DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 20-30, 32-34 and 36-41 are pending in the application and are currently being examined. Claims 20, 26, 32, and 40 have been amended. Claims 1-19, 31, and 35 have been canceled. No new claims have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument on page 9 of the Remarks related to independent claim 20 that the prior art combination of Liou in view of Li does not show why the modification of Liou to have the thickness taught by Li as obvious, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that the liner layer of Li is not applicable due to Li being directed to a sidewall protection function, while Liou teaches the IMD_x+1 layer is not formed on a sidewall. However, Examiner argues that the shape of Li is not pertinent to the function of the liner in the art. The liner 130 of Li is used to teach that the stated thickness (20nm) of the dielectric material is known as an isolation layer in the art. Both the IMD_x+1 layer of Liou and the liner of Li are made of SiN ([0045-46] of Liou and [0040] of Li), and both the IMD_x+1 layer and the liner 130 are used to function as barrier layers. So, while Li teaches an L-shaped liner, it is more to teach a SiN layer functions as a barrier layer at a specific thickness.
Regarding the arguments on page 10 of the Remarks related to independent claim 32, as the arguments are “at least the reasons described above with respect to independent claim 20”, the arguments will not be repeated here, and Examiner refers back to the above arguments and the rejection to follow.
Regarding the arguments of the dependent claims, as the arguments are “the same reasons [as] independent claims 20 and 32”, the arguments will not be repeated here, and Examiner refers back to the above arguments and the rejection to follow.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/18/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-22 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liou et al. (US 2015/0340594 A1, hereafter Liou) in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0285606 A1, hereafter Li)
Regarding claim 20, Fig. 3 of Liou teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate (substrate, [0040]) including a semiconductor circuit (layer with transistors T, [0044]);
a dielectric layer (IMD_x, [0044]) disposed over the substrate (substrate), the dielectric layer (IMD_x) including a conductive pad (M_x) coupled to the semiconductor circuit (layer with transistors T) (Liou states in [0045] that a contact plug C makes an electrical connection from the transistors T to the interconnect structure above);
a barrier layer (IMD_x+1, [0048]) disposed on and extending laterally across a top surface of the dielectric layer (IMD_x);
a conductive via (1010* and V_x, [0050]) with a first end (see annotated Fig. 3) connected to the conductive pad (M_x, [0048]), the conductive via (1010* and V_x) extending, in a direction perpendicular to the top surface of the dielectric layer (IMD_x), from the conductive pad (M_x) through the dielectric layer (IMD_x) and the barrier layer (IMD_x+1); and
an anisotropic magneto-resistive (AMR) stack (magnetoresistive material layer 2000, [0039], defined to be a layer or a stack in [0034]) disposed over the barrier layer (IMD_x+1), wherein the AMR stack (2000) is in contact with a second end (see annotated Fig. 3) of the conductive via (1010* and V_x) opposite the first end.
While Liou does not explicitly show a sacrificial layer disposed on the barrier layer in Fig. 3, [0050] describes this layer as being formed similar to the rest of the interconnect structures, such as the ILD layers. Then, [0045] states the ILD layers can be a single layer or multi-layered. This would make a second layer in the barrier layer (IMD_x+1), referred to here as a sacrificial layer in part due to it being etched away for placing a bonding wire or bump, an obvious variant in Liou.
As the conductive via (1010* and V_x) extends through the entirety of the now multi-layered barrier layer (IMD_x+1), the conductive via (1010* and V_x) extends through the sacrificial layer.
Liou also teaches the second end of the conductive via (1010* and V_x) is coplanar with a surface of the sacrificial layer (IMD_x+1) as the sacrificial layer is a part of layer IMD_x+1, which is itself coplanar with the second end of the conductive via (see annotated Fig. 3).
Liou is silent on the barrier layer having a thickness ranging from approximately 20 to approximately 100 nanometers (nm). This would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to select a thickness of a barrier layer that is known to be used in a magnetoresistive device for the purposes of isolation. Li teaches a thickness of a liner/barrier layer to be 20 nm [0040], within the range of the present application. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the IMD_x+1 layer of Liou to have the thickness taught by Li in order to have a functioning isolation layer.
Regarding claim 21, Fig 3 of Liou in view of Li teaches the semiconductor device of claim 20, further comprising:
a passivation layer (passivation layer, [0048]) covering the AMR stack (magnetoresistive layer 2000, [0039]).
