DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed January 23, 2026 have been entered. Applicant’s amendments have not overcome the 112(b) rejections for the reasons detailed below. Claims 21-40 remain pending, but stand rejected for the reasons detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 23, 2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
112(b) rejection
Applicant argues because the first connecting member is connected to each of the two rotating shafts via a threaded engagement, the engagement is configured to drive the two rotating shafts to rotate synchronously. Examiner acknowledges the threaded engagement between the first connecting member and the two rotating shafts. However, Examiner submits, and maintains, that the threaded engagement does not drive the synchronous rotation. Each shaft 911, 921 is individually connected to first connecting member 931 via threaded engagement 9113, 9213. However, shaft 911 is capable of rotating relative to connector 931 via engagement 9113 without shaft 921 rotating, considering shafts 911, 921 slide in the axial direction when rotated.
Applicant’s amendments also suggest the connecting member 931 moves in the axial direction. However, Paragraph [0081] states “connecting member 931 is located between the second surrounding plate 813 and the first separating plate 816.” Therefore, it is unclear how member 931 is capable of moving in the axial direction. Examiner will interpret the first connecting member being movable relative to the two rotating shafts by virtue of the first connecting member 931 being fixed between the plates 813, 816 and the two rotating shafts 911, 921 sliding axially upon rotating.
Kang in view of Liu
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually (Arguments, pages 11-13), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues detent plate 341 in Kang is fundamentally different from first connecting member 931 of the instant application, because plate 341 in Kang does not play a role in the synchronous rotation (Arguments, pages 11-12). However, Examiner submits connecting member 931 of the instant application and detent plate 341 of Kang play the same role in synchronous rotation -- they simply allow for synchronous rotation, but they do not drive synchronous rotation.
Applicant argues Liu does not cure the deficiencies of Kang, because Liu only teaches one axle 22 threadedly connected to block 26, and Liu does not provide any suggestion to modify detent plate 341 in Kang (Arguments, page 12). However, Examiner clearly uses Liu to modify Kang, where Liu teaches substituting cammed connections in a hinge for threaded connections, and Examiner applies that teaching by substituting both of the cammed connections from detent member 341 in Kang for the threaded connections in Liu, resulting in two shafts being in threaded connection with a single connection member (detent member 341) -- identical to the claimed device.
Applicant argues modifying Kang to include the threaded connection would result in two synchronous driving mechanisms -- the threaded connection between shafts 331, 332 and detent plate 341, as taught in Liu, and the geared connections 331a, 332a, 333 at the end of shafts 331, 332 in Kang -- resulting in a timing difference in the synchronous drive transmission (Arguments, pages 12-13). However, as indicated above, Examiner submits the threaded engagement between shafts 331, 332 and detent plate 341 have no effect on the synchronous movements of the shafts. Therefore, Examiner maintains the threaded engagement between shafts 331, 332 and detent plate 341 will have no effect on the gear’s timing.
Liao in view of Liu and Kang
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually (Arguments, pages 13-16), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues second cam 182 in Liao is irrelevant to synchronous rotation, because the synchronous rotation is controlled by the gears 142, as oppose to the instant application, where Applicant alleges the engagement between connection assembly 93 and first and second shafts 91, 92 drive first and second shafts 91, 92 to rotate and slide synchronously (Arguments, pages 13-15). However, Paragraph [0066] of the instant application states, “The connection assembly 93 is configured to be connected to the first rotating shaft assembly 91 and the second rotating shaft assembly 92, such that the first rotating shaft assembly 91 and the second rotating shaft assembly 92 may rotate synchronously.” In other words, the engagement allows for synchronous rotation of the shafts, but does not force the synchronous rotation, as Applicant suggests. Examiner maintains second cam 182 allows for the synchronous rotation of shafts 183.
Applicant argues Liu does not cure the deficiencies of Liao, because Liu only teaches one axle 22 threadedly connected to block 26, and Liu does not provide any suggestion to modify second cam 182 in Liao (Arguments, page 15). However, Examiner clearly uses Liu to modify Liao, where Liu teaches substituting cammed connections in a hinge for threaded connections, and Examiner applies that teaching by substituting both of the cammed connections from second cam 182 in Liao for the threaded connections in Liu, resulting in two shafts being in threaded connection with a single connection member (second cam 182) -- identical to the claimed device.
