DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group II, claims 8-11 in the reply filed on 9/18/25 is acknowledged. Since the election is made without traverse, the restriction is deemed as proper and therefore made FINAL. Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishida et al JP 2014/114184.
Per claim 8, Ishida teaches manufacturing and growing single crystal silicon [0013] utilizing crystal grains in a polycrystalline rod in a diameter direction which is formed in a reactor (2) (see abstract) [0025]. The step of evaluation of the crystal and/or polycrystalline silicon is inherently disclosed by Ishida (e.g., Figures 5C-8 which shows imaging of the silicon). Ishida teaches that growth occurs until a diameter of 120mm (Example 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida et al JP 2014/114184.
Per claims 9-11, Ishida is silent regarding the claimed growth length. However, Ishida teaches a growth rate of 3.5 mm/hour [0042] and further teaches that the time of deposition controls various parameters including power supply capacity, economic efficiency, etc., [0042]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have controlled and optimized the time and therefore the growth length of the silicon to arrive at the desired results via routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is noted that the rejection over Kobayashi is withdrawn. Regarding Ishida, Applicant argues that core wire 10 is a polycrystalline silicon rod (see page 3 of the response). However, this is not persuasive because Ishida clearly teaches that the silicon core wire 10 (abstract) is a single crystal rod, which is grown and manufactured using single crystal production [0013]. Ishida then refers to depositing polycrystalline onto this wire and refers to the next product as a polycrystalline silicon rod 20 (not item 10). As such, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN T LEONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715