DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
As of January 5, 2026, no information disclosure statement has been made of record.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered. See specification at ¶ 0020.
Specification Objections
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In ¶ 0022, it appears that the isolation 240 needs to be labeled 245, and the internal area 245 needs to be labeled 240.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10, 12-17, 19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Arai et al. (US 2006/0175635 A1) (“Arai”).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Arai teaches at least in figures 13A-16B:
a first transistor array (described below) in or over a semiconductor substrate (¶ 0003) and distributed among a first plurality (A1) of first transistor banks (a plurality of sets of CC/EC/BC; hereinafter A; therefore a first transistor array is a plurality of As; hereinafter As); and
a second transistor array (described below) in or over the semiconductor substrate (¶ 0003) and distributed among a second plurality (B2) of second transistor banks (a second set of CC/EC/BC; hereinafter B; therefore a second transistor array is a plurality of Bs; hereinafter Bs),
wherein a first one (A1) of the first transistor banks (As) is located between a first one (a first one of B; hereinafter B1) and a second one (a second one of B; hereinafter B2) of the second transistor banks (Bs), and
the second one (B2) of the second transistor banks (B) is located between the first one (A1) of the first transistor banks (As) and a second one (A2) of the first transistor banks (As).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Arai teaches at least in figures 13A-16B:
wherein the first one of the first transistor banks (A) includes a first number of blocks (a subset of the plurality of CC/EC/BC; hereinafter A’), and
the second one of the second transistor banks (B) includes a second smaller number of blocks (a subset of the plurality of CC/EC/BC; hereinafter B’).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Arai teaches at least in figures 13A-16B:
wherein the blocks (A’ and B’) are individually isolated (See figure 15A).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Arai teaches at least in figures 13A-16B:
wherein the blocks (A’ and B’) include deep trench isolation structures that surround corresponding blocks (2b so surrounds).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Arai teaches at least in figures 13A-16B:
wherein the second one (A2) of the first transistor banks (As) is located between the second one (B2) of the second transistor banks (Bs) and a third one (B3) of the second transistor banks (Bs);
the first one (A1) of the first transistor banks (As) and the second one (B2) of the second transistor banks (Bs) laterally extend over the semiconductor substrate (¶ 0003) a first distance in a first direction (This is so shown in the figures); and
the first one (B1) of the second transistor banks (Bs) and the second one (A2) of the first transistor banks (As) laterally extend a greater second distance in the first direction (This is so shown in the figures).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Arai teaches at least in figures 13A-16B:
wherein the first (A1) and second ones (A2) of the first transistor banks (As) and the first (B1) and second ones (B2) of the second transistor banks (Bs) bound a central region of the integrated circuit located directly between the first one of the second transistor banks and the second one of the first transistor banks (Based upon the breath of the claimed pluralities Arai teaches this at least in figure 16A-B).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Arai teaches at least in figures 13A-16B:
wherein the first transistor bank is configured as a high-side transistor of a voltage converter circuit and the second transistor bank is configured as a low-side transistor of the voltage converter circuit (This is considered a relabeling of the banks of claim 1. This claim adds no new structure and carries no patentable weight. The banks of claim 1 can be so configured simply by relabeling them).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Arai teaches at least in figures 13A-16B:
wherein the first (As) and second transistor arrays (Bs) include a plurality of isolated sub-banks, each sub-bank including a plurality of vertical trench transistor segments (this is shown in figure 15A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, and 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai.
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Arai does not expressly teach:
further comprising active circuit components configured to control the first and second transistor banks, wherein the active circuit components are located in the central region.
However, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art using routine skill in the art could wire up, i.e. connect, the transistor array as claimed. This is because transistors are active circuit components, and they can be “configured”, or connected together, to control a subset of the other transistors arbitrarily grouped together as banks. Therefore, while Arai does not expressly teach the above limitation this would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai, in view of Oshima et al. (US 2018/0211898 A1) (“Oshima”)
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Arai does not expressly teach:
wherein a first spacing between sub-banks in the first one of the first transistor banks is greater than a second spacing between sub-banks in the second one of the first transistor banks.
Oshima teaches
wherein a first spacing between sub-banks in the first one of the first transistor banks is greater than a second spacing between sub-banks in the second one of the first transistor banks (Oshima teaches that one would want different spacing 401-404 between the banks 201-205 in order to change, increase or decrease, the heat dissipation between the banks. ¶ 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the spacing between the banks and/or sub-banks of the first transistor banks and/or second transistor banks in order to adjust and optimize the heat dissipation generated by the active (transistor) elements of the banks.
Claim(s) 11, and 22, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai, in view Yang (US 7,535,057 B2) (“Yang”)
Regarding claims 11 and 22, Arai does not expressly teach:
wherein a first block of the first one of the second transistor banks has a first number of vertical trench transistor segments and a second block of the second one of the second transistor banks has a lesser second number of vertical trench transistor segments.
This is because Arai does not teach vertical transistors. Arai teaches planar transistors. In this case planar BJT transistors.
In regards to the number of transistors in each block the prior art can be arbitrarily grouped together in the same manner.
Yang teaches:
That one can use MOSFETs instead of BJTs. Col. 1 at lines 20-45, were BJTs were commonly used. Col. 1 at lines 45-67, where one could use MOSFETs to improve performances. The replacement of BJTs with MOSFETs would have been an obvious substitution for one of ordinary skill in the art because by doing so they could improve the performance of the device of Arai.
Conclusion
/VINCENT WALL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898