Applicant argues modifying Liao to include the threaded connection of Liu would result in two synchronous driving mechanisms -- the threaded connection between shafts 331, 332 and second cam 182, as taught in Liu, and the geared connections 142 in Liao -- resulting in a timing difference in the synchronous driving transmission (Arguments, pages 15-16). However, as indicated above, Examiner submits the threaded engagement between shafts 183 and second cam 182 have no effect on the synchronous movements of the shafts. Therefore, Examiner maintains the threaded engagement between shafts 183 and second cam 182 will have no effect on the gear’s timing.
For these reasons, and the reasons detailed above, claims 21-40 stand rejected.
Examiner also notes Morrison (US Publication No. 2021/0405711) teaches timing gears being capable of sliding relative to each other. Therefore, Morrison provides support for the possibility of the timing gears in Kang and Liao being capable of axially sliding relative to each other when modified by Liu.
Examiner also note claim 30 includes allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 21 and 31 claim “wherein the first connecting member is connected to each of the two rotating shafts by screw thread, and is movable relative to the each of the two rotating shafts in the axial direction of the each of the two rotating shafts, and engagement between the first connecting member and the two rotating shafts is configured to drive the two rotating shafts to rotate synchronously” However, it is unclear how the threaded connection between the first connection member and shafts are capable of driving/forcing the shafts to rotate and slide synchronously/at the same time. Examiner agrees the engagement between the first connection member and the shafts allow for the shafts to slide and rotate at the same time (i.e. when a user rotates the shafts at the same time). The instant application explicitly states, “The connection assembly 93 is configured to be connected to the first rotating shaft assembly 91 and the second rotating shaft assembly 92, such that the first rotating shaft assembly 91 and the second rotating shaft assembly 92 may rotate synchronously” (Paragraph [0066], emphasis added). However, it is unclear how the engagement drives/forces the shafts to slide and rotate synchronously, considering the engagement also allows for each shaft to rotate separately, at different times. The engagement between the first connection member and each shaft is simply a threaded engagement (see Figures 14-15). A user is capable of rotating only one shaft, such that the one shaft rotates and slides relative to the first connection member via the threaded engagement, while keeping the other shaft unrotated. Therefore, it is unclear how the threaded connection between the first connection member and each shaft drives the two rotating shafts to slide simultaneously in the axial directions and rotate synchronously. For the purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as the engagement allowing for the two rotating shafts to slide simultaneously in the axial directions and rotate synchronously.
The cited limitation also suggests the connecting member 931 moves in the axial direction. However, Paragraph [0081] states “connecting member 931 is located between the second surrounding plate 813 and the first separating plate 816.” Therefore, it is unclear how member 931 is capable of moving in the axial direction. Examiner will interpret the first connecting member being movable relative to the two rotating shafts by virtue of the first connecting member 931 being fixed between plates 813, 816 and two rotating shafts 911, 912 sliding axially upon rotating.
Claims 22-30 and 32-40 are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-29 and 31-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US Publication No. 2021/0165466) in view of Liu (US Publication No. 2006/0064849).
Regarding claim 21 (as best understood), Kang discloses a rotating shaft module, comprising: a housing body (Figure 5, comprised of hinge housing 300c, bracket 313, stopper 360, and block portion of shaft bracket 335); a supporting member (support portion 350), arranged opposite to the housing body (300c, 313, 360, block of 335), and slidably connected to the housing body (300c, 313, 360, block of 335; see Paragraph [0120]); and two rotating shafts (first and second shafts 331, 332), rotatably connected to the housing body (300c, 313, 360, block of 335), respectively, wherein the two rotating shafts (331, 332) are configured to rotate simultaneously (see Paragraph [0084]), one of the two rotating shafts (331) is configured to rotate in a first direction (about L1), another of the two rotating shafts (332) is configured to rotate in a second direction (about L2), the first direction is opposite to the second direction (see Figures 5-7), one of the two rotating shafts (331) is disposed on one side of the supporting member (350), and the another of the two rotating shafts (332) is disposed on the other side of the supporting member (350); a first connecting member (detent plate 341), movably connected to each of the two rotating shafts (331, 332), wherein the first connecting member (341) is connected to each of the two rotating shafts (331, 332), and is movable relative to the each of the two rotating shafts (331, 332) in the axial direction of the each of the two rotating shafts (331, 332), and configured to enable (allowing for) to two rotating shafts (331, 332) to rotate synchronously (Figure 5, engagement between plate 341, shafts 331, 332, and arm portions 321, 322 allowing for synchronous rotation performed by hinge structure 300); wherein the supporting member (350) is configured to slide in a direction away from or close to the housing body (300c, 313, 360, block of 335; see Paragraph [0120]) in response to the two rotating shafts (331, 332) rotating simultaneously.
