DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (2022/0157493) in view of Clark (2005/0056454).
Park et al. discloses a cable (Figs 1-3) comprising a single twisted pair of conductors, wherein the single twisted pair of conductors has a pair lay length and a pair impedance, wherein the single twisted pair of conductors has a frequency ratio which is a ratio of the pair impedance to the pair lay length; and a sheath (200) encapsulating the single twisted pair of conductors, wherein the cable further comprises an insulation layer (12 or 120) at least partially covering each conductor of the at least one twisted pair of conductors (re-claim 1).
Park et al. does not disclose the frequency ratio between 4.77-7.0 and the insulation layer having at least one solid insulation layer and a foam insulation layer (re-claim 1).
Clark discloses a cable comprising a twisted pair of conductors, wherein the twisted pair of conductors has a frequency ratio between 4.77-7.0 (Table 1, Pair 2, 100 Ω / 18.9 mm or 0.744 in. = 5.29).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the single twisted pair of conductors of Park et al. with the frequency ratio taught by Clark to meet the specific use of the resulting cable. It is noted that since the modified cable of Park et al. comprises structure and material as claimed, the cable can operate between 0.1 MHz to 20 MHz.
Although not disclosed by Park et al., it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the insulation layer of Park et al. to have at least one solid insulation layer and a foam insulation layer (foam/skin) to meet the required mechanical/electrical properties of the cable since an insulation having a foam/skin structure surrounding a conductor is well-known in the art.
Re-claim 8, Park et al. discloses the insulation layer (12 or 120) having at least one layer of polyolefin ([0046]).
Re-claims 9-11, Park et al. discloses the cable further comprising a first metal layer (310) at least partially covering the twisted pair of conductors; and a second metal layer (320) at least partially covering the first metal layer, wherein the second metal layer does not fully cover the first metal layer (i.e., the second metal layer is a braid layer).
Re-claim 12, park et al. discloses the single twisted pair of conductors being twisted.
Re-claim 13, it is known by one ordinary skill in the art that twisting a pair of conductors would shorten the (actual) length of the conductors. Accordingly, in the twisted pair of conductors of Park et al., the (actual) length of each conductor is greater than the cable length. Park et al. does not disclose the length of each conductor being 105 to 115% of the cable length. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify each conductor of Park et al. such that the length of each conductor is 105 to 115% of the cable length to meet the specific use of the resulting cable. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Re-claim 14, Park et al., as modified by Clark, discloses the cable having an impedance greater than 80 Ω.
Re-claim 15, Park et al., as modified by Clark, discloses the frequency ratio being greater than 4.77.
Re-claim 16, Park et al. discloses the cable being an Outer Foil Shield/Unshielded Twisted Pair cable.
Re-claim 17, Park et al. discloses the cross-sectional diameter of each conductor being 24 AWG ([0043], 0.5 mm = 24 AWG).
Re-claim 18, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use a low smoke zero halogen jacket for the sheath of Park et al. to provide the cable with flame/fire retardant properties since such jacket is well-known in the art.
Re-claim 19, Park et al. discloses the pair lay length of the single twisted pair of conductors being between 8 mm to 18 mm ([0015]).
Re-claim 20, it is noted that since the single twisted pair of conductors of Park et al. has the lay length as claimed, the (actual) length of the conductors is required an increase between 5% to 15%.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant argues that Clark is concerned with multi-pair cable, while Park is directed to a single-pair cable. One skilled in the art would have no reason to look to Clark when designing a single-pair cable.
Examiner would disagree. Although Clark discloses a cable comprising multiple pairs, Clark does design each twisted pair separately, see Table 1. Accordingly, one skilled in the art would look to Clark when designing a single pair of a plurality of single pairs. Furthermore, it has been held that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicant argues that claim requires an insulation layer consisting of a solid layer and a foam layer. Examiner would disagree because claim 1 does not cite the insulation layer consisting of a solid layer and a foam layer.
Applicant argues that examiner’s modification would alter the dielectric profile, fatally shift the insulation structure, and disrup the claimed ratio. Because reducing the dielectric constant would increase the impedance.
Examiner would disagree. As cited in claim 1, the frequency ratio is between 4.77 to 7. As pointed out in the rejection above, the frequency ratio taught by Clark is 5.29. It is in the middle of the claimed range. Even if the dielectric constant of the insulation layer is being reduced, the frequency ratio taught by Clark will not go over the upper limit, 7.0, as claimed.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841