DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ submission, filed on 12/10/2025, addressing claims 1-9 and 11-20 from the final rejection (09/10/2025), by amending claims 1, 9, 17, and 20 and cancelling claims 2-8, 11-15, and 18-19 is entered and will be addressed below.
Priority
The Foreign priority KR 10-2022-0052161 fully supports the instant application. However, KR 10-2021-0193642 does not. Therefore, the priority date is considered 2022-04-27.
Claim Interpretations
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “a driving unit” in claim 1, 9, or 17, this is considered “hydraulic or pneumatic cylinder” [0098].
The “a gas supply unit” in claim 17, this is considered a gas supply nozzle, a supply line and a gas storage ([0087]).
The “a plasma generation unit” in claim 17, this is considered as antenna and electrode plate below ESC ([0086]).
The “a substrate support unit” and “a lift pin unit” of claims 1, 9, or 17 are not considered under 35 USC 112(f) because they are both further structurally modified by the claim following each.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al. (US 20190035671, hereafter ‘671), in view of Takagi (US 20030015141, hereafter ‘141), Sasaki et al. (US 20220122816, hereafter ‘816), Lee et al. (KR 100566324, hereafter ‘324), and Lee et al. (US 20080124200, hereafter ‘200). (DEGUCHI, TW 202045848, from IDS, hereafter ‘848, is evidenced for spring/bellow horizontal movement).
‘671 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: a substrate supporting unit 200 (Fig. 2, [0037], includes the claimed “A substrate support unit for supporting a substrate comprising”):
Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, the substrate supporting unit 200 includes a susceptor 210, a housing 230, and a lift pin unit 900 ([0048]), A pin hole 226 is formed inside the susceptor 210 ([0057], includes the claimed “a susceptor supporting the substrate and having a pinhole formed vertically”);
As the lift pin unit 900 moves up and down, the lift pin unit 900 loads the substrate W onto the dielectric plate 211 or unloads the substrate W from the dielectric plate 211 ([0062], includes the claimed “and a lift pin unit configured to load and unload the substrate on the susceptor”),
the lift pin unit 900 may include a lift pin 910, a support plate 920, and a driving unit 930 ([0063]), The driving unit 930 may include a hydraulic or pneumatic cylinder ([0075], includes the claimed “and wherein the lift pin unit comprises, a lift pin vertically movable along the pinhole; a support configured to be vertically movable by a driving unit);
a joint unit 940a includes a first joint 942a having a spherical shape and a second joint 944a having a socket shape. The first joint 942a is formed on a lower end of the lift pin 910 and the second joint 944a is formed on an upper portion of the support plate 920. The second joint 944a has an insertion groove to surround the first joint 942a having the spherical shape (Fig. 7, [0083], the second joint 944a reads into the claimed “a pin holder connecting the support and the lift pin”),
FIG. 5 is a view illustrating the case that the support plate of the substrate supporting unit is twisted ([0080], includes the claimed “and wherein the lift pin is pivotably connected to the pin holder”, Fig. 7 clearly does the same),
as illustrated in FIG. 7, according to another example, a joint unit 940a includes a first joint 942a having a spherical shape and a second joint 944a having a socket shape ([0083], includes the claimed “the lift pin includes a joint ball, and the pin holder includes a ball socket, the ball socket includes the joint ball and the ball socket is configured to pivot the joint ball”).
Claim 9: FIG. 7 is a view illustrating another example of a joint unit to couple the support plate to the lift pin ([0082]), As the lift pin unit 900 moves up and down, the lift pin unit 900 loads the substrate W onto the dielectric plate 211 or unloads the substrate W from the dielectric plate 21 ([0062], includes the claimed “A lift pin unit for loading and unloading a substrate comprising: a lift pin”);
the lift pin unit 900 may include a lift pin 910, a support plate 920, and a driving unit 930 ([0063]), The driving unit 930 may include a hydraulic or pneumatic cylinder ([0075], includes the claimed “a support configured to be vertically movable by a driving unit”);
a joint unit 940a includes a first joint 942a having a spherical shape and a second joint 944a having a socket shape. The first joint 942a is formed on a lower end of the lift pin 910 and the second joint 944a is formed on an upper portion of the support plate 920. The second joint 944a has an insertion groove to surround the first joint 942a having the spherical shape ([0083], including the claimed “and a pin holder connecting the support and the lift pin, and wherein the lift pin is pivotably connected to the pin holder, and wherein the lift pin includes a joint ball, the pin holder includes a ball socket, the ball socket including the joint ball and the ball socket being configured to pivot of the joint ball”).
