DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed March 4, 2026 have been entered and considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do et al. (KR 20200088962 A), in view of Sato (JP 2003188463 A), Jang et al. (KR 20190141510 A), Yamazaki et al. (US 6690033 B2) and Ren et al. (CN 110400819 A).
Regarding claim 1, Do et al. teaches:
A display device [PNL, paragraph [0056], Fig. 4] comprising:
a substrate [BSL, paragraph [0060], Fig. 4] comprising an emission area [EMA, paragraph [0098], Fig. 6-7] and a non-emission area [area not EMA, Fig. 6-7];
a first connection electrode [CNL1, paragraph [0106], Fig. 6-7] on the substrate [BSL, Fig. 4] and electrically connected to a first driving power [PL1/VDD, paragraph [0106-0108], Fig. 5a-7];
a second connection electrode [CNL2, paragraph [0109], Fig. 6-7] spaced apart from the first connection electrode [CNL1, Fig. 6-7] in a first direction [DR1, Fig. 6-7] and electrically connected to a second driving power [PL2/VSS, paragraph [0109-0112], Fig. 5a-7];
a dummy electrode [ET3, paragraph [0114], Fig. 6-7] spaced apart from the first connection electrode [CNL1, Fig. 6-7] in a second direction [DR2, Fig. 6-7] crossing the first direction [DR1, Fig. 6-7];
light emitting elements [LD, paragraph [0103], Fig. 6-7] forming the emission area [EMA, Fig. 6-7];
a first pixel electrode [CE1, paragraph [0101], Fig. 8a] on the first connection electrode [CNL1/ET1, paragraph [0187], Fig. 8a] and electrically connected to the first connection electrode [CNL1/ET1, Fig. 8a].
Do et al. does not teach:
light emitting elements between the second connection electrode and the dummy electrode in a plan view.
Sato teaches:
light emitting elements [1000, paragraph [0035-0039], Fig. 5, 7] between the second connection electrode [30, paragraph [0035-0039], Fig. 5, 7] and the dummy electrode [60, paragraph [0035-0039], Fig. 5, 7] in a plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sato into the teachings of Do et al. to include the light emitting elements between the second connection electrode and the dummy electrode in a plan view, for the purpose of improving stability and bond ability. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Do et al. and Sato do not teach:
a first pixel electrode on the dummy electrode and electrically connected to the first connection electrode.
Jang et al. teaches:
a first pixel electrode [300, paragraph [0049], [0059], Fig. 3] on the dummy electrode [350, paragraph [0059], Fig. 3] and electrically connected to the first connection electrode [500, paragraph [0056], Fig. 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Jang et al. into the teachings of Do et al. and Sato to include a first pixel electrode on the dummy electrode and electrically connected to the first connection electrode, for the purpose of increasing density, and electrically connecting features within the device. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Do et al., Sato, and Jang et al. do not teach:
a second pixel electrode on the second connection electrode and electrically connected to the second connection electrode.
Yamazaki et al. teaches:
a second pixel electrode [146, Col. 5, Lines 36-38, Fig. 5B] on the second connection electrode [141, Col. 5, Lines 36-38, Fig. 5B] and electrically connected to the second connection electrode [141, Fig. 5B].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Yamazaki et al. into the teachings of Do et al., Sato, and Jang et al. to include a second pixel electrode on the second connection electrode and electrically connected to the second connection electrode, for the purpose of connecting features within the device and including a location for subsequent processes. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Do et al., Sato, Jang et al. and Yamazaki et al. do not teach:
wherein the first connection electrode does not overlap the second connection electrode in the second direction.
Ren et al. teaches:
wherein the first connection electrode [371, paragraph [0082], [0184], Fig. 3, 9A-9B] does not overlap the second connection electrode [372, paragraph [0082], [0184], Fig. 3, 9A-9B] in the second direction [Y-axis].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Ren et al. into the teachings of Do et al., Sato, Jang et al. and Yamazaki et al. to include wherein the first connection electrode does not overlap the second connection electrode in the second direction, for the purpose of preventing short circuits and preventing physical damage. See also, MPEP 2144(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 2, Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Do et al. further teaches:
wherein the light emitting elements [LD, paragraph [0126], [0180], Fig. 8a] do not overlap the first connection electrode [CNL1/ET1, paragraph [0126], [0180], Fig. 6-8a].
Regarding claim 3, Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Do et al. further teaches:
wherein the first connection electrode [CNL1, paragraph [0106], Fig. 6] is in the non-emission area of the substrate [BSL, Fig. 6-8a].
Regarding claim 4, Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Do et al. further teaches:
wherein the first connection electrode [CNL1, paragraph [0106], [0157], [0167], Fig. 8a], the second connection electrode [CNL2, paragraph [0109], [0158], [0167], Fig. 8a], and the dummy electrode [ET3, paragraph [0159], [0167], Fig. 8a] are on the same layer.
