DETIALED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I (Claims 1-10) in the reply filed on August 7th 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the newly amended claim 11 would no longer required restriction. This is found persuasive.
The Restriction is withdrawn, and all withdrawn claims are rejoin for examination.
Claims Status:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim 11 is amended.
Claims 1-20 are being examined as follow:
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim limitation “gas pulse regenerable filtration system” in claims 1 and 11 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “system" coupled with functional language “for removing radioactive particles…. ” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. A review of the specification shows that, although it is not clear, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The limitation “gas pulse regenerable filtration system" has been described in Paragraph 0044 as some kind of filtering device or filter that involve gas pulses.
Claim limitation “filtration system” in claims 2 and 16 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “system" coupled with functional language “for removing particles….” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. A review of the specification shows that, although it is not clear, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The limitation “filtration system" has been described in Paragraph 0044 as some kind of filter.
Claim limitation “deployment system” in claims 7 and 18 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “system" coupled with functional language “for transporting… ” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. A review of the specification shows that, although it is not clear, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The limitation “deployment system" has been described in Paragraph 0057-0060 as some kind of system that assisted in movement or lunching or transporting of essential parts and including the laser head and crawler.
Claim limitation “cable management system” in claims 8 and 20 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “system" coupled with functional language “configured to spool and unspool ….” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. A review of the specification shows that, although it is not clear, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The limitation “cable management system" has been described in Paragraph 0062-0064 as some kind of machine that manage, roll or unroll connection cable/hose/wire.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation “the hose” in line 12, is lack of antecedent basis in the claim.
In claim 10, the limitation “comprising a hose for …” is indefinite in line 1, because the limitation “a hose” is already cited in claim 1, which claim 10 is dependent on. It is unclear how many hoses are being claimed, or they are the same hose. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, Examiner assumed that they are the same “hose”.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
In claim 13, the limitation of “…wherein filtering the ablated radioactive particles from the airflow comprises passing the airflow through a gas pulse regenerable filtration system…” is already recited in claim 11.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 10-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AHN et al (US2021/0343441A1 newly cited) herein set forth as AHN, in view of Richard (US2007/0175328A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Richard.
Regarding claim 1, AHN discloses a laser ablation system for decontamination of radioactive particles, the system (refer to fig.2) comprising:
a laser head assembly (#20, fig.2), comprising:
a laser (#1, fig.2) for ablating radioactive particles (#2, fig.2) from an underlying material (#100, fig.2);
a shroud (#80, fig.2) surrounding the laser (#1, fig.2) for containing the ablated radioactive particles (#2, fig.2); and
a suction nozzle (refer to opening of #70 located close to #80 in fig.2) for receiving an airflow (refer to the “arrow” in #70 close to #80 in fig.2) from the shroud (#80, fig.2) and releasing the airflow (refer to the “arrow” in #70 close to #80 in fig.2), wherein the airflow (refer to the “arrow” in #70 close to #80 in fig.2) contains the ablated radioactive particles (#2, fig.2); and
a waste management system (#60, fig.2) for removing and containing the ablated radioactive particles (#2, fig.2), comprising:
a referring to the filter in #60, fig.2 refer to Paragraph 0043 cited: “…The dust collector 60 may include a filter (not shown) that may filter the dust 2…”) for removing radioactive particles (#2, fig.2) from the airflow (refer to the “arrow” in #70 close to #80 in fig.2) and depositing them in a containment flask (Refer to the dictionary definition of “flask”1 as a container, Examiner note: a containment is inherently disclosed because of the idea of #60 dust collector”); and
a vacuum (refer as suction pump in Paragraph 0043 cited below) for moving the airflow (refer to the “arrow” in #70 close to #80 in fig.2) through the hose (#70, fig.2) into the containment flask (Refer to the dictionary definition of “flask”2 as a container, Examiner note: a containment is inherently disclosed because of the idea of #60 “dust collector”)(refer to Paragraph 0043 cited: “…The dust collector 60 may collect the dust 2 generated from the pipe 100 by the laser ablation. The dust collector 60 may include a suction pump (not shown) to collect the dust 2 inside the pipe 100. The dust collector 60 may include a filter (not shown) that may filter the dust 2…”).
AHN does not explicitly disclose the use of gas pulse in the regenerable filtration system.
In the field of dust collector, Richard discloses the use of gas pulse in the regenerable filtration system (refer to abstract cited: “…A jet pulse chamber venturi collector wherein a venturi is provided between the upper end portions of adjacent columns of filter stacks mounted in a dust collector housing wherein particulate laden gases flow downwardly through the venturi and are accelerated to such a degree so as to be pushed directly into the dust collecting hopper…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified AHN’s invention filtration system with the use of gas pulse regenerable filtration system, as taught by Richard, in order to provide a longer filter usage and reduce in human maintenance requirement, such that would reduce the possible exposure to the human operator to the contaminated particles.
