DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kreupl et al. (US Pub. 2009/0026524).
Regarding claim 12, Kreupl teaches a semiconductor component, comprising:
a first wafer 24 including memory cells (Fig. 2 and Para [0013 & 0016]); and
a second wafer 12 bonded with the first wafer 24 to form a bonding interface (note the interface between the first wafer12 and the second wafer 24 in Fig. 2 below), the second wafer 12 including a device layer 16 on a first side of the first wafer 24 (see Fig. 2 below) in contact with the bonding interface, wherein a first dielectric layer 38 is on a second side of the first wafer 24 opposite the first side, and a material of the first dielectric layer includes at least one of nitride, polysilicon, or carbonitride (Kreupl teaches in Para [0013], wherein the material for a wiring/ILD layer can be nitride).
Regarding claim 18, Kreupl teaches a memory system, comprising:
a semiconductor component including:
a first wafer 24 including memory cells (Fig. 2 and Para [0013 & 0016]); and
a second wafer 12 bonded with the first wafer 24 to form a bonding interface (note the interface between the first wafer12 and the second wafer 24 in Fig. 2 below), the second wafer 12 including a device layer 16 on a first side of the first wafer 24 (see Fig. 2 below) in contact with the bonding interface, wherein a first dielectric layer 38 is on a second side of the first wafer 24 opposite the first side, and a material of the first dielectric layer includes at least one of nitride, polysilicon, or carbonitride (Kreupl teaches in Para [0013], wherein the material for a wiring/ILD layer can be nitride); and
a controller to control the semiconductor component (Para [0022 & 0064] and Fig. 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreupl as applied to claim 12 above, and in further view of Chen et al. (US Pub. 2020/0027509).
Regarding claim 13, perhaps in the interest of brevity, Kreupl is silent on the semiconductor component of claim 12, wherein a thickness of the first dielectric layer is in a range of 2 um to 10 um. However, Chen does disclose a thickness in the range of 0.1 um to 50 um for a similar dielectric layer 304 in Fig. 3A and Para [0053]). These claim dimensions would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art in view of Chen. One of the ordinary skill in the art is motivated to form device features as small as possible with large enough thickness to allow proper device operation, in order to save on material and processing costs. As such, it would have been obvious to use a thickness of 2 um to 10 um for the dielectric layer.
The claim is prima facie obvious without showing that the claimed ranges achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir.1996)(claimed ranges of a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955)(selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 12 & 18 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOR KARIMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818