DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant's election, with traverse, of claims 1-10 in the “Response to Restriction Requirement” filed on 02/03/2026 is acknowledged and entered by the Examiner.
Applicant’s traversal arguments, in “Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made” with the reply “Response to Election / Restriction Filed” filed on 02/03/2026, see “Thus, all claims can be seen to read on Species M.I, defined as described by FIGs. 5A-5G. Accordingly, the Applicant respectfully requests that Species M.I be redefined to include Claims 1-20. Consistent with this understanding, the Applicant provisionally elects Species M.I. and requests that all claims be examined on their merits.”, (remarks on page 2) have been fully considered. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s arguments for the following reasons:
Firstly, Species I-III, as claimed, are independent or distinct because they have been disclosed in separate figures and different embodiments, and are characterized by mutually exclusive characteristics.
Specifically, Species M.I (Fig. 5A-5G; [0010, 0032-0041]) for claims 1-10, Species M.II (Figs. 6A-6E; [0011, 0042-0047]) for claims 11-19, and Species M.III (Figs. 7A-7D; [0012,0048-0051]) for claim 20, are mutually exclusive methods of “forming a heat-generating component in the substrate; forming an interconnect region above the substrate, comprising: forming a dielectric layer stack above the substrate; and forming a thermal via in the dielectric layer stack, comprising: dispensing a nanoparticle ink by an additive process in the interconnect region to form a nanoparticle ink film, wherein the nanoparticle ink film includes nanoparticles and a carrier fluid, and wherein the nanoparticle ink film is free of organic binder material; and inducing cohesion of the nanoparticles, thereby forming a cohered nanoparticle film” (Fig. 5A-5G; [0010, 0032-0041])" in Species M.I, and methods of “forming a component extending into the substrate that is configured to generate heat when operating; and forming a thermal via within the interconnect region, the thermal via landing on a field oxide region located over the substrate, wherein the thermal via includes a cohered nanoparticle film including nanoparticles, wherein the thermal via has a thermal conductivity higher than dielectric materials touching the thermal via” (Figs. 6A-6E; [0011, 0042-0047])" in Species M.II, and methods of “forming an interconnect region over a semiconductor substrate, the interconnect region having a dielectric layer stack including dielectric materials; forming a component that extends into the substrate and is configured to generate heat when operating; and forming a thermal via within the interconnect region that lands on a field oxide region that extends below a surface of the substrate” (Figs. 7A-7D; [0012,0048-0051])" in Species M.III.
Secondly, there is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reasons apply: the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter as exemplified by the aforementioned mutually exclusive characteristics, while the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (different search strategies or search queries, as evidenced by the above-defined distinctions between the species) (see MPEP § 808.02) and/or the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species; and/or the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
This office action consider claims 1-20 pending for prosecution, wherein claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration, and claims 1-10 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
2. Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 20160379960 A1; hereinafter Huang), in view of Hara et al. (US 20070148972 A1; hereinafter Hara).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a method of forming an integrated circuit (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1+; [0003+], and as cited below), comprising:
providing a substrate (104; Fig. 1; [0015]) comprising a semiconductor material;
forming a heat-generating component (105; Fig. 1; [0015]; where a plurality of semiconductor devices (e.g., transistor devices, capacitors, inductors, etc.) and/or MEMs devices are known to generate heat) in the substrate (104; Fig. 1; [0015]);
forming an interconnect region ({108, 118, 116, 120, 124}; Fig. 1; [0017-0020]) above the substrate (104; Fig. 1; [0015]), comprising:
forming a dielectric layer stack ({106, 114}; Fig. 1; [0015-0016]) above the substrate (104; Fig. 1; [0015]); and
forming a thermal via (118; Fig. 1; [0019-0020]) in the dielectric layer stack ({106, 114}; Fig. 1; [0015-0016]), comprising:
(see below for “dispensing a nanoparticle ink by an additive process in”) the interconnect region ({108, 118, 116, 120, 124}; Fig. 1; [0017-0020]) (see below for “to form a nanoparticle ink film”),
(see below for “wherein the nanoparticle ink film includes nanoparticles and a carrier fluid”), and
(see below for “wherein the nanoparticle ink film is free of organic binder material”); and
(see below for “inducing cohesion of the nanoparticles, thereby forming a cohered nanoparticle film”).
