DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6-10 and 12-20 have been considered but are moot on grounds of new rejection. Examiner suggests that the Applicant perfect their foreign priority by submitting an English translation of the priority documents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (US 2021/0050326 A1) in view of Chen et al. (Chen) (US 2020/0411445 A1) in view of Hwang et al. (Hwang) (US 2022/0375829 A1) in view of YIM et al. (YIM) (US 2022/0189835 A1).
In regards to claim 1, CHOI (Figs. 5-7, 15, 16, 19 and associated text) discloses a semiconductor package (Figs. 5-7,15,16, 19) comprising: a first semiconductor chip (item 200) including rear pads (item 240), front pads (item 210), and through-electrodes (item 220) electrically connecting the rear pads (item 240) and the front pads (item 210); a second semiconductor chip (item 400) on the first semiconductor chip (item 200) and including first connection pads (item 410) electrically connected to the front pads (item 210) of the first semiconductor chip (item 200) and second connection pads (outermost item 410) around the first connection pads (item 410), wherein a width of the second semiconductor chip (item 400) is greater than a width of the first semiconductor chip (item 200); a redistribution structure (item 100R) below the first semiconductor chip (item 200) and including first redistribution layers (upper patterns of item 150) electrically connected to the rear pads (item 240) of the first semiconductor chip (item 200) and second redistribution layers (lower patterns of item 150) around the first redistribution layers (upper patterns of item150); and metal posts (item 300) around the first semiconductor chip (item 200), extending between the redistribution structure (item 100R) and the second semiconductor chip (item 400), and electrically connecting the second connection pads (outermost item 410) of the second semiconductor chip (item 400) and the second redistribution layers (lower patterns of item 150) of the redistribution structure (item 100R), wherein the metal posts (item 300) include a first metal post (item 300) and a second metal post (item 300), wherein the first metal post (item 300) is disposed more closely to the first semiconductor chip than the second metal post (item 300). Examiner notes that it is well known in the art the redistribution structures can be single or multi-layered structures.
CHOI does not specifically disclose a second semiconductor chip including a substrate, wherein the first metal post includes a first portion and a second portion disposed on the first portion, wherein the first portion has a first width, and wherein the second portion has a second width greater than the first width.
Chen (Figs. 1-10 and associated text) discloses a second semiconductor chip (item 200) including a substrate (item 202, paragraphs 28, 34), wherein the first metal post (item 310) includes a first portion (item 314) and a second portion (item 312) disposed on the first portion (item 314), wherein the first portion (item 314) has a first width (item W2), and wherein the second portion (item 312) has a second width (item W1) greater than the first width (item W2). Examiner notes that Chen discloses the same materials (silicon, germanium and/or a compound semiconductor such as silicon germanium, silicon carbide, gallium arsenic, indium arsenide, gallium nitride or indium phosphide) for the substrate as the Applicant.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chen for the purpose of an electrical connection.
Choi as modified by Chen does not specifically disclose the second metal post has a third width less than the second width, and wherein the contact area between the second portion and the second connection pad is greater than an area of contact between the second metal post and one connection pads.
Hwang (Figs. 1A, 6, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B) discloses redistribution structures (item 145) can have multiple layers (items 145a, 145b)… wherein the first metal post (items 312 plus 322) includes a first portion (item 312) and a second portion (item 322) disposed on the first portion (item 312), wherein the first portion (item 312) has a first width (item W102), and wherein the second portion (item 322) has a second width (item W202) greater than the first width (item W102), and the second metal post (item 311 plus 321) has a third width (W201) less than the second width (W202).
Therefore CHOI (Figs. 5-7, 15, 16, 19 and associated text) discloses as modified by Chen (Figs. 1-10 and associated text) and Hwang (Figs. 1A, 6, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B) discloses wherein the contact area between the second portion (item 322, Hwang) and the second connection pad (item 404) is greater than an area of contact between the second metal post (items 311 plus 321) and one of the second connection pads (item 404).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Hwang for purpose of design choice, an electrical connection and increasing integration (paragraph 95).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a metal post with a first portion having a first width, and a second portion having a second width greater than the first width and a second post having a third width, less than the second width, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size/shape of a component. A change in size/shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
Choi as modified by Chen and Hwang does not specifically disclose connection posts connected to the rear pads (item 240, Choi) of the first semiconductor chip (item 200, Choi); and an underfill resin surrounding the connection posts between the first semiconductor chip and the redistribution structure.
