DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 28 January 2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The applicant argues that the previous rejection does not teach the amended limitations of the claims. However, after further search and considerations, independent claims 1 and 8 can be taught by Infineon in view of Ge. See 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections below.
In summary, the application is not placed in a condition for an allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 12 recite the terminology "pre-layer" in limitation of “wherein each of the press-on pins displaces the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material of the pre-layer during the arranging of the lid on the sidewalls.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this terminology in the claim. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the examiner will treat the liquid, semi-liquid, or viscous material in claims 1 and 8 to be the “pre-layer.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8,11, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Infineon (DE 20 2018 100486 U1) in view of Ge (US 9,548,255 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Infineon teaches a method comprising:
forming a substrate(10) that is arranged in a cavity (space between left and right 42) formed by sidewalls (42) of a housing (the entire structure of Figs. 1, 3, and 4, see also ¶ [0001] of English translation);
arranging a lid (44) on the sidewalls, to cover the cavity formed by the sidewalls, wherein a plurality of terminals (30) extending through the housing (30 juts out of the lid ) and/or formed as part of the housing (30 formed on the substrate) extend from the lid towards the substrate once the lid is in a final mounting position (see above-mentioned Figures and ¶ [0027]); wherein in the final mounting position each of the terminal elements is electrically connected to the substrate (Figures shows lower ends of 30 connected to conductive layer 111 of the substrate 10) and has an end (upper ends of 30) that protrudes out of the housing (¶ [0027]).
However, Infineon does not teach the method comprising of:
pouring a liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material into a cavity formed by sidewalls of a housing, to cover the substrate;
after pouring the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material into the cavity, arranging a lid on the sidewalls, wherein the plurality of terminals extend from the lid into the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material in a direction towards the substrate once the lid is in a final mounting position; and
curing the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material, to form a casting compound.
Ge, in the same field of invention, teaches a method comprising of:
pouring (Col. 3, Lns. 43-46) a liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material (110) into the cavity (interior space within 100) formed by sidewalls (104) of a housing (100), to cover the substrate (102, which has leadframe 202; also see Figs. 2-4 shows leadframe 202 below 102, with the leadframe being the substrate on which device 106 is mounted);
after pouring the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material into the cavity (Fig. 12 shows liquid 110 already in the cavity prior to lid 1200 covering the cavity), arranging the lid (1200) on the sidewalls (104), wherein the plurality of terminals extend from the lid into the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material in a direction towards the substrate once the lid is in a final mounting position (Infineon in view of Ge teaches this limitation since the terminal elements of Infineon extend from the substrate upwards through openings in the lid); and
curing the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material (Col. 5, Lns. 65: curing by baking or irradiating), to form a casting compound (Col. 5, Ln 62: gel 110 permanently secure 1208 after curing; hence 110 becomes a casting/molding compound).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Ge into the method of Infineon to pour a liquid, semi-liquid, or viscous material into the cavity of a housing, wherein after pouring the abovementioned material, the lid is arranged on the sidewalls of the housing such that the plurality of terminals would extend from the lid into the abovementioned material; and also to curing the abovementioned material to form a casting compound. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Infineon in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the liquid, semi-liquid, or viscous material as a sealant and/or encapsulant in order to mechanically protect the internal circuitry of the device that is enclosed in the cavity (Ge Col. 5, Lns. 39-45) and to facilitate the removal of an adhesive tape (206) from the bottom of the substrate (see Ge Col 5, Lns. 60-65 to Col. 6, Lns 1-5).
Regarding claim 4, the method of claim 1, wherein when pouring the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material into the cavity formed by the sidewalls, the cavity formed by the sidewalls is only partly filled (Ge Col. 3, Lns. 43-46: “Some or all of the interior space within the IC package 100 is filled with a gel 110,” emphasis added) with the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material such that, after arranging the lid on the sidewalls, a cavity (Figs. 1 & 12: space between 110 and the topmost surfaces of 104) remains between the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material and the lid.
Regarding claim 5, the method of claim 1, wherein each of the terminal elements displaces the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material of the pre-layer during the arranging of the lid on the sidewalls (Ge Col. 5, Ln 59-60 teaches a post 1206 extending in to gel 110 and anchor 1208 is submerged within gel 110; hence 1206&1208 displaces 110; Infineon in view of Ge teaches that the space occupied by the plurality of terminals of Infineon would displace a corresponding volume of gel; also see MPEP § 2144.02: reliance on scientific theory ).
Regarding claim 7, the method of claim 1, further comprising: before (Ge Col. 5, Lns 39-45: “Fig. 11 is a plane view… after the gel 110 has been dispensed into the cavity defined by the interposer 102… gel 110… encapsulates.. and holds the rotated die pads 302 in place”, emphasis added) pouring the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material into the cavity formed by the sidewalls, mounting (Col. 4, Lns. 27-28) at least one semiconductor body (Fig. 4: 106) on the substrate.