Regarding claim 22, Fig 3 of Liou in view of Li teaches the semiconductor device of claim 20, wherein the AMR stack (magnetoresistive layer 2000, [0049]) includes a layer of NiFe alloy [0040], and wherein the layer of NiFe alloy is in contact with the second end of the conductive via (1010* and V_x, [0050], see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 24, Fig 3 of Liou in view of Li teaches the semiconductor device of claim 22, wherein the second end of the conductive via (1010* and V_x, [0050]) is coplanar with a surface of the barrier layer (IMD_x+1, [0048]), and wherein the layer of NiFe alloy (magnetoresistive layer 2000, [0049]) is disposed on the surface of the barrier layer (IMD_x+1).
Regarding claim 25, Fig 3 of Liou in view of Li teaches the semiconductor device of claim 22, wherein the layer of NiFe alloy (magnetoresistive layer 2000, [0049]) is disposed on the surface of the sacrificial layer (IMD_x+1, [0048]).
Claim(s) 23 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liou in view of Berry et al. (US 2018/0315599 A1, hereafter Berry) and Zenke et al. (US Pat. 5,525,540 A, hereafter Zenke).
Regarding claim 23, Fig 3 of Liou in view of Li teaches the semiconductor device of claim 22, wherein the barrier layer (IMD_x+1, [0048]) blocks Ni or Fe atoms of the AMR stack (magnetoresistive material layer 2000, [0039]) from diffusing through the barrier layer (IMD_x+1). While Liou is silent of the barrier layer blocking Ni or Fe atoms of the AMR stack, [0050] describes this layer as being formed similar to the rest of the interconnect structures, such as the ILD layers. Then, [0045] states the ILD layers can be formed of silicon nitride, which is known in the art to block Ni atoms as taught by Berry [0021] and Zenke (column 4 lines 13-17).
Regarding claim 27, Fig 3 of Liou in view of Li teaches the semiconductor device of claim 20, wherein the barrier layer (IMD_x+1, [0048]) blocks one or more constituent atoms of the AMR stack (magnetoresistive material layer 2000, [0039]) from diffusing through the barrier layer (IMD_x+1). While Liou is silent of the barrier layer blocking constituent atoms of the AMR stack (Ni or Fe atoms of Liou, [0019]), [0050] describes this layer as being formed similar to the rest of the interconnect structures, such as the ILD layers. Then, [0045] states the ILD layers can be formed of silicon nitride, which is known in the art to block Ni atoms as taught by Berry [0021] and Zenke (column 4 lines 13-17).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liou in view of Li in view of Yin et al. (US 2022/0328758 A1, hereafter Yin).
Regarding claim 26, Fig 3 of Liou in view of Li teaches the semiconductor device of claim 20, wherein the sacrificial layer includes a tetraethyl orthosilicate (TEOS) layer (Liou discloses the ILD layers can be formed TEOS [0045]). Liou is silent on the TEOS layer having a thickness ranging from approximately 5 to approximately 30 nm. This would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to select a thickness of a TEOS layer that is known to be used in a magnetoresistive device. Yin teaches a thickness of a TEOS layer to be 20 nm [0023], within the range of the present application.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liou in view of Li in view of Winarski et al. (US 2005/0231846 A1, hereafter Winarski).
Regarding claim 28, Fig 3 of Liou in view of Li teaches the semiconductor device of claim 20. While Liou does not explicitly teach the semiconductor circuit (layer with transistors T, [0044]) includes one or more components configured to alter data stored therein in response to receiving ultraviolet (UV) light, Liou does state that the active devices can include memory cells [0045]. One of ordinary skill in the art would know to include a memory cell already known before the effective filing date that is known to work within a magneto-resistive device. Winarski discloses an electrically programmable read only memory (EPROM) cell within their magneto-resistive device [0035]. This EPROM is known to be erased with UV light ([0035] of Winarski). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liou to include the EPROM of Winarski to get the expected result of a functional memory device.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liou in view of Li in view of Winarski in further view of Huynh et al. (US 2017/0316834 A1, hereafter Huynh).
Regarding claim 29, Fig 3 of Liou in view of Li in view of Winarski teach the semiconductor device of claim 28, wherein the one or more components include an electrically programmable read only memory (EPROM). Liou in view of Winarski fail to explicitly state the EPROM has a floating gate, though Huynh indicates floating gates within EPROM are known in the art [0010].
