity (see MPEP 2106.05(d) II. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result‐‐a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added)); iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93): (Claim 16) “obtaining, …, a data set with data stored in rows and columns” (insignificant extra-solution activity – data gathering).
Further dependent claims 2-9, 11-15 and 17-20 recite:
2. The system of claim 1 wherein at least one of the columns includes categorical data that is limited to being in a first state, in a second state, or missing (insignificant extra-solution activity – data gathering).
3. The system of claim 1 wherein at least one of the columns includes continuous data that is within a range of values or missing (insignificant extra-solution activity – data gathering).
4. The system of claim 1 wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, when the increase in performance is greater than the predetermined value, repeat (iii) and (iv) (a mental process).
5. The system of claim 1 wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the performance of the mathematical models after (iv) ) (a mathematical concept and a mental process).
6. The system of claim 1 wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the performance using a root mean square error (RMSE) function) (a mathematical concept and a mental process).
7. The system of claim 1 wherein:the computer readable medium further includes a second data set with reserved data stored in rows and columns; and the one or more processors are configured to determine the performance based on the second data set) (a mathematical concept and a mental process).
8. The system of claim 1 wherein at least one of the columns includes data regarding ICD-10 (International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, 10th revision) codes. (insignificant extra-solution activity – data gathering and/or generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use)
9. The system of claim 1 wherein at least one of the columns includes indicators of results of laboratory tests. (insignificant extra-solution activity – data gathering and/or generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use)
11. The system of claim 10 wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the initial values randomly) (a mathematical concept and a mental process).
12. The system of claim 11 wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the initial values further based on a frequency distribution of non- missing values of the columns) (a mathematical concept and a mental process).
13. The system of claim 11 wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the initial values further based on a mean and a variance of the missing values of a column) (a mental process).
14. The system of claim 10 wherein at least one of the columns includes data regarding ICD-10 (International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, 10th revision) codes. (insignificant extra-solution activity – data gathering and/or generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use)
15. The system of claim 10 wherein at least one of the columns includes indicators of results of laboratory tests. (insignificant extra-solution activity – data gathering and/or generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use)
17. The method of claim 16 wherein determining the initial values includes setting the initial values randomly. (a mental process).
18. The method of claim 17 wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the initial values further based on a frequency distribution of non-missing values of the columns. (a mathematical concept and a mental process)
19. The method of claim 17 wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the initial values further based on a mean and a variance of the missing values of a column. (a mathematical concept and a mental process)
20. The method of claim 16 wherein:a first one of the columns includes data regarding ICD-10 (International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, 10th revision) codes; and a second one of the columns includes indicators of results of laboratory tests. (insignificant extra-solution activity – data gathering and/or generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use)
Considering the claim both individually and in combination, there is no element or combination of elements recited contains any “inventive concept” or adds “significantly more” to transform the abstract concept into a patent-eligible application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-10, 14-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stekhoven ("MissForest - nonparametric missing value imputation for mixed-type data") in view of Mossin (US 2019/0034591 A1).
As per Claim 1, Stekhoven teaches A system comprising: a computer readable medium including a data set with data stored in rows and columns (Stekhoven, Abstract “The R packages”; pg. 113, Section 2 "We assume X = (X1, X2, ..., Xp) to be a n×p-dimensional data matrix", Algorithm 1), and one or more processors configured to:
(i) initialize missing values in ones of the columns in the data (Stekhoven, pg. 113, Section 2 "To begin, make an initial guess for the missing values in X using mean imputation or another imputation method”, Algorithm 1 : an initial guess is made for the missing entries of the columns before iterating);
(ii) generate mathematical models for ones of the columns having one or more missing values, respectively, based on non-missing values of other ones of the columns in the data set (Stekhoven, pg. 113, Section 2 " the missing values are imputed by first fitting an RF with response", Algorithm 1: a random forest model is fit for each column having missing values, using the observed values of the other columns as predictors (i.e., the "mathematical model" as claimed));
(iii) for each of the rows having one or more missing values in one or more of the columns, respectively, update ones of the values for the one or more of the columns based on (a) non-missing values of that row, (b) the one or more of the mathematical models for the one or more of the columns, respectively, and (c) ones of the values for the other ones of the ones of the N columns with missing values (Stekhoven, pg. 3, Section 2 "
", Algorithm 1: the missing entries in each row are updated with the values the fitted model predicts from the other columns’ values in that row);
(iv) updating the one or more mathematical models for the columns based on values in other columns and the updated ones of the values (Stekhoven, pg. 113-114, Section 2 " The imputation procedure is repeated until a stopping criterion is met.", Algorithm 1: the forests are re-fit on the updated matrix on each successive iteration of the loop); and
(v) when an increase in performance of the mathematical models is less than a predetermined value, fill missing values in the M ones of the N columns in the data set with the M values, respectively (Stekhoven, pg. 113 -114, Section 2 "
", Algorithm 1: iteration stops and the imputed values are returned once the imputation no longer improves, i.e., once the change in performance falls below the stopping threshold). In particular, Stekhoven teaches an iterative imputation method that seeds the missing entries of a data matrix, fits a separate model for each column having missing values from the observed values of the remaining columns, updates the missing entries and re-fits the models on each pass, and terminates when the imputation stops improving.
