Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-25 and 28-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mok (PGPub No. 20210287977) in further view of Katkar (PGPub No. 20190198409).
Regarding claim 17, Mok teaches a bonded structure frame element comprising: a frame element comprising: an opening extending from a first side of the frame element to a second side opposite the first side (Fig. 6 points to a component carrier (frame element) comprising a central outer hole 15, also referred to as a component hole 19 (opening).); a bulk portion (Id. points to a glass core 2 (bulk portion).); a first bonding layer disposed on a first surface of the bulk portion and at least partially defining the first side of the frame element (Id. points to a first further electrically insulating layer structure 8 (first bonding layer).); a second bonding layer on a second surface of the bulk portion and at least partially defining the second side of the frame element opposite the first side (Id. points to a second further electrically insulating layer structure 17 (second bonding layer).), wherein the opening extends through the first bonding layer, the bulk portion, and the second bonding layer (Id. points to a central outer hole 15, also referred to as a component hole 19 (opening).), wherein the bulk portion comprises a first sidewall of the opening, the first sidewall comprising a first etch signature indicative of a first etch process in a first direction from the first side of the frame element towards the second side of the frame element, and wherein the first bonding layer comprises a second sidewall of the opening, the second sidewall comprising a second etch signature indicative of a second etch process in the first direction (Fig. 6 and [0102] point to a hole 15/19 (opening) formed by dry and/or wet etching methods, resulting in a sidewall formed along the first further electrically insulating layer structure 8 (first bonding layer; second sidewall) and a sidewall formed along the top half of the glass core 2 (bulk portion; first sidewall).); and a first element directly bonded to the first bonding layer of the frame element without an intervening adhesive ([0136] points to an alternative embodiment of the component carrier such that at least one component 13 (first element) may be surface mounted on said component carrier.).
Mok fails to teach wherein the first bonding layer is a first inorganic dielectric bonding layer and the second bonding layer is a second inorganic dielectric bonding layer.
Katkar teaches wherein the first bonding layer is a first inorganic dielectric bonding layer and the second bonding layer is a second inorganic dielectric bonding layer (Fig. 1 and [0030] point to a bonded structure comprising nonconductive layers 16 (first inorganic dielectric bonding layer) and 14 (second inorganic dielectric bonding layer).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mok and Katkar, such that the first and second inorganic dielectric bonding layers each comprise an inorganic dielectric material in order to improve thermal-expansion matching, high-temperature behavior, and/or dimensional stability.
Regarding claim 18, Mok et al. teaches wherein the second inorganic dielectric bonding layer comprises a third sidewall of the opening, the third sidewall comprising a third etch signature indicative of a third etch process in the first direction (Fig. 6 and [0102] of Mok point to a hole 15/19 (opening) formed by dry and/or wet etching methods, resulting in a sidewall formed along the second further electrically insulating layer structure 17 (second inorganic dielectric bonding layer; third sidewall).).
Regarding claim 19, Mok teaches a second element directly bonded to the second side of the frame element without an intervening adhesive, the bonded structure comprising a cavity at least partially defined by the opening, wherein the first element is directly bonded to the frame element without an intervening adhesive ([0136] points to an alternative embodiment of the component carrier such that at least one component 13 (second element) may be surface mounted on said component carrier. It is considered obvious that the second component/element would be mounted on a surface of the carrier opposite to the first element in order to limit the interference between each component/element.).
Regarding claim 20, Mok teaches one or more devices mounted to or formed with at least one of the first and second elements, the one or more devices extending into or exposed to the cavity (Fig. 6 and [0136] point to a component carrier comprising a hole 15/19 (cavity) and at least one component 13 (one or more devices) being surface mounted on and/or embedded in the component carrier.).
Regarding claim 21, Mok teaches wherein the one or more devices comprises an integrated device die ([0136] points to the at least one component 13 (one or more devices) being selected from a group including an electronic chip and a logic chip.).
Regarding claim 22, Mok teaches wherein a third conductive contact feature of the first element is directly bonded to a first conductive contact feature of the frame element without an adhesive (Fig. 6 and [0136] point to a component carrier comprising a first further electrically conductive layer structure 9 (first conductive contact feature) and at least one component 13 (first element) being surface mounted on and/or embedded in the component carrier. It is considered obvious that said component/element would include at least one conductive contact feature (third conductive contact feature) which, when surface mounted to the carrier, would directly bond to structure 9 in order to allow for communication with any other devices that may be mounted onto the opposite surface of said carrier.).
Regarding claim 23, Mok teaches wherein a fourth conductive contact feature of the second element is directly bonded to a second conductive contact feature of the frame element (Fig. 6 and [0136] point to a component carrier comprising a second further electrically conductive layer structure 18 (second conductive contact feature) and at least one component 13 (first element) being surface mounted on and/or embedded in the component carrier. It is considered obvious that said component/element would include at least one conductive contact feature (fourth conductive contact feature) which, when surface mounted to the carrier, would directly bond to structure 18 in order to allow for communication with any other devices that may be mounted onto the opposite surface of said carrier.).
Regarding claim 24, Mok et al. teaches wherein the first inorganic dielectric bonding layer of the frame element is directly bonded to a third inorganic dielectric bonding layer of the first element (Fig. 6 and [0136] of Mok point to a first further electrically insulating layer structure 8 (first inorganic dielectric bonding layer) and at least one component 13 (first element) being surface mounted on and/or embedded in the component carrier. It is considered obvious that said component/element would include a bonding layer (third inorganic dielectric bonding layer) which, when surface mounted to the component carrier, would directly bond to structure 8 in order to maximize adhesion to the carrier and by extension improve physical stability.).
