DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Applicant presents a communication dated 4 May 2026 in response to the 24 February 2026 non-final Office action (the “Previous Action”).
Claims 46, 54 and 62 are amended.
Claims 46-48, 50-56, 58-64 and 66-68 remain pending. Claims 46, 54 and 62 are the independent claims.
Any unpersuasive arguments are addressed in the “Response to Arguments” section below.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection herein, necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The Previous Action’s § 112 rejections are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 46, 48, 50-51, 53-54, 56, 58-59, 61-62, 64 and 66-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webb (US 2016/0034276) (art of record – hereinafter Webb) in view of Beale et al. (US 2014/0173552) (art of record – hereinafter) in view of Wu (US 2013/0346622) (art made of record – hereinafter Wu) in view of Gass et al. (US 2011/0283269) (art of record – hereinafter Gass) and Van Wie et al. (US 20100146085) (art of record – hereinafter Van Wie).
As to claim 46, Webb discloses a system for integration of a software component into a software framework, the system comprising:
a memory, at least one data storage medium, (e.g., Webb, par. [0126]) and
at least one processor configured (e.g., Webb, par. [0125]) to:
receive a sequence of instructions; (e.g., Webb, par. [0029]: specifying a name of the component)
determine, via a format analysis engine, whether the sequence of instructions is native to a predetermined operating system; (e.g., Webb, par. [0061]: the unadapted version of the component may be incompatible with the execution context of the client program/operating system prior to adaptation; par. [0059]: runtime environment may determine whether the component has been previously adapted [is native to a predetermined operating system])
when the sequence of instructions is native to the predetermined operating system, add the sequence of instructions to a framework configuration interpreter engine; (e.g., Webb, par. [0060]: at step 362 the previously adapted component may be retrieved and the adapted component may be executed by the runtime environment [add the sequence of instructions to the framework configuration interpreter engine, executing being interpreting])
when the sequence of instructions is not native to the predetermined operating system, adapt, via a framework wrapper engine, the sequence of instructions and then add the adapted sequence of instructions to the framework configuration interpreter engine; (e.g., Webb, par. [0061]: if the component has not already been adapted, an unadapted version may be retrieved; par. [0062]: the unadapted version may be adapted using adaptation logic. The adaptation logic may wrap the unadapted version in a wrapper. The adapted component may then be stored in the adapted component library for future execution; par. [0094]: the adaptation logic may submit the adapted component to the runtime environment 540, which may execute the adapted component)
using the framework configuration interpreter engine, configure the sequence of instructions based on one or more characteristics of the software framework and integrate the sequence of instructions as a software component into the software framework (e.g., Webb, par. [0043]: adaptation logic may provide the wrapper 210 with instructions for performing data marshalling between the client program/operating system and the execution context independent component [i.e., configuring the sequence of the instructions, by the framework configuration interpreter engine because that occurs when those instructions are executed]; par. [0044]: the wrapper 210 may perform data marshalling by translating input(s) provided by the client program [characteristics of the software framework] into a format understandable by the component 240 [so the component and framework of the client program become integrated]).
Webb does not explicitly disclose wherein the sequence of instructions contains a validation software component; to access a validation definition within storage media; to add the adapted sequence of instructions to the framework configuration interpreter engine by inserting text into a file or moving one or more text-based scripting files into a folder; to validate, using the validation software component, the adapted sequence of instructions by determining, based on the validation definition, a consistency between the adapted sequence of instructions and a schema corresponding to the predetermined operating system; or to integrate the sequence of instructions as a software component by uploading the validated sequence of instructions to a platform-specific directory.
However, in an analogous art, Beale discloses:
wherein the sequence of instructions contains a validation software component; (e.g., Beale, par. [0025], self-validating code can be used to determine if object code is correctly generated. This can be accomplished, for example by placing comparisons [validation software component(s)] between expected and actual output of a particular code construct;) and
to access a validation definition stored within storage media (e.g., Beale, par. [0027]: the self-executing [sic] code will generally include a setting defining an expected value [validation definition, necessarily stored within a storage media]; par. [0035]: the actual value and expected value can be compared [i.e., the expected value (validation definition) is accessed])
to validate, using the validation component, the sequence of instructions by determining, based on the validation definition, consistency (e.g., Beale, par. [0047]: output of pass/fail determinations based on comparison of expected and actual values of a particular variable; par. [0046]: this allows the compiled program to determine whether an expected outcome is equal [consistent with] to the actual value of the same variable)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sequence of instructions of Webb such that it contains a validation software component and the validation component is used to determine consistency of the instructions based on the validation definition by accessing a validation definition stored within storage media, as taught by Beale. Incorporating a validation component and validation definition in the sequence would provide the advantage of a means of providing self-validating code (see Beale, abstract), which would avoid the need for an external validation component. See also, M.P.E.P. § 2144.04(V)(B). Using the validation component to determine consistency based on the validation definition would also provide the advantage of a means of assuring the code executes properly. (See Beale, par. [0049]).