Claim 17: Referring to FIG. 2, the substrate treatment apparatus 10 may include a chamber 100, a substrate supporting unit 200, a gas supply unit 300, and a plasma source unit 400 ([0037]), The chamber 100 provides a space in which plasma treatment is performed, and the substrate supporting unit 200 supports a substrate W inside the chamber 100 ([0038], includes the claimed “A substrate treating apparatus comprising: a process chamber defining a treating space; a gas supply unit configured to supply a process gas into the process chamber; a plasma generation unit configured to generate a plasma from the process gas introduced into the process chamber; and a substrate support unit provided at the treating space and configured to support a substrate”, note antenna 410 and electrode 212 as plasma generation unit),
The susceptor 210 adsorbs the substrate W by using electrostatic force. The susceptor 210 may include a dielectric plate 211, an electrode 212, a heater 213, a focus ring 214, an insulating plate 215, and a grounding plate 216 ([0049], includes the claimed “and wherein the substrate support unit comprises, a dielectric plate having an electrostatic electrode therein configured to electrostatically adsorb the substrate; an electrode plate provided below the dielectric plate and having a fluid channel; a focus ring in a ring shape provided at a periphery of the dielectric plate; an insulator plate provided below the electrode plate; a base plate provided below the insulator plate and grounded”);
FIG. 7 is a view illustrating another example of a joint unit to couple the support plate to the lift pin ([0082]), The housing 230 is positioned under the grounding plate 216 to support the grounding plate 216. The housing 230 has the shape of a cylinder having a specific height and has an internal space. The housing 230 may have a modification corresponding to the grounding plate 216. Various cables 221, 222, and 223 and a lift pin unit 900 are positioned inside the housing 230 ([0061], includes the claimed “and a lift pin unit provided in an inner space of the base plate”);
A pin hole 226 is formed inside the susceptor 210 ([0057]), A plurality of lift pins 910 are provided and received in the pin holes 226 ([0064], includes the claimed “wherein the lift pin unit includes, a lift pin inserted in a pin hole penetrating the dielectric plate, the electrode plate, and the insulator plate”);
the lift pin unit 900 may include a lift pin 910, a support plate 920, and a driving unit 930 ([0063]), The driving unit 930 may include a hydraulic or pneumatic cylinder ([0075], includes the claimed “a support configured to be vertically movable by a driving unit”);
a joint unit 940a includes a first joint 942a having a spherical shape and a second joint 944a having a socket shape. The first joint 942a is formed on a lower end of the lift pin 910 and the second joint 944a is formed on an upper portion of the support plate 920. The second joint 944a has an insertion groove to surround the first joint 942a having the spherical shape ([0083], including the claimed “and a pin holder connecting the support unit and the lift pin, wherein the lift pin is pivotably connected to the pin holder pivotable on the central axis of the pin hole, and wherein the pin holder is vertically movably connected to the support unit”),
as illustrated in FIG. 7, according to another example, a joint unit 940a includes a first joint 942a having a spherical shape and a second joint 944a having a socket shape ([0083], includes the claimed “the lift pin includes a joint ball, and the pin holder includes a ball socket, the ball socket includes the joint ball and the ball socket is configured to pivot the joint ball”).
‘671 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: (1A) a first elastomer configured to provide a restoring force to restore the lift pin to an original coaxial position with the pin holder from a non-coaxial position with the pin holder caused due to pivoting of the lift pin,
a second elastomer configured to provide a restoring force to restore the pin holder to an original position with respect to the support from a laterally moved position, wherein, in the laterally moved position, the pin holder is laterally displaced on a top surface of the support,
(wherein the lift pin is pivotably connected to the pin holder) and the pin holder is laterally movable with respect to the support,
the first elastomer is configured to provide the restoring force to restore the lift pin to the original coaxial position with the pin holder from the non-coaxial position with the pin holder caused by pivoting the joint ball of the lift pin,
(1B) the first elastomer comprises a first pin-shaped elastomer having a first end in a first insertion groove of the joint ball, and a second end opposite the first end of the first elastomer and in a second insertion groove of the ball socket,
the second elastomer comprises a second pin-shaped elastomer having a first end in a third insertion groove defined in a bottom of the pin holder, and a second end opposite the first end of the second elastomer and in a fourth insertion groove defined in the top surface of the support, and
the first insertion groove, the second insertion groove, the third insertion groove, and the fourth insertion groove are vertically aligned.
