Detailed Correspondence
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ amendment of the claim, filed on 03/31/2026, in response to the rejection of claims 1-20 from the final office action (12/31/2025), by amending claims 1-2, 11, 13-14, 16, and 20 is entered and will be addressed below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, Figs. 2-6, in the reply filed on 08/15/2025 is acknowledged. Applicants designated claims 1-20 are generic.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an insulation plate 650” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “500” has been used to designate both housing and pointed to the component below 630 (Figs. 2 and 8).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “a gas supply unit” in claims 1, 13, and 20, this is considered as a gas supply source ([0123]).
The “a support unit” of claim 1 is no longer examined under 112(f) as it is structurally modified by “the support unit includes,
a support plate configured to support the substrate,
a body below the support plate and configured to receive high frequency power to generate plasma in the treatment space, and
an insulation plate below the body“
The “wherein the connection portion and the lift pin bush are sintered together and integral with each other” of claim 14, how the connection portion and the lift pin bush is formed integrally is a product by process claim.
The “the connection portion is formed above the lift pin bush” of claim 15, Applicants’ Fig. 4 shows the connection portion 646 is below the top surface of the bush 640. The connection portion seems to be above the center portion of the bush 640 and claim 15 will be examined inclusive this interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20190157130, from IDS, hereafter ‘130), in view of SARODE et al. (US 20210233799, from IDS, hereafter ‘799) and OSHIMA (US 20210166958, hereafter ‘958).
‘130 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: FIG. 3 is a sectional view illustrating a substrate treating apparatus according to an embodiment of the inventive concept. FIG. 4 is a sectional view illustrating a support unit provided in the substrate treating apparatus of FIG. 3 ([0033], includes the claimed “A substrate treatment apparatus for treating a substrate, the substrate treatment apparatus comprising”):
The process chamber 100 provides a treatment space 101 in which a substrate treating process is performed, in the interior thereof ([0034], includes the claimed “a housing having a treatment space in which the substrate is treated”);
The support unit 200 comprises an electrostatic chuck 210 ([0036]), the substrate W is suctioned on the electrostatic chuck 210 by an electrostatic force ([0039], includes the claimed “a support unit configured to support the substrate in the treatment space”);
The gas supply unit 400 supplies a process gas into the process chamber 100. The gas supply unit 400 comprises a gas supply nozzle 410, a gas supply line 420, and a gas storage unit 430 ([0065], includes the claimed “and a gas supply unit configured to supply a gas to the treatment space”),
The support unit 200 comprises an electrostatic chuck 210, an electrode plate 220, an insulation plate 230, a gas line 250 ([0036]), The electrode plate 220 may be grounded or a high-frequency power source may be connected to the electrode plate 220 ([0040], includes the claimed “the support unit includes, a support plate configured to support the substrate, a body below the support plate and configured to receive high frequency power to generate plasma in the treatment space, and an insulation plate below the body“),
The gas line 250, through which the heat transfer gas is supplied into the space 213 between the bottom surface of the substrate W and the upper surface of the electrostatic chuck 210, is formed in the electrostatic chuck 210, the electrode plate 220, and the insulation plate 230 ([0044]), A gas supply pipe L1, through which the heat transfer gas is supplied from an external gas supply source, is connected to the gas line 250 ([0045]), The supply line 270 supplies the gas to the pin hole 261. According to an embodiment, the gas may be the same as the heat transfer gas ([0049]), A plurality of bosses are provided on an upper surface of the dielectric plate 211. The plurality of bosses provided in the dielectric plate 211 provide a space 213 in which a heat transfer gas flows between the substrate W and the dielectric plate 211 when the substrate W is positioned on the dielectric plate 211. The bosses have a ring shape, and the space 213 may be divided into a plurality of areas by the bosses ([0038]), A distribution line 223 communicates with the space 213 provided in the dielectric plate 211 and the gas line 250 such that the gas is supplied into the space 213 ([0043], includes the claimed “the body at least partially defines a heat transfer flow path, the heat transfer flow path including a main flow path, a first flow path connected to the main flow path and extending in a vertical direction, and a second flow path” and “the support unit is configured to supply a heat transfer medium to the substrate supported by the support unit via each of the main flow path, the first flow path, and the second flow path” and as shown in illustration below),