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liou in view of Li in view of Chang et al. (US Pat. 9,589,969 B1, hereafter Chang).
Regarding claim 30, Fig 3 of Liou teaches the semiconductor device of claim 20. Liou is silent on the barrier layer (IMD_x+1, [0048]) transmits ultraviolet (UV) light to the semiconductor circuit (layer with transistors T, [0044]). However, Liou discloses the barrier layer as being formed similar to the rest of the interconnect structures, such as the ILD layers [0045]. Then, [0045] states the ILD layers can be formed of silicon nitride. This material is known in the art to have high ultraviolet transmittance, as stated by Chang in column 4 lines 18-23.
Claim(s) 32, 34, 36, and 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liou in view of Li in view of Someya (US 2016/0005744 A1).
Regarding claim 32, Fig 3 of Liou teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate (substrate, [0040]) including a semiconductor circuit (layer with transistors T, [0044]);
a protective overcoat layer (IMD_x, [0044]) disposed over the substrate (substrate), the protective overcoat layer (IMD_x) including a conductive pad (M_x, [0048]) coupled to the semiconductor circuit (layer with transistors T);
a silicon nitride layer (IMD_x+1, [0045] and [0048]) disposed on and extending laterally across a top surface of the protective overcoat layer (IMD_x);
a conductive via (1010* and V_x, [0050]) with a first end (see annotated Fig. 3) connected to the conductive pad (M_x), the conductive via (1010* and V_x) extending, in a direction perpendicular to the top surface of the protective overcoat layer, from the conductive pad (M_x) through the protective overcoat layer (IMD_x) and the silicon nitride layer (IMD_x+1) (Liou states in [0045] that a contact plug C makes an electrical connection from the transistors T to the interconnect structure above); and
an anisotropic magneto-resistive (AMR) stack (magnetoresistive material layer 2000, [0039], defined to be a layer or a stack in [0034]) disposed over the silicon nitride layer (IMD_x+1), wherein the AMR stack (2000) is in contact with a second end (see annotated Fig. 3) of the conductive via (1010* and V_x) opposite the first end.
Liou is silent on the SiN layer having a thickness ranging from approximately 20 nanometers (nm) to approximately 100 nm. This would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to select a thickness of a SiN layer that is known to be used in a magnetoresistive device for the purposes of isolation. Li teaches a thickness of a SiN layer to be 20 nm [0040], within the range of the present application. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the IMD_x+1 layer of Liou to have the thickness taught by Li in order to have a functioning isolation layer.
Liou in view of Li fail to explicitly teach the silicon nitride layer is at least partially transparent to UV light. However, silicon nitride with a thickness of 20 nm is known in the art to allow transmission of UV light, as Someya teaches in [0014] and Fig. 3. Someya specifically teaches a thinner silicon nitride film (of 20 nm or less) allows for a quick erasure time for the device [0016] as well as still preventing moisture from penetrating the device [0014].
Regarding claim 34, Fig 3 of Liou in view of Li in view of Someya teaches the semiconductor device of claim 32. While Liou in view of Li is silent on silicon nitride layer (IMD_x+1, [0045] and [0048]) transmits ultraviolet (UV) light to the semiconductor circuit (layer with transistors T, [0044]). However, silicon nitride with a thickness of 20 nm is known in the art to allow transmission of UV light, as Someya (US 2016/0005744 A1) teaches in [0014] and Fig. 3. As the semiconductor circuit is below the silicon nitride layer, the UV light would penetrate to the semiconductor circuit.
Regarding claim 36, Fig 3 of Liou in view of Li in view of Someya teaches the semiconductor device of claim 32, wherein the AMR stack (magnetoresistive material layer 2000, [0039]) includes a layer of NiFe alloy [0040], and wherein the layer of NiFe alloy (magnetoresistive layer 2000, [0049]) is in contact with the second end (see annotated Fig. 3) of the conductive via (1010* and V_x, [0050]).
Regarding claim 38, Fig 3 of Liou in view of Li in view of Someya teaches the semiconductor device of claim 36, wherein the second end (see annotated Fig. 3) of the conductive via (1010* and V_x, [0050]) is coplanar with a surface of the silicon nitride layer (IMD_x+1, [0048]), and wherein the layer of NiFe alloy (magnetoresistive layer 2000, [0049]) is disposed on the surface of the silicon nitride layer (IMD_x+1).
