DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith et al (US 5968013 A).
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses a perfusion sheath (figs 3, 5, 7) comprising: a sheath body 10,12 comprising an exterior surface and a lumen therethrough, the lumen extending from a distal end of the sheath body to a proximal end of the sheath body;
at least one perfusion aperture 104,82 in the sheath body positioned between the proximal end of the sheath body to the distal end of sheath body, the perfusion aperture providing for fluid communication through the exterior surface of the sheath body;
a removable perfusion aperture cover 40 positioned over the at least one aperture in the sheath body; and
a pull 76 attached to the removable perfusion aperture cover.
Regarding claim 2, Smith discloses when the sheath body is inserted into an arteriotomy, the pull has a length such that the pull will extend outside the arteriotomy (col. 3, line 30).
Regarding claim 3, Smith discloses the pull is selected from the group consisting of a wire 76.
Regarding claim 4, Smith discloses the pull 76 is a biocompatible material as well known in the medical art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 5968013 A).
Regarding claims 7-9, Smith fails to disclose the sheath is made of a flexible plastic being of a biocompatible polymer selected from the group consisting of thermoplastic polyurethane, nylon, polyether block amide, expanded polytetrafluoroethylene, and blends thereof.
Smith discloses that catheter structure 10 materials are well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith sheath (catheter structure 10) by selecting a sheath material of one of a flexible plastic being of a biocompatible polymer selected from the group consisting of thermoplastic polyurethane, nylon, polyether block amide, expanded polytetrafluoroethylene, and blends thereof since selecting a well-known material for the intended use is old and well known in the art.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Bierman (US 20110218496 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Smith fails to disclose the pull is a colored pull.
Bierman teaches a dilator 24 having a white color to differentiate from the red color of the blood. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith with Bierman teaching of a colored dilator since adding color to Bierman’s wire 76 would help differentiate the wire from the blood/fluids inside the sheath 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-25 are allowed.
Claims 5, 6, 10-16, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 19, the art of record does not teach or render obvious a method for providing persistent distal limb perfusion, the method comprising:
the step of tensioning the pull corresponding to the determined perfusion aperture to peel away the perfusion aperture cover associated with the pull and open the determined perfusion aperture to provide the persistent distal limb perfusion, in combination with the steps and elements set forth in the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892-form.
/Cris L. Rodriguez/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3783