The lift pin 260 may be configured to the transportation robot (not illustrated) that transports the substrate W and the support unit 200 may send and receive the substrate W. A pin hole 261 is formed in the support unit 200, and the lift pin 260 is configured to elevate along the pin hole 261 ([0047], last sentence, includes the claimed “the support unit includes a lift pin in a pin hole defined by the support unit, the pin hole defining an elevation path of the lift pin, and the lift pin being configured to elevate the substrate supported by the support unit”),
A valve V1 that opens and closes the interior of the supply line 270 is provided in the supply line 270 ([0050], includes the claimed “and the support unit includes a connection portion that is configured to provide communication between the heat transfer flow path and the pin hole”, Note Fig. 4 has a wrong label V2, Fig. 3 has the corrected label V1).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Edge main
flow path)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First flow path)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second flow path)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Central
main
flow path)]
‘130 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: (1A) (the body at least partially defines a heat transfer flow path, the heat transfer flow path including a main flow path, a first flow path connected to the main flow path and extending in a vertical direction, and a second flow path), the second flow path being inside the body.
(1B) the connection portion including a porous structure.
In regarding to the limitation of 1A, ‘130’s horizontal second flow path is in the insulation plate instead of the electrode body. This is considered a simple re-arrangement of parts. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention only involves routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
Furthermore, ‘958 is analogous art in the field of PIPING ASSEMBLY AND SUBSTRATE PROCESSING APPARATUS (title), an electrostatic chuck ([0003]), The stage ST holds the substrate W on the upper surface of the stage ST. The stage ST has an electrostatic chuck ESC and a lower electrode LE. The lower electrode LE is made of, for example, a conductive material such as aluminum, and has substantially a disc shape. The electrostatic chuck ESC is disposed on the lower electrode LE (Fig. 1, [0029]), A substantially cylindrical support 14 made of, for example, an insulating material such as quartz is provided on the bottom of the processing container 12 ([0028], the same component order as instant application and ‘130). ‘958 teaches that A heat transfer gas such as a helium gas is supplied to the electrostatic chuck ESC via a pipe 18 and a piping assembly 20 ([0031]), Fig. 1 shows the horizontal second flow path of the piping assembly 20 is inside the lower electrode LE.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have re-arranged the horizontal second flow path of ‘130 from the insulation plate 230 to the electrode plate 220 (the limitation of 1A), as taught by ‘958, for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
In regarding to the limitation of 1B:
‘799 is analogous art in the field of a semiconductor vacuum processing chamber (Fig. 1, [0024]) including LIFT PIN ASSEMBLY (title), The substrate support pedestal 16 may include an electrostatic chuck 26 ([0017]), The purge cylinder creates an air bearing and reduces particle deposition on the substrate by preventing contact between the lift pin and the support assembly as the lift pin is in motion ([0015], last sentence). ‘799 teaches that Each nozzle 232 is connected to a conduit 242 that extends into the facility plate 115 to supply the nozzle 232 with fluid, for example clean dry air or nitrogen. The conduit 242 is in fluid connection with a circumferential plenum 243. The circumferential plenum 243 provides for equal pressure flow distribution through each nozzle 232. The circumferential plenum 243 is in fluid connection with the conduit 242 and each nozzle 232. Each conduit 242 is on the opposite side of each inlet 238. In one implementation, the nozzles 232 are disposed circumferentially around the lift pin 170. For example, nozzles 232 on the same transverse plane may be separated by an angle of about 120 degrees to about 180 degrees. The nozzles 232 may alternatively be configured as a porous material that allows fluid to flow radially inward towards the lift pin 170 (Fig. 3A, [0033], 3rd sentence).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the valve V1 of ‘130 with porous material nozzle 232 of ‘799, (or to have added porous material nozzle 232), to the supply line 270 of ‘130 (the limitation of 1B), for the purpose of radially flow toward lift pin and preventing contact between the lift pin and the support assembly as the lift pin is in motion, as taught by ‘799 ([0033], last sentence, [0015], last sentence), and/or for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