Claim 9: (9A) the pin holder is laterally movably connected to the support;
a first elastomer configured to provide a restoring force to restore the lift pin to an original coaxial position with the pin holder from a non-coaxial position with the pin holder caused by pivoting of the joint ball;
and a second elastomer configured to provide a restoring force to restore the pin holder to an original position with the support from a laterally moved position, wherein, in the laterally moved position, the pin holder is laterally displaced on a top surface of the support,
(9B) wherein the first elastomer comprises a first pin-shaped elastomer having a first end in a first insertion groove of the joint ball, and a second end opposite the first end and in a second insertion groove of the ball socket,
wherein the second elastomer comprises a second pin-shaped elastomer having a first end in a third insertion groove defined in a bottom of the pin holder, and a second end opposite the first end and in a fourth insertion groove defined in the top surface of the support, and
wherein the first insertion groove, the second insertion groove, the third insertion groove, and the fourth insertion groove are vertically aligned.
Claim 17: (17A) a first elastomer configured to provide a restoring force to restore the lift pin to an original coaxial position that is coaxial with a central axis of the pin hole from a pivotally moved position;
a second elastomer configured to provide a restoring force to restore the pin holder to an original position that is coaxial with the central axis of the pin hole from a laterally moved position, wherein, in the laterally moved position, the pin holder is laterally displaced on a top surface of the support,
(17B) the first elastomer comprises a first pin-shaped elastomer having a first end in a first insertion groove of the joint ball, and a second end opposite the first end and in a second insertion groove of the ball socket,
the second elastomer comprises a second pin-shaped elastomer having a first end in a third insertion groove defined in a bottom of the pin holder, and a second end opposite the first end and in a fourth insertion groove defined in the top surface of the support, and
the first insertion groove, the second insertion groove, the third insertion groove, and the fourth insertion groove are vertically aligned.
‘671 also teaches a cooling flow passage 211b ([0055]). ‘671 also teaches a second joint 944 which is formed on an upper portion of the support plate 920 and linked to the first joint 942 ([0069], 3rd sentence, therefore, the second joint 944 is directly on the support plate and is considered as the claimed “pin holder”).
‘141 is analogous art in the field of Wafer Supporting Device In Semiconductor Manufacturing Device (title), a lift pin (abstract). ’141 teaches that the lift pins 48 are restrained by the lift arms 44 and the lift ring 32, whereas there is a difference in thermal expansion between the susceptor 22 and the lift arms and lift ring 32, whereby there will be a fear of the side surfaces of lift pins 48 strongly coming into contact with the inner wall surfaces of the through holes 46 during the epitaxial growth process if the inner diameter of the through holes 46 is on a par with the outer diameter of the lift pins 48 (Figs. 3A-3B, [0040]).
‘324 is analogous art in the field of LIFT PIN MODULE OF FPD MANUFACTURING MACHINE (title). ’324 teaches that he above-described receiving groove 128 and the insertion protrusion 130a of the pin coupler 130 inserted into the receiving groove 128 are provided in a reduced state by an appropriate interval of "ℓ", and the separation distance is 1. It is about mm. Therefore, the pin coupler 130 inserted into the above-mentioned receiving groove 128 flows in the horizontal direction of front, rear, left and right within about 1 mm. The pin coupler fixing member 132 described above has a cylindrical shape with a lower opening, and a lower end thereof has a female screw formed therein so as to be fastened to a male screw provided on an outer circumferential surface of the first lift pin 126a. The through hole is formed so that the second lift pin 126b can be inserted (P5, last two complete paragraphs, Fig. 4a shows the second or lower lift pins 126a with wavy thread), to provide a second lift pin of the upper and lower parts to flow so that even if the deformation occurs in the lift pin due to the temperature difference in the second lift pin hole (P3, TECH-PROBLEM).