Further, in an analogous art, Wu discloses:
to add the sequence of instructions to the framework configuration interpreter engine by inserting text into a file or moving one or more text-based scripting files into a folder; (e.g., Wu, par. [0260]: there are two ways of uploading programs. One of the methods is that a program in an interpretive language is loaded [moved] into a special folder to which the interpreted is available. For example, if a script in Perl is uploaded to the folder, the invoking line of the script should point to the Perl interpreter. If the program is written in BASIC, the interpreter should be able to run the program in the folder [Perl and BASIC being text-based scripting files because at least because they are interpreted]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the addition of an adaptive sequence of instructions to the framework configuration interpreter engine, as taught by Webb/Beale, such that the sequence of instructions is added to the framework configuration interpreter engine by inserting text into a file or moving one or more text-based scripting files into a folder, as taught by Wu, as Wu would provide the advantage of a means to enable the interpreter engine to execute the instructions. (See Wu, par. [0260]).
Further still, in an analogous art, Gass discloses to:
validate the adapted sequence of instructions by determining consistency between the adapted sequence of instructions and a schema corresponding to the predetermined operating system (e.g., Gass, par. [0046]: source system or source installation 204 may comprise a server or workstation with an installation or configuration of a version of one or more applications. The one or more applications may also include an operating system; par. [0048]: target system or target installation 206 may comprise a server or workstation with an installation of a second version of one or more applications [predetermined operating system]; par. [0072]: transforming a meta-model from one corresponding to one installation of an application to one corresponding to another installation of an application. Transforming the meta-model comprises modifying [adapting] an object from a syntax or code language associated with the first installation to a syntax or code language associated the second installation. The transformer 230 further comprises functions for error checking transformed objects for compliance with rules, language and/or syntax standards [the rules and standards comprise a schema corresponding to the predetermined operating system because they represent requirements of a transformed (adapted) object for a second installation, and an installation can include an operating system as noted above]; par. [0092]: objects identified as automatic code).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adaptation of a sequence of instructions for a predetermined operating system and sequence containing a validation component used to validate the sequence by determining consistency of the sequence based on a validation definition taught by Webb/Beale, such that the validating validates the adapted sequence of instructions by determining a consistency between the adapted sequence of instructions and a schema corresponding to the predetermined operating system, as taught by Gass, as Gass would ensure the adapted sequence can be used with the predetermined operating system. (See Gass, par. [0072]).
Finally, in an analogous art, Van Wie discloses to:
integrate the sequence of instructions as a software component by uploading the sequence of instructions to a platform-specific directory (e.g., Van Wie, par. [0241]: the client node stores the plugins in an asset directory in local file system. par. [00501]: plugins are downloaded from [uploaded by] a plugin server. On Windows based computer systems [a platform], plugins are implemented as DLLs “(e.g., .NET or COM style plugins)”. Plugins different from normal dynamic linked libraries, however. There is no need to link the plugin library; nor is there any need for compilation. The plugin manager 266 simply loads the plugins that are contained in the plugin directory; par. [0513]: all plugins are stored in a shared plugin directory. Plugin manager discovers the available plugins by checking the shared plugin directory).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the code sequence of Webb such that it is integrated by uploading it to platform specific directory, as taught by Van Wie, as Van Wie would provide the advantage of a means for the framework to discover integrated components. (See Van Wie, par. [0513]).
As to claim 48, Webb/Beale/Wu/Gass/Van Wie discloses the system of claim 46 (see rejection of claim 46 above), Webb further discloses:
wherein the integration of the software component into the software framework is automated (e.g., Webb, par. [0125]: the processor 1110 may execute information in memory 1120. The information may include instructions that may implement embodiments of the invention).
As to claim 50, Webb/Beale/Wu/Gass/Van Wie discloses the system of claim 46 (see rejection of claim 46 above), but Webb does not explicitly disclose wherein the platform-specific directory includes at least one folder, wherein the at least one folder is dynamic.
However, in an analogous art, Van Wie discloses:
wherein the platform-specific directory includes at least one folder, wherein the at least one folder is dynamic (e.g., Van Wie, par. [0501]: on Windows computer systems, plugins are implemented as DLLs. Plugins differ from normal dynamic linked libraries, however, by the way in which they are loaded. The plugin manager 266 simply loads the plugins that are contained in the plugin directory [directories are synonymous with folders, particularly in Windows]. In this way, plugins can be added or removed simply by downloading or deleting the executable [since the plugins in the directory change, it is a dynamic directory] )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the code sequence of Web/Beale/Gass such that it is uploaded to a platform specific directory of the software framework that includes at least one dynamic folder, as taught by Van Wie, as Van Wie would provide the advantage of a means of adding or removing code sequences from a framework of a Windows system. (See Van Wie, par. [0501]).