‘130 also teaches some limitations of:
Claim 13: FIG. 3 is a sectional view illustrating a substrate treating apparatus according to an embodiment of the inventive concept. FIG. 4 is a sectional view illustrating a support unit provided in the substrate treating apparatus of FIG. 3 ([0033], includes the claimed “A substrate treatment apparatus for treating a substrate, the substrate treatment apparatus comprising”):
The process chamber 100 provides a treatment space 101 in which a substrate treating process is performed, in the interior thereof ([0034], includes the claimed “a housing having a treatment space in which the substrate is treated”);
The support unit 200 comprises an electrostatic chuck 210 ([0036]), the substrate W is suctioned on the electrostatic chuck 210 by an electrostatic force ([0039], includes the claimed “a support unit configured to support the substrate in the treatment space”);
The gas supply unit 400 supplies a process gas into the process chamber 100. The gas supply unit 400 comprises a gas supply nozzle 410, a gas supply line 420, and a gas storage unit 430 ([0065], includes the claimed “and a gas supply unit configured to supply a gas to the treatment space”),
The plasma generating unit 300 excites a process gas in the process chamber 100 into a plasma state. A capacitive coupled plasma (CCP) unit is used as the plasma generating unit 300 ([0054], last sentence, includes the claimed “a plasma source configured to generate plasma by exciting the gas”),
The support unit 200 comprises an electrostatic chuck 210, an electrode plate 220, an insulation plate 230, a gas line 250 ([0036]), The electrode plate 220 may be grounded or a high-frequency power source may be connected to the electrode plate 220 ([0040], includes the claimed “wherein the support unit includes, a support plate configured to support the substrate, a body below the support plate and configured to receive high frequency power to generate plasma in the treatment space, and an insulation plate below the body“),
The gas line 250, through which the heat transfer gas is supplied into the space 213 between the bottom surface of the substrate W and the upper surface of the electrostatic chuck 210, is formed in the electrostatic chuck 210, the electrode plate 220, and the insulation plate 230 ([0044]), A gas supply pipe L1, through which the heat transfer gas is supplied from an external gas supply source, is connected to the gas line 250 ([0045]), The supply line 270 supplies the gas to the pin hole 261. According to an embodiment, the gas may be the same as the heat transfer gas ([0049]), A plurality of bosses are provided on an upper surface of the dielectric plate 211. The plurality of bosses provided in the dielectric plate 211 provide a space 213 in which a heat transfer gas flows between the substrate W and the dielectric plate 211 when the substrate W is positioned on the dielectric plate 211. The bosses have a ring shape, and the space 213 may be divided into a plurality of areas by the bosses ([0038]), A distribution line 223 communicates with the space 213 provided in the dielectric plate 211 and the gas line 250 such that the gas is supplied into the space 213 ([0043], includes the claimed “the body at least partially defines a heat transfer flow path inside the support unit, the heat transfer flow path including a main flow path, a first flow path connected to the main flow path and extending in a vertical direction, and a second flow path”, and “the support unit is configured to supply a heat transfer medium to the substrate supported by the support unit via each of the main flow path, the first flow path, and the second flow path” and as shown in illustration above),
The lift pin 260 may be configured to the transportation robot (not illustrated) that transports the substrate W and the support unit 200 may send and receive the substrate W. A pin hole 261 is formed in the support unit 200, and the lift pin 260 is configured to elevate along the pin hole 261 ([0047], last sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the support unit includes a pin hole therein; and a lift pin configured to elevate through the pin hole and configured to elevate the substrate supported by the support unit”),
A valve V1 that opens and closes the interior of the supply line 270 is provided in the supply line 270 ([0050], includes the claimed “a connection portion”),
A valve V1 that opens and closes the interior of the supply line 270 is provided in the supply line 270 ([0050], includes the claimed “the connection portion is connected to the second flow path“).
