CTNF 18/143,831 CTNF 99890 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 8/29/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 10, 14-15, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: Re Claim 10, in line 2 of Claim 10 it is unclear whether “a plurality of rings” and then “each ring” is inclusive of “a ring” in line 6 of Claim 1. For the purposes of examination, “a ring” in line 6 of Claim 1 will be considered included with the “a plurality of rings” and “each ring” in line 2 of Claim 10. Re Claims 14-15, reference is made to “the inductor” and “the second inductor”, where “the inductor” should be further specified to differentiate from “the second inductor” (for example, by calling “the inductor” “the first inductor” instead, and changing Claim 12 language to match). Re Claim 17, line 2 of Claim 17 includes the phrase “insulting plug”, which will be assumed to be a typo for “insulating plug”, as per Specification para. [0007] . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (US 2022/0117089 A1, hereafter Zhang) . Re Claim 12, Zhang discloses a package substrate (FIG. 1A, with reference to FIG. 1B; [0024]-[0032]), comprising: a core (105; [0024]); an inductor (110, including 111, 112, 115, hereafter just 110; [0026]) through the core (105; [0026]), wherein the inductor (110) comprises: a via (112; [0026]), wherein the via (112) is electrically conductive ([0026]); a first ring (111; [0027]) around the via (112; [0027]), wherein the first ring (111) comprises a first relative permeability ([0046], specifically epoxy at ~1); and a second ring (115; [0027]) around the first ring (111; [0027]), wherein the second ring (115) comprises a second relative permeability ([0029], >20), wherein the second relative permeability is higher than the first relative permeability ([0046], >20 more than ~1); and buildup layers (108; [0027]) over and under the core (105; [0027]). Re Claim 13, Zhang discloses the package substrate according to Claim 12, while further disclosing the package substrate comprises a second inductor (“a plurality of inductors 110”; [0025]) through the core (105; [0026]). Re Claim 14, Zhang discloses the package substrate according to Claim 13, while further disclosing wherein the inductor (110) and the second inductor (“a plurality of inductors 110”) are connected in series electrically ([0025]). Re Claim 15, Zhang discloses the package substrate according to Claim 13, while further disclosing wherein the inductor (110) and the second inductor (“a plurality of inductors 110”) are connected in parallel electrically ([0025]). Re Claim 16, Zhang discloses the package substrate according to Claim 12, while further disclosing wherein the core (105) comprises a glass, a ceramic, or an organic core material ([0024]). Re Claim 17, Zhang discloses the package substrate according to Claim 12, while further disclosing the package substrate comprises an insulating plug (113; [0026]) through a center of the via (112; [0026]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 7-8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peluso et al (US 2022/0276685 A1, hereafter Peluso) in view of Zhang . Re Claim 1, Peluso discloses a package substrate (FIG. 1; [0055]-[0070]) comprising: a via (131; [0058]), wherein the via (131) is electrically conductive ([0058]); a spacer (141; [0057]) around the via (131; [0057]); and a ring (142; [0057]) around the spacer (141; [0057]), wherein the ring (142) comprises a magnetic material ([0057]). Peluso does not explicitly disclose: a substrate; a via (131) that passes through the substrate. However, Zhang teaches a package substrate (FIG. 1A, with reference to FIG. 1B; [0024]-[0032]) comprising: a substrate (105; [0024]); a via (112; [0026]) that passes through the substrate (105; [0026]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations taught by Peluso with the limitations taught by Zhang to use the inductor in a substrate as part of a larger device for different applications, such as a voltage regulator for power management as taught by Zhang ([0025]). Re Claim 2, Peluso and Zhang teach the package substrate according to Claim 1, while Peluso further teaches wherein the spacer (141) is a second magnetic material ([0057]), and wherein the ring (142) has a first relative permeability ([0069]) and the spacer (141) has a second relative permeability ([0069]), wherein the first relative permeability is higher than the second relative permeability ([0069]). Re Claim 3, Peluso and Zhang teach the package substrate according to Claim 1, while Zhang further teaches wherein the magnetic material has a magnetic saturation of approximately 1.5T or higher ([0029], particularly “iron”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the package substrate according to Claim 1 with the limitations taught by Zhang to use iron as the magnetic material as a functionally equivalent means of giving magnetic properties to the ring (Peluso: 142) as taught by Zhang ([0029]). Re Claim 7, Peluso and Zhang teach the package substrate according to Claim 1, while Peluso further teaches an insulating layer (“air gaps”; [0064]) between the spacer (141) and the ring (142; [0064], by nature of being “in the core”, an air gap will be between at least a portion of the spacer and at least a portion of the ring). Re Claim 8, Peluso and Zhang teach the package substrate according to Claim 1, while Peluso further teaches an insulating layer (“insulation layer”; [0060]) between the via (131) and the spacer (141; [0060]). Re Claim 11, Peluso and Zhang teach the package substrate according to Claim 1, while Zhang further teaches wherein the substrate (105) is a package core ([0024]), and wherein the package core comprises a glass, a ceramic, or an organic core material ([0024]). No further modification made, see rejection of Claim 1 for obviousness statement . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 4-6, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a different embodiment of Peluso in view of Zhang . Re Claim 1, Peluso discloses a package substrate (FIG. 7A; [0095]-[0110]) comprising: a via (131; [0058]), wherein the via (131) is electrically conductive ([0058]); a spacer (“insulation layer”; [0060]) around the via (131; [0060]); and a ring (141, 142, 143, 144; [0100]) around the spacer (“insulation layer”; [0100]), wherein the ring (141, 142, 143, 144) comprises a magnetic material ([0100]). Peluso does not explicitly disclose: a substrate; a via (131) that passes through the substrate. However, Zhang teaches a package substrate (FIG. 1A, with reference to FIG. 1B; [0024]-[0032]) comprising: a substrate (105; [0024]); a via (112; [0026]) that passes through the substrate (105; [0026]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations taught by Peluso with the limitations taught by Zhang to use the inductor in a substrate as part of a larger device for different applications, such as a voltage regulator for power management as taught by Zhang ([0025]). Re Claim 4, Peluso and Zhang teach the package substrate according to Claim 1, while Peluso further teaches wherein a relative permeability of the ring (141, 142, 143, 144) is approximately 100 or greater ([0062]). Zhang further teaches wherein a second relative permeability of the spacer (111) is approximately 200 or less ([0046], such as epoxy at ~1). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations taught by Peluso with the limitations taught by Zhang to use epoxy as the spacer material to effectively isolate the magnetic ring (Peluso: 141, 142, 143, 144) from the conductive via (Peluso: 131) as taught by Zhang ([0030]). Re Claim 5, Peluso and Zhang teach the package substrate according to Claim 1, while Zhang further teaches wherein a thickness of the spacer (111; [0027], thickness in direction parallel to top surface of 108) is substantially equal to a thickness of the ring (115; [0031], thickness in direction parallel to top surface of 108). No further modification made, see rejection of Claim 1 for obviousness statement. Re Claim 6, Peluso and Zhang teach the package substrate according to Claim 1, while Zhang further teaches wherein a thickness of the spacer (111; [0027], thickness in direction perpendicular to top surface of 108) is greater than a thickness of the ring (115; [0031], thickness in direction parallel to top surface of 108). No further modification made, see rejection of Claim 1 for obviousness statement. Re Claim 9, Peluso and Zhang teach the package substrate according to Claim 1, while Peluso further teaches wherein the ring (141, 142, 143, 144) has a graded relative permeability ([0109]), wherein an outer surface of the ring has a higher relative permeability than an inner surface of the ring ([0109]). Re Claim 10, Peluso and Zhang teach the package substrate according to Claim 1, while Peluso further teaches a plurality of rings (141, 142, 143, 144) around the spacer (“insulation layer”; [0100]), wherein each ring (141, 142, 143, 144) has a different relative permeability ([0095]), and wherein a relative permeability of an outer ring is greater than a relative permeability of an inner ring ([0095]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Peluso . Re Claim 18, Zhang discloses an electronic system (FIG. 3, with reference to FIG. 1A and FIG. 4; [0048]-[0049]), comprising: a board (380; [0049]); a package substrate (370; [0048]) coupled to the board (380; [0049]), wherein the package substrate (370) comprises: a core (105; [0024]); and an inductor (310; [0049]) through the core (105; [0024]), wherein the inductor (310) comprises: a via (112; [0026]); a spacer (115; [0027]) around the via (112; [0027]); and a die (340; [0038]) coupled to the package substrate (370; [0038]). Zhang does not explicitly disclose a ring around the spacer (115), wherein the ring has a relative permeability that is approximately 100 or greater. However, Peluso discloses a package substrate (FIG. 1; [0055]-[0070]) comprising a ring (142; [0057]) around the spacer (141; [0057]), wherein the ring (142) has a relative permeability that is approximately 100 or greater ([0062]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations taught by Zhang with the limitations taught by Peluso to replace the inductor magnetic sheath structure of Zhang with the structure of Peluso to support higher inductance values than a similar conventional inductor as taught by Peluso ([0017]). Re Claim 19, Zhang and Peluso teach the system according to Claim 18, while Zhang further teaches wherein the spacer (115) is magnetic ([0027]). Peluso further teaches wherein a relative permeability of the spacer (141) is lower than the relative permeability of the ring (142; [0069]). No further modification made, see rejection of Claim 18 for obviousness statement. Re Claim 20, Zhang and Peluso teach the system according to Claim 18, while Zhang further teaches wherein the electronic system is part of a personal computer, a server, a mobile device, a tablet, or an automobile ([0050]-[0053], see FIG. 4). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to COLIN RUSSELL MCCUTCHEON whose telephone number is (703)756-1897. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 12:30-9:30 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, DREW N RICHARDS can be reached at (571) 272-1736. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /COLIN RUSSELL MCCUTCHEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 /ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/143,831 Page 2 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/143,831 Page 3 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/143,831 Page 4 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/143,831 Page 5 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/143,831 Page 6 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/143,831 Page 7 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/143,831 Page 8 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/143,831 Page 9 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/143,831 Page 10 Art Unit: 2892 Application/Control Number: 18/143,831 Page 11 Art Unit: 2892