Yim (Fig. 1 and associated text) discloses connection posts (item 141) connected to the rear pads (item 131) of the first semiconductor chip (item 131); and an underfill resin (item 143, paragraph 34) surrounding the connection posts (item 141) between the first semiconductor chip (item 130) and the redistribution structure (item 101). Examiner notes that Yim discloses the same material (epoxy resin, paragraph 34) for the underfill resin as the Applicant.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Yim for the purpose of an electrical connection and protection, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Examiner notes that since Chen discloses the same materials (silicon, germanium and/or a compound semiconductor such as silicon germanium, silicon carbide, gallium arsenic, indium arsenide, gallium nitride or indium phosphide) for the substrate as the Applicant, and Yim discloses the same material (epoxy resin, paragraph 34) for the underfill resin as the Applicant, Choi as modified by Chen, Hwang and Yim discloses wherein the substrate (item 202, Chen) has a thermal conductivity higher than the thermal conductivity of the underfill resin (item 143, epoxy resin, Yim).
In regards to claim 2, CHOI (Figs. 5-7, 15, 16, 19 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1-10 and associated text) and Hwang discloses wherein the second portion (item 312, Chen) of the first metal post (item 300, CHOI, item 310, Chen) contacts one of the second connection pads (outermost item 410, CHOI) of the second semiconductor chip (item 400, CHOI).
In regards to claim 3, CHOI (Figs. 3, 5-7, 15, 16, 19 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1-10 and associated text) and Hwang discloses bump structures (item 310, CHOI) between the front pads (item 210, CHOI) of the first semiconductor chip (item 200, CHOI) and the first connection pads (item 410, CHOI) of the second semiconductor chip (item 400, CHOI); and an adhesive film (item 370, Fig. 3, CHOI) surrounding the bump structures ((item 310, CHOI) between the first semiconductor chip (item 200, CHOI) and the second semiconductor chip (item 400,CHOI), wherein the second portion (item 312, Chen) of the first metal post (item 310, Chen) overlaps the adhesive film (item 370, Fig. 3, CHOI) in a horizontal direction.
In regards to claim 6, CHOI (Figs. 3, 5-7, 15, 16, 19 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1-10 and associated text) and Hwang discloses wherein the first portion (item 314) of the first metal post (item 310) has a first height, and the second portion (item 312) of the first metal post (item 310) has a second height less than the first height.
In regards to claim 7, CHOI (Figs. 3, 5-7, 15, 16, 19 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1-10 and associated text) and Hwang discloses wherein the second height is greater than a distance between the first semiconductor chip (item 200) and the second semiconductor chip (item 400).
In regards to claim 8, CHOI (Figs. 3, 5-7, 15, 16, 19 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1-10 and associated text), Hwang (paragraphs 49, 53, 76, 80, claim 9, Figs. 1A, 6, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B and associated text) discloses wherein the first height ranges from between about 2 times to about 4 times the second height.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the invention to include a second height ranging from between about 2 times to about 4 times the first height, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
In regards to claim 9, CHOI (Figs. 3, 5-7, 15, 16, 19 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1-10 and associated text), Hwang (paragraphs 49, 53, 76, 80, claim 9, Figs. 1A, 6, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B and associated text) discloses wherein the second width (item W1, Chen) ranges from between about 1.1 times to about 2 times the first width (item W2, paragraph 40, Chen).
In regards to claim 10, CHOI (Figs. 3, 5-7, 15, 16, 19 and associated text) discloses wherein the metal posts (item 300) at least partially overlap the second semiconductor chip (item 400) in a vertical direction.
