DETAILED ACTION
Status
The filing on 12/12/2025 amended claims 1, 8 and 9. Claims 1-9 are rejected on new grounds of rejections necessitated by the amendments of claims 1-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi (US 20120182416 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kawaguchi teaches a display method (Fig. 1-26) comprising: displaying a first image (test pattern; [0078]) including a first portion and a second portion different from the first portion on a screen by a projector (100; S14); the first image (resolution chart, e.g., resolution chart, see below) containing a background (blank/white) and a character on the background (blank/white), the first portion including at least a part of the character, the second portion including only a part of the background (blank/white) without including any part of the character; storing information representing a first shape which is a shape of the first portion when the screen is seen from a first direction (S24, S34, S44, S54); and when the shape of the first portion as seen from the first direction changes to a shape different from the first shape, displaying, by the projector (100), a second image obtained by performing correction on the first image (test pattern) to make the shape of the first portion as seen from the first direction closer to the first shape (S31, S32), and not performing the correction on the second portion on the screen (Fig. 6).
Resolution Chart
Kawaguchi does not teach “correcting on the screen the first portion that includes at least a part of the character and not correcting on the screen the second portion that includes only a part of the background without including any part of the character.”
Choosing a test pattern such that applying the correction to the test pattern results in the first portion of test pattern that includes at least a part of the character being corrected and the second portion of test pattern that includes only a part of the background without including any part of the character not being corrected is a matter of design choice that does not have any effect on the functionality of the reference invention; hence it is prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 2, Kawaguchi further teaches the storing includes: acquiring a first captured image by capturing the first portion from the first direction (S34); and generating the information representing the first shape based on the first captured image (S35, S31; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Kawaguchi further teaches the displaying the second image (SS33) includes: acquiring a second captured image (S34) by capturing the first portion from the first direction after acquiring the first captured image; and determining a correction amount (S31) for the correction by comparing the first shape with the shape of the first portion based on the second captured image (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Kawaguchi further teaches the determining the correction amount includes: dividing an area containing the first portion of the first image (test pattern) into two or more rectangular areas (Fig. 9-13); and determining the correction amounts for respective correction points in the respective rectangular areas by the comparing (S31; [0104]).
Regarding claim 5, Kawaguchi further teaches comprising receiving input to designate the first portion (distorted region; [0104]).
Regarding claim 6, Kawaguchi further teaches determining the first portion by extracting a contour contained in the first image (resolution chart) (test pattern; [0104]-[0108]; Fig. 9-11).
Regarding claim 7, Kawaguchi further teaches the first portion and the second portion are in a same layer in the first image (resolution chart) (test pattern; Fig. 9-11).
Regarding claim 8, Kawaguchi teaches a projector (100) comprising: an optical device (50); and a control device (20) controlling the optical device (50), wherein the control device (20) executes displaying a first image (test pattern) including a first portion and a second portion different from the first portion on a screen using the optical device (50; S14), the first image (resolution chart, e.g., resolution chart) containing a background (blank/white) and a character on the background (blank/white), the first portion including at least a part of the character, the second portion including only a part of the background (blank/white) without including any part of the character; storing information representing a first shape which is a shape of the first portion when the screen is seen from a first direction (S24, S34, S44, S54), and when the shape of the first portion as seen from the first direction changes to a shape different from the first shape, displaying, using the optical device (50), a second image obtained by performing correction on the first image (test pattern) to make the shape of the first portion as seen from the first direction closer to the first shape (S31, S32), and not performing the correction on the second portion on the screen (Fig. 6).
Kawaguchi does not teach “correcting on the screen the first portion that includes at least a part of the character and not correcting on the screen the second portion that includes only a part of the background without including any part of the character.”
Choosing a test pattern such that applying the correction to the test pattern results in the first portion of test pattern that includes at least a part of the character being corrected and the second portion of test pattern that includes only a part of the background without including any part of the character not being corrected is a matter of design choice that does not have any effect on the functionality of the reference invention; hence it is prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 9, Kawaguchi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([0072], [0075], [0077]) storing a program for causing a processing device to execute: displaying a first image (test pattern; [0078]) containing a first portion and a second portion different from the first portion on a screen by a projector (100; S14), the first image (resolution chart, e.g., resolution chart) containing a background (blank/white) and a character on the background (blank/white), the first portion including at least a part of the character, the second portion including only a part of the background (blank/white) without including any part of the character; storing information representing a first shape which is a shape of the first portion when the screen is seen from a first direction (S24, S34, S44, S54); and when the shape of the first portion as seen from the first direction changes to a shape different from the first shape, displaying, by the projector (100), a second image obtained by performing correction on the first image (test pattern) to make the shape of the first portion as seen from the first direction closer to the first shape (S31, S32), and not performing the correction on the second portion on the screen (Fig. 6).
Kawaguchi does not teach “correcting on the screen the first portion that includes at least a part of the character and not correcting on the screen the second portion that includes only a part of the background without including any part of the character.”
Choosing a test pattern such that applying the correction to the test pattern results in the first portion of test pattern that includes at least a part of the character being corrected and the second portion of test pattern that includes only a part of the background without including any part of the character not being corrected is a matter of design choice that does not have any effect on the functionality of the reference invention; hence it is prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) s 1, 8, and 9 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground/s of rejection/s necessitated by the amendment/s of claims 1, 8, and 9.
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882