DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US. Pat: 9,331,200 B1~ hereinafter “Wang”) of record in view of Kuang et al. (US. Pat: 10,084,063 B2~ hereinafter “Kuang”) of record.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 4) a method for fabricating a semiconductor device (see figs. 3 and 4), comprising: forming a gate structure (14) on a substrate (12); forming a first epitaxial layer (28) adjacent to the gate structure, wherein the first epitaxial layer (28) comprises a first protrusion (see figs. 3 and 4); and forming a second epitaxial layer (30) on the first epitaxial layer (28).
Wang does not expressly disclose a bottom surface of the first epitaxial layer comprises a V-shape pointing directly downward, and the first epitaxial layer comprises: a neck portion above a top surface of the substrate; and a top portion above the neck portion, wherein a width of the neck portion is greater than width of the top portion.
However, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1-4) a first epitaxial layer (28) has a flat bottom surface.
Kuang in the same field of fabricating a semiconductor device discloses (in at least fig. 1) a bottom surface of the first epitaxial layer (52; col. 4, lines 59-60) comprises a V-shape (col. 4, lines 65-67) pointing directly downward (see at least fig. 1), and the first epitaxial layer (52) comprises: a neck portion (see at least fig. 1) above a top surface of the substrate (10); and a top portion above the neck portion (see at least fig. 1) for the benefit of providing a semiconductor device with a more efficient electrical performance (col. 1, lines 5-8).
Kuang does not expressly disclose a width of the neck portion is greater than a width of the top portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor device method of Wang with the V-shape and neck teachings of Kuang, wherein a width of the neck portion is greater than a width of the top portion for the benefit of providing a semiconductor device with a more efficient electrical performance (col. 1, lines 5-8).
Also, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited V-shape bottom surface and neck width through design choice. Applicant has not disclosed that the recited V-shape bottom and neck width are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that process would possess utility using the V-shape first epitaxial layer flat bottom surface and neck width of Wang as modified by Kuang.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1-4) forming a fin-shaped structure on the substrate (col. 2, lines 38-40); forming the gate structure (14); removing the fin-shaped structure to form a recess (i.e. the recess is formed on the side of item 12; see fig. 2); forming the first epitaxial layer (28) in the recess (see figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claims 3-4 and 12, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1-4) forming the first protrusion (i.e. the protrusion is formed on the recess portion of item 12) on one side of the first epitaxial layer (28); but is silent about forming a second protrusion on another side of the first epitaxial layer; wherein forming the first protrusion and the second protrusion at the same time.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited second protrusion through design choice. Applicant has not disclosed that the recited protrusion is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using epitaxial layer arrangement of Wang. Also, one of ordinary skill in the art would consider forming the first protrusion and the second protrusion at the same time for the benefit of reducing the manufacturing steps.
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 4) a sidewall of the first protrusion comprises a curve.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Wang does not expressly disclose a sidewall of the first protrusion comprises a V-shape.
However, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 4) a protrusion is formed on one side of the first epitaxial layer (28).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited V-shape protrusion through design choice. Applicant has not disclosed that the recited V-shape is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using the protrusion shape of Wang.
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Wang does not expressly disclose a bottom surface of the second epitaxial layer comprises a V-shape. See the reasoning of claims 6 and 4 above.
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1-4) the first epitaxial layer (28) and the second epitaxial layer (30) comprise same material (col. 2, lines 54-62; col. 3, lines 2-4).
Regarding claims 9 and 17,Wang does not expressly disclose the first epitaxial layer and the second epitaxial layer comprise same concentration.
However, Wang discloses (in at least col. 2, lines 56-67) “ In this embodiment, the first epitaxial layer 28, the second epitaxial layer 30, and the third epitaxial layer 32 all includes SiGeSn alloy or compounds, in which the content of Ge and Sn in the second epitaxial layer 30 is preferably higher than the content of Ge and Sn in the first epitaxial layer 28 and third epitaxial layer 32. More specifically, the content of Ge and Sn in the first epitaxial layer 28 is preferably between 15-30 atomic percentage, the content of Ge and Sn in the second epitaxial layer 30 is between 50-80 atomic percentage, and the content of Ge and Sn in the third epitaxial layer 32 is between 15-30 atomic percentage.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming the first epitaxial layer and the second epitaxial layer with the same concentration for the benefit of reducing the manufacturing steps.
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 4) a semiconductor device, comprising: a gate structure (14) on a substrate; a first epitaxial layer (28) adjacent to the gate structure, wherein the first epitaxial layer (28) comprises a first protrusion (see figs. 3 and 4); and a second epitaxial layer (30) on the first epitaxial layer.
Wang does not expressly disclose a bottom surface of the first epitaxial layer comprises a V-shape pointing directly downward, and the first epitaxial layer comprises: a neck portion above a top surface of the substrate; and a top portion above the neck portion, wherein a width of the neck portion is greater than width of the top portion.
However, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1-4) a first epitaxial layer (28) has a flat bottom surface.
Kuang in the same field of fabricating a semiconductor device discloses (in at least fig. 1) a bottom surface of the first epitaxial layer (52; col. 4, lines 59-60) comprises a V-shape (col. 4, lines 65-67) pointing directly downward (see at least fig. 1), and the first epitaxial layer (52) comprises: a neck portion (see at least fig. 1) above a top surface of the substrate (10); and a top portion above the neck portion (see at least fig. 1) for the benefit of providing a semiconductor device with a more efficient electrical performance (col. 1, lines 5-8).
Kuang does not expressly disclose a width of the neck portion is greater than a width of the top portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor device method of Wang with the V-shape and neck teachings of Kuang, wherein a width of the neck portion is greater than a width of the top portion for the benefit of providing a semiconductor device with a more efficient electrical performance (col. 1, lines 5-8).
Also, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited V-shape bottom surface and neck width through design choice. Applicant has not disclosed that the recited V-shape bottom and neck width are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that process would possess utility using the V-shape first epitaxial layer flat bottom surface and neck width of Wang as modified by Kuang.
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1-4) a fin-shaped structure on the substrate (12); the gate structure (14) on the fin-shaped structure; and the first epitaxial layer (28) adjacent to the gate structure (14).
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 4) a sidewall of the first protrusion comprises a curve.
Regarding claim 16, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1-4) the first epitaxial layer (28) and the second epitaxial layer (30) comprise same material (col. 2, lines 54-62; col. 3, lines 2-4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875