Regarding claim 8, Infineon teaches a method comprising:
mounting at least one semiconductor body (20) on a substrate (10);
providing a housing (the entire structure of Figs. 1, 3, or 4; see also ¶ [0001] of English translation) comprising a cavity (space between left and right 42) formed by sidewalls (42) of the housing;
arranging the substrate in the cavity of the housing (abovementioned figures shows 10 inside the cavity formed by left and right 42) and on one of a ground surface of the housing, a base plate, or a heat sink (12);
arranging a lid (44) on the sidewalls to cover the cavity formed by the sidewalls, wherein the lid comprises a plurality of press-on pins (46 & 48, see Figs. 1 & 3, or alternatively, 46 in Fig. 4; see Abstract: “the at least one pressure plunger (46) being configured to exert a force on the semiconductor substrate (10) and press it against the heat sink (12)”) that extend from the lid towards the substrate once the lid is in a final mounting position (Figs. 1 & 3 shows 46 & 48 extending from 44 towards 10; Fig. 4 shows 46 extending towards 10), wherein in the final mounting position each of the press-on pins contacts the substrate or one of the at least one semiconductor bodies and presses the substrate onto the one of a ground surface of the housing, a base plate, or heat sink (Abstract: “the at least one pressure plunger (46) being configured to exert a force on the semiconductor substrate (10) and press it against the heat sink (12)”).
However, Infineon does not teach the method comprising of:
pouring a liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material into the cavity to cover the substrate;
after pouring the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material into the cavity, arranging a lid on the sidewalls, wherein the press-on pins extend from the lid into the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material; and
after arranging the lid on the sidewalls to cover the cavity, curing the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material, to form a casting compound.
Ge, in the same field of invention, teaches a method comprising of:
pouring (Col. 3, Lns. 43-46) a liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material (110) into the cavity (interior space within 100) to cover the substrate (102);
after pouring the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material into the cavity (Fig. 12 shows liquid 110 already in the cavity prior to lid 1200 covering the cavity), arranging a lid (1200) on the sidewalls (104), wherein the press-on pins extend from the lid into the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material (Infineon in view of Ge teaches this limitation since the press-on pins of Infineon extend from the lid towards the substrate); and
after arranging the lid on the sidewalls to cover the cavity (Col. 5, Lns. 57-60), curing the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material (Col. 5, Lns. 65: curing by baking or irradiating), to form a casting compound (Col. 5, Ln 62: gel 110 permanently secure 1208 after curing; hence 110 becomes a casting/molding compound).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Ge into the method of Infineon to pour a liquid, semi-liquid, or viscous material into the cavity of a housing, wherein after pouring the abovementioned material, the lid is arranged on the sidewalls of the housing such that the plurality of press-on pins would extend from the lid into the abovementioned material; and after arranging the lid on the sidewalls, curing the abovementioned material to form a casting compound. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Infineon in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the liquid, semi-liquid, or viscous material as a sealant and/or encapsulant in order to mechanically protect the internal circuitry of the device that is enclosed in the cavity (Ge Col. 5, Lns. 39-45) and to facilitate the removal of an adhesive tape (206) from the bottom of the substrate (see Ge Col 5, Lns. 60-65 to Col. 6, Lns 1-5).
Regarding claim 11, the method of claim 8, wherein when pouring the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material into the cavity formed by the sidewalls, the cavity formed by the sidewalls is only partly filled (Ge Col. 3, Lns. 43-46: “Some or all of the interior space within the IC package 100 is filled with a gel 110,” emphasis added) with the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material such that, after arranging the lid on the sidewalls, a cavity (Figs. 1 & 12: space between 110 and the topmost surfaces of 104) remains between the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material and the lid.
Regarding claim 12, the method of claim 8, wherein each of the press-on pins displaces the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material of the pre-layer during the arranging of the lid on the sidewalls (Ge Col. 5, Ln 59-60 teaches a post 1206 extending in to gel 110 and anchor 1208 is submerged within gel 110; hence 1206&1208 displaces 110; Infineon in view of Ge teaches that the space occupied by the plurality of terminals of Infineon would displace a corresponding volume of gel; also see MPEP § 2144.02: reliance on scientific theory ).
Regarding claim 14, the method of claim 8, further comprising: before (Ge Col. 5, Lns 39-45: “Fig. 11 is a plane view… after the gel 110 has been dispensed into the cavity defined by the interposer 102… gel 110… encapsulates.. and holds the rotated die pads 302 in place”, emphasis added) pouring the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material into the cavity formed by the sidewalls, mounting (Col. 4, Lns. 27-28) at least one semiconductor body (Fig. 4: 106) on the substrate.
Claims 2-3 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Infineon (DE 20 2018 100486 U1) in view of Ge (US 9,548,255 B1) as applied to claim 1 and/or 8 above, and further in view of Emadi (US 2022/0216191 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Infineon in view of Ge teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the curing of the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material comprises heating the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material (Ge Col. 5, Lns. 65: curing by baking). Ge further teaches that the liquid, semi-liquid, or viscous material can be any suitable encapsulating material (Col. 3, Lns 44-45). However, Ge does not specifically teach a method of heating the encapsulating material to a temperature of between 60°C and 120°C.