Regarding claim 39, Fig 3 of Liou in view of Li in view of Someya teaches the semiconductor device of claim 36, wherein the second end (see annotated Fig. 3) of the conductive via (1010* and V_x, [0050]) is coplanar with a surface of a tetraethyl orthosilicate (TEOS) layer disposed on the silicon nitride layer (IMD_x+1, [0048]), and wherein the layer of NiFe alloy (magnetoresistive layer 2000, [0049]) is disposed on the surface of the TEOS layer. While Liou does not explicitly show a sacrificial layer disposed on the barrier layer in Fig. 3, [0050] describes this layer as being formed similar to the rest of the interconnect structures, such as the ILD layers. Then, [0045] states the ILD layers can be a single layer or multi-layered. Liou further discloses the ILD layers can be formed of either silicon nitride or TEOS. This would make a TEOS layer disposed on the silicon nitride layer an obvious variant in Liou.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liou in view of Li in view of Someya in view of Winarski and in further view of Huynh et al. (US 2017/0316834 A1, hereafter Huynh).
Regarding claim 33, Fig 3 of Liou in view of Li in view of Someya teaches the semiconductor device of claim 32, wherein the semiconductor circuit (layer with transistors T, [0044]). While Liou in view of Li in view of Someya does not explicitly state the circuit includes an electrically programmable read only memory (EPROM) having a floating gate, the EPROM configured to alter data stored therein in response to ultraviolet (UV) light, Liou does state that the active devices can include memory cells [0045]. One of ordinary skill in the art would know to include a memory cell already known before the effective filing date that is known to work within a magneto-resistive device. Winarski discloses an electrically programmable read only memory (EPROM) cell within their magneto-resistive device [0035]. This EPROM is known to be erased with UV light ([0035] of Winarski). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liou to include the EPROM of Winarski to get the expected result of a functional memory device. Liou in view of Winarski fail to explicitly state the EPROM has a floating gate, though Huynh indicates floating gates within EPROM are known in the art [0010].
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liou in view of Li in view of Someya in view of Berry et al. (US 2018/0315599 A1, hereafter Berry) and Zenke et al. (US Pat. 5,525,540 A, hereafter Zenke).
Regarding claim 37, Fig 3 of Liou in view of Li in view of Someya teaches the semiconductor device of claim 36, wherein the silicon nitride layer (IMD_x+1, [0048]) blocks Ni or Fe atoms of the AMR stack (magnetoresistive material layer 2000, [0039]) from diffusing through the silicon nitride layer (IMD_x+1). While Liou in view of Li in view of Someya is silent of the barrier layer blocking Ni or Fe atoms of the AMR stack, [0050] describes this layer as being formed similar to the rest of the interconnect structures, such as the ILD layers. Then, [0045] states the ILD layers can be formed of silicon nitride, which is known in the art to block Ni atoms as taught by Berry [0021] and Zenke (column 4 lines 13-17).
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liou in view of Li in view of Someya in view of Yin et al. (US 2022/0328758 A1, hereafter Yin).
Regarding claim 40, Fig 3 of Liou in view of Li in view of Someya teaches the semiconductor device of claim 39. Liou in view of Li in view of Someya is silent on the TEOS layer having a thickness ranging from approximately 5 to approximately 30 nm. This would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to select a thickness of a TEOS layer that is known to be used in a magnetoresistive device. Yin teaches a thickness of a TEOS layer to be 20 nm [0023], within the range of the present application.
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liou in view of Li in view of Someya in view of Wu et al. (US 2020/0044146 A1, hereafter Wu).
Regarding claim 41, Fig 3 of Liou in view of Li in view of Someya teaches the semiconductor device of claim 32. Liou in view of Li in view of Li in view of Someya is silent on a silicon oxynitride layer covering the AMR stack (magnetoresistive material layer 2000, [0039]). However, Liou shows a passivation layer covering the AMR stack in Fig. 3. One of ordinary skill in the art would select a material that is known to be used as a passivation layer in magnetoresistive devices. Wu teaches a magnetoresistive device in which the passivation layer (330, [0057]) is formed of silicon oxynitride [0057].
Conclusion
/SAMMANTHA K SALAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892