As to claim 51, Webb/Beale/Wu/Gass/Van Wie discloses the system of claim 46 (see rejection of claim 59 above), Webb further discloses
wherein determining whether the sequence of instructions is native to a predetermined operating system includes determining an operational state of a process and confirming that the operational state is in a native operating condition (e.g., Webb, par. [0061]: the unadapted version of the component [process, though so is the method being performed by Webb] may be incompatible with the execution context of the client program/operating system prior to adaptation; par. [0059]: runtime environment may determine whether the component has been previously adapted [is in a native operating condition, adapted or not adapted being an operational state])
As to claim 53, Webb/Beale/Wu/Gass/Van Wie discloses the system of claim 46 (see rejection of claim 46 above), Webb further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to convert the sequence of instructions into binary (e.g., Webb, par. [0092]: the adaptation logic may generate native source code for the adapted component and compile the native source code [i.e., convert into binary, note too that everything in a computer is binary]).
As to claim 54, it is a method claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 46. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Further limitations, disclosed by Webb, include:
a format analysis engine including one or more program modules (e.g., Webb, par. [0026]: a computer program may be a set of instructions executable on a computer. For example, a computer program may be a module; par. [0122]: one or more of the above-described acts may be encoded as computer-executable instructions)
As to claim 56, it is a method claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 48. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 58, it is a method claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 50. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 59, it is a method claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 51. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 61, it is a method claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 53. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 62, it is a medium claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 46. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Further limitations, disclosed by Webb include:
a non-transitory computer readable medium containing instructions that when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor (e.g., Webb, pars. [0126], [0125]) to (see rejection of claim 1 above)
As to claim 64, it is a method claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 48. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 66, Webb/Beale/Wu/Gass/Van Wie discloses the system of claim 46 (see rejection of claim 46 above) Webb further discloses:
wherein the sequence of instructions is received from a user (e.g., Webb, par. [0110]: a component may include all of its source code in the original human [user] written form [i.e., the instructions of the component are received from a user]; par. [0019]: a developer [user] writing a computer program may wish to support the program in different contexts. For example, the developer may wish to integrate a component into the same host program on different hardware or operating system platforms)
As to claim 67, it is a method claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 66. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 68, it is a medium claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 6. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Claims 47, 55 and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webb (US 2016/0034276) in view of Beale (US 2014/0173552) in view of Wu (US 2013/0346622) in view of Gass (US 2011/0283269) in view of Van Wie (US 2010/0146085) in further view of Pfohe et al. (US 2004/0034510) (art of record – hereinafter Pfohe).
As to claim 47, Webb/Beale/Wu/Gass/Van Wie e discloses the system of claim 46 (see rejection of claim 46 above), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the sequence of instructions is user-inputted.
However, in an analogous art, Pfohe discloses:
wherein sequence of instructions is user-inputted (e.g., Pfohe, par. [0027]: a user provides instructions in the user program which call the object [sequence of instructions]; par. [0040]: the call includes the name of the desired object. For example, if the object’s name is “com” instruction 232 comprises “getLogger(‘com’)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sequence of instructions of Webb such that it is a user-inputted, as taught by Pfohe, as Pfohe would provide a means for the user to request a particular sequence of instructions, as suggested by Webb. (See Webb, pars. [0070-0071]).
As to claim 55, it is a method claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 47. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 63, it is a medium claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 47. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Claims 52 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webb (US 2016/0034276) in view of Beale (US 2014/0173552) in view of Wu (US 2013/0346622) in view of Gass (US 2011/0283269) in view of Van Wie (US 2010/0146085) in further view of Berlitz et al. (US 2020/0174800) (art of record – hereinafter Berlitz).
As to claim 52, Webb/Beale/Wu/Gass/Van Wie discloses the system of claim 46 (see rejection of claim 52 above) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the sequence of instructions is in a JSON format.
However, in an analogous art, Berlitz discloses:
wherein the sequence of instructions is in a JSON format (e.g., Berlitz, component file 110 may include framework code 116. Component file 110 may be a JSON file that is accessible or modifiable using a text editor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sequence of instructions of Webb such that it is in the JSON format, as taught by Berlitz, as Berlitz would provide the advantages of a standard format and a format that is accessible or modifiable using a text editor. (See Berlitz, pars. [0053], [0026]).
As to claim 60, it is a method claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 52. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TODD AGUILERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2192