‘816 is analogous art in the field of SUBSTRATE SUPPORT AND SUBSTRATE PROCESSING APPARATUS (title), the lifter pin is lifted so that the substrate or a ring member disposed around the substrate is raised from the substrate support and loaded and unloaded ([0043]), last sentence. ’816 teaches that In FIG. 11B, the first pin member 231 and the second pin member 232 are connected by a connecting member 234 such as a spring or the like, and the first pin member 231 and the second pin member 232 are attracted. In FIG. 11B, the force that pulls the first pin member 231 downward by the connecting member 234 is indicated by Fp. The connecting member 234 may be a string or the like, instead of the spring. When the first pin member 231 and the second pin member 232 are configured as shown in FIGS. 11A and 11B, in the substrate support 110, the first pin member 231 can be pulled downward by lowering the second pin member 232 by the driving unit 202 ([0138], 4th sentence). ‘816 also teaches that due to a difference in a temperature or a coefficient of thermal expansion between the members, the members may be displaced and, thus, the through-holes may be displaced ([0044]), FIGS. 3A to 3C show a case where displacement occurs in the substrate support 110 shown in FIG. 2 ([0079], 3rd sentence) and The lower end of the first pin member 231 and the upper end of the second pin member 232 are connected by an elastic member 290 (Figs. 23A-23B, [0214]), The elastic member 290 is elastically deformable. The elastic member 290 may be, e.g., a polyurethane (PU)-based resin. α GEL manufactured by Taica Corporation may be used as the elastic member 290 ([0215], i.e. an elastomer).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized a temperature gradient due to the cooling flow passage of ‘671, and a problem of thermal expansion difference between the lift arms and susceptor, as taught by ‘141 and ‘324, and to have added a connecting member 234 of spring or the elastic member 290 of ‘816 between the first joint 942a and the lift pin 910 and between the second joint 944a and the support plate 920 of ‘671 (the limitations of 1A, 9A and 17A), for the purpose of thermal expansion difference as taught by ‘141 ([0040]) by ‘816 ([0044]), and by ‘324 (P3, TECH-PROBLEM), and for the purpose of preventing contact between the lift pin and side surfaces of through hole, as taught by ‘141 ([0040]) and by ‘816 ([0044]).
As the limitation of 1B, 9B, and 17B, initially, inserting the elastic member 290 to the components above and below it is merely a re-arrangement of part that does not affect the deformation property of the elastic member.
Furthermore, ‘848, as an evidence, is an analogous art in the field of Substrate Lifting Mechanism, Substrate Supporting Device And Substrate Processing Device (title). ’848 teaches that The lower end 561b of the first bellows 561 can move horizontally together with the lift pin 52 (Fig. 3, P7, 2nd complete paragraph, therefore, spring can also moves horizontally).
‘200 is analogous art in the field of substrate to be processed may be positioned on an upper surface of the lower electrode assembly 13, or "stage". The lifting mechanism 15 may include a pin plate 16 to which the lower ends of the respective lift pins 14 are fixed, and a ball screw 17 and a motor 18 which raise and lower the pin plate 16 in a ball screw driving manner (Fig. 1, [0031]), ’200 teaches that Each displacement sensing means 161A senses whether the elastic member E1 is compressed by a substrate to change the projecting height of the lift pin 154A from a completely raised position in which the lift pin 154A projects from the stage 153 by a predetermined height ([0062], Fig. 10A shows the elastic member E1 inserting into groove of the lift pin 154A and the pin plate 156, see also Figs. 11A, 12A, and 13A, note different locations of the elastic member corresponding to the first elastomer and the second elastomer of instant application). The elastic member E1 may be a coil spring, as shown, rubber, sponge, or other suitable component ([0059], last sentence, rubber is an elastomer).
