DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 23 recites the limitation “further wherein at least one of the first and the second precursor comprises a metal precursor.” This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear to what the phrase “further wherein” makes reference. Also the limitation “wherein at least one of the first and the second precursor comprises a metal precursor” contradicts to the limitation of the parent claim 1 such as “wherein at least one of the first precursor and the second precursor is selected from the group consisting of N,N-diethyl-(1,1, 2,3,3, 3-hexafluoropropyl)amine, N,N-diethyl-(E)- pentafluoropropenylamine and combinations thereof”, and therefore this limitation renders the claim indefinite.
Claims 24-29 are indefinite because of their dependance on indefinite claim 23.
Claims 23-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 23 recited the limitaiton “at least one of the first and the second precursor comprises a metal precursor.” This limitation fails for further limit the subject matter of the parent claim 1 where it is recited that “wherein at least one of the first precursor and the second precursor is selected from the group consisting of N,N-diethyl-(1,1,2,3,3.3-hexafluoropropyl)amine, N,N-diethyl-(E)- pentafluoropropenylamine and combinations thereof.” Thus, claim 1 recites a Markush grouping of a closed group of alternatives, i.e. claim 1 is closed to unrecited element and inclusion of additional elements (such as “a metal precursor” recited in claim 23) is improper.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thadani (US 2016/0093488) in view of Li (US 2021/0288086).
Regarding claim 23, Thadani discloses a method of filling a gap comprising: introducing a substrate in a reaction chamber, the substrate being provided with a gap (Fig.2, numeral 210); introducing a reaction gas in the reaction chamber ([0017]), the reaction gas comprising a noble gas ([0018]), a first precursor (Fig.1, numeral 110) and a second precursor (120), the first precursor being different from the second precursor ([0018]); and, generating a plasma in the reaction chamber (130), thereby forming a gap filling fluid that at least partially fills the gap ([0029]).
Thadani does not disclose that at least one of the first precursor and the second precursor comprises a metal precursor, the metal precursor comprising a metal.
Li however discloses at least one of the first precursor and the second precursor comprises a metal precursor, the metal precursor comprising a metal ([0029]).
It would have therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Thadani with Li to have at least one of the first precursor and the second precursor comprises a metal precursor, the metal precursor comprising a metal for the purpose of forming a tantalum liner (Li, [0029]).
Regarding claim 24, Li discloses wherein the metal precursor comprises titanium, hafnium, zirconium, or tantalum ([0029]).
Regarding claim 25, Li discloses wherein the metal precursor comprises a tantalum precursor ([0029]).
Regarding claim 26, Li discloses wherein the tantalum precursor is selected from a tantalum alkylamine, a tantalum alkylamine comprising at least two different alkylamine ligands, a heteroleptic alkylamine, and a tantalum halide ([0029]).
Regarding claim 27, Li discloses wherein the tantalum precursor is TaCl5 ([0029])
Regarding claim 28, Li discloses wherein the tantalum precursor is a tantalum alkylamine ([0029]).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thadani (US 2016/0093488) in view of Li (US 2021/0288086).as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Brogan (US 2023/0260834).
Regarding claim 29, Thadani in view of Li does not disclose wherein the tantalum precursor is tris (diethylamido) (tert-butylimido)tantalum.
Brogan however discloses wherein the tantalum precursor is tris (diethylamido) (tert-butylimido)tantalum ([0110]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Thadani with Brogan to have the tantalum precursor is tris (diethylamido) (tert-butylimido)tantalum because it is typical precursor for forming tantalum containing layers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4, and 10-19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the search of the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest wherein at least one of the first precursor and the second precursors is a an alkylamine-substituted halogenated alkane or alkene selected from N,N-diethyl-(1,1,2,3,3.3-hexafluoropropyl)amine, N,N-diethyl-(E)- pentafluoropropenylamine as required by amended independent claim 1.
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891