However, Stekhoven fails to teach explicitly wherein each of the rows is associated with one individual patient, and wherein each of the columns is associated with one type of data for patients.
Mossin teaches wherein each of the rows is associated with one individual patient (Mossin, [0078] " The converter 18 then converts the raw data into a standardized format, in this example a collection of FHIR resources 22A, 22B, 22C, 22D, etc. as shown in FIG. 2, and for each patient there is a “bundle” or set 22 of such FHIR resources. "; [0067]), and wherein each of the columns is associated with one type of data for patients (Mossin, [0067] "aggregated electronic health records 22 from a multitude of patients of diverse age, health conditions, and demographics including medications, laboratory values, diagnoses, vital signs, and medical notes "). In particular, Mossin teaches aggregated electronic health records organized as a per-patient data set in which each patient record supplies typed fields such as medications, laboratory values, diagnoses, and vital signs, and in which the data used for model training “may be clinically incorrect or missing" ([0145]).
Stekhoven and Mossin are analogous art because they are both related to filling missing values in a data set of records and attributes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Mossin into Stekhoven’s invention for the purpose of non-parametric missing value imputation for mixed-type data to provide a per-patient electronic health record data set whose values that "may be clinically incorrect or missing" are completed so as to provide predictions of future clinical events in a timely manner (Mossin: [0145], [0004]).
As per Claim 2, Stekhoven teaches wherein at least one of the columns includes categorical data that is limited to being in a first state, in a second state, or missing (Stekhoven, pg. 114, Section 2 "
": the method scores a categorical column, which may be limited to a two-state (first-state / second-state) variable that is either of its two categories or missing.
As per Claim 3, Stekhoven teaches wherein at least one of the columns includes continuous data that is within a range of values or missing (Stekhoven, pg. 113-114, Section 2, "
"; "We use mean and var as short notation for empirical mean and variance computed over the continuous missing values only. ": a column may hold a continuous variable whose value lies within a range or is missing).
As per Claim 4, Stekhoven teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, when the increase in performance is greater than the predetermined value, repeat (iii) and (iv) (Stekhoven, pg. 113-114, Section 2 " The imputation procedure is repeated until a stopping criterion is met. ", Algorithm 1: the update-and-refit steps repeat on each iteration of the loop while the stopping criterion has not yet been met).
As per Claim 5, Stekhoven teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the performance of the mathematical models after (iv) (Stekhoven, pg. 113-114, Section 2, Algorithm 1, "
, “We assess the performance of this estimation by comparing the absolute difference between true imputation error and OOB imputation error estimate”: performance is determined after the models have been updated and the missing values re-imputed).
As per Claim 6, Stekhoven teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the performance using a root mean square error (RMSE) function (Stekhoven, pg. 113, Section 2 "
": performance is measured with a (normalised) root mean squared error function).
As per Claim 7, Stekhoven fails to teach explicitly that the computer readable medium further includes a second data set with reserved data stored in rows and columns; and the one or more processors are configured to determine the performance based on the second data set.
Mossin teaches the computer readable medium further includes a second data set with reserved data stored in rows and columns (Mossin, [0110] " To prevent any implicit overfitting, the test set remained unused (and hidden) until final evaluation. ": a reserved second data set of patient records is stored and held out); and the one or more processors are configured to determine the performance based on the second data set (Mossin, [0147] "reporting results on a held-out test set of patients not used during training": model performance is determined on the reserved held-out data set).
