Status of Claims
This is the third Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-19 are currently pending. Claims 1, 9, and 14 are currently amended.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/17/2025 has been entered.
In view of the amendments to independent claims 1, 9, and 14, and corresponding dependent claims have been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng et al. (US7405655B2) in view of Stevens et al. (US20110133888A1), hereinafter Ng and Stevens.
Regarding claim 1, Ng teaches of a method in an asset tracker deployed in an engineless vehicle (FIG. 1, item 100), the method comprising: detecting a travel motion of the asset tracker (FIG. 5, Step 504); operating the asset tracker in a tripwire detection mode (FIG. 5, Step 504 and 506); determining that the asset tracker has crossed a tripwire ("geocentric zone", Col. 3 line 54 to Col. 4 line 7, FIG. 7, step 708); and operating the asset tracker in a location reporting mode, wherein operating the asset tracker in the location reporting mode comprises transitioning the asset tracker from the tripwire detection mode ("a memory configured to store at least a first geocentric zone and a second geocentric zone", Col. 1 line 57, "there or more points of latitude and longitude can be utilized to specify an area associated with the surface of the earth", Col. 3 lines 60-63, "determine if the position of the cargo container is within one of the first geocentric zone and the second geocentric zone stored in the memory", Col. 1 lines 62-65, determining if the asset is in the geocentric zone implies that it has crossed a boundary = tripwire) to the location reporting mode ("The security unit also comprises a controller…The controller is configured to receive the position of the cargo container from the positioning receiver", Col. 1 line 61-62, FIG. 4, 412 - "TRANSMITTING THE SECURITY EVENT (E.G., EVENT IDENTIFICATION, POSITION, AND TIME") in response to determining that the asset tracker has crossed the tripwire (FIG. 7, step 720).
However, Ng does not teach of operating the asset tracker in low-power mode; and wherein operating the asset tracker in the tripwire detection mode comprises transitioning the asset tracker from the low-power mode to the tripwire detection mode in response to detecting the travel motion of the asset tracker.
Stevens, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of operating the asset tracker in low-power mode ("the tracking device is in a low power operational state", [0080]); and wherein operating the asset tracker in the tripwire detection mode comprises transitioning the asset tracker from the low-power mode to the tripwire detection mode (FIG. 19, 1901 Wakeup Tag and Collect Accelerometer Data) in response to detecting the travel motion of the asset tracker (FIG. 19, 1900 Do Vibration Sensor Values Exceed Threshold).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the method of asset tracking of Ng with teachings of Stevens to transition the asset tracker modes based on travel motion with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the system efficiency by utilizing a low-power sleep mode when high-speed processing in unnecessary, and transitioning to active mode with high-speed processing when required (Stevens, [0041]). This approach reduces the overall power consumption for the system.
Regarding claim 2, modified Ng teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, in addition, Ng teaches wherein operating the asset tracker in the tripwire detection mode (FIG. 5, Step 504 and 506) comprises: frequently determining an asset tracker location of the asset tracker (See at least FIG. 7, "Mapping Interval"; "…provide a position of the cargo container", Col. 1 line 57); and comparing the asset tracker location with the tripwire ("…receive the position of the cargo container from the positioning receiver, determine if the position of the cargo container is within one of the first geocentric zone and the second geocentric zone", Col. 1 lines 61-64).
Regarding claim 3, Ng teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, specifically detecting the travel motion of the asset tracker (FIG. 5, Step 504).
However, Ng does not teach of detecting a plurality of acceleration values from a 3-axis accelerometer.
Stevens, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of detecting a plurality of acceleration values from a 3-axis accelerometer thereof ("read 3D acceleration measurements from an accelerometer 305", [0041]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the elements of Ng with the elements of Stevens to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined these elements since the acceleration values from a 3-axis accelerometer allows for detection of motion in a 3D space.
