DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the temperature control apparatus connected to the temperature measuring apparatus and the heat radiation source as recited in claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a temperature measuring apparatus and a temperature control apparatus in claim 10 wherein the temperature measuring/temperature control is a functional language with the apparatus being a generic placeholder for means.
The temperature measuring apparatus is interpreted an infrared temperature sensor as disclosed in the specification, or its equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “a temperature control apparatus” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not disclose what a corresponding structure would be for the temperature control apparatus. For purposes of examination, a temperature control apparatus is interpreted to include any device or means that is capable of controlling the heat radiation source, or its equivalents. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 11, 12-14, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Collins (US 2015/0037019).
With respect to claims 1, 11 and 20, Collins discloses the heating apparatus for a semiconductor device/substrate disposed in a vacuum atmosphere of a vacuum apparatus (para 0031) wherein the heating apparatus includes a carrier (118 shown by a susceptor support in Figures 1 and 3) having a first abutting part (302), a heat colleting plate (120 shown by a susceptor) comprising a working surface (600 a top side as shown in Figure 6) disposed on the carrier, the first abutting part abuts an edge of the heating collecting plate (as illustrated in Figure 1) on a side opposite to the working surface (top side), and a heat radiation source (102) disposed on the side of the heat collecting plate opposite to the working surface and separated from the heat collecting plate by a predetermined distance as heat radiation is emitted in a non-contact manner wherein the heat collecting plate receives the heat radiation and heats an object (108) disposed on the working surface of the heat collecting plate (120; susceptor) in a contact manner.
With respect to claims 2 and 12, Collins discloses the heat collecting plate having a second abutting part (502) at the edge of the heat collecting plate (also, see Figure 6) with a thickness of the second abutting part is smaller than a thickness of remaining parts of the heating collecting plate wherein the second abutting part is supported on by the first abutting part of the carrier.
With respect to claims 3, 4, 13 and 14, Collins discloses a heat insulation structure (304) having a ball shape arranged between the first abutting part (302) of the carrier (108) and the second abutting part (502) of the heat collecting plate (120) wherein such ball can be a wedge structure as claimed.
With respect to claims 9 and 19, Collins discloses a radiation reflecting plate (144) disposed on the side of the heat radiation source opposite to the heat collecting plate wherein heat radiation by the heat radiation source is reflected to the heating collecting plate.
Claim(s) 1, 8, 11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokouchi (US 2014/0270734).
With respect to claims 1 and 11, Yokouchi discloses the heating apparatus for a semiconductor device/substrate disposed in a vacuum atmosphere of a vacuum apparatus (para 0038) wherein the heating apparatus includes a carrier (22 shown by a susceptor support plate in Figure 1) having a first abutting part upon which a heat colleting plate (70 shown by a susceptor) is supported thereon, the heat collecting plate having a working surface upon which an object (W) is disposed thereon, the first abutting part abuts an edge of the heating collecting plate (as illustrated in Figure 1) on a side opposite to the working surface, and a heat radiation source (HL) disposed on the side of the heat collecting plate opposite to the working surface and separated from the heat collecting plate by a predetermined distance as heat radiation is emitted in a non-contact manner wherein the heat collecting plate receives the heat radiation and heats the object (W) disposed on the working surface of the heat collecting plate (120; susceptor) in a contact manner.
With respect to claims 8 and 11, Yokouchi discloses the carrier (22) that is provided with a carrying structure adapted to a shape of the heat collecting plate (also, see Figure 2) wherein the carrying structure includes a concave stepped structure wherein a bottom surface forms the first abutting part that only is in contact with the heat collecting plate (70) as illustrated in Figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins (US 2015/0037019) in view of Takagi (US 2003/0015141).
With respect to claims 5 and 15, Collins discloses the structure claimed including the heat insulation structure but does not explicitly show the heat insulation structure is integrally formed with the first abutting part of the carrier as claimed.
Takagi discloses a carrier (24) having a heat insulation structure shown by a column shaped that is integrally formed with the carrier for carrying or supporting a heat collecting plate (i.e., a susceptor 22) as illustrated in Figures 3A and 3B. Also, see para 0032.
In view of Takagi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Collins with the heat insulation structure that is integrally formed with the carrier as the heat insulation structure and the carrier can be made of the same material to form a mechanically stable and continuous structure that is less prone to breaks or separations.
With respect to claims 6 and 16, Collins as well as Takagi show the heat collecting plate (susceptor) has a circular or disk shape wherein Takagi further shows the heat insulation structure having at least three heat insulating columns (as the susceptor is supported at three points from the carrier 24; para 0032 of Takagi) along a circumferential direction of the heat collecting plate.
With respect to claims 7 and 17, Takagi shows the heat insulating columns as illustrated in Figures 3A and 3B, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the columns that are cylindrical or other shapes claimed as a matter of design choice or routine experimentations, lacking criticality, having an adequate mechanical strength that would predictably support the heat collection plate without the insulation column easily becoming broken or deformed.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins (US 2015/0037019) in view of Comita et al (US 2004/0053515).
Collins discloses the structure claimed including a temperature measuring apparatus (142) disposed on the side of the working surface of the collecting plate and separated from the heat collecting plate by a set distance (also, see Figure 1), but Collins does not a temperature control apparatus connected to the temperature measuring apparatus to adjust the temperature of the heat radiation source as claimed.
Comita shows it is known to provide a temperature measuring apparatus (237) disposed on the side of a working surface of a heat collecting plate (220) wherein a temperature control apparatus (150) is connected to the temperature measuring apparatus and a heat radiation source (234) so as to control the heat radiation source to obtain a desired temperature as desired (234; also, see para 0056 and 0061).
In view of Comita, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Collins with a temperature control apparatus connected to the temperature measuring apparatus and the heat radiation source so that the heating temperature for the object can be predictably obtained for proper and desired heating application of the object as known in the art.
Conclusion
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761