DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The claims use the terms “spinning LiDAR system” and “scanning LiDAR system”. These terms are explained in the Specification, paragraph [0051] as follows: “The spinning LiDAR sensor 117 may be configured to rotate 360° and take a “shot” of a scene of the vehicle environment, meaning that all points on a vertical line are acquired at approximately the same time by the spinning LiDAR sensor 117. In contrast, the scanning LiDAR sensor 119 may be configured to acquire points in an iterative fashion, moving upward sequentially to image an area in front of the scanning LiDAR sensor 119”. The Examiner interprets the spinning LidAR sensor is interpreted as acquiring points azimuthally, while the scanning LiDAR system is interpreted as acquired points along an altitude (or polar angle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 13-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Purdy (US 12,240,445).
With regard to claim 1, Purdy discloses a method (Fig. 10, see also Fig. 4 for system components) for detecting and measuring object velocity, comprising:
using a spinning Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) system (rotating LIDAR 202(1)), generating a first LIDAR point cloud of an environment surrounding a vehicle;
using a scanning LiDAR system (scanning LIDAR 202(2)), generating a second LiDAR point cloud of the environment surrounding the vehicle; and
using a processor (Fig. 14, element 1404, 25th col. lines 9-15): identifying
points within the first LIDAR point cloud coinciding with a position of an object; and points within the second LiDAR point cloud coinciding with a position of the object;
determining whether the points within the second LiDAR point cloud line up with the points within the first LiDAR point cloud; and
when the points within the second LiDAR point cloud do not line up with the points within the first LiDAR point cloud, determining that the object is moving (velocity attribute determined based on difference between first point cloud and second point cloud, 10th col. lines 38-41, implicitly there is a non-zero velocity when the point clouds do not line up).
With regard to claim 7, Purdy discloses a system for detecting and measuring object velocity, comprising (Fig. 4):
a spinning Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) system (rotating LIDAR 202(1)), coupled to a vehicle (102), configured to generate a first LiDAR point cloud (112(1)) of an environment surrounding the vehicle;
a scanning LiDAR system, (scanning LIDAR 202(2)) coupled to the vehicle (102), configured to generate a second LIDAR point cloud (112(2)) of the environment surrounding the vehicle; and
a processor (25th col. lines 9-15, and Fig. 14, element (1416) )coupled to the vehicle, configured to store programming instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to identify:
points within the first LIDAR point cloud coinciding with a position of an object; and
points within the second LiDAR point cloud coinciding with a position of the object;
determine whether the points within the second LiDAR point cloud line up with the points within the first LiDAR point cloud; and
when the points within the second LiDAR point cloud do not line up with the points within the first LIDAR point cloud, determine that the object is moving (velocity attribute determined based on difference between first point cloud and second point cloud, 10th col. lines 38-41, implicitly there is a non-zero velocity when the point clouds do not line up).
With regard to claim 14, Purdy discloses a system for detecting and measuring object velocity, comprising (Fig. 4):
a spinning Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) system (rotating LIDAR 202(1)), coupled to a vehicle (102), configured to generate a first LiDAR point cloud (112(1)) of an environment surrounding the vehicle;
a scanning LiDAR system, (scanning LIDAR 202(2)) coupled to the vehicle (102), configured to generate a second LIDAR point cloud (112(2)) of the environment surrounding the vehicle; and
a computing device (Fig. 14, element 1404, 25th col. lines 9-15), comprising a processor (1416) and a memory (1418), coupled to the vehicle, configured to store programming instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: identify:
points within the first LIDAR point cloud coinciding with a position of an object; and
points within the second LiDAR point cloud coinciding with a position of the object;
determine whether the points within the second LiDAR point cloud line up with the points within the first LiDAR point cloud; and
when the points within the second LiDAR point cloud do not line up with the points within the first LIDAR point cloud, determine that the object is moving (velocity attribute determined based on difference between first point cloud and second point cloud, 10th col. lines 38-41, implicitly there is a non-zero velocity when the point clouds do not line up).
With regard to claims 2, 8, and 15, the velocity is determined based on the difference in position between the points within the second LIDAR point cloud and the points within the first LIDAR point cloud (also including the time difference, 12th col. lines 35-57).
With regard to claims 3, 9, and 16, the calculation of the velocity using the difference in point clouds according to the method (12th col. lines 35-57) will result in determining that the object is not moving when the point clouds line up.
With regard to claims 13, and 20 the system further includes a vehicle (102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 10-11, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purdy as applied to claims 1, 7, and 14 above, and further in view of LaChapelle et al. (US 2023/0213628).
Purdy does not specifically disclose, but LaChapelle teaches in the same field of endeavor, that the point cloud is generated in a single scan across a field of regard of a LIDAR scanner (para. [0152], motion of single facet of polygon mirror corresponds to a scan producing one point cloud). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, e. g. an optical engineer, to configure the scanning LIDAR system of Purdy before the effective filing date of the application, to generate a point cloud with a single scan of the scanning LIDAR as suggested by LaChapelle, to quickly obtain complete data of the environment which is desirable for the safe operation of autonomous vehicle (Purdy, 6th col. lines 7-16). Similarly, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, e. g. an optical engineer, to configure the spinning LIDAR system of Purdy before the effective filing date of the application, to generate a point cloud with a single scan of the scanning LIDAR as suggested by LaChapelle, to quickly obtain complete data of the environment which is desirable for the safe operation of autonomous vehicle (Purdy, 6th col. lines 7-16).
Claim(s) 6, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purdy as applied to claims 1, 7, and 14 above, and further in view of Pennecot et al. (US 2018/0011196). Purdy does not specifically disclose that the spinning LIDAR system is coupled (physically) to the scanning LIDAR system. However, in the same field of endeavor, Pennecot et al. teach a LIDAR system mounted on a vehicle (see Fig. 1B and para. [0047], comprising a first LIDAR (120), and a second LIDAR (122) coupled to the first via a dividing structure (124) ). The first and second LIDAR may be rotating in various configurations. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, e. g. an optical engineer, before the effective filing date of the application to couple the first and second LIDAR of Purdy, as taught by Pennecot et al., for compactness and to manufacture the LIDAR and associated processors as a single unit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Gassend et al. disclose multiple LIDAR sensors with different scanning directions.
/ERIC L BOLDA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645