In regards to claim 12, CHOI (Figs. 3, 5-7, 15, 16, 19 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1-10 and associated text), Hwang (paragraphs 49, 53, 76, 80, claim 9, Figs. 1A, 6, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B and associated text) discloses a semiconductor package comprising: a first semiconductor chip (item 200) including rear pads (item 240), front pads (item 210), and through-electrodes (item 220) electrically connecting the rear pads (item 240) and the front pads (item 210); a second semiconductor chip (item 400) on the first semiconductor chip (item 200) and including as substrate (item 202, Chen, paragraphs 28, 34), first connection pads (item 410) electrically connected to the front pads (item 210) of the first semiconductor chip (item 200) and second connection pads (outermost item 410) around the first connection pads (item 410), wherein a width of the second semiconductor chip (item 400) is greater than a width of the first semiconductor chip (item 200); a redistribution structure (item 100R) below the first semiconductor chip (item 200) and including first redistribution layers (upper patterns of item 150) electrically connected to the rear pads (item 240) of the first semiconductor chip (item 200) and second redistribution layers (lower patterns of item 150) around the first redistribution layers (upper patterns of item150); and metal posts (item 300) around the first semiconductor chip (item 200), extending between the redistribution structure (item 100R) and the second semiconductor chip (item 400), and electrically connecting the second connection pads (outermost item 410) of the second semiconductor chip (item 400) and the second redistribution layers (lower patterns of item 150) of the redistribution structure (item 100R), wherein the metal posts (item 300, CHOI, item 310, Chen, items 301, 302, Hwang) include an arrangement of first metal posts (item 300, CHOI, innermost item 310, Chen, item 302, Hwang) spaced apart around the first semiconductor chip (item 200, CHOI, item 200, Chen, item 200) and an arrangement of second metal posts (middle or outermost item 310, Chen, item 301, Hwang) spaced apart around the arrangement of first metal posts (item 300, CHOI, innermost item 310, Chen, item 302, Hwang), and wherein each of the first metal posts (item 300, CHOI, innermost item 310, Chen, item 302, Hwang) includes a portion having a width (item W1, Chen, W202, Hwang) greater than a width (item W2, Chen, W102, Hwang) of each of the second metal posts (item 300, CHOI, item 310, Chen, paragraph 40, item 301, Hwang), wherein each of the first metal posts (item 300, CHOI, innermost item 310, Chen, item 302, Hwang) includes a first portion (item 300, CHOI, innermost item 314, Chen, item 312, Hwang) and a second portion (item 312, Chen, item 322, Hwang) disposed on the first portion (item 300, CHOI, innermost item 314, Chen, item 312, Hwang), wherein the first portion (item 300, CHOI, innermost item 314, Chen, item 312, Hwang) has a first width (W2, Chen, W102, Hwang), wherein the second portion (item 312, Chen, item 322, Hwang) has a second width (W1, Chen, W202, Hwang) greater than the first width (W2, Chen, W102, Hwang), and each second metal post (item 300, CHOI, item 310, Chen, paragraph 40, item 301, Hwang) has a third width (W201, Hwang) less than the second width (W1, Chen, W202, Hwang), wherein an area of contact between the portion and one of the second connection pads (item 404, Chen) is greater than an area of contact between one of the second metal posts (item 300, CHOI, item 310, Chen, paragraph 40, item 301, Hwang) and one of the second connection pads (item 404, Chen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate various teachings/features from the multiple embodiments of CHOI for purpose of design choice.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chen and Hwang for the purpose of an electrical connection and increase integration.
Choi as modified by Chen and Hwang does not specifically disclose connection posts connected to the rear pads (item 240, Choi) of the first semiconductor chip (item 200, Choi); and an underfill resin surrounding the connection posts between the first semiconductor chip and the redistribution structure.
Yim (Fig. 1 and associated text) discloses connection posts (item 141) connected to the rear pads (item 131) of the first semiconductor chip (item 131); and an underfill resin (item 143, paragraph 34) surrounding the connection posts (item 141) between the first semiconductor chip (item 130) and the redistribution structure (item 101). Examiner notes that Yim discloses the same material (epoxy resin, paragraph 34) for the underfill resin as the Applicant.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Yim for the purpose of an electrical connection and protection, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Examiner notes that since Chen discloses the same materials (silicon, germanium and/or a compound semiconductor such as silicon germanium, silicon carbide, gallium arsenic, indium arsenide, gallium nitride or indium phosphide) for the substrate as the Applicant, and Yim discloses the same material (epoxy resin, paragraph 34) for the underfill resin as the Applicant, Choi as modified by Kang, Chen and Yim discloses wherein the substrate (item 202, Chen) has a thermal conductivity higher than the thermal conductivity of the underfill resin (item 143, epoxy resin, Yim).