‘130 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 13: (13A) (the body at least partially defines a heat transfer flow path inside the support unit, the heat transfer flow path including a main flow path, a first flow path connected to the main flow path and extending in a vertical direction, and a second flow path), the second flow path being inside the body,
(13B) (wherein the support unit includes), a lift pin bush inside the support unit and defining (a pin hole therein);
(a connection portion) including a porous structure is on a side surface of the lift pin bush.
In regarding to the limitation of 13A, ‘130’s horizontal second flow path is in the insulation plate instead of the electrode body. This is considered a simple re-arrangement of parts. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention only involves routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
Furthermore, ‘958 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have re-arranged the horizontal second flow path of ‘130 from the insulation plate 230 to the electrode plate 220 (the limitation of 13A), as taught by ‘958, for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
In regarding to the limitation of 13B:
‘799 is analogous art as discussed above. ‘799 further teaches that each lift pin assembly 150 includes a lift pin guide 155, a bushing 165, a purge cylinder 160, the lift pin 170, and a hoop assembly 175 ([0026]), The purge cylinder 160 has a plurality of nozzles 232 ([0032], note the purge cylinder 160 is also considered as part of the bushing and the porous nozzle 232 is “a side surface of the lift pin bush”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the valve V1 of ‘130 with porous material nozzle 232 on a purge cylinder 160 of ‘799, (or to have added porous material nozzle 232 and a purge cylinder 160), to the supply line 270 of ‘130 (the limitation of 13B), for the purpose of radially flow toward lift pin and preventing contact between the lift pin and the support assembly as the lift pin is in motion, as taught by ‘799 ([0033], last sentence, [0015], last sentence), and/or for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
The combination of ‘130, ‘799, and ‘958 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 2: Each lift pin assembly 150 includes a lift pin guide 155, a bushing 165, a purge cylinder 160, the lift pin 170, and a hoop assembly 175 (‘799, [0026], includes the claimed “wherein the support unit further includes: a lift pin bush inside the body and defining at least a portion of the pin hole, wherein the connection portion is on a side surface of the lift pin bush” as discussed in claim 13 rejection above).
Claim 5: the illustration above, further modified by moving the horizontal flow path to the electrode plate 220, also shows the claimed “wherein the body defines the main flow path, the support plate and the body define the first flow path and the support unit is configured to supply the heat transfer medium to a lower surface of the substrate through the first flow path, and the body defines the second flow path, the second flow path connecting the main flow path and the connection portion”.
Claim 6: The valve V1 of ‘130 has the same diameter as the supply line 270 (includes the claimed “wherein a diameter of the second flow path corresponds to a diameter of the connection portion or is smaller than the diameter of the connection portion”).
Claim 11: illustration above shows the claimed “wherein the main flow path that includes a central flow path in a central region including a center of the body; and an edge flow path in an edge region surrounding the central region” as these features are in the electrode plate 220,
By moving the horizontal the supply line 270 from the insulation plate 230 to the electrode plate as taught by ‘958 (reads into the claimed “wherein the second flow path connects the central flow path and the connection portion”).
Claim 12: Three lift pins 260 may be provided (‘130, [0048], includes the claimed “wherein the support unit defines a plurality of pin holes inside the support unit”),
A plurality of supply lines 270 are branched from the gas line 250 and are connected to the pin holes 261 such that the heat transfer gas may be supplied to the pin holes 261 ([0049], 4th sentence, includes the claimed “the body defines a plurality of second flow paths inside the body, the plurality of pin holes being in fluid communication with the plurality of second flow paths, respectively”, also taught by ‘799).