Regarding claim 4, modified Ng teaches of all limitations of claim 2 as stated above, in addition, Ng teaches wherein determining that the asset tracker has crossed the tripwire ("geocentric zone", Col. 3 line 54 to Col. 4 line 7, FIG. 7, step 708) comprises comparing the asset tracker location to a line extending between a first point and a second point forming the tripwire ("geocentric zone can be specified…For example, three or more points of latitude and longitude can be utilized to specify an area", Col. 3 lines 59-62, implicit that points between points of latitude and longitude are lines).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ng teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, in addition, Ng teaches of the method further comprising receiving a zone definition comprised of a plurality of tripwires ("geocentric zone can be specified…For example, three or more points of latitude and longitude can be utilized to specify an area", Col. 3 lines 59-62, implicit that points between points of latitude and longitude are lines).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ng teaches of all limitations of claim 5 as stated above, in addition, Ng teaches of the method further comprising storing the zone definition ("…the geocentric zones (208, 210, 212, 214) stored in the memory 204", Col. 4 lines 16-17).
Regarding claim 7, Ng teaches of all limitations of claim 5 as stated above, particularly wherein determining that the asset tracker has crossed a tripwire ("geocentric zone", Col. 3 line 54 to Col. 4 line 7, FIG. 7, step 708).
However, Ng does not explicitly teach of wherein determining that the asset tracker has crossed a tripwire comprises determining that the asset tracker has crossed one tripwire of the plurality of tripwires of the zone definition.
Stevens, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of determining that the asset tracker has crossed one tripwire of the plurality of tripwires of the zone definition ("system 200 can define geofences (e.g. a virtual perimeter) around important locations…and the tracking device 114 or the system 200 can determine that the asset has entered or left a given location when the tracking device 114 enters or leaves a geofence", [0028]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of ng with the teachings of Stevens with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification since detecting when an asset has crossed a tripwire of a zone definition enables the system to trigger events for use cases such as theft prevention, or automating checking in/out of a location.
Regarding claim 8, Ng teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, particularly wherein operating the asset tracker in the location reporting mode (FIG. 7, step 720).
However, Ng does not teach of wherein operating the asset tracker in the location reporting mode comprises frequently sending a plurality of asset tracker location to a telematics server.
Stevens, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of frequently sending a plurality of asset tracker location ("periodic reports of the location of tracking device 114. For example, the tracking device 114 can send a report of its current location according to a schedule, for example, at fixed intervals of time", [0028]) to a telematics server ("tracking device also processes commands (e.g., Over-the-Air (OTA) commands) received from…the servers operated by the tracking device provider 106", [0030]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of Ng with the teachings of Stevens with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification since continuously sending multiple tracker locations to a server allows the system to always have up-to-date information to instantly determine which program instructions to execute.
Regarding claim 9, Ng teaches of an asset tracker ("security unit" 100, Col. 3 lines 6-8), comprising: a controller (206, 214, Col. 3 lines 6-8); a location module ("position receiver" 202, Col. 3 lines 6-8); and a memory coupled to the controller ("controller 206 of the security unit 100 is coupled to the memory 204", Col. 4 lines 8-9), the memory storing machine- executable programming instructions which, when executed by the controller (implicit that memory stores machine- executable programming instructions executable by the controller), configure the asset tracker to: detect a travel motion of the asset tracker (FIG. 5, Step 504); operate in a tripwire detection mode (FIG. 5, Step 504 and 506); determine that the asset tracker has crossed a tripwire ("geocentric zone", Col. 3 line 54 to Col. 4 line 7, FIG. 7, step 708); and operate in a location reporting mode, wherein operating the asset tracker in the location reporting mode comprises transitioning the asset tracker from the tripwire detection mode ("a memory configured to store at least a first geocentric zone and a second geocentric zone", Col. 1 line 57, "there or more points of latitude and longitude can be utilized to specify an area associated with the surface of the earth", Col. 3 lines 60-63, "determine if the position of the cargo container is within one of the first geocentric zone and the second geocentric zone stored in the memory", Col. 1 lines 62-65, determining if the asset is in the geocentric zone implies that it has crossed a boundary = tripwire) to the location reporting mode ("The security unit also comprises a controller…The controller is configured to receive the position of the cargo container from the positioning receiver", Col. 1 line 61-62, FIG. 4, 412 - "TRANSMITTING THE SECURITY EVENT (E.G., EVENT IDENTIFICATION, POSITION, AND TIME") in response to determining that the asset tracker has crossed the tripwire (FIG. 7, step 720).
However, Ng does not teach of operate in a low-power mode; and wherein the asset tracker is configured to transition from the low-power mode to the tripwire detection mode in response to detecting the travel motion of the asset tracker.
