3DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 5/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/29/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwon et al (US 2023/0061418; hereinafter Kwon).
Regarding claim 1, Fig 4 of Kwon discloses an apparatus comprising:
a substrate (110; Fig 4; ¶ [0023]);
integrated circuitry (120; Fig 4; ¶ [0025]) on a first side (Bottom side; Fig 4) of the substrate (110; Fig 4; ¶ [0023]); and
an array of pins (140/132; Fig 4; ¶ [0022]) extending through the substrate (110; Fig 4; ¶ [0023]), the pins (140/132; Fig 4; ¶ [0022]) including first ends (Bottom ends; Fig 4) on the first side (Bottom side; Fig 4) of the substrate (110; Fig 4; ¶ [0023]) and second ends (132; Fig 4) protruding beyond a second side (Top side; Fig 4) of the substrate opposite the first side.
Regarding claim 2, Fig 4 of Kwon discloses the integrated circuitry (120; Fig 4; ¶ [0025]) includes an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) with active semiconductor components (¶ [0087]).
Regarding claim 3, Fig 4 of Kwon discloses the integrated circuitry includes passive circuitry (¶ [0026]) to enable electrical coupling of the array of pins to external processor circuitry. (¶ [0026], [0087])
Regarding claim 4, Fig 4 of Kwon discloses the second ends (132; Fig 4) of the pins (140/132; Fig 4; ¶ [0022]) are exposed to enable the pins ((140/132; Fig 4; ¶ [0022]) to contact structural features of semiconductor components (220; Fig 4; ¶ [0034]) fabricated on a semiconductor wafer (210; Fig 4; ¶ [0034]), the semiconductor wafer (210; Fig 4; ¶ [0034]) distinct from the substrate (110; Fig 4; ¶ [0023]).
Regarding claim 5, Fig 4 of Kwon discloses the semiconductor components (220; Fig 4; ¶ [0034]) correspond to transistors (¶ [0026]) not yet completely fabricated on the semiconductor wafer.
Regarding claim 6, Fig 4 of Kwon discloses portions of the pins (140/132; Fig 4; ¶ [0022]) extending between the second side (Top side; Fig 4) of the substrate (110; Fig 4; ¶ [0023]) and the exposed second ends are covered by a dielectric material (231; Fig 4; ¶ [0046]).
Regarding claim 7, Fig 4 of Kwon discloses first ones of the pins are to provide an excitation signal to the structural features and second ones of the pins are to capture a response signal based on a path of the excitation signal through the structural features. (¶ [0084])
Regarding claim 8, Fig 4 of Kwon discloses the pins (140/132; Fig 4; ¶ [0022]) are distributed across a first area, the semiconductor wafer (210; Fig 4; ¶ [0034]) including regions corresponding to a plurality of semiconductor chips (220; Fig 4), a first one of the semiconductor chips corresponding to a second area of the semiconductor wafer, a size of the first area of approximately equal the second area (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 11, Fig 4 of Kwon discloses the pins (140/132; Fig 4; ¶ [0022]) include cobalt (¶ [0025]).
Regarding claim 12, Fig 4 of Kwon discloses the substrate (110; Fig 4; ¶ [0023]) is a semiconductor substrate (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 13, Fig 4 of Kwon discloses the substrate is a dielectric substrate (Fig 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al (US 2023/0061418; hereinafter Kwon).
Regarding claim 9, Kwon does not expressly disclose adjacent ones of the pins are spaced less than 1 µm apart.
However, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the size and width of the pins to be a result effective variable affecting pitch or spacing between the pins. Thus, it would have been obvious to vary the size and width of the pins in order to achieve the desired spacing within the claimed range, since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. see MPEP 2144.05 II.B
Regarding claim 10, Kwon does not expressly disclose the array of pins include more than 10000 pins.
However, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the number of the pins to be a result effective variable affecting the electrical performance. Thus, it would have been obvious to vary the number of the pins within the claimed range, since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. see MPEP 2144.05 II.B
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Jang (US 2022/0102245)
Nakamura et al (US 2022/0053648)
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817