Emadi, in the same field of invention, teaches a method of heating an encapsulating material (Figs. 7-8: mold 853) to a temperature of between 60°C and 120°C (¶ [0104]). Emadi further teaches applying the heat for 0.5-5 hours (¶ [0104]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Emadi into the method of Infineon in view of Ge to heat an encapsulating material, with the encapsulating material made of a liquid, semi-liquid, or viscous material, to a temperature between 60 °C and 120 °C in a method at least comprising of curing the liquid, semi-liquid, or viscous material by applying heat to the said material. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Infineon in view of Ge in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of ensuring the mold is mechanically stable (Emadi ¶ [0104]) by routinely optimizing the range of the heating temperature (and also the time of heat exposure, see claim 3) applied to the liquid, semi-liquid, or viscous material during the curing of the said material.
Furthermore, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (A).
Regarding claim 3, the method of claim 2, wherein the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material is heated to a temperature of between 60°C and 120°C for between 10 and 20 minutes (Emadi ¶ [0104]: about 0.5 hours).
Regarding claim 9, Infineon in view of Ge teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the curing of the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material comprises heating the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material (Ge Col. 5, Lns. 65: curing by baking). Ge further teaches that the liquid, semi-liquid, or viscous material can be any suitable encapsulating material (Col. 3, Lns 44-45). However, Ge does not specifically teach a method of heating the encapsulating material to a temperature of between 60°C and 120°C.
Emadi, in the same field of invention, teaches a method of heating an encapsulating material (Figs. 7-8: mold 853) to a temperature of between 60°C and 120°C (¶ [0104]). Emadi further teaches applying the heat for 0.5-5 hours (¶ [0104]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Emadi into the method of Infineon in view of Ge to heat an encapsulating material, with the encapsulating material made of a liquid, semi-liquid, or viscous material, to a temperature between 60 °C and 120 °C in a method at least comprising of curing the liquid, semi-liquid, or viscous material by applying heat to the said material. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Infineon in view of Ge in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of ensuring the mold is mechanically stable (Emadi ¶ [0104]) by routinely optimizing the range of the heating temperature (and also the time of heat exposure, see claim 3) applied to the liquid, semi-liquid, or viscous material during the curing of the said material.
Furthermore, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (A).
Regarding claim 10, the method of claim 9, wherein the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material is heated to a temperature of between 60°C and 120°C for between 10 and 20 minutes (Emadi ¶ [0104]: about 0.5 hours).
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Infineon (DE 20 2018 100486 U1) in view of Ge (US 9,548,255 B1) as applied to claim 1 and/or 8 above, and further in view of Houzouji (US 2016/0336252 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Infineon in view of Ge teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pouring of the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material into the cavity formed by the sidewalls of the housing comprises pouring a gel or any suitable encapsulating material in a cavity (Ge Col. 3, Lns 44-45). However, Ge did not specifically teach that encapsulating gel to be a silicone gel.
Houzouji, in the same field of invention, teaches a method of pouring an encapsulating material (8) into a cavity (Fig. 1 shows cavity between bounded by 12) formed by sidewalls (12) of a housing (100) wherein the encapsulating gel is a silicone gel (¶ [0024]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Houzouji into the method of Infineon in view of Ge to pour a liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material comprising of a silicone gel into a cavity formed by sidewalls of a housing. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Infineon in view of Ge in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose substituting equivalent materials known in the art for the same purpose of providing encapsulation of semiconductor devices (Houzouji ¶ 0024: 8 can be made of silicone gel or epoxy resin, phenol resin, or urethane resins as alternatives; also Ge teaches the use of any suitable encapsulating material) and for the further purpose of preventing peeling and delamination by preferring silicone over resin (Houzouji ¶ 0024: “resin-molded semiconductor devices have high connection reliability, but may have decreased insulation reliability when peeling occurs between a molding resin and other members”).
Regarding claim 13, Infineon in view of Ge teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the pouring of the liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material into the cavity formed by the sidewalls of the housing comprises pouring a gel or any suitable encapsulating material into the cavity (Ge Col. 3, Lns 44-45). However, Ge did not specifically teach that encapsulating gel to be a silicone gel.
Houzouji, in the same field of invention, teaches a method of pouring an encapsulating material (8) into a cavity (Fig. 1 shows cavity between bounded by 12) formed by sidewalls (12) of a housing (100) wherein the encapsulating gel is a silicone gel (¶ [0024]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Houzouji into the method of Infineon in view of Ge to pour a liquid, semi-liquid or viscous material comprising of a silicone gel into a cavity formed by sidewalls of a housing. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Infineon in view of Ge in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose substituting equivalent materials known in the art for the same purpose of providing encapsulation of semiconductor devices (Houzouji ¶ 0024: 8 can be made of silicone gel or epoxy resin, phenol resin, or urethane resins as alternatives; also Ge teaches the use of any suitable encapsulating material) and for the further purpose of preventing peeling and delamination by preferring silicone over resin (Houzouji ¶ 0024: “resin-molded semiconductor devices have high connection reliability, but may have decreased insulation reliability when peeling occurs between a molding resin and other members”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS YAP/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/ZANDRA V SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899