Regarding claim 5, Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Do et al. further teaches:
wherein the dummy electrode [ET3, paragraph [0114], Fig. 6-8a] is not electrically connected to the first pixel electrode [CE1, Fig. 6-8a] or the second pixel electrode [CE1’, Fig. 6-8a].
Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Do et al., Sato, Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. do not teach:
wherein the dummy electrode overlaps the first pixel electrode.
Jang et al. teaches:
wherein the dummy electrode [350, Fig. 3] overlaps the first pixel electrode [300, Fig. 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Jang et al. into the teachings of Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. to include wherein the dummy electrode overlaps the first pixel electrode, for the purpose of increasing density. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 7, Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Do et al. further teaches:
further comprising: an intermediate electrode [CE2, CE2’, paragraph [0098-0099], Fig. 6-8a] spaced apart from the first pixel electrode [CE1, Fig. 6-8a] and the second pixel electrode [CE1’, Fig. 6-8a].
Regarding claim 8, Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. teach the display device according to claim 7.
Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Do et al., Sato, Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. do not teach:
wherein the dummy electrode overlaps the first pixel electrode and the intermediate electrode.
Jang et al. teaches:
wherein the dummy electrode [350, paragraph [0059], Fig. 3] overlaps the first pixel electrode [300, Fig. 3] and the intermediate electrode [700, paragraph [0061], Fig. 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Jang et al. into the teachings of Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. to include wherein the dummy electrode overlaps the first pixel electrode and the intermediate electrode, for the purpose of increasing density, enhancing stability, improving performance, and preventing damage to underlying features. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 9, Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. teach the display device according to claim 7.
Do et al. further teaches:
wherein the first pixel electrode [CE1, paragraph [0122], [0151-0152], Fig. 6-8a], the second pixel electrode [CE1’, Fig. 6-8a], and the intermediate electrode [CE2, CE2’, paragraph [0124], Fig. 6-8a] are on the same layer.
Regarding claim 11, Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. teach the display device according to claim 7.
Do et al. further teaches:
wherein the light emitting elements [LD, paragraph [0069], [0151], Fig. 6-8a] comprise first light emitting elements [LD, Fig. 6-8a] and second light emitting elements [LD’, Fig. 6-8a], the first light emitting elements [LD, Fig. 6] being connected to the second light emitting elements [LD’ , Fig. 6] in series.
Regarding claim 12, Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. teach the display device according to claim 11.
Do et al. further teaches:
wherein a first end [EP1, paragraph [0101], Fig. 6-8a] of the first light emitting elements [LD, Fig. 6-8a] is in contact with the first pixel electrode [CE1, Fig. 6-8a], a second end [EP2, paragraph [0101], Fig. 6-8a] of the first light emitting elements [LD, Fig. 6-8a] is in contact with the intermediate electrode [CE2, Fig. 6-8a],
a first end [EP2’, paragraph [0152], Fig. 6-8a] of the second light emitting elements [LD’, Fig. 6-8a] is in contact with the intermediate electrode [CE2’, Fig. 6-8a], and a second end [EP1’, paragraph [0152], Fig. 6-8a] of the second light emitting elements [LD’, Fig. 6-8a] is in contact with the second pixel electrode [CE1’, Fig. 6-8a].
Regarding claim 13, Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Do et al. further teaches:
an insulating layer [INP, paragraph [0184], Fig. 8a] between the first pixel electrode [CE1, Fig. 8a] and the second pixel electrode [CE1’, Fig. 8a], and between the first connection electrode [CNL1/ET1, Fig. 6-8a] and the second connection electrode [CNL2/ET2, Fig. 6-8a],
wherein the first pixel electrode [CE1, paragraph [0187], Fig. 6-8a] and the first connection electrode [CNL1/ET1, paragraph [0187], Fig. 6-8a] are electrically connected to each other through a first contact hole [CNT1, paragraph [0187], Fig. 8a] formed in the insulating layer [INS1, paragraph [0174-0175], Fig. 8a].
Regarding claim 14, Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. teach the display device according to claim 13.
Do et al. further teaches:
wherein the second pixel electrode [CE1’] and the second connection electrode [CNL2/ET2] are electrically connected to each other through a second contact hole [CNT2] formed in the insulating layer [INS1].
