Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 12, the claim has a repeating limitation of a “connecting a device with high clamping voltage (HVC device) in series with an ovonic threshold device (OTS) device and configured for electrostatic discharge protection”, therefore, only one of the repeated limitations of claim 12 will be rejected below. Further there appears to be a period (.) after comprising and this should be changed to a colon (:).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13-17, each of the claims has dependency to claim 2, which has been cancelled, therefore the scope of the claim is unclear, based from the new claims seen in the amendment filed 01/26/2026. Since claim 2 was dependent to claim 1 as seen in the claims from 12/29/2022, for examination, the claims 13-17 will assume dependency to claim 1 and be examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Park et al. (US-20190115079-A1 referred to as Park).
Regarding claim 1. Park discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a device with high clamping voltage (HVC device), and an ovonic threshold device (OTS) device, wherein the HVC device and the OTS device are connected in series and configured for electrostatic discharge protection ([0020, 0029], figure 1, the HVC device #120 and the OTS device #112 are seen connected in series. Since both devices (#120 and #112) are connected in series, the electronic components within the devices would allow protection for the circuitry since the connectivity is linear (in series) which further allows protection for the other device, therefore, reads on ‘configured for’ electrostatic discharge protection – noting that the prior art has the same configuration as the claimed limitations, therefore, would both be ‘configured for ESD protection’ – if there are further structural limitations that distinguish the present invention over the prior art as to reasons for ESD protection, they should be part of the claimed invention).
Regarding claim 3. Park discloses a semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the HVC device and the OTS device are combined in a package ([0020, 0029], figure 1, the HVC device #120 and the OTS device #112 are seen combined in one circuitry package).
Regarding claim 12. Park discloses method of producing a semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1 comprising: connecting a device with high clamping voltage (HVC device) in series with an ovonic threshold device (OTS) device and configured for electrostatic discharge protection ([0020, 0029], figure 1, the HVC device #120 and the OTS device #112 are seen connected in series. Since both devices (#120 and #112) are connected in series, the electronic components within the devices would allow protection for the circuitry since the connectivity is linear (in series) which further allows protection for the other device, therefore, could be configured for electrostatic discharge protection).
Regarding claim 13. Park discloses wherein the HVC device and the OTS device are combined in a package ([0020, 0029], figure 1, the HVC device #120 and the OTS device #112 are seen combined in one circuitry package).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US-20190115079-A1) in view of Pryor et al. (US-4845533-A referred to as Pryor).
Regarding claim 4. Park lacks wherein the OTS device is integrated in a metal stack of the HVC device.
Pryor discloses wherein the OTS device is integrated in a metal stack of the HVC device ([col 10 lines 18-31], figure 3, the threshold switching material #38 represents the ovonic threshold switch made of chalcogenide. The OTS #38 is seen integrated in a metal stack #42 and #34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Park to include a threshold switching device in a metal stack as taught by Pryor in order to provide steep switching for high voltages and quick switch responses without degradation.
Regarding claim 14. Park as modified lacks wherein the OTS device is integrated in a metal stack of the HVC device.
Pryor discloses wherein the OTS device is integrated in a metal stack of the HVC device ([col 10 lines 18-31], figure 3, the threshold switching material #38 represents the Ovonic Switching Device made of chalcogenide. The OTS #38 is seen integrated in a metal stack #42 and #34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Park to include a threshold switching device in a metal stack as taught by Pryor in order to provide steep switching for high voltages and quick switch responses without degradation.
Regarding claim 19. Park as modified lacks wherein the OTS device is integrated in a metal stack of the HVC device.
Pryor discloses wherein the OTS device is integrated in a metal stack of the HVC device ([col 10 lines 18-31], figure 3, the threshold switching material #38 represents the Ovonic Switching Device made of chalcogenide. The OTS #38 is seen integrated in a metal stack #42 and #34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Park to include a threshold switching device in a metal stack as taught by Pryor in order to provide steep switching for high voltages and quick switch responses without degradation.
Claims 5, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US-20190115079-A1) in view of Hong (US-10388561-B2).
Regarding claim 5. Park as modified lacks wherein the semiconductor device further comprises a first external pin and a second external pin.