Kang does not disclose wherein the first connecting member is connected to each of the rotating shafts by screw thread, and wherein engagement between the first connecting member and the two rotating shafts is configured to drive the two rotating shafts to rotate synchronously.
However, Liu teaches a rotating shaft module, comprising: a housing body (Paragraph [0018], portion of electronic device housing hinge 20), a rotating shaft (axle 22), and a first connecting member (block 26), wherein the rotating shaft (22) is configured to slide relative to the housing body (portion of electronic device housing hinge 20) in an axial direction of the rotating shaft (22), wherein the first connecting member (26) is connected to the rotating shaft (22) by screw thread (224) and is movable relative to the rotating shaft (22) in the axial direction of the rotating shaft (22), and engagement between the first connecting member (26) and the rotating shaft (22) is configured to enable the rotating shaft (22) to slide in the axial direction (Paragraph [0019], “When the cover is rotated down toward the main housing, the axle 22 rotates clockwise relative to the block 26 (as viewed in FIG. 2). Because of the engagement of the screw thread 224 in the screw hole 262, the axle 22 draws the clip 220 toward the block 26”).
Because Kang discloses a camming engagement (Figure 1, engagement between 341 and 321, 322) and Liu explicitly teaches the benefits of a threaded engagement over a camming engagement (see Paragraphs [0004]-[0012] in Liu), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the camming engagements in Kang for the threaded engagement taught in Liu, such that the first connecting member (341 in Kang, as modified by Liu) is connected to each of the rotating shafts (331, 332 in Kang, as modified by Liu) by screw thread (224 in Liu), and engagement (threaded engagement taught in Liu) between the first connecting member (341 in Kang, as modified by Liu) and the two rotating shafts (331, 332 in Kang, as modified by Liu) is configured to drive the two rotating shafts (331, 332 in Kang, as modified by Liu) to slide simultaneously in the axial directions of the two rotating shafts (331, 332 in Kang, as modified by Liu) and rotate synchronously, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of operating a hinge mechanism using a compression spring to regulate the rotation of two connected bodies (see Paragraphs [0149]-[0151] in Kang; see Paragraphs [0017]-[0022] in Liu). Doing so would have also provided for a simplified, steadier hinge operation, as compared to the operation of a camming hinge (see Paragraphs [0004]-[0012] in Liu).
Regarding claim 22, Kang in view of Liu teaches the rotating shaft module according to claim 21, further comprising (in Kang): a rotating arm (first and second arm portions 321, 322), arranged on an end portion of each of the two rotating shafts (ends of 331, 332), and configured to drive a corresponding one of the two rotating shafts (331, 332, as modified by Liu) to rotate; wherein an abutting member (support ribs 321b, 322b) is arranged on the rotating arm (321, 322), the abutting member (321b, 322b) is configured to be abutted against a side of the supporting member (bottom side of 350) facing towards the housing body (300c, 313, 360, block of 335), and the supporting member (350) is configured to slide in the direction away from or close to the housing body (300c, 313, 360, block of 335) in response to rotation of the rotating arm (321, 322) and the two rotating shafts (331, 332, as modified by Liu).
Regarding claim 23, Kang in view of Liu teaches the rotating shaft module according to claim 22, and further teaches (in Kang) wherein an abutting portion (portions of 350 contacting 321b, 322b) is arranged on a surface of the supporting member (bottom surface of 350) facing towards the housing body (300c, 313, 360, block of 335), and the abutting portion (portion of 350 contacting 321b, 322b) is configured to be abutted against the abutting member (321b, 322b).
Regarding claim 24, Kang in view of Liu teaches the rotating shaft module according to claim 21, further comprising (in Kang): a resilient member (elastic member 361), arranged between the housing body (300c, 313, 360, block of 335) and the supporting member (350); wherein an end of the resilient member (bottom end of 350) is abutted against the housing body (300c, 313, 360, block of 335), another end of the resilient member (top end of 350) is abutted against the supporting member (350), and the resilient member (361) is configured to adjust a distance between the housing body (300c, 313, 360, block of 335) and the supporting member (350; see Paragraph [0120]).