In regards to claim 13, CHOI (Figs. 3, 5-7, 15, 16, 19 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1-10 and associated text), Hwang (paragraphs 49, 53, 76, 80, claim 9, Figs. 1A, 6, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B and associated text) discloses wherein upper surfaces of the first metal posts (item 300, CHOI, item 310, Chen) have a first width (items W1 or W2, Chen), and upper surfaces of the second metal posts (item 300, CHOI, item 310, Chen) have a second width (items W1 or W2, Chen) less than the first width (paragraph 40, Chen). Examiner notes that Chen discloses different widths/thicknesses and/or same thickness.
In regards to claim 14, CHOI (Figs. 3, 5-7, 15, 16, 19 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1-10 and associated text), Hwang (paragraphs 49, 53, 76, 80, claim 9, Figs. 1A, 6, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B and associated text) discloses wherein each of the first metal posts (item 300, CHOI, item 310, Chen) includes a first portion (item 314, Chen) and a second portion (item 312, Chen) disposed on the first portion (item 314, Chen), the first portion (item 314, Chen) has a first width (item W2, Chen), and the second portion (item 312, Chen) has a second width (item W1, Chen) greater than the first width (item W2, Chen).
In regards to claim 15, CHOI (Figs. 3, 5-7, 15, 16, 19 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1-10 and associated text), Hwang (paragraphs 49, 53, 76, 80, claim 9, Figs. 1A, 6, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B and associated text) discloses wherein the second portion (item 312, Chen) contacts one of the second connection pads (item 410, CHOI) of the second semiconductor chip (item 400, CHOI).
In regards to claim 16, CHOI (Figs. 3, 5-7, 15, 16, 19 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1-10 and associated text), Hwang (paragraphs 49, 53, 76, 80, claim 9, Figs. 1A, 6, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B and associated text) discloses wherein the first width (item W2, Chen) ranges from between about 40 μm to about 50 μm, and the second width (item W1, Chen) ranges from between about 60 μm to about 75 μm (paragraph 40, Chen).
In regards to claim 17, CHOI (Figs. 3, 5-7, 15, 16, 19 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1-10 and associated text), Hwang (paragraphs 49, 53, 76, 80, claim 9, Figs. 1A, 6, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B and associated text) discloses bump structures (item 310, CHOI) between the front pads (item 210, CHOI) of the first semiconductor chip (item 200, CHOI) and the first connection pads (item 410, CHOI) of the second semiconductor chip (item 400, CHOI); and an adhesive film (item 370, Fig. 3, CHOI) surrounding the bump structures ((item 310, CHOI) between the first semiconductor chip (item 200, CHOI) and the second semiconductor chip (item 400,CHOI).
In regards to claim 18, CHOI (Figs. 3, 5-7, 15, 16, 19 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1-10 and associated text), Hwang (paragraphs 49, 53, 76, 80, claim 9, Figs. 1A, 6, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B and associated text) discloses a first semiconductor chip (item 200) including rear pads (item 240), front pads (item 210), and through-electrodes (item 220) electrically connecting the rear pads (item 240) and the front pads (item 210); a second semiconductor chip (item 400) on the first semiconductor chip (item 200) and including a substrate (item 202, Chen, paragraphs 28, 34), first connection pads (item 410) electrically connected to the front pads (item 210) of the first semiconductor chip (item 200) and second connection pads (outermost item 410) around the first connection pads (item 410), wherein a width of the second semiconductor chip (item 400) is greater than a width of the first semiconductor chip (item 200); a redistribution structure (item 100R) below the first semiconductor chip (item 200) and including first redistribution layers (upper patterns of item 150) electrically connected to the rear pads (item 240) of the first semiconductor chip (item 200) and second redistribution layers (lower patterns of item 150) around the first redistribution layers (upper patterns of item150); and metal posts (item 300) around the first semiconductor chip (item 200), extending between the redistribution structure (item 100R) and the second semiconductor chip (item 400), and electrically connecting the second connection pads (outermost item 410) of the second semiconductor chip (item 400) and the second redistribution layers (lower patterns of item 