As per Claim 8, Stekhoven fails to teach explicitly wherein at least one of the columns includes data regarding ICD-10 (International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, 10th revision) codes.
Mossin teaches wherein at least one of the columns includes data regarding ICD-10 (International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, 10th revision) codes (Mossin, [0084] "Hospitalization diagnoses were provided as ICD-9/10 codes"; [0105] "when hospitals switched to ICD-10": a diagnosis-code column holds ICD-10 codes).
As per Claim 9, Stekhoven fails to teach explicitly wherein at least one of the columns includes indicators of results of laboratory tests.
Mossin teaches wherein at least one of the columns includes indicators of results of laboratory tests (Mossin, [0067] "medications, laboratory values, diagnoses, vital signs, and medical notes": a column holds laboratory values, i.e., indicators of results of laboratory tests).
As per Claim 10 and 16, Stekhoven teaches A system/method comprising: a computer readable medium including a data set with data stored in rows and columns (Abstract “The R packages”; pg. 113, Section 2 "We assume X = (X1, X2, ..., Xp) to be a n×p-dimensional data matrix", Algorithm 1), and one or more processors configured to:
(i) determine initial values for missing values, respectively, of a row (Stekhoven, pg. 113, Section 2 "To begin, make an initial guess for the missing values in X using mean imputation or another imputation method”, Algorithm 1 : an initial guess is made for the missing entries of the columns before iterating);
(ii) generate a mathematical model for each column based on the data in one or more of the other columns (Stekhoven, pg. 113, Section 2 " the missing values are imputed by first fitting an RF with response", Algorithm 1: a random forest model is fit for each column having missing values, using the observed values of the other columns as predictors (i.e., the "mathematical model" as claimed));
(iii) for a column with a missing value in the row, predict the missing value for the column using the mathematical model of that column and values of the other columns in the row (Stekhoven, pg. 3, Section 2 "
", Algorithm 1: the missing entries in each row are updated with the values the fitted model predicts from the other columns’ values in that row);
(iv) replace the missing value in the row with the prediction of the missing value (Stekhoven, pg. 3, Section 2, Algorithm 1 "update imputed matrix, using predicted": the predicted value replaces the missing value in the row);
(v) update the mathematical models after (iv) (Stekhoven, pg. 113-114, Section 2, "The imputation procedure is repeated until a stopping criterion is met", Algorithm 1: the models are re-fit after the values are replaced, on each iteration);
(vi) determine an error metric based on the values of the row including the prediction of the missing value (Stekhoven, pg. 113-114, Section 2, "
": a difference-based error metric is computed over the imputed values);
(vii) repeat (iii)-(vi) until the error metric converges (Stekhoven, pg. 113-114, Algorithm 1, Section 2 "is met as soon as the difference between the newly imputed data matrix and the previous one increases for the first time": the predict-replace-update-and-measure steps repeat until the error metric stops decreasing, i.e., converges); and
(viii) after the error metric converges, fill missing values in the dataset using the mathematical models (Stekhoven, pg. 113-114, Section 2, Algorithm 1 "return the imputed matrix Ximp": once the error metric converges, the missing values are filled and the completed matrix is returned.) In particular, Stekhoven teaches iterating, row and column wise, a per-column model that predicts and replaces each missing value from the other columns, re-fitting the models and measuring a difference-based error metric each pass, and stopping once the error metric no longer decreases.
However, Stekhoven fails to teach explicitly wherein each of the rows is associated with one individual patient, and wherein each of the columns is associated with one type of data for patients.
Mossin teaches wherein each of the rows is associated with one individual patient (Mossin, [0078] " The converter 18 then converts the raw data into a standardized format, in this example a collection of FHIR resources 22A, 22B, 22C, 22D, etc. as shown in FIG. 2, and for each patient there is a “bundle” or set 22 of such FHIR resources. "; [0067]), and wherein each of the columns is associated with one type of data for patients (Mossin, [0067] "aggregated electronic health records 22 from a multitude of patients of diverse age, health conditions, and demographics including medications, laboratory values, diagnoses, vital signs, and medical notes ": the data set is a per-patient electronic health record in which each patient is a record and each field is a type of patient data).