Regarding claim 25, Kang in view of Liu teaches the rotating shaft module according to claim 24, and further teaches (in Kang) wherein a guide portion (hole 360c) is arranged on a side of the housing body (top side of 360) facing towards the supporting member (350), a guide post (protrusion 351) is arranged on a side of the supporting member (bottom side of 350) facing towards the housing body (300c, 313, 360, block of 335), and the guide post (351) is arranged in the guide portion (360c) and slidable relative to the guide portion (360c).
Regarding claim 26, Kang in view of Liu teaches the rotating shaft module according to claim 25, and further teaches (in Kang) wherein the resilient member (361) is sleeved on the guide post (351) and located in the guide portion (360c).
Regarding claim 27, Kang in view of Liu teaches the rotating shaft module according to claim 21, further comprising (in Kang): an elastic assembly (comprised of first and second spring 342, 343 and first and second arms 321, 322), sleeved on each of the two rotating shafts (331, 332), abutting against the housing body (300c, 313, 360, block of 335), and configured to keep each of the two rotating shafts (331, 332) stable (see Paragraphs [0149]-[0151]).
Regarding claim 28, Kang in view of Liu teaches the rotating shaft module according to claim 27, and further teaches (in Kang) wherein an abutting member (support ribs 321b, 322b) is arranged on the elastic assembly (342, 343 and 321, 322), and the abutting member (321b, 322b) is configured to be abutted against a side of the supporting member (bottom side of 350) facing towards the housing body (300c, 313, 360, block of 335) and adjust a distance between the housing body (300c, 313, 360, block of 335) and the supporting member (350; see Paragraph [0118]).
Regarding claim 29, Kang in view of Liu teaches the rotating shaft module according to claim 27, and further discloses wherein the housing body (300c, 313, 360, block of 335) comprises: a mounting plate (top plate of 360), arranged opposite to the supporting member (350), and configured to be slidably connected (through connection with 361, 362) to the supporting member (350); surrounding plates (313 and end plate of 300c), disposed around the mounting plate (top plate of 360) and defining a holding space (between 313 and end plate of 300c), wherein a portion of each of the two rotating shafts (331, 332) is disposed in the holding space (between 313 and end plate of 300c); and a first separating plate (side plate of 360, comprising 360a, 360b) and a second separating plate (block portion of 335, excluding side plates comprising 335a, 335b), disposed in the holding space (between 313 and end plate of 300c), wherein the surrounding plates (313 and end plate of 300c; NOTE: 300c indirectly, rotatably connected to shafts 331, 332 in a manner identical to the claimed invention -- see surrounding plate 815 in instant application), the first separating plate (side plate of 360), and the second separating plate (block portion of 335) are rotatably connected to each of the two rotating shafts (331, 332), and the first separating plate (side plate of 360) and the second separating plate (block portion of 335) are configured to be abutted against the elastic assembly (342, 343 and 321, 322).
Regarding claim 31 (as best understood), Kang discloses an electronic apparatus (Figure 2A, electronic device 101), comprising a rotating shaft module (Figure 3, hinge assembly 300a), wherein the rotating shaft module (300a) comprises: a housing body (Figure 5, comprised of hinge housing 300c, bracket 313, stopper 360, and shaft bracket 335); a supporting member (support portion 350), arranged opposite to the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335), and slidably connected to the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335); and two rotating shafts (first and second shaft 331, 332), rotatably connected to the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335), respectively, wherein the two rotating shafts (331, 332) are configured to rotate simultaneously, one of the two rotating shafts (331) is configured to rotate in a first direction (about L1), another of the two rotating shafts (332) is configured to rotate in a second direction (about L2), the first direction is opposite to the second direction (see Figures 5-7), the one of the two rotating shafts (331) is disposed on one side of the supporting member (first edge of 350; see Figure 4), and the another of the two rotating shafts (332) is disposed on another side of the supporting member (second edge of 350; see Figure 4); a first connecting member (detent plate 341), movably connected to each of the two rotating shafts (331, 332), wherein the first connecting member (341) is connected to each of the two rotating shafts (331, 332), and is movable relative to the each of the two rotating shafts (331, 332) in the axial direction of the each of the two rotating shafts (331, 332), and configured to enable (allowing for) to two rotating shafts (331, 332) to rotate synchronously (Figure 5, engagement between plate 341, shafts 331, 332, and arm portions 321, 322 allowing for synchronous rotation performed by hinge structure 300); wherein the supporting member (350) is configured to slide in a direction away from or close to the housing body (300c, 313, 360, block of 335; see Paragraph [0120]) in response to the two rotating shafts (331, 332) rotating simultaneously.
Kang does not disclose wherein the first connecting member is connected to two each of the rotating shafts by screw thread, and wherein engagement between the first connecting member and the two rotating shafts is configured to drive the two rotating shafts to rotate synchronously.
However, Liu teaches a rotating shaft module, comprising: a housing body (Paragraph [0018], portion of electronic device housing hinge 20), a rotating shaft (axle 22), and a first connecting member (block 26), wherein the rotating shaft (22) is configured to slide relative to the housing body (portion of electronic device housing hinge 20) in an axial direction of the rotating shaft (22), wherein the first connecting member (26) is movably connected to the rotating shaft (22) by screw thread (224) and is movable relative to the rotating shaft (22) in the axial direction of the rotating shaft (22), and engagement between the first connecting member (26) and the rotating shaft (22) is configured to enable the rotating shaft (22) to slide in the axial direction (Paragraph [0019], “When the cover is rotated down toward the main housing, the axle 22 rotates clockwise relative to the block 26 (as viewed in FIG. 2). Because of the engagement of the screw thread 224 in the screw hole 262, the axle 22 draws the clip 220 toward the block 26”).
Because Kang discloses a camming engagement (Figure 1, engagement between 341 and 321, 322) and Liu explicitly teaches the benefits of a threaded engagement over a camming engagement (see Paragraphs [0004]-[0012] in Liu), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the camming engagements in Kang for the threaded engagement taught in Liu, such that the first connecting member (341 in Kang, as modified by Liu) is connected to each of the rotating shafts (331, 332 in Kang, as modified by Liu) by screw thread (224 in Liu), and engagement (threaded engagement taught in Liu) between the first connecting member (341 in Kang, as modified by Liu) and the two rotating shafts (331, 332 in Kang, as modified by Liu) is configured to drive the two rotating shafts (331, 332 in Kang, as modified by Liu) to slide simultaneously in the axial directions of the two rotating shafts (331, 332 in Kang, as modified by Liu) and rotate synchronously, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of operating a hinge mechanism using a compression spring to regulate the rotation of two connected bodies (see Paragraphs [0149]-[0151] in Kang; see Paragraphs [0017]-[0022] in Liu). Doing so would have also provided for a simplified, steadier hinge operation, as compared to the operation of a camming hinge (see Paragraphs [0004]-[0012] in Liu).
Regarding claim 32, Kang in view of Liu teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 31, and further teaches (in Kang) wherein the rotating shaft module further comprises: a rotating arm (first arm portion 321, 322), arranged on an end portion of each of the two rotating shafts (331, 332) and configured to drive a corresponding one of the two rotating shafts (331, 332) to rotate; and wherein the electronic apparatus (101) further comprises a first housing (first housing 211) and a second housing (second housing 212), wherein the first housing (211) is rotatably connected to the rotating arm (321, 322) arranged on one of the two rotating shafts (331, 332), and the second housing (212) is rotatably connected to the rotating arm (321, 322) arranged on the other of the two rotating shafts (331, 332).
Regarding claim 33, Kang in view of Liu teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 32, further comprising (in Kang): a first pallet (second bracket 312) and a second pallet (first bracket 311), wherein the first pallet (312) is arranged on one side of the housing body (see Figure 4), the second pallet (311) is arranged on another side of the housing body (see Figure 4), each of the first pallet (312) and the second pallet (311) is rotatably connected to the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335), the first pallet (312) is rotatably connected to the first housing (211), the second pallet (311) is rotatably connected to the second housing (212), and the first pallet (312) and the second pallet (311) are in a same plane (see Figure 10A) in a case where the rotating shaft module is flattened (see Figure 10A).
Regarding claim 34, Kang in view of Liu teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 33, further comprising (in Kang): a display module (flexible display 220), arranged on the first housing (211) and the second housing (212), wherein the first pallet (312), the second pallet (311), and the supporting member (350) are configured to carry a portion of the display module (folded region 220c) arranged between the first housing (211) and the second housing (212).
Regarding claim 35, Kang in view of Liu teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 32, and further teaches (in Kang) wherein an abutting member (first and second supporting ribs 321b, 322b) is arranged on the rotating arm (321, 322), the abutting member (321b, 322b) is configured to be abutted against a side of the supporting member (bottom side of 350) facing towards the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335), and the supporting member (350) is configured to slide in the direction away from (upward) or close to (downward) the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335) in response to the rotation of the rotating arm (321, 322) and the two rotating shafts (331, 332, as modified by Liu).
