DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 9, the claim states “wherein the first and second elastic structures are disposed at least two opposite edges of the frame body” – which it appears to be missing an ‘on’, so ‘are disposed on at least two opposite edges’.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yazzie et al (US Publication 20200357752).
Regarding claim 1, Yazzie teaches a heat dissipation assembly of an element, comprising:
a heat spreader configured to be in contact with the element (Fig. 2B, heat spreader 214 in contact with element 203 through protective material 204 and 205, para 29);
a frame body configured to limit a position of the heat spreader, wherein the frame body surrounds a side wall of the heat spreader (Fig. 2B, frame body 216 surrounds and limits position of heat spreader 214); and
an elastic structure fixedly connected to the frame body (Fig. 2B, elastic structure bent edges of 216 , para 32, leaf spring), wherein the elastic structure is located on a side of the heat spreader facing away from the element (Fig. 2B, elastic structure bent edges of 216 on side of heat spreader 214 away from element 203)
Regarding claim 2, Yazzie teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 2 depends.
Yazzie teaches wherein at least a part of an edge of the frame body bends to an edge of a surface of the heat spreader (Fig. 2B, part of an edge of frame body 216 bends at an edge of a surface of the heat spreader 214).
Regarding claim 3, Yazzie teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 3 depends.
Yazzie teaches wherein the frame body surrounds a side wall of the element configured to be clamped to the element (Fig. 2B, frame body 216 surrounds side wall of element 203. 216 clamps element 203 to circuit board 210).
Regarding claim 4, Yazzie teaches the limitations of claim 3 upon which claim 4 depends.
Yazzie teaches wherein an edge of a side of the frame body farther away from the heat spreader is flush with a surface of the element (Fig. 2B, 214 at connection point 220 at same height as element 203).
Regarding claim 5, Yazzie teaches the limitations of claim 3 upon which claim 5 depends.
Yazzie teaches wherein a protrusion structure (P) that protrudes toward an interior exists in a side wall of the frame body (Fig. 2B, protrusion of 216 between contact with 214 and 220).
Regarding claim 6, Yazzie teaches the limitations of claim 5 upon which claim 6 depends.
Yazzie teaches wherein the protrusion structure (P) is located on a side of the heat spreader facing away from the elastic structure (Fig. 2B, protrusion of 216 on side of 214 away from connection point with 222).
Regarding claim 7, Yazzie teaches the limitations of claim 5 upon which claim 7 depends.
Yazzie teaches wherein protrusion structures (P) exist in at least two opposite side walls of the frame body (Fig. 2B, protrusion of 216 on either side of structure).
Regarding claim 8, Yazzie teaches the limitations of claim 5 upon which claim 8 depends.
Yazzie teaches wherein one or more protrusion structures (P) exist in each of at least one side wall of the frame body (Fig. 2B, protrusion of 216 on sidewalls of structure).
Regarding claim 9, Yazzie teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 9 depends.
Yazzie teaches wherein the elastic structure including a first elastic structure and a second elastic structure, wherein the first and second elastic structures are disposed at least two opposite edges of the frame body (Fig. 2B, elastic structures at bends of 216 on opposite sides of frame body 216 top flat portion).
Regarding claim 10, Yazzie teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 10 depends.
Yazzie teaches wherein the elastic structure is a spring plate (para 32, leaf spring); and the elastic structure has at least one protruding portion, and the protruding portion protrudes toward a side facing away from the heat spreader (Fig. 2B, protrusion of 216 between contact with 214 and contact with 220).
Regarding claim 11, Yazzie teaches an electronic device, comprising:
an element (Fig. 2B, 203);
a heat dissipation assembly comprising a heat spreader configured to be in contact with the element (Fig. 2B, 214 in contact with 203 through protective material 204 and 205, para 29);
a frame body configured to limit a position of the heat spreader, wherein the frame body surrounds a side wall of the heat spreader (Fig. 2B, frame body 216 surrounds and limits position of heat spreader 214); and
an elastic structure fixedly connected to the frame body(Fig. 2B, elastic structure and frame body 216, para 32, leaf spring) , wherein the elastic structure is located on a side of the heat spreader facing away from the element (Fig. 2B, 216 on opposite side of 214 from 203); wherein the element is in contact with the heat spreader in the heat dissipation assembly (Fig. 2B, 214 in contact with 203 through protective material 204 and 205, para 29).
Regarding claim 14, Yazzie teaches the limitations of claim 11 upon which claim 14 depends.
Yazzie teaches wherein the heat spreader is in contact with the element through a second heat conducting material (Fig. 2B, 214 in contact with 203 through protective layer 205, para 32).
Regarding claim 15, Yazzie teaches the limitations of claim 14 upon which claim 15 depends.
Yazzie teaches wherein a material of the second heat conducting material comprises a silicone material (para 29, silicone).