As noted above, Huang does not expressly disclose “dispensing a nanoparticle ink by an additive process in the interconnect region to form a nanoparticle ink film, wherein the nanoparticle ink film includes nanoparticles and a carrier fluid, and wherein the nanoparticle ink film is free of organic binder material; and inducing cohesion of the nanoparticles, thereby forming a cohered nanoparticle film”.
However, in the analogous art, Hara teaches a copper nanoparticle-containing sol, e.g., a copper ink is applied onto a substrate ([Abstract]), wherein (Fig. 1+; [0005+]) a copper ink coating process is performed by applying a copper nanoparticle-containing sol/copper ink (7; Fig. 5b in view of Fig. 5a; [0031]) in a trench in a connection region, where the copper nanoparticle-containing sol/copper ink (7; Fig. 5b in view of Fig. 5a; [0031]) is supplied via a nozzle, and an annealing process is performed and copper nanoparticles are sintered or melted to be combined with each other so that a continuous copper film is formed ([0035])
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Hara’s a copper nanoparticle-containing sol, e.g., a copper ink implementation step into Huang’s method, and thereby, modified Huang’s (by Hara) method will have dispensing a nanoparticle ink (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0031, 0035]) by an additive process in the interconnect region (Huang {108, 118, 116, 120, 124}; Fig. 1; [0017-0020] in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0031, 0035]) to form a nanoparticle ink film (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0031, 0035]), wherein the nanoparticle ink film (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0031, 0035]) includes nanoparticles and a carrier fluid (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0031, 0035]), and wherein the nanoparticle ink film is free of organic binder material (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0031, 0035]; an organic binder material is not used); and inducing cohesion of the nanoparticles (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0031, 0035]), thereby forming a cohered nanoparticle film (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0031, 0035]).
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides a copper nanoparticle-containing sol, e.g., a copper ink implementation step that helps a conformal shape of the layer that provides excellent coverage and help repair any defects (Hara [Abstract, 0031, 0035]), which helps increase the functionality of the device.
Regarding claim 2, modified Huang (by Hara) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Huang (by Hara) further teaches wherein forming the thermal via (Huang 118; Fig. 1; [0019-0020] in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]) further comprises heating the nanoparticle ink film ink (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]) to remove a volatile material from the nanoparticle ink film to form a nanoparticle film, prior to inducing cohesion of the nanoparticles (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Huang (by Hara) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Huang (by Hara) further teaches wherein forming the thermal via (Huang 118; Fig. 1; [0019-0020] in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]) further comprises forming a trench in the dielectric layer stack (Huang 106, 114}; Fig. 1; [0015-0016] in view of Hara 2; see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0024, 0031, 0034-0035]) prior to forming the nanoparticle ink film, wherein the nanoparticle ink film is formed in the trench (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Huang (by Hara) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Huang (by Hara) further teaches wherein:
the nanoparticle ink film is a first nanoparticle ink film (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]);
the additive process is a first additive process (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]); and
the cohered nanoparticle film is a first cohered nanoparticle film (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]); and
forming the thermal via (118; Fig. 1; [0019-0020]) further comprises:
forming a second nanoparticle ink film comprising primarily nanoparticles by a method comprising a second additive process (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]), on the first cohered nanoparticle film (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]); and
inducing cohesion of the nanoparticles in the second nanoparticle ink film (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]), thereby forming a second cohered nanoparticle film on the first cohered nanoparticle film (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Huang (by Hara) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Huang (by Hara) further teaches wherein forming the interconnect region further comprises: forming a dielectric layer ({106, 114}; Fig. 1; [0015-0016]) over the thermal via (118; Fig. 1; [0019-0020]), wherein the dielectric layer ({106, 114}; Fig. 1; [0015-0016]) contacts sides of the thermal via (118; Fig. 1; [0019-0020]); and planarizing the dielectric layer ({106, 114}; Fig. 1; [0015-0016, 0059]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Huang (by Hara) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Huang (by Hara) further teaches wherein the nanoparticles comprise nanoparticles of a material selected from the group consisting of aluminum oxide, diamond, hexagonal boron nitride, cubic boron nitride, aluminum nitride, metal (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]; copper), graphene, graphene embedded in metal, graphite, graphitic carbon, and carbon nanotubes.
Regarding claim 8, modified Huang (by Hara) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Huang (by Hara) further teaches wherein the additive process comprises a process selected from the group consisting of a discrete droplet dispensing process (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]), a continuous extrusion process, a direct laser transfer process, an electrostatic deposition process, and an electrochemical deposition process.