Regarding claim 36, Kang in view of Liu teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 35, and further teaches (in Kang) wherein an abutting portion (portions of 350 contacting 321b, 322b) is arranged on a surface of the supporting member (bottom surface of 350) facing towards the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335), and the abutting portion (portion of 350 contacting 321b, 322b) is configured to be abutted against the abutting member (321b, 322b).
Regarding claim 37, Kang in view of Liu teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 31, and further teaches (in Kang) wherein the rotating shaft module (300a) further comprises: a resilient member (361), arranged between the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335) and the supporting member (350); wherein an end of the resilient member (bottom end of 361) is abutted against the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335; specifically top plate of 360), another end of the resilient member (top end of 361) is abutted against the supporting member (350), and the resilient member (361) is configured to adjust a distance between the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335) and the supporting member (350).
Regarding claim 38, Kang in view of Liu teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 37, and further teaches (in Kang) wherein a guide portion (hole 360c) is arranged on a side of the housing body (top side of 360) facing towards the supporting member (350), a guide post (protrusion 351) is arranged on a side of the supporting member (bottom side of 350) facing towards the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335), and the guide post (351) is arranged in the guide portion (360c) and slidable relative to the guide portion (360c).
Regarding claim 39, Kang in view of Liu teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 38, and further teaches (in Kang) wherein the resilient member (361) is sleeved on the guide post (351) and located in the guide portion (360c).
Regarding claim 40, Kang in view of Liu teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 31, and further teaches (in Kang) wherein the rotating shaft module (300a) further comprises: an elastic assembly (comprised of first and second spring 342, 343 and first and second arm portions 321, 322), sleeved on each of the two rotating shafts (331, 332), abutting against the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335), and configured to keep each of the two rotating shafts (331, 332) stable (see Paragraphs [0149]-[0151]); wherein an abutting member (first and second supporting rib 321b, 322b) is arranged on the elastic assembly (331, 332 and 321, 322), and the abutting member (321b, 322b) is configured to be abutted against a side of the supporting member (bottom side of 350) facing towards the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335) and adjust a distance between the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335) and the supporting member (350).
Alternatively, claims 21 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao (US Publication No. 2021/0368032) in view of Liu (US Publication No. 2006/0064849) and Kang (US Publication No. 2021/0165466).
Regarding claim 21 (as best understood), Liao discloses a rotating shaft module, comprising: a housing body (Figures 5-7, outer shaft 111); a supporting member (inner shaft 112), arranged opposite to the housing body (111); and two rotating shafts (Figure 12, cam shafts 183), rotatably connected to the housing body (111), respectively, wherein the two rotating shafts (183) are configured to rotate simultaneously (see Figures 9-15), one of the two rotating shafts (first 183) is configured to rotate in a first direction (see Figures 9-15), another of the two rotating shafts (second 183) is configured to rotate in a second direction (see Figures 9-15), the first direction is opposite to the second direction (see Figures 9-15), one of the two rotating shafts (first 183) is disposed on one side of the supporting member (first side of 112), and the another of the two rotating shafts (second 183) is disposed on the other side of the supporting member (second side of 112); and a first connecting member (Figures 11-13, second cam 182), movably connected to each of the two rotating shafts (183), wherein the first connecting member (182) is connected to each of the two rotating shafts (183), and is movable relative to the each of the rotating shafts (183), and engagement between the first connecting member (182) and the two rotating shafts (183) is configured to enable the two rotating shafts (183) to rotate synchronously (Figures 5-11, engagement between cam 182 shafts 183 allowing hinge structure to rotate synchronously; see Paragraph [0084]).
Liao does not disclose wherein the first connecting member is connected to each of the rotating shafts by screw thread, and wherein engagement between the first connecting member and the two rotating shafts is configured to drive the two rotating shafts to rotate synchronously.