As per Claim 14, Stekhoven fails to teach explicitly wherein at least one of the columns includes data regarding ICD-10 (International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, 10th revision) codes.
Mossin teaches wherein at least one of the columns includes data regarding ICD-10 (International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, 10th revision) codes (Mossin, [0084] "Hospitalization diagnoses were provided as ICD-9/10 codes"; [0105] "when hospitals switched to ICD-10").
As per Claim 15, Stekhoven fails to teach explicitly wherein at least one of the columns includes indicators of results of laboratory tests.
Mossin teaches wherein at least one of the columns includes indicators of results of laboratory tests (Mossin, [0067] "medications, laboratory values, diagnoses, vital signs, and medical notes": a column holds laboratory values, i.e., indicators of results of laboratory tests).
As per Claim 20, Stekhoven fails to teach explicitly that a first one of the columns includes data regarding ICD-10 (International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, 10th revision) codes; and a second one of the columns includes indicators of results of laboratory tests.
Mossin teaches a first one of the columns includes data regarding ICD-10 (International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, 10th revision) codes (Mossin, [0084] "Hospitalization diagnoses were provided as ICD-9/10 codes"; [0105]); and a second one of the columns includes indicators of results of laboratory tests (Mossin, [0067] "medications, laboratory values, diagnoses, vital signs, and medical notes": a first column holds ICD-10 diagnosis codes and a second column holds laboratory values).
7. Claims 11-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stekhoven ("MissForest - nonparametric missing value imputation for mixed-type data") in view of Mossin (US 2019/0034591 A1), further in view of van Buuren ("mice: Multivariate Imputation by Chained Equations in R”).
Stekhoven as modified by Mossin teaches most all the instant invention as applied to claims 1-10, 14-16, and 20 above.
As per Claim 11 and 17, Stekhoven as modified by Mossin fails to teach explicitly wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the initial values randomly.
van Buuren teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the initial values randomly (van Buuren, pg. 6, Section 2.3 "Let the hypothetically complete data Y be a partially observed random sample from the p-variate multivariate distribution P(Y |θ). … Starting from a simple draw from observed marginal distributions"; pg. 16, Table 1 "Random sample from the observed data": the missing entries are initialized by a random draw from the observed data). In particular, van Buuren teaches initializing the imputation by drawing starting values at random from the observed data before the per-column models iterate.
Stekhoven, Mossin, and van Buuren are analogous art because they are all related to imputing missing values in a data set of records and attributes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate van Buuren into Stekhoven as modified by Mossin’s invention for the purpose of non-parametric missing value imputation for mixed-type data to provide a per-patient electronic health record data set whose values that "may be clinically incorrect or missing" are completed so as to provide predictions of future clinical events in a timely manner (Mossin: [0145], [0004]) and to provide a starting imputation drawn from the observed data from which "Convergence can therefore be quite fast" (van Buuren: pg. 7).
As per Claim 12 and 18, Stekhoven as modified by Mossin fails to teach explicitly wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the initial values further based on a frequency distribution of non-missing values of the columns.
van Buuren teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the initial values further based on a frequency distribution of non-missing values of the columns (van Buuren, pg. 6, Section 2.3 ""Let the hypothetically complete data Y be a partially observed random sample from the p-variate multivariate distribution P(Y |θ). … Starting from a simple draw from observed marginal distributions"; pg. 16, Table 1: a draw from the observed marginal distribution of a column reproduces the frequency distribution of that column’s non-missing values).
As per Claim 13 and 19, Stekhoven as modified by Mossin fails to teach explicitly wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the initial values further based on a mean and a variance of the missing values of a column.
van Buuren teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the initial values further based on a mean and a variance of the missing values of a column (van Buuren, pg. 16, Section 3.2, Table 1 "Bayesian linear regression": a parametric ("norm") draw determines the initial values from a normal characterized by the column’s mean and variance).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Little RJ, Schluchter MD. Maximum likelihood estimation for mixed continuous and categorical data with missing values. Biometrika. 1985 Dec 1;72(3):497-512.
Audigier V, Husson F, Josse J. A principal component method to impute missing values for mixed data. Advances in Data Analysis and Classification. 2016 Mar;10(1):5-26.
EUNHEE KIM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2188
/EUNHEE KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2188