Claims 3 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘130, ‘799, and ‘958, as being applied to claims 2 and 13 rejection above, further in view of SHIRAISHI et al. (US 20200286767, hereafter ‘767). Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable ‘130, in view of ‘799, ‘958, and ‘767.
‘799 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 3: The purge cylinder 160 has a plurality of nozzles 232 ([0032], 2nd sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the connection portion is with the side surface of the lift pin bush”).
The combination of ‘130 and ‘799 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 3: (wherein the connection portion is) integral (with the side surface of the lift pin bush).
Claim 14: wherein the connection portion and the lift pin bush are sintered together and integral with each other.
‘767 is analogous art in the field of ELECTROSTATIC CHUCK AND PROCESSING APPARATUS (title), including a plurality of lift pins and a drive device lifting the plurality of lift pins ([0300]). ’767 teaches that When the porous part 90 is provided in the ceramic dielectric substrate 11, for instance, the first porous part 90 may be integrated with the ceramic dielectric substrate 11. The state in which two members are integrated refers to the state in which the two members are chemically coupled by e.g. sintering (Fig. 1, [0100]), This can improve resistance to arc discharge while ensuring the flow rate of the gas flowing in the through hole 15 ([0099]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have sintered the purge cylinder 160 has a plurality of nozzles 232 forming integral part, as taught by ‘767, for the purpose of improving resistance to arc discharge, as taught by ‘767 ([0099]).
‘799 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 15: Fig. 3A shows the purge cylinder 160 has the shape of the claimed “wherein an upper portion of the lift pin bush has a first diameter, and a lower portion of the lift pin bush has a second diameter greater than the first diameter”,
the purge cylinder 160 has between 4 and 6 nozzles 232 ([0032], 3rd sentence, it would have been obvious to have arrange one of the nozzle 232 above the purge cylinder for spacing many nozzles, includes the claimed “and the connection portion is above the lift pin bush”, see also claim interpretation above).
‘130 also teaches some limitations of:
Claim 20: FIG. 3 is a sectional view illustrating a substrate treating apparatus according to an embodiment of the inventive concept. FIG. 4 is a sectional view illustrating a support unit provided in the substrate treating apparatus of FIG. 3 ([0033], includes the claimed “A substrate treatment apparatus for treating a substrate, the substrate treatment apparatus comprising”):
The process chamber 100 provides a treatment space 101 in which a substrate treating process is performed, in the interior thereof ([0034], includes the claimed “a housing having a treatment space in which the substrate is treated”);
The support unit 200 comprises an electrostatic chuck 210 ([0036]), the substrate W is suctioned on the electrostatic chuck 210 by an electrostatic force ([0039], includes the claimed “a support unit configured to support the substrate in the treatment space”);
The gas supply unit 400 supplies a process gas into the process chamber 100. The gas supply unit 400 comprises a gas supply nozzle 410, a gas supply line 420, and a gas storage unit 430 ([0065], includes the claimed “and a gas supply unit configured to supply a gas to the treatment space”),
The plasma generating unit 300 excites a process gas in the process chamber 100 into a plasma state. A capacitive coupled plasma (CCP) unit is used as the plasma generating unit 300 ([0054], last sentence, includes the claimed “a plasma source configured to generate plasma by exciting the gas”),
The electrostatic chuck 210 comprises a dielectric plate 211 and an electrode 212. The dielectric plate 211 is located at an uppermost end of the support unit 200, and the substrate W is positioned on the dielectric plate 211 ([0037], includes the claimed “wherein the support unit includes, a support plate configured to support the substrate“),
The electrode plate 220 is located below the electrostatic chuck 210 ([0040]), the upper electrode may be provided to the shower head 310 and the lower electrode may be provided to the electrode plate 220. High-frequency power may be applied to the lower electrode and the upper electrode may be grounded ([0057], includes the claimed “a body below the support plate and configured to receive high frequency power to generate the plasma in the treatment space”),