Regarding claim 9, modified Huang (by Hara) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Huang (by Hara) further teaches wherein:
the thermal via (Huang 118; Fig. 1; [0019-0020]) is a first thermal via;
the nanoparticle ink film (Huang in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]) is a first nanoparticle ink film;
the additive process is a first additive process (Huang in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]);
the cohered nanoparticle film is a first cohered nanoparticle film (Huang in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]); and
forming the interconnect region (Huang {108, 118, 116, 120, 124}; Fig. 1; [0017-0020]) further comprises:
forming a second thermal via (Huang 120; Fig. 1; [0017-0018]) in the dielectric layer ({106, 114}; Fig. 1; [0015-0016]) stack above the first thermal via (Huang 118; Fig. 1; [0019-0020]), comprising:
dispensing a second nanoparticle ink (Huang in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]) by a second additive process in the interconnect region above the first thermal via to form a second nanoparticle ink film (Huang in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]),
wherein the second nanoparticle ink film (Huang in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]) includes nanoparticles and a carrier fluid, and
wherein the second nanoparticle ink film (Huang in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]; an organic binder material is not used) is free of organic binder material; and
inducing cohesion of the nanoparticles in the second nanoparticle ink film (Huang in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]), thereby forming a second cohered nanoparticle film (Huang in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035]) that is in contact with the first thermal via (Huang 118; Fig. 1; [0019-0020]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Huang (by Hara) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Huang (by Hara) further teaches wherein inducing cohesion of the nanoparticles comprises a process selected from the group consisting of a scanned laser heating process, a flash heating process (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035, 0037]) and a spike heating process.
3. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 20160379960 A1; hereinafter Huang), in view of Hara et al. (US 20070148972 A1; hereinafter Hara), in view of Or-Bach et al. (US 20170207214 A1; hereinafter Or-Bach).
Regarding claim 7, modified Huang (by Hara) teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Modified Huang (by Hara) further teaches wherein the nanoparticles comprise a metal selected from the group consisting of copper (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035, 0037]), nickel, palladium, platinum, iridium, rhodium, cerium, osmium, molybdenum and gold, and wherein forming the thermal via (118; Fig. 1; [0019-0020]) (see below for “further comprises forming a layer of graphitic material by a plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) process on”) the cohered nanoparticle film (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035, 0037]).
As noted above, Huang does not expressly disclose “wherein the nanoparticles comprise a metal selected from the group consisting of copper, nickel, palladium, platinum, iridium, rhodium, cerium, osmium, molybdenum and gold, and wherein forming the thermal via further comprises forming a layer of graphitic material by a plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) process on the cohered nanoparticle film”.
However, in the analogous art, Or-Bach teaches a 3D semiconductor device ([Abstract]), wherein (Fig. 1+; [0005+]) thermal vias in the scribelane 1414 may also be formed as one or a few to substantially fill (with appropriate stress relief structures) the scribelane with metal (thermally conductive) material (as much as practical given CMP dishing design rules) that may be part of the shield layer formation, or may be formed in a separate metal deposition and planarization step and may provide use of a more thermally conductive material than copper or aluminum to form the thermal vias in the scribelane 1414, for example, carbon nanotubes, Plasma Enhanced Chemical Vapor Deposited Diamond Like Carbon-PECVD DLC (about 1000 W/m-K), and Chemical Vapor Deposited (CVD) graphene (about 5000 W/m-K) ([0167])
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huang’s via material in view of Or-Bach’s thermal vias comprising of Plasma Enhanced Chemical Vapor Deposited Diamond Like Carbon-PECVD DLC, and thereby, modified Huang’s (by Hara and Or-Bach) method will have wherein the nanoparticles comprise a metal selected from the group consisting of copper (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035, 0037]), nickel, palladium, platinum, iridium, rhodium, cerium, osmium, molybdenum and gold, and wherein forming the thermal via (Huang 118; Fig. 1; [0019-0020] in view of Or-Bach [0167]) further comprises forming a layer of graphitic material by a plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) process (in view of Or-Bach [0167]) on the cohered nanoparticle film (in view of Hara see Figs. 5(a)-5(c); see [Abstract, 0006, 0031, 0034-0035, 0037]).
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides thermal vias comprising carbon nanotubes, Plasma Enhanced Chemical Vapor Deposited Diamond Like Carbon-PECVD DLC (about 1000 W/m-K), and Chemical Vapor Deposited (CVD) graphene (Or-Bach [0167]), which provides a more thermally conductive material which helps further increase the functionality of the device.
Conclusion
/OMAR F MOJADDEDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2898