Regarding claim 3, the modification of AHN and Richard discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, AHN further discloses wherein the laser ablation system (refer to fig.2) is remotely (refer to #10 and #11 location in fig.2, clearly remotely from the laser ablation site) controlled by at least one control panel (Examiner note: at least one control panel for the laser ablation system is inherently disclosed).
Regarding claim 4, the modification of AHN and Richard discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 3, AHN further discloses wherein the at least one control panel (#41 and control panel inherently disclosed in every disclosed #10, #11 or #60, fig.2) is located outside a containment barrier (refer to the air gap between the #100 in fig.2) of a radioactive particle site (#100, fig.2).
Regarding claim 5, the modification of AHN and Richard discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 3, AHN does not discloses wherein the filtration system is controlled by the control panel.
In the field of dust collector, Richard further discloses wherein the filtration system (refer to fig.1) is controlled by the control panel (#13, noted that #13 are remoted from the dust collector in fig.1, refer to Paragraph 0014 cited: “…Each nozzle 10 is operatively connected to an electrically operated valve 12 which is connected to a controller, such as a microprocessor 13 …”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified AHN’s system with the filtration system is controlled by the control panel, as taught by Richard, in order to provide a better gas pulses to the filter and therefore would increase efficiency with the dust removal from the filter, and also increase operational life span of the filter and the gas injector too.
Regarding claim 6, the modification of AHN and Richard discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, AHN further discloses wherein a crawler (#90, fig.2) moves the laser head assembly (#20, fig.2) to an ablation site (refer to the #1 contacting #100 in fig.2).
Regarding claim 7, the modification of AHN and Richard discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 6, AHN further discloses wherein the crawler (#90, fig.2) is deployed by a deployment system (Examiner note: AHN’s system inherently had a deployment system, such as storage container, shipping cart for transporting or even the vehicle that transport or shipped the system, it would be impossible for AHN’s system to appear at the worksite without any shipping container or transporting vehicle) for transporting the crawler (#90, fig.2) and laser head assembly (#20, fig.2) to a deployment location (refer to the location that whole AHN’s system is setup).
Regarding claim 10, the modification of AHN and Richard discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 6, AHN further discloses a hose (#70, fig.2) for receiving the airflow (refer to the “arrow” in #70 close to #80 in fig.2) from the laser head assembly (#20, fig.2) at a first end (refer to the #70 end connected to #80 in fig.2) and releasing the airflow to a waste management system (#60, fig.2) at a second end (refer to the #70 end connected to #60 in fig.2).
Regarding claim 11, AHN discloses a method for decontamination of radioactive particles using a laser ablation system, the method (refer to fig.2) comprising:
laser ablating radioactive particles (#2, fig.2) from an underlying material (#100, fig.2) using a laser (#1, fig.2) in a laser head assembly (#20, fig.2) of the laser ablation system (refer to fig.2);
generating an airflow (refer to the “arrow” in #70 close to #80 in fig.2) to move the ablated radioactive particles (#2, fig.2) using a suction nozzle (refer to #70 opening located close to #80 in fig.2) of the laser head assembly (#20, fig.2); and
filtering the ablated radioactive particles (#2, fig.2) from the airflow (refer to the “arrow” in #70 close to #80 in fig.2) using a referring to the filter in #60, fig.2 refer to Paragraph 0043 cited: “…The dust collector 60 may include a filter (not shown) that may filter the dust 2…”.) of a waste management system (#60, fig.2) in the laser ablation system (refer to fig. 2).
AHN does not explicitly disclose the use of gas pulse in the regenerable filtration system.
In the field of dust collector, Richard discloses the use of gas pulse in the regenerable filtration system (refer to abstract cited: “…A jet pulse chamber venturi collector wherein a venturi is provided between the upper end portions of adjacent columns of filter stacks mounted in a dust collector housing wherein particulate laden gases flow downwardly through the venturi and are accelerated to such a degree so as to be pushed directly into the dust collecting hopper…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified AHN’s invention filtration system with the use of gas pulse regenerable filtration system, as taught by Richard, in order to provide a longer filter usage and reduce in human maintenance requirement, such that would reduce the possible exposure to the human operator to the contaminated particles.
Regarding claim 12, the modification of AHN and Richard discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 11, AHN further discloses depositing the ablated radioactive particles in a containment flask (Refer to the dictionary definition of “flask”3 as a container, Examiner note: a containment is inherently disclosed because of the idea of #60 dust collector”)(refer to Paragraph 0043 cited: “…The dust collector 60 may collect the dust 2 generated from the pipe 100 by the laser ablation. The dust collector 60 may include a suction pump (not shown) to collect the dust 2 inside the pipe 100. The dust collector 60 may include a filter (not shown) that may filter the dust 2…”).
Regarding claim 13, the modification of AHN and Richard discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 11, the limitation “…wherein filtering the ablated radioactive particles from the airflow comprises passing the airflow through a gas pulse regenerable filtration system…” already rejected in claim 11 above (refer to claim 11 rejection above).
