DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-11, 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schaller et al (US 10,854,491 B2).
Regarding claim 1¸ Schaller et al (‘491) discloses a substrate processing method (abstract) performed in a substrate processing apparatus (fig1) including a processing container 30 (col.3 line3), a shower plate 36 (col.3 lines30-31) forming a ceiling wall (fig1) of the processing container 30 and configured to discharge gases used for a substrate processing (col.3 lines28-31), a stage 108 (col.3 line28) arranged under the shower plate 36 inside the processing container 30 so as to face the shower plate 36 (fig1) and configured to mount a substrate thereon (col.3 lines27-28), and a drive mechanism 131,132,133 (fig3A, col.5 lines19-20, 54-65) configured to move the stage 108, the substrate processing method comprising:
a substrate processing process performing the substrate processing on the substrate in a state in which the stage 108 is tilted by the drive mechanism 131,132,133 so that a central axis 201 (fig2, col.4 lines55-56) of the stage 108, which passes through a center of a mounting surface 108A (col.3 line27) mounted with the substrate and extends in a direction perpendicular to the mounting surface 108A (figs1-2), forms a first angle (col.2 lines14-17, “a first orientation") other than 0º (col.2 lines14-17, “not coplanar”, col.8 lines38-41) with respect to a predetermined reference axis 101 (figs1-2, col.3 line10) of the shower plate 36, which extends in a vertical direction (fig1), while changing a position of the stage 108 by the drive mechanism 131,132,133 so that the central axis 201 rotates (fig2, movement A) around the reference axis 101 while maintaining the first angle with respect to the reference axis 101 (col.5 lines1-3, fig2, “A”).
Regarding claim 2¸ Schaller et al discloses the substrate processing method of Claim 1, wherein during the substrate processing process, the stage 108 is tilted by the drive mechanism 131,132,133 so that the central axis 201 forms the first angle with respect to the refences axis 101 in a state in which a center of an upper surface of the substrate mounted on the mounting surface 108A is located at an intersection of the reference axis 101 and the central axis 201, and the position of the stage 108 is changed by the drive mechanism 131,132,133 so that the central axis 201 rotates around the reference axis 101 while maintaining the first angle with respect to the reference axis 101 (col.5 lines1-3, fig2).
Regarding claim 3¸ Schaller et al discloses the substrate processing method of Claim 2, wherein the reference axis 101 is a vertical axis that passes through a center of the shower plate 36 (fig1).
Regarding claim 4¸ Schaller et al discloses the substrate processing method of Claim 3, wherein during the substrate processing process, the position of the stage 108 is changed by the drive mechanism 131,132,133 so that the central axis 201 rotates around the reference axis 101 plural times.
Regarding claim 9¸ Schaller et al discloses the substrate processing method of Claim 1, wherein during the substrate processing process, the stage 108 is tilted by the drive mechanism 131,132,133 so that the central axis 201 forms the first angle with respect to the reference axis 101 in a state in which a center of an upper surface of the mounting surface 108A is located at an intersection of the reference axis 101 and the central axis 201, and the position of the stage 108 is changed by the drive mechanism 131,132,133 so that the central axis 201 rotates around the reference axis 101 while maintaining the first angle with respect to the reference axis 101 (col.5 lines1-3, fig2).
Regarding claim 10¸ Schaller et al discloses the substrate processing method of Claim 1, wherein the reference axis 101 is a vertical axis that passes through a center of the shower plate 36 (fig1).
Regarding claim 11¸ Schaller et al discloses the substrate processing method of Claim 1, wherein during the substrate processing process, the position of the stage 108 is changed by the drive mechanism 131,132,133 so that the central axis 201 rotates around the reference axis 101 plural times
Regarding claim 14¸ Schaller et al discloses the substrate processing method of Claim 1, wherein the drive mechanism 131,132,133 is configured to rotate the stage 108 by rotating a support member 90 (col.5 line2) that supports the stage 108 (figs1-2) as a rotating axis (a central axis along the support member 90), and wherein in the substrate processing process, the substrate is processed by rotating the stage 108.
Regarding claim 15¸ Schaller et al discloses the substrate processing method of Claim 1, wherein in the substrate processing process, the substrate is processed in a state in which a support member 90 (col.5 line2) that supports the stage 108 (figs1-2) is stopped without being rotated about a rotation axis (a central axis along the support member 90).
Regarding claim 16¸ Schaller et al discloses the substrate processing method of Claim 1, wherein the drive mechanism 131,132,133 is configured such that actuators 320 (col.5 line33, fig3A) function as a parallel link mechanism (fig3A) to move the stage 108 in three orthogonal directions of three axes and in rotation direction around the three axes.