Regarding claim 25, Mok et al. teaches wherein the second inorganic dielectric bonding layer of the frame element is directly bonded to a third inorganic dielectric bonding layer of the second element (Fig. 6 and [0136] of Mok point to a second further electrically insulating layer structure 17 (second inorganic dielectric bonding layer) and at least one component 13 (first element) being surface mounted on and/or embedded in the component carrier. It is considered obvious that said component/element would include a bonding layer (third inorganic dielectric bonding layer) which, when surface mounted to the component carrier, would directly bond to structure 17 in order to maximize adhesion to the carrier and by extension improve physical stability.).
Regarding claim 28, Mok teaches wherein the second and third sidewalls are tapered in a same orientation (Fig. 6 points to a hole 15/19 defined by a sidewall formed along the first further electrically insulating layer structure 8 (second sidewall) and a sidewall formed along the second further electrically insulating layer structure 17 (third sidewall). The disclosure does not appear to lend any criticality or significance to each sidewall’s tapered orientation and, as such, is deemed a matter of choice that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. Absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant, said configuration is deemed a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); see also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).).
Regarding claim 29, Mok et al. teaches wherein the second inorganic dielectric bonding layer comprises a third sidewall of the opening, the third sidewall comprising a third etch signature indicative of a third etch process in a second direction from the second side of the frame element towards the first side of the frame element (Fig. 6 and [0102] of Mok point to a hole 15/19 (opening) formed by dry and/or wet etching methods, resulting in a sidewall formed along the second further electrically insulating layer structure 17 (second inorganic dielectric bonding layer; third sidewall).).
Regarding claim 30, Mok teaches wherein the bulk portion comprises a fourth sidewall of the opening, the fourth sidewall comprising a fourth etch signature indicative of a fourth etch process in the second direction (Fig. 6 and [0102] point to a hole 15/19 (opening) formed by dry and/or wet etching methods, resulting in a sidewall formed along the bottom half of the glass core 2 (bulk portion; fourth sidewall).).
Regarding claim 31, Mok teaches wherein the second and third sidewalls are tapered in an opposite orientation (Fig. 6 points to a hole 15/19 defined by a sidewall formed along the first further electrically insulating layer structure 8 (second sidewall) and a sidewall formed along the second further electrically insulating layer structure 17 (third sidewall).). The disclosure does not appear to lend any criticality or significance to each sidewall’s tapered orientation and, as such, is deemed a matter of choice that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. Absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant, said configuration is deemed a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); see also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).).
Regarding claim 32, Mok teaches wherein the second and third sidewalls are laterally misaligned in a third direction that is transverse to the first direction (Fig. 6 points to a hole 15/19 defined by a sidewall formed along the first further electrically insulating layer structure 8 (second sidewall) and a sidewall formed along the second further electrically insulating layer structure 17 (third sidewall).). It is considered obvious that the second and third sidewalls would be laterally misaligned to some degree due to the impossibility of having non-misalignment during manufacturing along with a lack of detail regarding what kind of “alignment” is specifically being sought out by the claimed invention.).
Regarding claim 33, Mok teaches wherein any of the first and second etch signatures comprises respective striations in corresponding first and second sidewalls (Fig. 6 and [0102] point to a hole 15/19 (opening) formed by dry and/or wet etching methods (first and second etch signatures), resulting in a sidewall formed along the first further electrically insulating layer structure 8 (second sidewall) and a sidewall formed along the top half of the glass core 2 (first sidewall). It is considered obvious that each of the sidewalls would comprise respective striations due to the nature of dry and/or wet etching methods.).
Regarding claim 34, Mok teaches wherein any of the first and second etch signatures comprises respective tapering angles in corresponding first and second sidewalls (Fig. 6 and [0102] point to a hole 15/19 (opening) formed by dry and/or wet etching methods (first and second etch signatures), resulting in a sidewall formed along the first further electrically insulating layer structure 8 (second sidewall) and a sidewall formed along the top half of the glass core 2 (first sidewall). It is considered obvious that each of the sidewalls would comprise respective tapering angles due to the nature of dry and/or wet etching methods.).).
Regarding claim 35, Mok teaches wherein the bulk portion comprises a semiconductor material (Fig. 6 points to glass core 2.).
Regarding claim 36, Mok et al. teaches wherein the first inorganic dielectric bonding layer comprises a first nonconductive material with a first conductive contact feature at least partially embedded in the first nonconductive material (Fig. 6 of Mok points to the first further electrically insulating layer structure 8 (first inorganic dielectric bonding layer) and the first further electrically conductive layer structure 9 (first conductive contact feature).).
Claim(s) 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mok et al. in further view of Yoo (PGPub No. 20210366876).
Regarding claim 26, Yoo teaches a vent hole extending from the cavity to outside environs (Fig. 1 points to a package substrate 100 comprising a cavity CV and a first vent hole VH1.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mok et al. and Yoo such that a vent hole is formed to connect the cavity with the outside in order to allow for fluid communication with the cavity, which would improve heat dissipation.
Claim(s) 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mok et al. in further view of Chen (PGPub No. 20200395306).
Regarding claim 27, Chen teaches wherein a width of the opening is in a range of 0.5 mm to 30 mm (Fig. 3B and [0054] point to a substrate 302 comprising a cavity 305 (opening) with lateral dimensions (width) ranging between about 0.5 mm and about 50 mm. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mok et al. and Chen, such that the width of the cavity/opening is in a range of 0.5 mm to 30 mm in order to have a cavity/opening with lateral dimensions substantially similar to that of the semiconductor devices or dies that are later formed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 17-18, 24-25, 29, and 36 (and by extension any dependent claims), under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mok in further view of Katkar (PGPub No. 20190198409).
Conclusion
/PATRICK CULLEN/ Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/DALE E PAGE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899