DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 12-13 & 18 without traverse in the reply filed on 11/20/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US Pub. 2020/0027509).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches a semiconductor component, comprising:
a first wafer 160 including memory cells (120 and/or 114, Fig. 1); and
a second wafer 162 bonded with the first wafer to form a bonding interface 158, the second wafer 162 including a device layer (see Fig. 1 below), wherein a first dielectric layer is on a side of the first wafer facing the bonding interface 158 (see Fig. 1 below), and a material of the first dielectric layer includes at least one of nitride, polysilicon, or carbonitride (see Para [0044], wherein Chen teaches nitride for the dielectric layer of the interconnect layer 142).
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches a memory system, comprising:
a semiconductor component including:
a first wafer 160 including memory cells (120 or 114); and
a second wafer 162 bonded with the first wafer 160 to form a bonding interface 158 (Fig. 1), the second wafer 162 including a device layer (see Fig. 1 above), wherein a first dielectric layer is on a side of the first wafer 160 facing the bonding interface 158 (see Fig. 1 above), and a material of the first dielectric layer includes at least one of nitride, polysilicon, or carbonitride (see Para [0044], wherein Chen teaches nitride for the dielectric layer of the interconnect layer 142); and a controller to control the semiconductor component (Para [0041], wherein GLS 134 is taught as a controller to control the semiconductor component and/or Para [0039], wherein memory string 114 is taught as a controller to control the semiconductor component).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al.
Regarding claim 13, perhaps in the interest of brevity, Chen is silent on the semiconductor component of claim 12, wherein a thickness of the first dielectric layer is in a range of 2 um to 10 um. However, Chen does disclose a thickness in the range of 0.1 um to 50 um for a similar dielectric layer 304 in Fig. 3A and Para [0053]). These claim dimensions would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art in view of Chen. One of the ordinary skill in the art is motivated to form device features as small as possible with large enough thickness to allow proper device operation, in order to save on material and processing costs. As such, it would have been obvious to use a thickness of 2 um to 10 um for the dielectric layer.
The claim is prima facie obvious without showing that the claimed ranges achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir.1996)(claimed ranges of a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955)(selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Conclusion
/TIMOR KARIMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818