A gas supply pipe L1, through which the heat transfer gas is supplied from an external gas supply source, is connected to the gas line 250 ([0045]), The supply line 270 supplies the gas to the pin hole 261. According to an embodiment, the gas may be the same as the heat transfer gas ([0049]), A plurality of bosses are provided on an upper surface of the dielectric plate 211. The plurality of bosses provided in the dielectric plate 211 provide a space 213 in which a heat transfer gas flows between the substrate W and the dielectric plate 211 when the substrate W is positioned on the dielectric plate 211. The bosses have a ring shape, and the space 213 may be divided into a plurality of areas by the bosses ([0038]), A distribution line 223 communicates with the space 213 provided in the dielectric plate 211 and the gas line 250 such that the gas is supplied into the space 213 ([0043], includes the claimed “the body being configured to supply a heat transfer medium to the substrate supported by the support unit“ and “wherein the body defines a main flow path, the body and the support plate define a first flow path connected to the main flow path and extending in a vertical direction, the body and the support plate being configured to supply the heat transfer medium to a lower surface of the substrate via the first flow path, the body defines a second flow path configured to permit fluid communication between the main flow path and the pin hole, and the support unit is configured to supply the heat transfer medium to the substrate supported by the support unit via each of the main flow path, the first flow path, and the second flow path);
The support unit 200 comprises an electrostatic chuck 210, an electrode plate 220, an insulation plate 230 ([0036], includes the claimed “an insulation plate below the body“);
The lift pin 260 may be configured to the transportation robot (not illustrated) that transports the substrate W and the support unit 200 may send and receive the substrate W. A pin hole 261 is formed in the support unit 200, and the lift pin 260 is configured to elevate along the pin hole 261 ([0047], includes the claimed “a pin hole therein; and a lift pin configured to elevate through the pin hole and configured to elevate the substrate supported by the support unit from the support plate”),
A valve V1 that opens and closes the interior of the supply line 270 is provided in the supply line 270 ([0050], includes the claimed “a connection”),
A valve V1 that opens and closes the interior of the supply line 270 is provided in the supply line 270 ([0050], includes the claimed “the connection portion is connected to the second flow path“),
A valve V1 that opens and closes the interior of the supply line 270 is provided in the supply line 270 ([0050], includes the claimed “the connection portion is connected to one end of the second flow path”).
‘130 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 20: (20A) a lift pin bush inside the body and defining (a pin hole therein);
(20B) t(he body defines a second flow path) inside the body, the second flow path (being configured to permit fluid communication between the main flow path and the pin hole),
(20C) a connection portion having a porous structure is on a side surface of the lift pin bush, (20D) the connection portion being integral with the side surface.
In regarding to the limitation of 20B, ‘130’s horizontal second flow path is in the insulation plate instead of the electrode body. This is considered a simple re-arrangement of parts. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention only involves routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
‘958 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have re-arranged the horizontal second flow path of ‘130 from the insulation plate 230 to the electrode plate 220 (the limitation of 20B), as taught by ‘958, for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
In regarding to the limitations of 20A and 20C:
‘799 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the valve V1 of ‘130 with porous material nozzle 232 on a purge cylinder 160 of ‘799, (or to have added porous material nozzle 232 and a purge cylinder 160), to the supply line 270 of ‘130 (the limitations of 20A and 20C), for the purpose of radially flow toward lift pin and preventing contact between the lift pin and the support assembly as the lift pin is in motion, as taught by ‘799 ([0033], last sentence, [0015], last sentence), and/or for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
In regarding to the limitation of 20D:
‘767 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have sintered the purge cylinder 160 has a plurality of nozzles 232 forming integral part (the limitation of 20D), as taught by ‘767, for the purpose of improving resistance to arc discharge, as taught by ‘767 ([0099]).
