DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pages 5-6 that Akira as modified by Smits does not disclose “transferring a mass of electrically conductive material onto the upper surface of the electrically conductive lead by use of Laser Induced Forward Transfer (LIFT) processing to form a gap-filling spacer"(claim 1) and "transferring, by Laser Induced Forward Transfer (LIFT) processing, a mass of gap-filling material onto said electrically conductive lead of the planar substrate"(claim 14). The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant has maliciously attacked the Smits reference in regards to the disclosure of the LIFT (Laser Induced Forward Transfer) process and what is used for. The Examiner would like to point out that both the Applicant and the Smit use the LIFT process to apply an electrically conductive material (solder and/or conductive adhesive) in general. It also seems that the Applicant is trying to bodily substitute how the LIFT process is used in Smit into the primary reference. “It has been well established that to be useful in an obviousness combination, a secondary reference should be used for what it teaches and need not be bodily substituted into the primary reference structure. "Question in a rejection for obviousness on a combination of references is what secondary reference would teach one skilled in the art and not whether its structure could be bodily substituted in basic reference structure." In re Richman 165 USPQ 509 (CCPA 1970).” In this instance, it would teach Akira and others of ordinary skill in the art that a/the LIFT process can be utilized to apply/transfer an electrically conductive material [solder and/or conductive adhesive]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would readily use this deposition method as disclosed by Smit in the method of Akira, in case of need and without an involvement of inventive skills, in order to solve the objective technical obstacle of providing a fast high resolution process of depositing solder and/or conductive adhesives. Therefore, in regard to claims 1 and 14, Akira (paragraphs 43-54, Figs. 9-11 and associated text and items) as modified by Smits (claim 1, paragraphs 7-13, 23-35, Figs. 1, 2A, 2B and associated text) discloses transferring a mass of electrically conductive material (items 2b, 7, Akira, item 1511, Smit) onto the upper surface of the electrically conductive lead (items TD,TG, TS, TSb, KE1, KE2) by use of Laser Induced Forward Transfer (LIFT) processing (claim 1, paragraphs 7-13, 23-35, Figs. 1, 2A, 2B and associated text, Smit) to form a gap-filling spacer (gap between item 5 and lead frame TD plus TG plus TS plus KE1 plus KE2 plus TAB occupied by items 2b plus 7, Akira, item 1511, Smit), and transferring, by Laser Induced Forward Transfer (LIFT) processing (claim 1, paragraphs 7-13, 23-35, Figs. 1, 2A, 2B and associated text, Smit), a mass of gap-filling material (items 7, 2b, Akira, item 1511, Smit) onto said electrically conductive lead of the planar substrate (lead frame substrate, items TD plus TG plus TS plus KE1 plus KE2 plus TAB). This has also been acknowledged in the prosecution of the current application’s European counterpart, EP 23172009 (see claim amendments filed 1/17/2025 in response to European search report and written opinion filed 6/2/2023). The Examiner takes the position the rejection is proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira et al. (Akira) (JP 2020013955 A1) in view of Smits et al. (Smits) (US 2015/0294951 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Akira (paragraphs 43-54, Figs. 9-11 and associated text and items) discloses a method, comprising: attaching a semiconductor integrated circuit die (item 3) to an upper surface of a die-attachment portion of a substrate (items TD, TAB) that further includes an electrically conductive lead (items TD,TG, TS, KE1, KE2) having an upper surface coplanar with the upper surface of the die-attachment portion (item TAB); transferring a mass of electrically conductive material (items 2b, 7) onto the upper surface of the electrically conductive lead (items TD,TG, TS, TSb, KE1, KE2) to form a gap-filling spacer (gap between item 5 and lead frame TD plus TG plus TS plus KE1 plus KE2 plus TAB occupied by items 2b plus 7); and mounting a bottom surface of an electrically conductive flat clip (item 5) onto the semiconductor integrated circuit die (item 3) and the gap-filling spacer (gap shown but not labeled) using a solder paste material (items 7, 8); wherein the semiconductor integrated circuit die (item 3) is sandwiched between the die-attachment portion of the substrate (items TD, TAB) and the electrically conductive flat clip (item 5); wherein the electrically conductive flat clip (item 5) has a distal portion extending away from the semiconductor integrated circuit die (item 3); and wherein the gap-filling spacer (gap between item 5 and lead frame TD plus TG plus TS plus KE1 plus KE2 plus TAB occupied by items 2b plus 7) is sandwiched between the electrically conductive lead (items TSb, KE1, KE2) and the distal portion of the electrically conductive flat clip (item 5), but does not specifically disclose transferring a mass of electrically conductive material onto the upper surface of the electrically conductive lead by use of Laser Induced Forward Transfer (LIFT) processing.
Smits (claim 1, paragraphs 7-13, 23-35, Figs. 1, 2A, 2B and associated text) discloses a method of transferring solder and/or conductive adhesive for bonding using Laser Induced Forward Transfer, LIFT processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Smits for the purpose of providing a high resolution method of depositing solder or conductive adhesive.
In regard to claim 2, Akira (paragraphs 43-54, Figs. 9-11 and associated text and items) as modified by Smits (claim 1, paragraphs 7-13, 23-35, Figs. 1, 2A, 2B and associated text) discloses wherein the mass of electrically conductive material (items 7, 2b, Akira, item 40, Smits) is made of copper or silver (paragraphs, 39, 50, Smit).