Stevens, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of operate in a low-power mode ("the tracking device is in a low power operational state", [0080]); and wherein operating the asset tracker in the tripwire detection mode comprises transitioning the asset tracker from the low-power mode to the tripwire detection mode (FIG. 19, 1901 Wakeup Tag and Collect Accelerometer Data) in response to detecting the travel motion of the asset tracker (FIG. 19, 1900 Do Vibration Sensor Values Exceed Threshold).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of Ng with teachings of Stevens to transition the asset tracker modes based on travel motion with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the system efficiency by utilizing a low-power sleep mode when high-speed processing in unnecessary, and transitioning to active mode with high-speed processing when required (Stevens, [0041]). This approach reduces the overall power consumption for the system.
Regarding claim 10, modified Ng teaches of all limitations of claim 9 as stated above, in addition, Ng teaches that wherein the machine-executable programming instructions which configure the asset tracker to operate in the tripwire detection mode ("geocentric zone", Col. 3 line 54 to Col. 4 line 7, FIG. 7, step 708) comprise machine-executable programming instructions which cause the asset tracker to: frequently determine an asset tracker location of the asset tracker ("…receive the position of the cargo container from the positioning receiver, determine if the position of the cargo container is within one of the first geocentric zone and the second geocentric zone", Col. 1 lines 61-64); and compare the asset tracker location with the tripwire ("…receive the position of the cargo container from the positioning receiver, determine if the position of the cargo container is within one of the first geocentric zone and the second geocentric zone", Col. 1 lines 61-64).
Regarding claim 11, Ng teaches of all limitations of claim 9 as stated above, specifically the machine-executable programming instructions which detect the travel motion of the asset tracker (FIG. 5, Step 504).
However, Ng does not teach of executing machine-executable programming instructions which detect a plurality of acceleration values from a 3-axis accelerometer of the asset tracker.
Stevens, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of executing machine-executable programming instructions which detect a plurality of acceleration values from a 3-axis accelerometer of the asset tracker ("microprocessor 302…read 3D acceleration measurements from an accelerometer 305", [0041]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the elements of Ng with the elements of Stevens to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined these elements since the acceleration values from a 3-axis accelerometer allows for detection of motion in a 3D space.
Regarding claim 12, modified Ng teaches of all limitations of claim 9 as stated above, in additions to the machine-executable programming instructions further configure the asset tracker to receive a zone definition comprised of a plurality of tripwires ("geocentric zone can be specified…For example, three or more points of latitude and longitude can be utilized to specify an area", Col. 3 lines 59-62, implicit that points between points of latitude and longitude are lines).
Regarding claim 13, Ng teaches of all limitations of claim 9 as stated above, particularly wherein the machine-executable programming instructions which configure the asset tracker to operate in the location reporting mode (FIG. 7, step 720) comprise machine-executable programming instructions which configure the asset tracker to frequently send a plurality of asset tracker locations (See at least FIG. 7, "Mapping Interval"; "…provide a position of the cargo container", Col. 1 line 57).
However, Ng does not teach of a telematics server.
Stevens, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of a telematics server ("send notifications to the tracking device provider 106", [0028], "servers operated by the tracking device provider 106", [0030]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of Ng with the teachings of Stevens with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification since continuously sending multiple tracker locations to a server allows the system to always have up-to-date information to instantly determine which program instructions to execute.
Claims 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng in view of Stevens, and further in view of Kumar (US10957204B1), hereinafter Kumar.
Regarding claim 14, Ng teaches of sending a zone definition comprising a plurality of tripwires to the asset tracker ("geocentric zone can be specified…For example, three or more points of latitude and longitude can be utilized to specify an area", Col. 3 lines 59-62, implicit that points between points of latitude and longitude are lines); operating the asset tracker in a tripwire detection mode (FIG. 5, Step 504 and 506); the asset tracker determining that it has crossed a tripwire of the plurality of tripwires ("geocentric zone", Col. 3 line 54 to Col. 4 line 7, FIG. 7, step 708; "geocentric zone can be specified…For example, three or more points of latitude and longitude can be utilized to specify an area", Col. 3 lines 59-62, implicit that points between points of latitude and longitude are lines); and in response to determining that the asset tracker has crossed the tripwire ("geocentric zone", Col. 3 line 54 to Col. 4 line 7, FIG. 7, step 708), the asset tracker transitioning from the tripwire detection mode ("a memory configured to store at least a first geocentric zone and a second geocentric zone", Col. 1 line 57, "there or more points of latitude and longitude can be utilized to specify an area associated with the surface of the earth", Col. 3 lines 60-63, "determine if the position of the cargo container is within one of the first geocentric zone and the second geocentric zone stored in the memory", Col. 1 lines 62-65, determining if the asset is in the geocentric zone implies that it has crossed a boundary = tripwire) to a location reporting mode ("The security unit also comprises a controller…The controller is configured to receive the position of the cargo container from the positioning receiver", Col. 1 line 61-62, FIG. 4, 412 - "TRANSMITTING THE SECURITY EVENT (E.G., EVENT IDENTIFICATION, POSITION, AND TIME").