Note ‘200 also shows that Figs. 10A-10B show the elastic member E1 is at the center of the bottom of the lift pin 154A and Figs. 11A-11B show the elastic member E2 is at the center of the bottom of the upper pin 154u and the center of the lower pin 154d. ‘200 also teaches that various variations and modifications are possible in the component parts and/or arrangements of the subject combination arrangement within the scope of the disclosure ([0161]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have re-arranged the imported elastic member 290 from ‘816 into grooves of component above and below it and in alignment (the limitations of 1B, 9B, and 17B) and to have the capability of moving horizontally, as evidenced by ‘848. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention only involves routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
The combination of ‘671, ‘141, ‘324, ‘816, and ‘200 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 16: the pin coupler 130 inserted into the above-mentioned receiving groove 128 flows in the horizontal direction of front, rear, left and right within about 1 mm. The pin coupler fixing member 132 described above has a cylindrical shape with a lower opening, and a lower end thereof has a female screw formed therein so as to be fastened to a male screw provided on an outer circumferential surface of the first lift pin 126a. The through hole is formed so that the second lift pin 126b can be inserted (‘324, P5, last two complete paragraphs, Fig. 4a shows the second or lower lift pins 126a with wavy thread, includes the claimed “wherein the pin holder includes a top holder connected to the lift pin and a bottom holder connected to the support, and wherein the top holder and the bottom holder are threadedly connected”, note thread is also available in ‘671 [0005] and at the coupler fixing member 132 of ‘324).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘671, ‘141, ‘324, ‘816, and ‘200, as being applied to claim 17 rejection above, further in view of Lill et al. (US 20130109190, hereafter ‘190).
‘671 teaches A cooling flow passage 211b is formed in the insulating plate 215 ([0055]) but is silent on the temperature of the operation. The combination of ‘671, ‘141, ‘324, ‘816, and ‘200 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 20: wherein the process chamber treats the substrate using a cryogenic plasma.
‘190 is analogous art in the field of PULSED PLASMA WITH LOW WAFER TEMPERATURE FOR ULTRA THIN LAYER ETCHES (title), for cryogenic cooling of a substrate to reduce the diffusion coefficients of foreign and intrinsic stop layer atoms (abstract). ‘190 teaches that deep cryogenic plasma etches where extreme anisotropy and high aspect ratio (HAR) feature generation (deep vias, etc.) are the design criteria for etch processes and for the etch systems that perform such etches ([0017], 2nd sentence).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted cryogenic plasma etches of ‘190 for the cooling passage of ‘671, for the purpose of reducing foreign atoms, high aspect ratio, as taught by ‘190 (abstract and [0017], 2nd sentence).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regarding to 112(d) rejection, see the middle of page 8, Applicants’ amendment overcomes the rejection.
Regarding to art rejection, Applicants repeated argue that
A) Figs. 23A and 23B of Sasaki ‘816 does not teach “a second elastomer configured to provide a restoring force to restore the pin holder to an original position with respect to the support from a laterally moved position“ of previous claim 6 because [0216] is to “prevent the first pin member 231 from protruding”.
This argument is found not persuasive.
The elastic member 290, when moving from original position of Fig. 23A to the position of Fig. 23B, would have provided a restoring force by Newtons’ law.
B) the combination does not lead to “wherein, in the laterally moved position, the pin holder is laterally displaced on a top surface of the support“ because in Ha ‘671, the bellow 990 and second joint 944a are fixed to the support plate 920, does not permit the second joint 944a to be laterally displaced on the top surface of the support plate 920, see the bottom of page 11.
This argument is found not persuasive.
This is attacking reference individually at best.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
By importing the elastic member 920 of ‘816, because of the thermal expansion difference as taught by ‘141 and ‘324, between the second joint 944a to be laterally displaced on the top surface of the support plate 920, the second joint 944a would have been laterally movable relative to the support plate 920.
Note the bellow 990 is also capable of moving laterally due to its flexibility.
C) Lee‘s E1 is not configured to pivot, see the 2nd paragraph of page 12.
This argument is found not persuasive.
This is ‘200 reference Applicants are referred to. Applicants please refer to which Lee reference as there are two Lee’ reference.
This is again attacking reference individually.
‘200 is relied upon as the location of the spring
The examiner further cites Applicants’ IDS ‘848 to show the E1 is capable of horizontal movement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20100212832 is cited for spring in an enclosed space (Figs. 4-6).
Newly submitted IDS, KR 20170003322, teaches a spring 40 (Fig. 11).
US 20210159112 is cited for multiple ball joints (Fig. 12) and single ball joint for lift pin (Fig. 13) with lateral movement (Fig. 14).
/KEATH T CHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716