150) of the redistribution structure (item 100R), wherein the metal posts (item 300) include a first metal post (item 300, CHOI, innermost item 310, Chen) and a second metal post (item 300, CHOI, middle or outermost item 310, Chen), the first metal post (item 300, CHOI, innermost item 310, Chen) is disposed more closely to the first semiconductor chip (item 200, CHOI, item 200, Chen) than the second metal post (item 300), and at least one second metal post (item 300, CHOI, middle or outermost item 310, Chen) more distantly disposed in relation to the first semiconductor chip (item 200, CHOI, item 200, Chen), wherein the at least one first metal post (item 300, CHOI, innermost item 310, Chen) includes a first portion (item 314, Chen) and a second portion (item 312, Chen) on the first portion, wherein the first portion (item 300, CHOI, innermost item 314, Chen, item 312, Hwang) has a first width (W2, Chen, W102, Hwang), wherein the second portion (item 312, Chen, item 322, Hwang) has a second width (W1, Chen, W202, Hwang) greater than the first width (W2, Chen, W102, Hwang), and each second metal post (item 300, CHOI, item 310, Chen, paragraph 40, item 301, Hwang) has a third width (W201, Hwang) less than the second width (W1, Chen, W202, Hwang), wherein an area of contact between the portion and one of the second connection pads (item 404, Chen) is greater than an area of contact between one of the second metal posts (item 300, CHOI, item 310, Chen, paragraph 40, item 301, Hwang) and one of the second connection pads (item 404, Chen), wherein a distance between the first portion (item 314, Chen) of the first metal post (item 310, Chen) and a side surface of the first semiconductor chip (item 200, CHOI, item 200, Chen) is greater than a distance between the second portion (item 312, Chen) of the first metal post (item 310, Chen) and a side surface of the first semiconductor chip (item 200, CHOI, item 200, Chen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate various teachings/features from the multiple embodiments of CHOI for purpose of design choice.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chen and Hwang for the purpose of an electrical connection and increase integration.
Choi as modified by Chen and Hwang does not specifically disclose connection posts connected to the rear pads (item 240, Choi) of the first semiconductor chip (item 200, Choi); and an underfill resin surrounding the connection posts between the first semiconductor chip and the redistribution structure.
Yim (Fig. 1 and associated text) discloses connection posts (item 141) connected to the rear pads (item 131) of the first semiconductor chip (item 131); and an underfill resin (item 143, paragraph 34) surrounding the connection posts (item 141) between the first semiconductor chip (item 130) and the redistribution structure (item 101). Examiner notes that Yim discloses the same material (epoxy resin, paragraph 34) for the underfill resin as the Applicant.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Yim for the purpose of an electrical connection and protection, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Examiner notes that since Chen discloses the same materials (silicon, germanium and/or a compound semiconductor such as silicon germanium, silicon carbide, gallium arsenic, indium arsenide, gallium nitride or indium phosphide) for the substrate as the Applicant, and Yim discloses the same material (epoxy resin, paragraph 34) for the underfill resin as the Applicant, Choi as modified by Kang, Chen and Yim discloses wherein the substrate (item 202, Chen) has a thermal conductivity higher than the thermal conductivity of the underfill resin (item 143, epoxy resin, Yim).
In regards to claim 19, CHOI (Figs. 3, 5-7, 15, 16, 19 and associated text) as evidenced by Kang and modified by Chen (Figs. 1-10 and associated text) discloses wherein the first portion (item 314, Chen) of the first metal post (innermost item 310, Chen) has a first width (item W2, Chen), and the second portion (item 312, Chen) of the first metal post (innermost item 310, Chen) has a second width (item W1, Chen) greater than the first width (item W2, Chen).
In regards to claim 20, CHOI (Figs. 3, 5-7, 15, 16, 19 and associated text) as evidenced by Kang and modified by Chen (Figs. 1-10 and associated text) discloses wherein the second portion (item 312, Chen) of the first metal post (innermost item 310, Chen) contacts one of the second connection pads (item 410, CHOI) of the second semiconductor chip (item 400, CHOI).
Conclusion
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 May 21, 2026