In regard to claim 3, Akira (paragraphs 43-54, Figs. 9-11 and associated text and items) as modified by Smits (claim 1, paragraphs 7-13, 23-35, Figs. 1, 2A, 2B and associated text) discloses wherein transferring comprises performing a plurality of transfers of masses of gap-filling material (items 7, 2b, Akira, item 40, Smits) using a corresponding plurality of LIFT processing steps.
In regard to claim 4, Akira (paragraphs 43-54, Figs. 9-11 and associated text and items) as modified by Smits discloses wherein the bottom surface of the electrically conductive flat clip (item 5) mounted onto the semiconductor integrated circuit die (item 3) and the bottom surface of the electrically conductive flat clip (item 5) mounted onto the gap-filling spacer (gap between item 5 and lead frame TD plus TG plus TS plus KE1 plus KE2 plus TAB occupied by items 2b plus 7) are (horizontally and/or vertically) coplanar.
In regard to claim 13, Akira (paragraphs 43-54, Figs. 9-11 and associated text and items) as modified by Smits discloses wherein transferring the mass of electrically conductive material (items 7, 2b) onto the upper surface of the electrically conductive lead (items TD,TG, TS, TSb, KE1, KE2) is performed before attaching the semiconductor integrated circuit die (item 3) to the upper surface of the die-attachment portion of a substrate (items TD, TAB).
In regard to claim 14, Akira (paragraphs 43-54, Figs. 9-11 and associated text and items) discloses a method, comprising: providing a planar substrate (lead frame substrate, items TD plus TG plus TS plus KE1 plus KE2 plus TAB) including a die-attachment portion (items TD, TAB) and an electrically conductive lead (items TD,TG, TS, TSb, KE1, KE2); transferring a mass of gap-filling material (items 7, 2b) onto said electrically conductive lead of the planar substrate (lead frame substrate, items TD plus TG plus TS plus KE1 plus KE2 plus TAB); after said transferring, then mounting a semiconductor die (item 3) onto the die-attachment portion (items TD, TAB) of the planar substrate (lead frame substrate, items TD plus TG plus TS plus KE1 plus KE2 plus TAB); dispensing an attachment material (items 8, 2a) onto the semiconductor die (item 3) and the mass of gap-filling material (items 7, 2b); and mounting, using the attachment material (items 8, 2a), a planar electrically conductive clip (item 5) to the semiconductor die (item 3) and the mass of gap-filling material (items 7, 2b), said planar electrically conductive clip (item 5) including a distal portion extending away from the semiconductor die (item 3) and over the mass of gap- filling material (items 7, 2b) at the electrically conductive lead (item TSb); wherein said mass of gap-filling material (items 7, 2b) has a thickness to fill a gap between the planar electrically conductive clip (item 5) and the electrically conductive lead (item TSb), but does not specifically disclose transferring, by Laser Induced Forward Transfer (LIFT) processing, a mass of gap-filling material onto said electrically conductive lead of the planar substrate.
Smits (claim 1, paragraphs 7-13, 23-35, Figs. 1, 2A, 2B and associated text) discloses a method of transferring solder and/or conductive adhesive for bonding using Laser Induced Forward Transfer, LIFT processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Smits for the purpose of providing a high resolution method of depositing solder or conductive adhesive.
In regard to claim 15, Akira (paragraphs 43-54, Figs. 9-11 and associated text and items) as modified by Smits (claim 1, paragraphs 7-13, 23-35, Figs. 1, 2A, 2B and associated text) discloses wherein the mass of gap-filling material (items 7, 2b, Akira, item 40, Smits) is a mass of electrically conductive material.
In regard to claim 16, Akira (paragraphs 43-54, Figs. 9-11 and associated text and items) as modified by Smits (claim 1, paragraphs 7-13, 23-35, Figs. 1, 2A, 2B and associated text) discloses wherein the mass of electrically conductive material (items 7, 2b, Akira, item 40, Smits) is made of copper or silver.
In regard to claim 17, Akira (paragraphs 43-54, Figs. 9-11 and associated text and items) as modified by Smits (claim 1, paragraphs 7-13, 23-35, Figs. 1, 2A, 2B and associated text) discloses wherein transferring comprises performing a plurality of transfers of masses of gap-filling material (items 7, 2b, Akira, item 40, Smits) using a corresponding plurality of LIFT processing steps.
Claim(s) 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira et al. (Akira) (JP 2020013955 A1) in view of Smits et al. (Smits) (US 2015/0294951 A1) as applied to claims 1-4 and 1-17 above, and further in view of Chaowasakoo et al. (Chaowasakoo) (US 2020/0144162 A1).
In regard to claim 5, Akira as modified by Smits does not specifically disclose forming a notch in the electrically conductive flat clip between the bottom surface of the electrically conductive flat clip mounted onto the semiconductor integrated circuit die and the bottom surface of the electrically conductive flat clip mounted onto the gap-filling spacer.
Chaowasakoo (paragraph 49, Fig. 4 and associated text) discloses forming a notch (item 183) in the electrically conductive flat clip (item 181) between the bottom surface of the electrically conductive flat clip (item 181) mounted onto the semiconductor integrated circuit die (item 130) and the bottom surface of the electrically conductive flat clip (item 181) mounted onto the gap-filling spacer (item 155).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chaowasakoo, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
In regard to claim 6, Chaowasakoo (paragraph 49, Fig. 4 and associated text) discloses wherein mounting comprises aligning the notch (item 183) with an edge of the semiconductor integrated circuit die (item 130).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Okada et al. (Okada) (JP 2019186321 A) could have been used as primary reference in place of Akira, which was provided by the Applicant. Please see written opinion. Sterken (EP 3933902 A1) discloses using Laser Induced Forward Transfer, LIFT processing.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 July 23, 2026