Hong discloses wherein the semiconductor device further comprises a first external pin and a second external pin (figure 3, the semiconductor device is seen with a first external pin on top of electrode #1130 and a second external pin underneath of electrode #1110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Park as modified to include a first and second external pin as taught by Hong in order to provide maximum usability of the semiconductor device with an increased manufacturing efficiency.
Regarding claim 15. Park as modified lacks wherein the semiconductor device further comprises a first external pin and a second external pin.
Hong discloses wherein the semiconductor device further comprises a first external pin and a second external pin (figure 3, the semiconductor device is seen with a first external pin on top of electrode #1130 and a second external pin underneath of electrode #1110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Park as modified to include a first and second external pin as taught by Hong in order to provide maximum usability of the semiconductor device with an increased manufacturing efficiency.
Regarding claim 20. Park lacks wherein the semiconductor device further comprises a first external pin and a second external pin.
Hong discloses wherein the semiconductor device further comprises a first external pin and a second external pin (figure 3, the semiconductor device is seen with a first external pin on top of electrode #1130 and a second external pin underneath of electrode #1110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Park to include a first and second external pin as taught by Hong in order to provide maximum usability of the semiconductor device with an increased manufacturing efficiency.
Claims 6, 7, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US-20190115079-A1) in view of Pryor (US-4845533-A) and Fukahori (US-20190123040-A1).
Regarding claim 6. Park lacks wherein the HVC device comprises:
at least one p-n-junction with a high breakdown voltage;
a first metallization layer;
a second metallization layer; and
wherein the OTS device is positioned between the first metallization layer and the second metallization layer the HVC device.
Pryor discloses wherein the HVC device comprises:
a first metallization layer ([col 12 line 67 – col 13 line 24], figure 3, the first metallization layer #34.1);
a second metallization layer ([col 12 line 67 – col 13 line 24], figure 3, the second metallization layer #42.1); and
wherein the OTS device is positioned between the first metallization layer and the second metallization layer the HVC device ([col 10 lines 18-31] and [col 12 line 67 – col 13 line 24], figure 3, the OTS device #38.1 is seen positioned in between the first metallization layer #34.1 and the second metallization layer #42.1. The OTS device #38.1 can be seen pointed at figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Park to include a first and second metallization layer with a OTS device in between as taught by Pryor in order to provide uniform electrical distribution for greater circuit response and also thermal management to increase the devices lifetime.
Park et al. as modified by Pryor et al. still lacks wherein the HVC device comprises:
at least one p-n-junction with a high breakdown voltage;
Fukahori discloses wherein the HVC device comprises:
at least one p-n-junction with a high breakdown voltage ([0046], figure 3(a), the p-n junction is seen as the p-type layers #41 and n-type layers #51 is seen in junction. It is noted that the electrode #61 represents the first metallization layer which is placed directly on top of p-type layer #41);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Park et al. as modified to include a p-n junction as taught by Fukahori in order to reduce current leakage within the circuitry and to provide additional voltage handling.
Regarding claim 7. Park lacks wherein the HVC device comprises: a first metallization layer, a second metallization layer, a third metallization layer and a fourth metallization layer;
wherein the OTS device comprises a first OTS layer and a second OTS layer;
wherein the first metallization layer is positioned on the top of a first p layer, the first OTS layer is positioned on the top of the first metallization layer, and the second metallization layer is positioned on the top of the first OTS layer, so that the first OTS layer is sandwiched between the first metallization layer and the second metallization layer; and
wherein the third metallization layer is positioned on the top of a second p layer, the second OTS layer is positioned on the top of the third metallization layer, and the fourth metallization layer is positioned on the top of the second OTS layer, so that the second OTS layer is sandwiched between the third metallization layer and the fourth metallization layer.
