DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Satermo (US 2018/0078101).
Satermo discloses a method for operation of a hand dryer 200, the method comprising: generating sensor data for an object in vicinity to the hand dryer (Fig. 2A, by sensor 224); operating a fan 214 to move air through the hand dryer in response to the sensor data (paragraph [0029]); and operating an ultraviolet light 216 to treat the air through the hand dryer in response to the sensor data (paragraphs [0028], [0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-12, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hikoya et al. (JP4567793 B2) in view of Zhou (CN 210645494 U).
With regard to claim 1, Hikoya et al. discloses an apparatus 1 comprising: a duct 10; at least one air knife N configured to direct air from an air pump 2 to dry one or more hands HA and push water from the one or more hands into the duct 10; and a separation tube 13, the separation tube 13 connected to the duct 10 and configured to separate the water from air. With regard to claim 15, Hikoya et al. discloses a hand dryer comprising: a sensor 9 configured to generate sensor data for an object in vicinity to the hand dryer; a controller (not shown, translation, page 4, last four lines) configured to operate a fan 2 to move air through the hand dryer in response to the sensor data; a duct 10; at least one air knife N configured to direct air from the fan 2 and configured to dry one or more hands HA and push water off of the one or more hands into the duct; and a separation tube 13, the separation tube 13 connected to the duct 10 and configured to separate the water from air. However, Hikoya et al. does not disclose the separation tube including an inclined vane. Zhou discloses a gas-water separating device comprising a separation tube 1 including an inclined vane 10 (Fig. 1) for separating water out of gas (translation, example). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Hikoya et al. to provide the separation tube with an inclined vane as taught by Zhou in order to separate water out under the buffer and centrifugal effect of the vane. The modified apparatus of Hikoya et al. would result in the water from air pushed from the one or more hands into the duct.
With regard to claims 2, 16, Hikoya et al. discloses an inner path 13, 3 of the separation tube. Zhou discloses the inclined vane 10 extends around an inner path of a separation tube 1 (Fig. 1).
With regard to claims 3, 17, Hikoya et al. as modified by Zhou discloses wherein a circuit of air flows from the at least one air knife N to a passage defined by the inclined vane to the inner path.
With regard to claim 8, Hikoya et al. discloses a water drain spout 73 connected to the separation tube (Figs. 1-3).
With regard to claim 9, Hikoya et al. discloses a water drain pipe 16 configured to connect the separation tube 13 to a plumbing fixture 8.
With regard to claim 10, Hikoya et al. discloses an intake port 11 connected to the separation tube 13 and configured to receive air from the at least one air knife N (Figs. 1-2).
With regard to claim 11, Hikoya et al. discloses wherein the at least one air knife N includes a first air knife N1 and a second air knife N2 each configured to direct air from the air pump 2 to dry a single hand HA and push water from the single hand HA to the duct (Figs. 1-2).
With regard to claim 12, Hikoya et al. discloses wherein the at least one air knife N includes a first air knife N1 for a first hand and a second air knife N2 for a second hand (Figs. 1-2, while user put one hand on top of other hand), wherein the first air knife N1 and the second air knife N2 and push water to the duct.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hikoya et al. (JP4567793 B2) in view of Zhou (CN 210645494 U) as applied to claim 1 as above, and further in view of Schless (UD 2015/0351593 A1).
The apparatus of Hikoya et al. as modified by Zhou as above includes all that is recited in claims 4-7 except for wherein the at least one air knife includes at least three air knives aimed at the duct. Schless discloses an apparatus comprising at least three air knives 7, 8, 9 aimed at a duct (Fig. 2, duct formed between 7 and 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the apparatus of Hikoya et al. to include at least three air knives aimed at the duct as taught by Schless in order to allow each individual hand of a person be acted on with air from both sides so that the drying operation can be carried out in a speedy manner.
With regard to claim 5, Hikoya et al. discloses wherein the air pump 2 recirculates air that has passed through the separation tube 13 (Figs. 1-2).
With regard to claim 6, Hikoya et al. discloses wherein the at least one air knife N includes a plurality of air knives N1, N2, the apparatus further comprising: a manifold 4 configured to connect the air pump 2 to the plurality of air knives N1, N2 (Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 7, Schless discloses a manifold 6 includes a first portion coupled to a first plurality of air knives 7, a second portion coupled to a second plurality of air knives 8, and a third portion coupled to a third plurality of air knives 9 (Fig. 2).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hikoya et al. (JP4567793 B2) in view of Zhou (CN 210645494 U) as applied to claim 1 as above, and further in view of Kim (KR 20180083296 A).
The apparatus of Hikoya et al. as modified by Zhou as above includes all that is recited in claim 13 except for a light configured disinfect air and water in the separation tube. Kim teaches a concept of providing a separation tube 30 with a UV lamp having sterilizing function to disinfect air and water in the cyclone (translation, page 8, second paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the apparatus of Hikoya et al. to include a light configured disinfect air and water in the separation tube as taught by Kim in order to clean air within the separation tube.
Claims 14, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hikoya et al. (JP4567793 B2) in view of Zhou (CN 210645494 U) as applied to claim 1 as above, and further in view of Jiin et al. (JP H0768194 A).
The apparatus of Hikoya et al. as modified by Zhou as above includes all that is recited in claim 14 except for a disinfectant dispenser configured to provide a disinfectant to the separation tube. Jiin et al. discloses a disinfectant dispenser 4 configured to provide a disinfectant to the separation tube2 to clean the inside of the separation tube (Fig. 1, paragraph [0015]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the apparatus of Hikoya et al. to include a disinfectant dispenser configured to provide a disinfectant to the separation tube as taught by Jiin et al. in orer to clean the inside of the separation tube.
With regard to claim 18, Hikoya et al. discloses wherein the at least one air knife includes a plurality of air knives N1, N2, the hand dryer further comprising: a manifold 4 configured to connect the air pump 2 to the plurality of air knives N1, N2 (Figs. 1-2).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hikoya et al. (JP4567793 B2) in view of Zhou (CN 210645494 U) and Jiin et al. (JP H0768194 A) as applied to claim 14 as above, and further in view of Kim (KR 20180083296 A).
The apparatus of Hikoya et al. as modified by Zhou and Jiin et al. as above includes all that is recited in claim 19 except for a light configured to disinfect air and water in the separation tube, wherein the controller is configured to turn on the light in response to the sensor data. Hikoya et al. discloses turning on air and water sanitizer 22 in response to the sensor data (translation, page 4, last four lines). Kim teaches a concept of providing a separation tube 30 with a UV lamp having sterilizing function to disinfect air and water in the cyclone (translation, page 8, second paragraph). It is well known in the art to use ion generator or UV light as sanitizer (as evidenced by Gagnon et al. US 10,548,439, col. 4, lines 49-54). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the apparatus of Hikoya et al. to include a light configured disinfect air and water in the separation tube and to turn on light in response to the sensor data as taught by Kim and Hikoya et al. respectively in order to clean air within the separation tube.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/23/2026 with respect to claims 1-3, 8-12, 15-17 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that Zhoi is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Zhoi is in the field of the inventor’s endeavor, i.e. separating water/moisture from exhaust gas/air.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY