DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 19 February 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 19 February 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakamoto et al (US 2021/0043967 A1).
As to claim 1, Sakamoto discloses a method of improving interfacial contact at an electrode-to-solid-electrolyte interface in a solid-state battery cell ([0111] “…to avoid loss of contact area.” [0158] “During the first pulse, a slight decrease in interfacial resistance is observed (F in FIG. 20), which may be attributed to improved interfacial contact when current flowed the first time”), the method comprising:
providing a solid-state battery cell including a solid-state electrolyte and electrodes defining an anode and a cathode, wherein each of the anode and cathode are adjacent to the solid- state electrolyte at an interface ([0105] [0141] “a cell with smaller electrodes ˜250 μm wide and ˜500 μm tall and a larger spacing between electrodes was used” which is described with example 2, starting at [0114] with electrolyte and electrode synthesis described [0177]-[0181]);
electrochemically increasing interfacial contact between at least one of the electrodes and the solid-state electrolyte by applying a voltage pulse to the cell at a high current density for a short duration, wherein electrode material diffuses into pores formed in the solid electrolyte interface, thereby healing the pores and eliminating an interfacial space charge effect ([0141] “a two second pulse of high current at a nominal current density of 75 mA/cm2 was applied.” Where the result of “wherein electrode material diffuses into pores formed in the solid electrolyte interface, thereby healing the pores and eliminating an interfacial space charge effect” is deemed to be a result of the claimed method as described in the prior art and thereby met. See MPEP 2112.02).
As to claims 2 and 3, the instant claim of the cut off voltage does not have a limiting effect based on the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. The interpretation of the specification defines the phrase at which the voltage not exceed at a point in the charging process and thus any process which does not exceed the claimed voltages may arbitrarily posses the claimed cut-off voltage as it is not integrated into the claimed method steps outsides defining a parameter not used within the context of the claimed voltage application step.
As to claim 4, Sakamoto further discloses wherein the high current density applied to the cell is at least five times greater than the critical current density at a cell level. ([0022] discloses the CCD is 2 mA/cm2 and thus the applied current cited above is greater than 5 times said CCD).
As to claim 6, Sakamoto discloses wherein the short duration is greater than or equal to 0.1 ms. ([0141] 2 seconds).
As to claim 9, Sakamoto discloses wherein the voltage pulse includes more than one pulse ([0147] “Following this initial cycle at high current density, the same amount of charge was repeatedly cycled at nominal current densities of 5 mA/cm.sup.2 (5 cycles) and then 10 mA/cm.sup.2 (5 cycles)).
As to claims 10 and 11, Sakamoto further discloses wherein the solid-state electrolyte is one of an inorganic solid electrolyte, a solid polymer electrolyte, and a composite polymer electrolyte and wherein the solid-state electrolyte is one of a garnet, a NASICON, a LISICON, an argyrodite-like, a lithium nitride, a lithium hydride, a lithium halide, a lithium phosphorous oxynitride, a lithium thiophosphate, a perovskite, a polyether-based electrolyte, a polycarbonate-based electrolyte, a polyester-based electrolyte, a polynitrile-based electrolyte, a polyalcohol-based electrolyte, a polyamine-based electrolyte, a polysiloxane-based electrolyte, a fluoropolymer-based electrolyte, a gel polymer electrolyte, an ionogel electrolyte, and a gel electrolyte. ([0089]-[0097]).
As to claim 12, Sakamoto further discloses wherein the anode comprises a Li-based active material, a Na-based active material, a K-based active material, a Mg-based active material, or a Zn-based active material. ([0088]).
As to claim 13, Sakamoto further discloses wherein the pores in the solid-state electrolyte are reduced or completely filled up due to local heating of the anode material at the interface in the vicinity of the pores. ([0117], [0121], and [0151]).
As to claim 14, Sakamoto further discloses wherein the method is performed in-operando ([0122], [0141] “in-plane operando…).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto in view of Sakamoto et al (US 2021/0226193 A1 herein referred to as Sakamoto ‘193).
As to claims 7 and 8, Sakamoto fails to disclose the pulses are applied in a duration of 0.1 to 0.5 ms, or less than 1 ms.
Sakamoto ‘193 discloses applying current pulses in order to deposit lithium at the electrode-electrolyte interface where the use of pulse currents improves the uniformity of the as deposited materials (Abstract). Sakamoto ‘193 discloses appropriate time frames for the application of the current density in which several ranges overlap the claimed range (Fig. 1A ton [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a time on of the current density of less than 1 ms as taught in Sakamoto ‘193 for the time on period of the current density of Sakamoto as the ranges are recognized appropriate for the deposition of metal at the solid-solid interface with pulse control to optimize uniformity of the deposited metal (Sakamoto ‘193 [0110], See MPEP 2144.05 I and II).
Conclusion
/LOUIS J RUFO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795