Pryor discloses wherein the HVC device comprises: a first metallization layer, a second metallization layer, a third metallization layer and a fourth metallization layer ([col 12 line 67 – col 13 line 24], figure 3, the figure depicts the first metallization layer #34.1, the second metallization layer #42.1, the third metallization layer #34.2, and the fourth metallization layer #42.2);
wherein the OTS device comprises a first OTS layer and a second OTS layer ([col 10 lines 18-31] and [col 12 line 67 – col 13 line 24], figure 3, the first OTS layer #38.1 and second OTS layer #38.2 is pointed in the figure. The OTS device #38.1 and #38.2 can be seen pointed at figure 2);
wherein the first OTS layer is positioned on the top of the first metallization layer, and the second metallization layer is positioned on the top of the first OTS layer, so that the first OTS layer is sandwiched between the first metallization layer and the second metallization layer ([col 12 line 67 – col 13 line 24], figure 3, the first OTS layer #38.1 can be seen on top of the first metallization layer #34.1 and underneath the second metallization layer #42.1. This makes the first OTS layer #38.1 being sandwiched by both metallization layers); and
wherein the second OTS layer is positioned on the top of the third metallization layer, and the fourth metallization layer is positioned on the top of the second OTS layer, so that the second OTS layer is sandwiched between the third metallization layer and the fourth metallization layer ([col 12 line 67 – col 13 line 24], figure 3, the second OTS layer #42.2 can be seen on top of the third metallization layer #34.2 and underneath the fourth metallization layer #42.2. This makes the second OTS layer #38.2 being sandwiched by both metallization layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Park to include four different metallization layers and two OTS layers as taught by Pryor in order to provide additional voltage handling in the device and to optimize the space provided within the circuitry for greater results.
Park et al. as modified by Pryor et al. still lacks wherein the first metallization layer is positioned on the top of a first p layer, and wherein the third metallization layer is positioned on the top of a second p layer.
Fukahori discloses wherein the first metallization layer is positioned on the top of a first p layer ([0046], figure 3(A), the first metallization layer #61 can be seen positioned on top of the first p layer #41), and wherein the third metallization layer is positioned on the top of a second p layer ([0046], figure 3(A), the third metallization layer #62 can be seen positioned on top of the second p layer #42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Park et al. as modified to include the metallization layers to be disposed on the p layers as taught by Fukahori in order to reduce current leakage for both OTS devices and to improve symmetry and control within the device.
Regarding claim 16. Park lacks wherein the HVC device comprises:
at least one p-n-junction with a high breakdown voltage;
a first metallization layer;
a second metallization layer; and
wherein the OTS device is positioned between the first metallization layer and the second metallization layer the HVC device.
Pryor discloses wherein the HVC device comprises:
a first metallization layer ([col 12 line 67 – col 13 line 24], figure 3, the first metallization layer #34.1);
a second metallization layer ([col 12 line 67 – col 13 line 24], figure 3, the second metallization layer #42.1); and
wherein the OTS device is positioned between the first metallization layer and the second metallization layer the HVC device ([col 10 lines 18-31] and [col 12 line 67 – col 13 line 24], figure 3, the OTS device #38.1 is seen positioned in between the first metallization layer #34.1 and the second metallization layer #42.1. The OTS device #38.1 can be seen pointed at figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Park to include a first and second metallization layer with a OTS device in between as taught by Pryor in order to provide uniform electrical distribution for greater circuit response and also thermal management to increase the devices lifetime.
Park et al. as modified by Pryor et al. still lacks wherein the HVC device comprises:
at least one p-n-junction with a high breakdown voltage;
Fukahori discloses wherein the HVC device comprises:
at least one p-n-junction with a high breakdown voltage ([0046], figure 3(a), the p-n junction is seen as the p-type layers #41 and n-type layers #51 is seen in junction. It is noted that a the electrode #61 represents the first metallization layer which is placed directly on top of p-type layer #41);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Park et al. as modified to include a p-n junction as taught by Fukahori in order to reduce current leakage within the circuitry and to provide additional voltage handling.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US-20190115079-A1) in view of Fukahori (US-20190123040-A1).
Regarding claim 8. Park lacks wherein the HVC device comprises:
two p-n-junctions, a first p-n junction and a second p-n junction, wherein the first p-n junction is realized by a first layer of a first polarity and a second layer of a second polarity, and wherein the second p-n junction is realized by the second layer and a third layer of the first polarity.
