DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action on the merits. Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/26/2024 and 2/21/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sonn et al., US 20190056498 A1 (“Sonn”).
Regarding claim 15, Sonn discloses a detection apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory (Fig. 1, processors 122, memories 124, Paragraph [0166]), wherein the processor is configured to invoke a program stored in the memory to perform a detection method comprising: configuring a plurality of gating modes (Fig. 10, sequences IV to VII, Paragraph [0247]); driving a light source to emit a laser beam (Fig. 1, light sources 112, Paragraph [0158]); during a gating period of each gating mode, enabling a photosensitive cell gated in the gating mode to receive an echo light signal of the laser beam (Figs. 7A-D, pixel elements PE1-PE4, Paragraph [0235]-[0236]); and analyzing an echo electrical signal output by the gated photosensitive cell, and combining the echo electrical signal into an imaging parameter of one pixel (Fig. 10, sequence VIII, Paragraph [0247]).
Regarding claim 16, Sonn discloses the detection apparatus according to claim 15, wherein a plurality of gating modes are combined into full-range gating for one ranging (Fig. 3, slices 1-4, Paragraph [0185]-[0186]).
Regarding claim 17, Sonn discloses the detection apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the gating period of each gating mode comprises a plurality of gating time periods (Fig. 10, sequences IV to VII, Paragraph [0247]); and in a gating time period, a photosensitive cell corresponding to a gating mode receives an echo light signal (Figs. 7A-D, pixel elements PE1-PE4, Paragraph [0235]-[0236]).
Regarding claim 18, Sonn discloses the detection apparatus according to claim 15, wherein a quantity of photosensitive cells gated in one gating mode is greater than or equal to 2 (Figs. 7A-D, pixel elements PE1-PE4, Paragraph [0235]-[0236]).
Claims 11-14 are method claims corresponding to apparatus claims 15-18. Claims 11-14 are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steigemann et al., US 20200174120 A1 in view of Hinderling et al., US 20180356502 A1 (“Hinderling”).
Regarding claim 1, Steigemann discloses a laser radar system, comprising a light source , a scanning unit, a receiving lens, (Fig. 8, illuminator 238, Paragraph [0078]); the scanning unit is configured to guide the laser beam to a specified region (Paragraph [0084]: may include MEMS scanner); the receiving lens is configured to converge an echo light signal formed through reflection of the laser beam (Fig. 8, lens 226, Paragraph [0083]); […]; the photosensitive pixel of the light detection unit comprises a plurality of photosensitive cells (Fig. 8, SPAD array 224, Paragraph [0080]), the plurality of photosensitive cells are used to convert the received echo light signal into an echo electrical signal (Fig. 8, timing circuit 222, Paragraph [0080]), and the plurality of photosensitive cells are controlled by a plurality of gating circuits (Fig. 8, gating circuit 232, Paragraph [0080]); and the processing unit is configured to analyze an echo electrical signal output by the plurality of photosensitive cells in a gating period (Fig. 8, histogram hardware 218, digital signal processor 216, Paragraph [0080]).
Steigemann does not teach: the homogenizing unit is configured to uniformly emit the converged echo light signal onto a photosensitive pixel of the light detection unit.
However, Hinderling teaches a square fiber that generates a homogenous light distribution over a SPAD array (Fig. 12, square fiber 44, Paragraph [0134]-[0135]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Steigemann’s LIDAR system by adding Hinderling’s square fiber in front of the SPAD array. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to average out the effect of a position dependent signal response, as suggested by Hinderling (Paragraph [0133]).
Regarding claim 2, Steigemann, as modified in view of Hinderling, discloses the laser radar system according to claim 1, wherein a size of a light spot of the echo light signal converged by the receiving lens is not greater than a size of a light incident surface of the homogenizing unit (Hinderling, Fig. 12, square fiber 44, entrance surface 47, Paragraph [0134]-[0135]; light entering surface smaller than surface width), and an emergent light spot of the homogenizing unit covers a photosensitive surface of the light detection unit (Hinderling, Fig. 12, square fiber 44, Paragraph [0134]-[0135]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Steigemann’s LIDAR system by adding Hinderling’s square fiber in front of the SPAD array. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to average out the effect of a position dependent signal response, as suggested by Hinderling (Paragraph [0133]).
Regarding claim 3, Steigemann, as modified in view of Hinderling, discloses the laser radar system according to claim 1, wherein the homogenizing unit comprises one of the following: a homogenizing prism, a homogenizing rod, and a diffuser (Hinderling, Fig. 12, square fiber 44, Paragraph [0134]-[0135]; See also Paragraph [0131]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Steigemann’s LIDAR system by adding Hinderling’s square fiber in front of the SPAD array. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to average out the effect of a position dependent signal response, as suggested by Hinderling (Paragraph [0133]).
Regarding claim 4, Steigemann, as modified in view of Hinderling, discloses the laser radar system according to claim 1, wherein one gating circuit controls gating of at least two photosensitive cells (Steigemann, Fig. 8, gating circuit 232, SPAD array 224, Paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 5, Steigemann, as modified in view of Hinderling, discloses the laser radar system according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is further configured to control the light source and the scanning unit to perform two- dimensional region scanning (Steigemann, Fig. 8, illuminator 238, Paragraph [0078], Paragraph [0084]: may include MEMS scanner).
Regarding claim 6, Steigemann, as modified in view of Hinderling, discloses the laser radar system according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is further configured to control one or more gating circuits (Steigemann, Fig. 8, gating circuit 232, controller unit 212, Paragraph [0080]), and a photosensitive cell gated during a gating period receives an echo light signal and performs optical-to-electrical signal conversion (Steigemann, Fig. 8, SPAD array 224, Paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 7, Steigemann, as modified in view of Hinderling, discloses the laser radar system according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to perform the following steps: configuring a plurality of gating modes (Steigemann, Fig. 8, gating circuit 232, controller unit 212, Paragraph [0080]; See also Fig. 4, Paragraph [0054]); driving the light source to emit then laser beam (Steigemann, Fig. 8, illuminator 238, Paragraph [0078]); during a gating period of each gating mode, enabling a photosensitive cell gated in the gating mode to receive an echo light signal of the laser beam (Steigemann, Fig. 8, SPAD array 224, Paragraph [0080]); and analyzing an echo electrical signal output by the gated photosensitive cell, and combining the echo electrical signal into an imaging parameter of one pixel (Steigemann, Fig. 8, histogram hardware 218, digital signal processor 216, Paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 8, Steigemann, as modified in view of Hinderling, discloses the laser radar system according to claim 7, wherein a plurality of gating modes are combined into full-range gating for one ranging (Steigemann, Fig. 4, waveform diagrams 140, 142, 144, and 146, Paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 9, Steigemann, as modified in view of Hinderling, discloses the laser radar system according to claim 7, wherein the gating period of each gating mode comprises a plurality of gating time periods (Steigemann, Fig. 4, waveform diagrams 140, 142, 144, and 146, Paragraph [0054]); and in a gating time period, a photosensitive cell corresponding to a gating mode receives an echo light signal (Steigemann, Fig. 8, gating circuit 232, SPAD array 224, Paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 10, Steigemann, as modified in view of Hinderling, discloses the laser radar system according to claim 7, wherein a quantity of photosensitive cells gated in one gating mode is greater than or equal to 2 (Steigemann, Fig. 8, gating circuit 232, SPAD array 224, Paragraph [0080]).
Conclusion
/RACHEL NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645