DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0343911).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe teaches an integrated circuit (IC) package comprising:
a dielectric substrate (Fig. 12B, substrate 11);
an interconnect (interconnect 14) associated with the dielectric substrate (Fig. 12B); and
light absorption material (11L) proximate or surrounding the interconnect (Fig. 12B), the light absorption material to increase in temperature in response to being exposed to a pulsed light for thermal treatment corresponding to the IC package (paragraph [0088]).
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe teaches the IC package as defined in claim 1, wherein the exposure of the light absorption material to the pulsed light is to at least partially reflow the interconnect (paragraph [0088]).
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe teaches the IC package as defined in claim 1, wherein the dielectric substrate includes or is adjacent a layer having the light absorption material (layer 11L is a part of the whole substrate made up of 11/11W/11L/11Z).
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe teaches the IC package as defined in claim 3, wherein the light absorption material is a layer on or within the dielectric (see Fig. 12B).
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe teaches the IC package as defined in claim 4, wherein the layer extends across multiple interconnects and the thermal treatment corresponds to reflow of the interconnects (Fig. 12B, multiple interconnects 14).
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe teaches the IC package as defined in claim 1, wherein the dielectric substrate is a first dielectric substrate and the light absorption material is positioned between the first dielectric substrate and a second dielectric substrate (see Fig. 13B, second substrate 12P where 11L is between 11 and 12P).
Regarding claim 10, Watanabe teaches an apparatus comprising:
a die (Fig. 13A, die package 12P);
a dielectric (11Z);
an interconnect (14) extending through at least a portion of the dielectric, the interconnect electrically coupled to the die (Fig. 13A); and
a light absorption layer (11L), the light absorption layer having a light absorption material to increase in temperature in response to being exposed to a pulsed light for at least one of reflow of the interconnect or curing corresponding to the die chip (paragraph [0088]).
Regarding claim 11, Watanabe teaches the apparatus as defined in claim 10, wherein the die is a first die, and further the apparatus including a second die (12G, 12R and 12B are all separate dies, see paragraph [0046], each is an LED chip).
Regarding claim 12, Watanabe teaches the apparatus as defined in claim 10, wherein the light absorption layer is positioned at or proximate a solder bump for reflow thereof (solder 15, see paragraph [0088]).
Regarding claim 13, Watanabe teaches the apparatus as defined in claim 10, wherein the die is an embedded die (embedded in the package 12P).
Regarding claim 14, Watanabe teaches the apparatus as defined in claim 10, wherein the curing corresponds to curing the dielectric (curing claimed in alternative to reflow and therefore not needed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe in view of Gavagnin et al. (WO 2024/068295).
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe teaches the IC package as defined in claim 1, but does not teach further including a die embedded in the dielectric substrate.
However, Gavagnin teaches another package in which the substrate for an LED chip (Gavagnin Fig. 1, LED 108 on substrate 100) has an embedded die (120). It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date that the substrate could have had an embedded die because this is a common method of building ultra-fine connections within a substrate to connect dies to one another.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2025/0022991).
Regarding claim 7, Watanabe teaches the IC package as defined in claim 1, but does not teach wherein the dielectric substrate includes or defines an optical coupler mounting.
however, Chen teaches that a substrate can include an optical coupler (Chen Fig. 1, optical coupler 112). It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date that an optical coupler could have been integrated into the substrate because this allows for transmission of optical signals to a photonic die (Chen paragraph [0011]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest wherein the light absorption material is at a sawtooth interface between the first and second dielectrics.
Conclusion
/EVAN G CLINTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899