However, Ng does not teach of a method in a telematics system including a telematics server, a telematics device couplable to a tractor, and an asset tracker couplable to a trailer, the method comprising: the telematics server; wherein operating the asset tracker in the tripwire detection mode comprises transitioning the asset tracker from a low-power mode to the tripwire detection mode in response to detecting a travel motion of the asset tracker; the asset tracker sending a first plurality of locations thereof to the telematics server; the telematics device sending a second plurality of locations thereof to the telematics server; and the telematics server determining that the tractor and the trailer are traveling together based on the first plurality of locations and the second plurality of locations.
Steven, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of the telematics server ("tracking device also processes commands (e.g., Over-the-Air (OTA) commands) received from…the servers operated by the tracking device provider 106", [0030]); and wherein operating the asset tracker in the tripwire detection mode comprises transitioning the asset tracker from a low-power mode to the tripwire detection mode (FIG. 19, 1901 Wakeup Tag and Collect Accelerometer Data) in response to detecting a travel motion of the asset tracker (FIG. 19, 1900 Do Vibration Sensor Values Exceed Threshold).
However, Stevens does not teach of a method in a telematics system including a telematics server, a telematics device couplable to a tractor, and an asset tracker couplable to a trailer, the method comprising: the asset tracker sending a first plurality of locations thereof to the telematics server; the telematics device sending a second plurality of locations thereof to the telematics server; and the telematics server determining that the tractor and the trailer are traveling together based on the first plurality of locations and the second plurality of locations.
Kumar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of a method in a telematics system including a telematics server, a telematics device couplable to a tractor, and an asset tracker couplable to a trailer (See at least FIG. 9, Col. 2 lines 7-28), the method comprising: the asset tracker sending a first plurality of locations thereof to the telematics server (See at least FIG. 10, Step 1072, Col. 16 lines 53-59); the telematics device sending a second plurality of locations thereof to the telematics server (See at least Fig. 10, Step 1073, Col. 16 lines 60-67 and Col. 17 lines 1-4); and the telematics server determining that the tractor and the trailer are traveling together based on the first plurality of locations and the second plurality of locations (See at least FIG. 10, Step 1073 and 1080).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the elements of Ng, Stevens, and Kumar to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined these elements since utilizing a telematics system allows for wireless communication between the asset tracker and the server receiving information. This allows the tracking system to efficiently operate over a long distance to ensure proper transportation of assets. Additionally, this combination would improve the system efficiency by utilizing a low-power sleep mode when high-speed processing in unnecessary, and transitioning to active mode with high-speed processing when required (Stevens, [0041]). This approach reduces the overall power consumption for the system.
Regarding claim 15, Ng teaches of all limitations of claim 14 as stated above, in addition to the zone definition ("geocentric zone can be specified…For example, three or more points of latitude and longitude can be utilized to specify an area", Col. 3 lines 59-62).
However, Ng does not teach of further comprising the telematics server receiving from an administration terminal.
Stevens, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of further comprising the telematics server ("tracking device also processes commands (e.g., Over-the-Air (OTA) commands) received from…the servers", [0030]) receiving from an administration terminal ("tracking device also processes commands from the tracking device provider 106", [0030]).
Kumar, also in the same field of endeavor, teaches of the limitations of claim 14 as stated above.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of Ng, Stevens, and Kumar with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification since sending the zone definition from the administration terminal to the telematics server allows for centralized management in which the administrator can update the zone definition real-time.
