DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Examiner withdraws the 35 USC § 112(b) rejection based upon Applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 11, 13-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Hirao et al. (US 2007/0187678 A1) (“Hirao”), in view of Luo et al. (CN 111180466 A) by means of (US 2021/0408295 A1) (“Lou”), in view of Singer, Pete, “Scaling the BEOL: A toolbox filled with new processes, boosters, and conductors”, Semiconductor Digest, https://www.semiconductor-digest.com/scaling-the-beol-a-toolbox-filled-with-new-processes-boosters-and-conductors/, Feb. 8, 2020 (“Singer”), in view of Wikimedia, File:Cmos-chip structure in 2000s (en).svg - Wikimedia Commons, Dec. 9, 2006 (“Wikimedia”).
Regarding claims 1, and 15 Hirao teaches at least in figure 1:
a substrate (1);
a first conductive layer (2), disposed on the substrate (1), comprising a sub-source electrode (left 2) and a sub-drain electrode (right 2);
an active layer (3), disposed on a side of the first conductive layer (2) away from the substrate (1), comprising (detailed below)
a source contact portion (part of 3 over left2), a drain contact portion (part of 3 over right 2), and a channel portion (middle part of 2) connected to the source contact portion and the drain contact portion (all of 2 is connected),
wherein the source contact portion covers part of the sub-source electrode, the drain contact portion covers part of the sub-drain electrode, and the channel portion covers a gap between the sub-source electrode and the sub-drain electrode (this is clearly shown in figure 1);
an insulating layer (6), disposed on a side of the first conductive layer away from the substrate, covering the first conductive layer and the active layer (6 covers 2 and 4); and
a second conductive layer (7/2a/5a), disposed on a side of the insulating layer away (6) from the substrate (1), comprising (detailed below)
a gate electrode (7) and a main drain electrode (5a on the right) connected to the sub-drain electrode (2 on the right),
wherein an orthographic projection of the gate electrode on the substrate at least overlaps an orthographic projection of the channel portion on the substrate (7 so overlaps 3).
Hirao does not teach:
a third conductive layer located on a side of the second conductive layer away from the substrate, comprising a protective electrode and a connecting electrode connected to the sub-source electrode,
wherein the protective electrode is not connected to the connecting electrode and is not connected to the main-source electrode wherein an orthographic projection of the protective electrode on the substrate at least overlaps an orthographic projection of the active layer on the substrate.
Lou teaches at least in figure 1:
a third conductive layer (121) located on a side of the second conductive layer (119) away from the substrate (111),
-the third conductive layer (121) comprising a connecting electrode (the via below 121)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hirao and Lou in order to have an electrode connection to a pixel, as the third conductive layer 121 of Lou acts as a pixel electrode).
The combination of Hirao and Lou teach:
a connecting electrode ( Lou via in the dashed rectangular box on the right) connected to the sub-source electrode (Hirao 2).
Hirao and Lou do not teach:
the third conductive layer comprising a protective electrode and a connecting electrode connected to a main-source electrode,
wherein the protective electrode is not connected to the connecting electrode and is not connected to a main-source electrode wherein an orthographic projection of the protective electrode on the substrate at least overlaps an orthographic projection of the active layer on the substrate.
Singer teaches in figure 6, and Examiner’s annotated figure 1 below:
the third conductive layer comprising (detailed below)
a protective electrode (Z) and a connecting electrode (Y) connected to the sub-source electrode (X),
wherein the protective electrode (Z) is not connected to the connecting electrode (Y)and is not connected to a main-source electrode (the main-source electrode is considered the grouping of all “source” electrodes being claimed; In the figure above it could the via above Y);
Regarding the limitation,
wherein an orthographic projection of the protective electrode (Z) on the substrate (FEOL) completely overlaps an orthographic projection of the active layer on the substrate.
As shown in Examiner annotated figure 1 the protective electrode Z does not “completely overlaps an orthographic projection of the active layer on the substrate”. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to do so. This is because the wiring of the metal lines above the transistor are used to route the signal to different part of the chip, or to route them around other wires so said wiring can reach the external pins. This is a standard part of the job for layout engineers in the industry. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have the protective electrode Z “completely overlaps an orthographic projection of the active layer on the substrate”. As evidence of this ability Examiner is proffering Wikimedia. As shown below in Examiner annotated figure 2 one can see that the protective electrode ZZ completely overlaps an orthographic projection of the active layer WW on the substrate (FEOL).
Therefore, the prior art, conjunction with the ordinary skill of one of ordinary skill in the art, teaches the claimed limitation below.
wherein an orthographic projection of the protective electrode (ZZ) on the substrate (FEOL) completely overlaps an orthographic projection of the active layer (WW) on the substrate (FEOL).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Singer with the previous prior art as singer shows that in a semiconductor device there can be a plurality of different metal layers which are not connected a transistor, and these metal layers can be routed around the semiconductor device. Anyone of these metal layers not connected to the transistor at issue can be considered a protective electrode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine said references as this appears to be the standard, conventional, routine, ordinary way one of ordinary skill in the art creates a semiconductor chip.
Regarding claims 3, and 17 Hirao teaches at least in figure 1:
wherein the orthographic projection of the gate electrode on the substrate overlaps at least part of an orthographic projection of the sub- source electrode on the substrate, and the orthographic projection of the gate electrode on the substrate overlaps at least part of an orthographic projection of the sub-drain electrode on the substrate (this is clearly shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Hirao teaches at least in figure 1:
wherein the orthographic projection of the gate electrode on the substrate overlaps the orthographic projection of the channel portion on the substrate (this is clearly shown in figure 1);
the source contact portion comprises a first doped region, and the drain contact portion comprises a second doped region (¶ 0033, where 3 can be doped, thus left part of 3 and right part of 3 would comprise a first and second doped portion with the structure required by the claim).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of references teaches:
a light-shielding layer (Lou 112), disposed on a side of the first conductive layer (Hirao 2) near the substrate (Lou 111; Hirao 1), comprising (detailed below)
a light-shielding element (Lou 112),
wherein an orthographic projection of the light-shielding element on the substrate overlaps an orthographic projection of the active layer on the substrate (This is shown in Lou figure 1);
the insulating layer (Lou 118; Hirao 6) is provided with a third through hole penetrating through the insulating layer (Lou the via extending from 119) and extending to the light-shielding element (Lou 112);
a side surface of the light-shielding element away from the substrate is exposed from the third through hole (this is shown in Lou figure 1), and
the light-shielding element (Lou 112) is connected to the main drain electrode (Hirao 5a on the right; Lou via in 131) through the third through hole (This is shown in figure 1 of Lou).
Regarding claim 13,
The thickness of the active layer and the thickness of the channel region, and the effects of changing these values are well-known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use their routine skill in the art and adjust these variables to adjust the characteristics of the transistor. With respect to the T-shaped active region examiner proffers Chang (US 2009/0114910 A1) for the assertion that adjusting these variables was known to those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application.
Regarding claim 14,
Claim 14 is obvious/inherent as it is based upon the material of the first conductive layer and second conductive layer. As the prior art teaches the claimed materials of these layers it would have been inherent/obvious that it would have the same claimed characteristics.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Singer does not teach the amendment to the independent claims. Examiner has proffered Wikimedia to show that it was within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art that they can form a “protective electrode” to cover the active layer on the substrate. Examiner has stated that one reason a person of ordinary skill in the art would do so would be to allow them to route the signals from the transistor to where they are needed in the chip, and to route them to outside of the chip.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VINCENT WALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898