Claims 7-9 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘130, ‘799, and ‘958 as being applied to claims 5 and 13 rejection above, further in view of Liang et al. (US 20220319896, hereafter ‘896).
The combination of ‘130, ‘799, and ‘958 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 7: wherein a lower surface of the support plate and an upper surface of the body are connected to each other by an adhesive layer.
‘896 is analogous art in the field of ROTATING BIASABLE PEDESTAL AND ELECTROSTATIC CHUCK IN SEMICONDUCTOR PROCESS CHAMBER (title). ‘896 teaches that a bonding layer 504 is disposed between the dielectric plate 206 and the cooling plate 412 (Fig. 5, [0047], 2nd last sentence), a porous plug 510 is disposed in the insulator plate 502 and the cooling plate 412 about the one or more lift pins 330 to reduce or prevent arcing in the openings in the pedestal 204 for the one or more lift pins 330 ([0048], last sentence, corresponding to the integrated lift pin bush and the connection portion). Note also Fig. 5 shows the top of the porous plug is flush with the top of the cooling plate and below the bonding layer.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a bonding layer 504 of ‘896 between the electrostatic chuck 210 and the electrode plate 220 of ‘130, for the purpose of bonding these components.
The combination of ‘130, ‘799, and ‘958 further teaches some limitations of:
Claim 16: Each lift pin assembly 150 includes a lift pin guide 155, a bushing 165, a purge cylinder 160, the lift pin 170, and a hoop assembly 175 (‘799, [0026]), The purge cylinder 160 has a plurality of nozzles 232 ([0032]), Each nozzle 232 is connected to a conduit 242 that extends into the facility plate 115 to supply the nozzle 232 with fluid, for example clean dry air or nitrogen ([0033], the purge cylinder 160 is considered the claimed “the lift pin bush is inside the body”),
Each lift pin assembly 150 includes a lift pin guide 155, a bushing 165, a purge cylinder 160, the lift pin 170, and a hoop assembly 175 ([0026], last sentence, the lift pine guide 155 and purge cylinder 160, together, is considered the “lift pin bush” in the claimed “an upper surface of the lift pin bush is positioned between an upper surface of the body and a lower surface of the support plate” and as shown in Fig. 3A, see also Fig. 3B).
The combination of ‘130, ‘799, and ‘958 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 16: the lower surface of the support plate and the upper surface of the body and the lower surface of the support plate and the upper surface of the lift pin bush are connected to each other by an adhesive layer.
‘896 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a bonding layer 504 of ‘896 between the electrostatic chuck 210 and the electrode plate 220 of ‘130, for the purpose of bonding these components.
The combination of ‘130, ‘799, ‘958 and ‘896 further teaches the limitations of:
Claims 8 and 17: the purge cylinder is a ceramic material (claim 2 of ‘799), a porous plug 510 is disposed in the insulator plate 502 and the cooling plate 412 about the one or more lift pins 330 to reduce or prevent arcing in the openings in the pedestal 204 for the one or more lift pins 330 (‘896, [0048], last sentence, ceramic that prevent arcing is more plasma resistant than adhesive, includes the claimed “wherein each of the lift pin bush and the connection portion includes a material having relatively stronger plasma resistance than the adhesive layer and the second flow path”).
Claim 9: ‘799 is silent on the material of the porous material. It would have been obvious to have selected a ceramic material as the porous material because similarity to the purge cylinder ceramic material and for plasma resistance (includes the claimed “wherein the material of each of the lift pin bush and the connection portion includes ceramics”).
Alternatively, claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘130, ‘799, ‘958, and ‘896, as being applied to claim 8 rejection above, further in view of ‘767.
In case Applicants argue that it is not obvious to use the same ceramic material for the porous nozzles 232 and the purge cylinder 160.
