DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
At this time Examiner is not requiring a restriction as the devices read on the method and vice-versa.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of February 2, 2026 no information disclosure statement has been made of record.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to because:
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. The claimed subject matter of claim 12 is not shown. Applicant does not have a drawing showing any system, nor is any system shown which is capable of performing the claimed steps. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. The claimed subject matter of claim 18 is not shown. Applicant does not have a drawing showing any processing circuitry coupled to storage, nor does Applicant show how this processing circuitry is configured to process any of the instructions claimed. No new matter should be entered
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 3-4, 9, 14-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3-4, 9, 14-15, and 20 recites the limitation "the mask" or “the patterning mask” or “hard mask”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. None of the independent claims 1, 12, or 18 recite a mask.
As the claims have insufficient antecedent basis Examiner is unable to interpret the claims for examination without considerable speculation as to how the terms above would interact with the claimed structure. In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859 (CCPA 1962), where an examiner should not simply speculate about the meaning of the claim language and then enter an obviousness rejection in view of that speculative interpretation. MPEP 2143.03(I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8, 10-13, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being (anticipated) by Defect Control and n-Doping of Encapsulated Graphene by Helium-Ion-Beam Irradiation, Gaurav Nanda, Srijit Goswami, Kenji Watanabe, Takashi Taniguchi, and Paul F. A. Alkemade, Nano Letters 2015 15 (6), 4006-4012 (“Nanda”).
Regarding claim 1, Nanda teaches:
overlaying a wafer assembly of one or more layers with a top layer comprised of a material having 2D material characteristics (figure 6a where the top layer is h-BN);
applying an ion beam targeted to at least one of one or more regions of the top layer (figure 6a where He+ is applied),
a metal layer placed on top of the top layer, or one or more ion stoppers placed on top of the top layer (figure 6a shows Cr/au on top of h-bn,
wherein the ion beam is tuned using a predetermined energy range or a dosing level of ions to modify the material characteristics of the 2D material at the one or more regions of the top layer; and creating a bond between the one or more 2D and metal layers to the one or more regions of the top layer where the material characteristics of the 2D material have been modified due to the impinging ion beam (pg 4011, where He+ ions are beamed into the h-bn encapsulated graphene causing the h-bn encapsulated graphene to become n-type. The 2D and metal layers are bonded together as they are stacked on top of each other).
Regarding claims 2, Nanda teaches:
further comprising generate tuned regions of the top layer based on the modified characteristics of the one or more regions (the area exposed to the He+ is so tuned; see Applicant’s ¶ 0024, where exposure to ion beam is the tuning).
Regarding claim 5, Nanda teaches:
wherein exposed regions of the top layer are hit by the ion beam to generate the tuned regions (figure 6a shows the exposed regions are hit by He+).
Regarding claim 8, Nanda teaches:
wherein the one or more layers of the wafer assembly comprise an oxide layer, a metal layer, or a silicon layer (figure 6a).
Regarding claim 10, Nanda teaches:
wherein the ion beam comprises ion beams of helium, neon, nitrogen, oxygen, argon, or xenon (figure 6a).
Regarding claim 11, Nanda teaches:
wherein the 2D material comprises at least one of transition metal dichalcogenide (TMD), Graphene, hBn, BCN, Fluorographene, Graphene Oxide, MoS2, WS2, MoSe2, WSe2, Semiconducting dichalcogenides, Metalic Dichalcogenides, Layered semiconductors, , Micas BSCCO, MoO3, WO3, Layered Cu oxides, TiO2, MnO2, V2O5, TaO3, RuO2, Perovskite-type, or Hydroxides (figure 6a).
Regarding claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above.
Claim 12 is different than claim 1 in that it requires…
the system comprising computer-executable instructions.
This is inherent in the process. This is because in order to for one to perform either the claimed process and/or the prior art process they are going to have to use a computer controlled machine.
Regarding claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 16,
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 18,
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above.
Claim 18 is different than claim 1 in that it requires…“the device comprising processing circuitry coupled to storage, the processing circuitry configured to…” This is inherent in the process. This is because in order to for one to perform the process it will have to done in a semiconductor tool. Said semiconductor tool will likely be from one of Applicant’s, Intel’s, machine supplies such as Applied Materials, etc.
Regarding claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2 above.
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 is rejected under double patenting and objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and the double patenting rejection is overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6,
The prior art does not teach the ion beam passes through the metal layer.
Regarding claim 7,
The prior art does not teach the ion beam passes through the metal layer. In regards to the limitation of causing a bond between the metal layer top layer. This is a result of the ion beam. Applicant’s paragraph 0029. That is to say if one has the ion beam pass through the top metal layer it will create a tuned region and create the bond. There is no separate bonding action happening based upon Applicant’s specification. These claimed effects are generated by the same cause at the same time.
Conclusion
/VINCENT WALL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898