Regarding claim 16, Yazzie teaches a chip package structure, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 1A, 108),
a die fastened on the substrate (Fig. 1A, 103 on 108), and
a cover plate (para 21, “backing plate”), wherein
an edge of the die is located within a range of an edge of the substrate (Fig. 1A edge of 103 within a range of an edge of 108);
the cover plate is located on a side of the die facing away from the substrate (para 21, “backing plate (not shown) for attaching thermal solution 130 to circuit board 110”, Fig. 1A, 130 on side of die 103 facing away from substrate 108);
the cover plate has a supporting column on a side closer to the substrate, and the supporting column is fastened at an edge of the cover plate (Fig. 1A, column 122 on substrate 110 supporting at edge of 116); and
the substrate is provided with a notch in a position corresponding to the supporting column (Fig. 1A, notch in 110 for 122), and the supporting column is fixedly connected to the substrate through an inner surface of the notch (Fig. 1B, 122 in 110).
Regarding claim 17, Yazzie teaches the limitations of claim 16 upon which claim 17 depends.
Yazzie teaches wherein a surface of a side of the supporting column facing away from the cover plate is flush with a surface of a side of the substrate facing away from the cover plate (Fig. 1A, surface of 122 flush with 110).
Regarding claim 18, Yazzie teaches the limitations of claim 16 upon which claim 18 depends.
Yazzie teaches wherein the inner surface of the notch of the substrate has a metal layer (fastener 120/122, para 21).
Regarding claim 19, Yazzie teaches the limitations of claim 16 upon which claim 19 depends.
Yazzie teaches wherein the supporting column has a fastening portion that protrudes toward an interior; and the fastening portion is in contact with a surface of a side of the substrate closer to the cover plate (Fig. 1A, column 122 and screw 120 protruding toward interior and in contact with a surface of a side of the substrate 110).
Regarding claim 20, Yazzie teaches the limitations of claim 16 upon which claim 20 depends.
Yazzie teaches wherein space between the die and the cover plate is filled with a third heat conducting material (Fig. 3, para 38 and 39).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yazzie et al (US Publication 20200357752).
Regarding claim 12, Yazzie teaches the limitations of claim 11 upon which claim 12 depends.
Yazzie teaches further comprising: a bottom housing (Fig. 2B, 210; a printed circuit board disposed in the bottom housing (Fig. 2B, PCB 210), wherein the element is fastened on a side of the printed circuit board facing away from the bottom housing (Fig. 2B, 203 fastened away from 210); a heat dissipation boss disposed on a side of the upper cover closer to the bottom housing (Fig. 2B, 218 on upper part of 216); the elastic structure in the heat dissipation assembly in contact with the heat dissipation boss (Fig. 2B, 218 and 214 in contact with 216 and bent portions of 216), wherein the elastic structure is deformed (Fig. 2B, 216 bent portions deformed when 216 is fastened).
The embodiment of Fig. 2A/B does not teach an upper cover fixedly connected to the bottom housing, but the embodiment of Fig 1A/B does (para 21, “backing plate”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Yazzie to include a cover plate as taught by the embodiment of Fig. 1A and Fig. 1B in order to further improve the reliability and operability of the device.
Regarding claim 13, Yazzie teaches the limitations of claim 12 upon which claim 13 depends.
Yazzie teaches wherein space between the heat dissipation boss and the heat spreader is filled with a first heat conducting material (Fig. 2B, metal leaf spring 216 between 218 and 214).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, applicant argues that Yazzie does not teach “a frame body configured to limit a position of the heat spreader, wherein the frame body surrounds a side wall of the heat spreader; and an elastic structure fixedly connected to the frame body, wherein the elastic structure is located on a side of the heat spreader facing away from the element"
Yazzie teaches a frame body configured to limit a position of the heat spreader (Fig. 2A, frame body is the portion of 216 in contact with heat spreader 214), wherein the frame body surrounds a side wall of the heat spreader (Fig. 2A, frame body portion of 216 surrounds a side wall of heat spreader 214), and an elastic structure fixedly connected to the frame body (Fig. 2A, angled portions of 216 connected on either of frame body portion of 216 in contact with heat spreader 214), wherein the elastic structure is located on a side of the heat spreader facing away from the element (Fig. 2A, angled portion of 216 is located on a side of heat spreader 214 facing away from the element 203). Yazzie element 216 is described as a leaf spring (Yazzie, para 32). Leaf springs are known in the semiconductor industry to be precision manufactured multilayer metal or composite structures designed to bend under pressure acting as flexible connectors or holding mechanisms to fix, secure, or hold elements. The different layers of the leaf spring can be considered the frame body and elastic structure.
It is recommended that the applicant consider clarifying that the frame body includes a protrusion structure as stated in paragraphs 11-14 and 76-80 of the instant application.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS LELAND HUTSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818