Regarding claim 14, the modification of AHN and Richard discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 11, AHN further discloses wherein the laser ablation system (refer to fig.2) is remotely (refer to #10 and #11 location in fig.2, clearly remotely from the laser ablation site) controlled by at least one control panel (Examiner note: at least one control panel for the laser ablation system is inherently disclosed).
Regarding claim 15, the modification of AHN and Richard discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 14, AHN further discloses wherein the at least one control panel (#41 and control panel inherently disclosed in every disclosed #10, #11 or #60, fig.2) is located outside a containment barrier (refer to the air gap between the #100 in fig.2) of a radioactive particle site (#100, fig.2).
Regarding claim 17, the modification of AHN and Richard discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 11, AHN further discloses wherein a crawler (#90, fig.2) moves the laser head assembly (#20, fig.2) to an ablation site (refer to the #1 contacting #100 in fig.2).
Regarding claim 18, the modification of AHN and Richard discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 17, AHN further discloses wherein the crawler (#90, fig.2) is deployed by a deployment system (Examiner note: AHN’s system inherently had a deployment system, such as storage container, shipping cart for transporting or even the vehicle that transport or shipped the system, it would be impossible for AHN’s system to appear at the worksite without any shipping container or transporting vehicle) for transporting the crawler (#90, fig.2) and laser head assembly (#20, fig.2) to a deployment location (refer to the location that whole AHN’s system is setup).
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AHN et al (US2021/0343441A1 newly cited) herein set forth as AHN, in view of Richard (US2007/0175328A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Richard, and further in view of YouTube video http:youtube.com/watch?v=9b7ine4n_wc (newly cited, and refer to attached NPL-Prefilter) herein set forth as Prefilter.
Regarding claim 2, the modification of AHN and Richard discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, AHN or Richard does not explicitly disclose wherein the waste management system further comprises a second filtration system for removing particles from the airflow.
In the field of dust filtering, Prefilter discloses the use of the second filtration system before the main dust collector (refer to the YouTube url attached and the NPL for reference).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified AHN’s invention with a second filtration system, as taught by Prefilter, in order to improve filtration, improve the operational life span and protect the other more complex and expensive filtration system.
Regarding claim 16, the modification of AHN and Richard discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 11, AHN or Richard does not explicitly disclose wherein the filtering the ablated radioactive particles from the airflow comprises passing the airflow through a second filtration system.
In the field of dust filtering, Prefilter discloses the use of the second filtration system before the main dust collector (refer to the YouTube url attached and the NPL for reference).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified AHN’s invention with a second filtration system, as taught by Prefilter, in order to improve filtration, improve the operational life span and protect the other more complex and expensive filtration system.
Claims 8-9 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AHN et al (US2021/0343441A1 newly cited) herein set forth as AHN, in view of Richard (US2007/0175328A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Richard, and further in view of Kepes (US5332166 newly cited).
Regarding claim 8, the modification of AHN and Richard discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 6, AHN or Richard does not explicitly disclose a cable management system for spooling and unspooling the hose when the crawler delivers the laser head assembly to the ablation site.
In the field of cable spooling and unspooling, Kepes discloses a cable management system (refer to fig.2) for spooling and unspooling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified AHN’s invention with the use of Kepes’ cable management system, in order to provide easier cable, wire and hose management, such that faster setup and reduce of tripping accident.
Regarding claim 9, the modification of AHN, Richard and Kepes discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 8, AHN or Richard does not explicitly disclose wherein the cable management system is further configured to spool and unspool power and data cables connected to the crawler and the laser head assembly.
However, Claim 8 already discloses the use of a cable management system.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified AHN’s invention with the use of Kepes’ cable management system, in order to provide easier cable, wire and hose management, Such that faster setup and reduce of tripping accident.
Regarding claim 19, the modification of AHN and Richard discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 17, AHN or Richard does not explicitly disclose spooling and unspooling a hose when the crawler delivers the laser head assembly to the ablation site.
In the field of cable spooling and unspooling, Kepes discloses a cable management system (refer to fig.2) for spooling and unspooling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified AHN’s invention with the use of Kepes’ cable management system, in order to provide easier cable, wire and hose management, such that faster setup and reduce of tripping accident.
Regarding claim 20, the modification of AHN, Richard and Kepes discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 19, AHN or Richard does not explicitly disclose wherein a cable management system is further configured to spool and unspool power and data cables connected to the crawler and the laser head assembly.
However, Claim 19 already discloses the use of a cable management system.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified AHN’s invention with the use of Kepes’ cable management system, in order to provide easier cable, wire and hose management, such that a faster setup and reduce of tripping accident.
Conclusion
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 December 27th 2025
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761
1 Referring to FLASK Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/flask.
2 Referring to FLASK Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/flask.
3 Referring to FLASK Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/flask.