Fukahori discloses wherein the HVC device comprises:
two p-n-junctions, a first p-n junction and a second p-n junction, wherein the first p-n junction is realized by a first layer of a first polarity and a second layer of a second polarity, and wherein the second p-n junction is realized by the second layer and a third layer of the first polarity (figure 3(A), the first p-n junction is realized as the first layer #41 of a first polarity and the second layer #51 of a second polarity. The second p-n junction is realized as the second layer #51 and a third layer #42 of a first polarity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Park et al. as modified to include a first and second p-n junction with three layers as taught by Fukahori in order for the device to handle greater voltages and to provide bidirectional control in both polarities.
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US-20190115079-A1).
Regarding claim 9. Park lacks wherein the OTS device is tuned so that the robustness of the OTS device mirrors the robustness of the HVC device.
MPEP 2144.05 IIB states that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognizable result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified for Park to include equal robustness for the OTS device and the HVC device as a result of routine experimentation as equal robustness would provide stable performance for the device’s lifetime by reducing the threshold drift and increasing the device’s reliability over time.
Regarding claim 17. Park lacks wherein the OTS device is tuned so that the robustness of the OTS device mirrors the robustness of the HVC device.
MPEP 2144.05 IIB states that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognizable result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified for Park to include equal robustness for the OTS device and the HVC device as a result of routine experimentation as equal robustness would provide stable performance for the devices lifetime by reducing the threshold drift and increasing the devices reliability over time.
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US-20190115079-A1) in view of Maxim et al. (US-20200274499-A1 referred as Maxim).
Regarding claims 10 and 18. Park lacks wherein the high voltage clamp within the HVC device is realized by a BJT device or a MOS device.
Maxim discloses wherein the high voltage clamp within the HVC device is realized by a BJT device or a MOS device ([0016], figure 1, the high voltage clamp within the HVC device #120 is realized by a MOS device as described).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Park to include the high voltage clamp within the HVC device to be realized by a MOS device as taught by Maxim in order to provide additional protection from transient voltages, allow an enhanced precision clamping, and for the MOS devices ease of integration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is noted that Applicant's arguments are related to the amended subject matter, simply stating the new amendments are not seen in the prior art. As is seen in the new rejection above, these amended features are disclosed by the prior art to Park because applicant has amended claim 1 to read the HVC device and the OTS device being connected in series with an electrostatic discharge protection configuration, dependent claims 10 and 18 is now rejected with a new reference to overcome using figure 1 in Park because that embodiment does not provide details over the devices used within HVC device. All the arguments relating to limitations previously presented and rejected in the last arguments will be addressed below.
Regarding claim 1 on pages 3-5 of the argument, applicant has argued that Park et al. fails to anticipate the HVC device and the OTS device due to the line structure used within the circuitry. This argument is respectfully traversed. Applicant argues that the current supply circuit 120 is connected in parallel to the memory cell 110 and points to figures 3. It is noted that a parallel connection means that the components are connected along multiple paths and each component has the same voltage across it while a series connection is when components are connected along a single electrical path and each component has the same electrical current. Note that in paragraphs 20-27 Park describes 110 as a memory cell, not that it is part of an array. Even if the embodiments (figures 1 and 3) must be combined as is Applicant’s argument, the end of paragraph 28 states “the current supply circuit may apply current to the selected bit line (BL) and the selected word line (WL) through the global bit line, therefore one BL and WL would be selected and the same current would flow through the GBL, switch 160, BL, resistive element 111, and then switching element 112 (the OTS device), therefore, when that cell is selected it will represent one path, one current, and be considered in series at that time. As to being for electrostatic discharge protection, the fact that they are connected in series and have a resistance device present would allow for ‘some’ (even if minimal) protection, therefore, reading on the claim language of “configured for electrostatic discharge protection”. If there are more structural elements that provide this protection, they should be claimed to provide distinguishing features in an apparatus claim. Further, in Park et al. reference in [0020] and [0029], the specific purpose of the device is explained in further details which reads into the claim language.
For claims 10 and 18 .... "Applicant's amendments and arguments were persuasive. Upon further search and consideration, a new rejection using a different interpretation of Park et al. in combination with newly cited reference to Maxim et al. has been presented with regard to claims 10 and 18."
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB RAUL MARIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818