‘767 is analogous arts as discussed above. ‘767 further teaches that The material of the porous part 90 is an insulative ceramic … achieve high breakdown voltage and high rigidity of the porous part 90 ([0107]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted ceramic of ‘767 as the porous material as alternative to nozzle 232 of ‘799, for the purpose of achieving high breakdown voltage and high rigidity of the porous part 90, as taught by ‘767 ([0107]).
Claims 4 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘130, ‘799, and ‘958, as being applied to claims 2 and 13 rejection above, further in view of ‘896 and Natsuhara et al. (US 20030029569, hereafter ‘569).
The combination of ‘130, ‘799, and ‘958 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 4: wherein the lift pin bush includes an O ring in the pin hole, the O ring being configured to seal an outer surface of the lift pin and a side surface of the pin hole, and
the O ring is below the connection portion when viewed from a front side.
Claim 18: wherein the lift pin bush includes an Oring in the pin hole, the O ring being configured to seal an outer surface of the lift pin and a side surface of the pin hole.
Claim 19: wherein the O ring is below the connection portion when viewed from a front side.
‘896 is analogous art as discussed above.
‘569 is analogous art in the field of Substrate Processing Apparatus (title), including an electrode for electrostatic chuck and an RF (Radio Frequency) electrode ([0024]). ‘569 teaches that An O-ring 9 is provided between the outer circumference of push pin 8 and inner circumference of throughhole 4d, to attain air-tight sealing ([0087], Fig. 1 shows the O-ring 9 is at a lower portion of the lift pin hole).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have changed the shape of straight pine hole 261 of ‘130 (or the pin guide 155, bushing 165, and purge cylinder 160 of ‘799 to the two sectional shape of porous plug 510 of ‘896) to the two sectional shape of porous plug 510 of ‘896. A change of shape is generally recognized as being within the ordinary level of skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2nd 669, 149 USPQ 1966. Furthermore, to have added an O-ring to the lower section of the lift pin 170 to the combined apparatus of ‘799 and ‘896, for the purpose of air-tight sealing at non-porous portion of the bushing, as taught by ‘569 ([0087]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘130, ‘799, and ‘958, as being applied to claim 5 rejection above, further in view of Jun et al. (US 20100109263, hereafter ‘263).
The combination of ‘130, ‘799, and ‘958 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 10: wherein a surface of the second flow path is anodized.
‘263 is analogous art in the field of ELECTROSTATIC CHUCK HAVING REDUCED ARCING (title), Some conventional electrostatic chucks (ESC) have arcing problems around backside gas holes and lift pin holes ([0008]). ’263 teaches that an ESC may be provided having no bare aluminum areas where arcing issues may arise. For example, in some embodiments, the backside gas (helium) holes may be insulated using insulator materials such as ceramic bushings, porous ceramic, and anodizing to form insulating anodized surfaces ([0038]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted anodizing plenum of ‘263, to the supply line 170 of ‘130, and then combined with ‘799 and ‘958, for the purpose of reducing arcing, as taught by ‘263 ([0038]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not convincing in light of the new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 5547539 is cited for heat exchange gas passage 25a is communicated with a horizontal passage 23 in the susceptor 14 which is an electrode body (Fig. 6), Note lift pins 32 also has heat exchange gas lines 26a. US 20210090864 is cited for heat transfer gas line 24 includes a horizontal portion within electrode plate 16 and the lower electrode 18 (Fig. 1). Applicants submitted IDS, TW 202125575, is cited for porous sleeve 140 surrounding lift pin 130 and connected to a horizontal air flotation channel 150 (Fig. 1).
US 20100178775 is cited for a porous ceramic sintered body 114 integrally bonded to hole 105 (Fig. 3, [0040]).
US 20160002778 is cited for purge gas channels 204A and 204B relative to lift pin holes 206 (Fig. 2).
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716