However, Liu teaches a rotating shaft module, comprising: a housing body (Paragraph [0018], portion of electronic device housing hinge 20), a rotating shaft (axle 22), and a first connecting member (block 26), wherein the rotating shaft (22) is configured to slide relative to the housing body (portion of electronic device housing hinge 20) in an axial direction of the rotating shaft (22), wherein the first connecting member (26) is connected to the rotating shaft (22) by screw thread (224) and is movable relative to the rotating shaft (22) in the axial direction of the rotating shaft (22), and engagement between the first connecting member (26) and the rotating shaft (22) is configured to enable the rotating shaft (22) to slide in the axial direction (Paragraph [0019], “When the cover is rotated down toward the main housing, the axle 22 rotates clockwise relative to the block 26 (as viewed in FIG. 2). Because of the engagement of the screw thread 224 in the screw hole 262, the axle 22 draws the clip 220 toward the block 26”).
Because Liao discloses a camming engagement (see Figures 11-13) and Liu explicitly teaches the benefits of a threaded engagement over a camming engagement (see Paragraphs [0004]-[0012] in Liu), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the camming engagements in Liao for the threaded engagement taught in Liu, such that the first connecting member (182 in Liao, as modified by Liu) is connected to each of the rotating shafts (183 in Liao, as modified by Liu) by screw thread (224 in Liu), and engagement between the first connecting member (182 in Liao, as modified by Liu) and the two rotating shafts (183 in Liao, as modified by Liu) is configured to drive the two rotating shafts (183 in Liao, as modified by Liu) to slide simultaneously in the axial directions of the two rotating shafts (183 in Liao, as modified by Liu) and rotate synchronously, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of operating a hinge mechanism using a compression spring to regulate the rotation of two connected bodies (see Paragraph [0085] in Liao; see Paragraphs [0017]-[0022] in Liu). Doing so would have also provided for a simplified, steadier hinge operation, as compared to the operation of a camming hinge (see Paragraphs [0004]-[0012] in Liu).
Liao in view of Liu does not teach wherein the supporting member is slidably connected to the housing body, wherein the supporting member is configured to slide in a direction away from or close to the housing body in response to the two rotating shafts rotating simultaneously.
However, Kang teaches a housing body (Figure 5, comprised of hinge housing 300c, bracket 313, stopper 360, and shaft bracket 335); a supporting member (support portion 350), arranged opposite to the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335), and slidably connected to the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335; see Paragraph [0120]); and two rotating shafts (first and second shafts 331, 332), rotatably connected to the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335), one of the two rotating shafts (331) is disposed on one side of the supporting member (350), and the another of the two rotating shafts (332) is disposed on the other side of the supporting member (350); wherein the supporting member (350) is configured to slide in a direction away from or close to the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335; see Paragraph [0120]) in response to the two rotating shafts (331, 332) rotating simultaneously.
Because Liao and Kang both teach an electronic device having a flexible display (see Figures 1-2 in Liao; see Figure 2A in Kang), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the support plate of Liao as modified by Liu to slide relative to the housing body, as taught in Kang. Doing so would have supported the middle portion of the flexible display in an unfolded state, while ensuring the support plate remained spaced apart from the flexible display in a folded state so as to not affect the driving trajectory of the flexible display (see Paragraphs [0086]-[0088] in Kang).
Regarding claim 31 (as best understood), Liao discloses an electronic apparatus (see Figure 1-2), comprising a rotating shaft module (rotating shaft mechanism 10), wherein the rotating shaft module (10) comprises: a housing body (outer shaft 111); a supporting member (inner shaft 112), arranged opposite to the housing body (111); and two rotating shafts (Figures 11-13, cam shafts 183), rotatably connected to the housing body (111), respectively, wherein the two rotating shafts (183) are configured to rotate simultaneously, one of the two rotating shafts (first 183) is configured to rotate in a first direction (see Figures 9-15), another of the two rotating shafts (second 183) is configured to rotate in a second direction (see Figures 9-15), the first direction is opposite to the second direction (see Figures 9-15), the one of the two rotating shafts (first 183) is disposed on one side of the supporting member (first side of 112), and the another of the two rotating shafts (second 183) is disposed on another side of the supporting member (second side of 112), and a first connecting member (Figures 11-13, second cam 182), movably connected to each of the two rotating shafts (183), wherein the first connecting member (182) is connected to each of the two rotating shafts (183), and is movable relative to the each of the rotating shafts (183), and engagement between the first connecting member (182) and the two rotating shafts (183) is configured to enable the two rotating shafts (183) to rotate synchronously (Figures 5-11, engagement between cam 182 shafts 183 allowing hinge structure to rotating synchronously; see Paragraph [0084]).