Regarding claim 17¸ Schaller et al (‘491) discloses a substrate processing apparatus (fig1), comprising:
a processing container 30 (col.3 line3);
a shower plate 36 (col.3 lines30-31) forming a ceiling wall (fig1) of the processing container 30 and configured to discharge gases used for a substrate processing (col.3 lines28-31);
a stage 108 (col.3 line28) arranged under the shower plate 36 inside the processing container 30 so as to face the shower plate 36 (fig1) and configured to mount a substrate thereon (col.3 lines27-28);
a drive mechanism 131,132,133 (fig3A, col.5 lines19-20, 54-65) configured to move the stage 108; and
a controller 199 (col.4 lines10-21) configured to perform the substrate processing on the substrate in a state in which the stage 108 is tilted by the drive mechanism 131,132,133 so that a central axis 201 (fig2, col.4 lines55-56) of the stage 108, which passes through a center of a mounting surface 108A (col.3 line27) mounted with the substrate and extends in a direction perpendicular to the mounting surface 108A (figs1-2), forms a first angle (col.2 lines14-17, “a first orientation") other than 0º (col.2 lines14-17, “not coplanar”, col.8 lines38-41) with respect to a predetermined reference axis 101 (figs1-2, col.3 line10) of the shower plate 36, which extends in a vertical direction (fig1), while changing a position of the stage 108 by the drive mechanism 131,132,133 so that the central axis 201 rotates (fig2, movement A) around the reference axis 101 while maintaining the first angle with respect to the reference axis 101 (col.5 lines1-3, fig2, “A”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaller et al (US 10,854,491 B2) in view of Reddy et al (US 2021/0375662 A1).
Regarding claim 5¸ Schaller et al discloses the substrate processing method of Claim 4, however, does not explicitly disclose that the first angle is set to an angle in a range of -0.1º to +0.1º. It is noted that the stage of Schaller et al can be tilted at any angle by using the drive mechanism. Reddy et al (‘662) teaches that a stage 210 (fig2) is tilted to form a first angle between 1-3º (para[0036], fig2). However, Reddy et al also teaches that the first angle can be oriented substantially normal (substantially 0º) to a ray extending between a nozzle dispense position and a rotational axis (para[0036], fig2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first angle set to an angle in a range of -0.1º to +0.1º since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disposed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (also see MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Regarding claim 6¸ the combination of Schaller et al and Reddy et al teaches the substrate processing method of Claim 5. Schaller et al discloses that the position of the stage 108 is changed by the drive mechanism 131,132,133 so that the central axis rotates around the reference axis. However, Schaller et al does not explicitly disclose a rotation speed. Reddy et al teaches a use of a rotation speed of π[rad/sec] (para[0037], “less than 30 RPM”) or less (para[0037], “less than 30 RPM”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schaller et al to use a rotation speed of π[rad/sec] or less, as taught by Reddy et al, as such range of a rotation speed is ideal for processing a top of a substrate with a fluid (para[0022]).
Regarding claim 7¸ combination of Schaller et al and Reddy et al teaches the substrate processing method of Claim 6. Schaller et al further discloses wherein the drive mechanism 131,132,133 is configured to rotate the stage 108 by rotating a support member 90 (col.5 line2) that supports the stage 108 (figs1-2) as a rotating axis (a central axis along the support member 90), and wherein in the substrate processing process, the substrate is processed by rotating the stage 108.
Regarding claim 8¸ combination of Schaller et al and Reddy et al teaches the substrate processing method of Claim 7. Schaller et al further discloses wherein the drive mechanism 131,132,133 is configured such that actuators 320 (col.5 line33, fig3A) function as a parallel link mechanism (fig3A) to move the stage 108 in three orthogonal directions of three axes and in rotation direction around the three axes.
Regarding claim 12¸ Schaller et al discloses the substrate processing method of Claim 4, however, does not explicitly disclose that the first angle is set to an angle in a range of -0.1º to +0.1º. It is noted that the stage of Schaller et al can be tilted at any angle by using the drive mechanism. Reddy et al (‘662) teaches that a stage 210 (fig2) is tilted to form a first angle between 1-3º (para[0036], fig2). However, Reddy et al also teaches that the first angle can be oriented substantially normal (substantially 0º) to a ray extending between a nozzle dispense position and a rotational axis (para[0036], fig2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first angle set to an angle in a range of -0.1º to +0.1º since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disposed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (also see MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Regarding claim 13¸ Schaller et al discloses the substrate processing method of Claim 1, wherein during the substrate processing process, the position of the stage 108 is changed by the drive mechanism 131,132,133 so that the central axis rotates around the reference axis. However, Schaller et al does not explicitly disclose a rotation speed. Reddy et al teaches a use of a rotation speed of π[rad/sec] (para[0037], “less than 30 RPM”) or less (para[0037], “less than 30 RPM”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schaller et al to use a rotation speed of π[rad/sec] or less, as taught by Reddy et al, as such range of a rotation speed is ideal for processing a top of a substrate with a fluid (para[0022]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu et al (US 2003/0044529 A1), Agafonov et al (US 2015/0337442 A1), Chu et al (US 2021/0118700 A1), Fukunaga et al (US 2022/0080551 A1), and Kodama et al (US 2022/0277962 A1) teach similar substrate processing methods and/or substrate processing apparatuses.
/SEAHEE HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723