Do et al. does not specifically teach the second pixel electrode and the second connection electrode are electrically connected to each other through a second contact hole formed in the insulating layer. Do et al. does teach an intermediate electrode [CE2/CE2’, paragraph [0187], Fig. 8a] and second connection electrode [CNL2/ET2, paragraph [0187], Fig. 8a] are electrically connected to each other through a second contact hole [CNT2, paragraph [0187], Fig. 8a] formed in the insulating layer [INS1, paragraph [0174-0175], Fig. 8a]. This limitation can be applied to the second pixel electrode [CE1’]. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 15, Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Do et al. further teaches:
a conductive layer [DPL, paragraph [0151], Fig. 8a] comprising the first connection electrode [CNL1/ET1, Fig. 6-8a], the second connection electrode [CNL2/ET2, Fig. 6-8a], and the dummy electrode [ET3, Fig. 6-8a], and a via layer [PCL, paragraph [0139-0142], Fig. 8a] between the conductive layer [DPL, Fig. 8a] and the substrate [BSL, Fig. 8a],
wherein the first connection electrode [CNL1/ET1, paragraph [0107-0108], Fig. 6-8a] is electrically connected to a first power line [PL1, paragraph [0097], [0107], Fig. 5c] configured to provide a voltage of the first driving power [VDD, Fig. 5c] through a first via hole [CH1, Fig. 6] formed in the via layer [PCL, Fig. 6-8a].
Regarding claim 16, Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. teach the display device according to claim 15.
Do et al. further teaches:
wherein the second connection electrode [CNL2/ET2, paragraph [0097], [0111-0112], Fig. 6-8a] is electrically connected to a second power line [PL2, paragraph [0097], [0111], Fig. 5c] configured to provide a voltage of the second driving power [VSS, Fig. 5c] through a second via hole [CH2, Fig. 6] formed in the via layer [PCL, Fig. 6-8a].
Regarding claim 17, Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. teach the display device according to claim 16.
Do et al. further teaches:
wherein the first power line [PL1/CNL1/ET1, Fig. 6-8a] extends in the second direction [DR2, Fig. 6], and
the second power line [PL2/CNL2/ET2, Fig. 6-8a] extends in the first direction [DR1, Fig. 6] in the non-emission area [area not EMA, Fig. 6].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do et al. (KR 20200088962 A), in view of Sato (JP 2003188463 A), Jang et al. (KR 20190141510 A), Yamazaki et al. (US 6690033 B2) and Ren et al. (CN 110400819 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shen et al. (US 20210408493 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. do not teach:
wherein a cross-sectional area of the dummy electrode in a direction perpendicular to a light emission direction of the light emitting elements is greater than a cross-sectional area of the first connection electrode in the same direction.
Shen et al. teaches:
wherein a cross-sectional area of the dummy electrode [122, paragraph [0134], Fig. 4] in a direction perpendicular to a light emission direction of the light emitting elements [110, Fig. 4] is greater than a cross-sectional area of the first connection electrode [121, paragraph [0134], Fig. 4] in the same direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Shen et al. into the teachings of Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. to include wherein a cross-sectional area of the dummy electrode in a direction perpendicular to a light emission direction of the light emitting elements is greater than a cross-sectional area of the first connection electrode in the same direction, for the purpose of enhancing current flow, and increasing connection area. See also, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do et al. (KR 20200088962 A), in view of Sato (JP 2003188463 A), Jang et al. (KR 20190141510 A), Yamazaki et al. (US 6690033 B2) and Ren et al. (CN 110400819 A) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Gunji (US 20200403176 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. teach the display device according to claim 9.
Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. do not teach:
wherein the intermediate electrode surrounds a portion of the first pixel electrode in a plan view.
Gunji teaches:
wherein the intermediate electrode [51, paragraph [0025], [0050], Fig. 2, 7] surrounds a portion of the first pixel electrode [41, paragraph [0025], [0050], Fig. 2, 7] in a plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Gunji into the teachings of Do et al., Sato, Jang et al., Yamazaki et al. and Ren et al. to include wherein the intermediate electrode surrounds a portion of the first pixel electrode in a plan view, for the purpose of improving display quality, and optical performance. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues on pages 1-4, Section: Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed March 4, 2026 that the current prior art of record does not teach the amendments to independent claim 1. Examiner agrees with Applicant; However, after a new line of search and consideration of the prior art, the amended limitation of independent claim 1 can be overcome by newly cited source Ren et al. (CN 110400819 A). Applicant argues the current prior art of record does not teach the limitation “wherein the first connection electrode does not overlap the second connection electrode in the second direction”. This limitation is well known in the art, and can be seen at least in Fig. 3 of newly cited source Ren et al. (CN 110400819 A). Ren et al. teaches the first connection electrode [371] does not overlap the second connection electrode [372] in the second direction [Y-axis].
Applicant further argues on page 4, Section: Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed March 4, 2026 that independent claim 1 should be allowable and therefore all claims dependent on independent claim 1 should be allowable as well. Examiner disagrees with Applicant due to the introduction of newly cited source Ren et al. (CN 110400819 A).
In summary, the amended limitation of independent claim 1 can be overcome by newly cited prior art Ren et al. (CN 110400819 A). All claims directly or indirectly dependent on independent claim 1 are also rejected for at least the reasons mentioned above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2815 03/13/2026
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815