Regarding claim 16, Ng and Stevens teach of all limitations of claim 14 as stated above.
However, Stevens do not teach of further comprising the telematics server determining whether the tractor and the trailer should be traveling together.
Kumar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of the telematics server ("cargo tracking system servers 968b", Col 16. lines 45-48) determining whether the tractor and the trailer should be traveling together (FIG. 10, Step 1077).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of Ng and Stevens with the teachings of Kumar with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification since knowing if the tractor and trailer are traveling together is crucial for shipping logistics. This would ensure, for example, that the right tractor is transporting the correct cargo-filled trailer to its intended destination.
Regarding claim 17, Ng and Stevens teach of all limitations of claim 16 as stated above.
However, Ng and Stevens do not teach of wherein determining whether the tractor and the trailer should be traveling together comprises querying a telematics database based on a telematics device identifier of the telematics device and an asset tracker identifier of the asset tracker.
Kumar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of determining whether the tractor and the trailer should be traveling together comprises querying a telematics database ("GIS (Geographic Information System) database", Col. 6 lines 41-43) based on a telematics device identifier of the telematics device and an asset tracker identifier of the asset tracker ("To determine an appropriate match, this comparison may be a strict comparison (e.g. requiring perfect correspondence of paths) or similarity comparison that is satisfied when the similarity is greater than a threshold value. In addition to similarity of the route (e.g. list of segments traveled) similarity may also be judged based on time correlation between the paths for the cargo asset and the motorized asset", Col. 17 lines 26-33).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of Ng and Stevens with Kumar with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification since comparing the identifiers of the tractor and trailer with the records from the telematics database would allow the system to determine whether the tractor and trailer should be traveling together.
Regarding claim 18, Ng and Stevens teach of all limitations of claim 17 as stated above.
However, Ng and Stevens do not teach of further compromising sending, by the telematics server, a notification to the telematics device in response to determining that the tractor and the trailer should not be travelling together.
Kumar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of sending, by the telematics server, a notification to the telematics device in response to determining that the tractor and the trailer should not be travelling together (See at least FIG. 10, Step 1079; does not explicitly state where the server sends the alert to, however since the servers are in communication with the tracking devices (See at least FIG. 1) it is implicit that the alert can be sent to the tracking devices via the server).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of Ng and Stevens with the teachings of Kumar with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification since the alert is useful in determining that a cargo asset is being transported by an inappropriate motorized asset (e.g., the wrong cargo asset is being transported by mistake) (Col. 17 lines 38-41, Kumar) and corrective action can more efficiently taken.
Regarding claim 19, Ng and Stevens teach of all limitations of claim 17 as stated above, in addition to an operator terminal ("communication session between the tracking device and the servers operated by the tracking device provider 105", [0030]).
However, Ng and Stevens do not teach of sending, by the telematics server, a notification in response to determining that the tractor and the trailer should not be travelling together.
Kumar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of sending, by the telematics server, a notification in response to determining that the tractor and the trailer should not be travelling together (See at least FIG. 10, Step 1079).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the operator terminal of Ng and Stevens with the teachings of Kumar with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification since the notification is useful in determining that a cargo asset is being transported by an inappropriate motorized asset (e.g., the wrong cargo asset is being transported by mistake) (Col. 17 lines 38-41, Kumar) such that the operator can take corrective action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-8, filed 09/17/2025, with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections of claims 1, 9, and 14, and corresponding dependent claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that a tripwire, as described in the specification (¶86), is a line, which is a one-dimensional object, and differs from Ng’s geometric zones which is defined as a two- or more- dimensional area, in addition to, the cited arts failing to describe the newly amended limitation of claims 1, 9, and 14. However, Examiner, respectfully, does not find argument persuasive. A tripwire is not limited to a mathematically infinitesimal line, rather a tripwire broadly encompasses a geographic threshold or boundary whose crossing triggers a system action. Moreover, the boundary of a two-dimensional geographic region constitutes a one-dimensional construct, and detection of entry into the region is functionally equivalent to detecting traversal of a tripwire. Furthermore, Examiner believes that cited arts still teach the newly amended limitations, as disclosed in the rejections above, and due to the dependency of the dependent claims, previously presented 35 USC 103 rejections remain unchanged.
Conclusion
ABIGAIL LEE ESPINOZA
Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657