Liao does not disclose wherein the first connecting member is connected to each of the rotating shafts by screw thread, and wherein engagement between the first connecting member and the two rotating shafts is configured to drive the two rotating shafts to rotate synchronously.
However, Liu teaches a rotating shaft module, comprising: a housing body (Paragraph [0018], portion of electronic device housing hinge 20), a rotating shaft (axle 22), and a first connecting member (block 26), wherein the rotating shaft (22) is configured to slide relative to the housing body (portion of electronic device housing hinge 20) in an axial direction of the rotating shaft (22), wherein the first connecting member (26) is connected to the rotating shaft (22) by screw thread (224) and is movable relative to the rotating shaft (22) in the axial direction of the rotating shaft (22), and engagement between the first connecting member (26) and the rotating shaft (22) is configured to enable the rotating shaft (22) to slide in the axial direction (Paragraph [0019], “When the cover is rotated down toward the main housing, the axle 22 rotates clockwise relative to the block 26 (as viewed in FIG. 2). Because of the engagement of the screw thread 224 in the screw hole 262, the axle 22 draws the clip 220 toward the block 26”).
Because Liao discloses a camming engagement (see Figures 11-13) and Liu explicitly teaches the benefits of a threaded engagement over a camming engagement (see Paragraphs [0004]-[0012] in Liu), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the camming engagements in Liao for the threaded engagement taught in Liu, such that the first connecting member (182 in Liao, as modified by Liu) is connected to each of the rotating shafts (183 in Liao, as modified by Liu) by screw thread (224 in Liu), and engagement between the first connecting member (182 in Liao, as modified by Liu) and the two rotating shafts (183 in Liao, as modified by Liu) is configured to drive the two rotating shafts (183 in Liao, as modified by Liu) to slide simultaneously in the axial directions of the two rotating shafts (183 in Liao, as modified by Liu) and rotate synchronously, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of operating a hinge mechanism using a compression spring to regulate the rotation of two connected bodies (see Paragraph [0085] in Liao; see Paragraphs [0017]-[0022] in Liu). Doing so would have also provided for a simplified, steadier hinge operation, as compared to the operation of a camming hinge (see Paragraphs [0004]-[0012] in Liu).
Liao in view of Liu does not teach wherein the supporting member is slidably connected to the housing body and is configured to slide in a direction away from or close to the housing body in response to the two rotating shafts rotating simultaneously.
However, Kang teaches a housing body (Figure 5, comprised of hinge housing 300c, bracket 313, stopper 360, and shaft bracket 335); a supporting member (support portion 350), arranged opposite to the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335), and slidably connected to the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335; see Paragraph [0120]); and two rotating shafts (first and second shafts 331, 332), rotatably connected to the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335), one of the two rotating shafts (331) is disposed on one side of the supporting member (350), and the another of the two rotating shafts (332) is disposed on the other side of the supporting member (350); wherein the supporting member (350) is configured to slide in a direction away from or close to the housing body (300c, 313, 360, 335; see Paragraph [0120]) in response to the two rotating shafts (331, 332) rotating simultaneously.
Because Liao and Kang both teach an electronic device having a flexible display (see Figures 1-2 in Liao; see Figure 2A in Kang), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the support plate of Liao as modified by Liu to slide relative to the housing body, as taught in Kang. Doing so would have supported the middle portion of the flexible display in an unfolded state, while ensuring the support plate remained spaced apart from the flexible display in a folded state so as to not affect the driving trajectory of the flexible display (see Paragraphs [0086]-[0088] in Kang).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 30 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Kang in view of Liu teaches the subject matter of claim 29 for the reasons detailed above, but fails to teach, suggest, or make obvious in combination with the additional prior art, all of the limitations in claim 30. Specifically, claim 30 claims a specific abutting configuration between elements of the elastic assembly. While Kang teaches an elastic assembly comprising first limiting sliders, second limiting sliders, a second connecting member, and springs (see Figure 5 in Kang), Kang fails to disclose each and every abutting connection between the claimed components. Ka (US Publication No. 2005/0236869), Duan (US Publication No. 2005/0177979), Duan (US Patent No. 7124472), Hayashi (US Patent No. 6920668), Duan (US Publication No. 2009/0183339), and Lin (US Publication No. 2010/0083468) also disclose rotating shaft modules similar to the claimed device, but fail to teach the limitations of claim 30 or to cure any of the deficiencies of Kang in view of Liu or Liao in view of Liu and Kang.
For these reasons, claim 30 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAGE CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 gsc