DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments, filed September 15, 2025 are respectfully acknowledged and have been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicants have amended their claims, filed September 15, 2025 and therefore rejections newly made in the instant office action have been necessitated by amendment.
Claims 1-5, 7, and 9-10 are amended. Claims 15-19 are newly added.
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (U.S. Patent Application 20160132147 A1) in view of Agarwal et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20140152582 A1, hereinafter “Agarwal”)
Regarding Claim 1 (Currently Amended), Lim teaches a touch sensing circuit, comprising:
a plurality of analog front-end circuits, generating a plurality of output signals according to a plurality of sensing signals (par 0030 Fig 2 the analog front end 13 includes at least a plurality of analog front-end circuits comprising a plurality of amplification units 131 and a plurality of filters 132, par 0031-0033 generating a plurality of output signals Siaf according to a plurality of sensing signals Si).
However, Lim appears not to expressly teach
a noise processing circuit, coupled to said analog front-end circuits, and determining an average noise according to said output signals; and
a compensation circuit, coupled to said noise processing, and compensating said output signals according to said average noise; and
an analog-to-digital converter, converting said output signals compensated by said compensation circuit for generating a plurality of digital signals, wherein
said compensation circuit compensates said output signals with said average noise before said output signals are converted by said analog-to-digital converter.
Agarwal teaches
a noise processing circuit, coupled to said analog front-end circuits, and determining an average noise according to said output signals (par 0062 Fig 11 signal 1102, which is the signal being measured, as well as signals 1104, which represent the signals used to generate a noise estimate using equation (2), are supplied to [the noise processing circuit portion of and coupled to] analog front end (AFE) 1106), and [the noise processing circuit portion of and coupled to] AFE 1106 performs the weighted averaging of [noise] signals 1104); and
a compensation circuit, coupled to said noise processing, and compensating said output signals according to said average noise (par 0062 Fig 11 [the compensation circuit portion of] AFE 1106 performs subtracting the [average] noise estimate from the signal being measured 1102); and
an analog-to-digital converter, converting said output signals compensated by said compensation circuit for generating a plurality of digital signals (par 0062 Fig 11 the output of AFE 1106 is then transmitted to analog-to-digital converter 1108, where the signal can be converted into a digital [signal] and then can be used by a touch controller), wherein
said compensation circuit compensates said output signals with said average noise before said output signals are converted by said analog-to-digital converter (par 0062 Fig 11 [the compensation circuit portion of] AFE 1106 performs subtracting the [average] noise estimate from the signal being measured 1102, before said output signals are converted by said analog-to-digital converter).
Lim and Agarwal are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim with the inclusion of the compensated digital signals of Agarwal. The motivation would have been in order to provide an average noise offset for the respective row that can then be subtracted from touch signals at each touch node of the respective row.
Regarding Claim 9 (Currently Amended), Lim teaches a touch sensing circuit, comprising:
a plurality of analog front-end circuits, generating a plurality of output signals according to a plurality of sensing signals (par 0030 Fig 2 the analog front end 13 includes at least a plurality of analog front-end circuits comprising a plurality of amplification units 131 and a plurality of filters 132, par 0031-0033 generating a plurality of output signals Siaf according to a plurality of sensing signals Si); and
a digital signal processor, coupled to said analog-to-digital converter (par 0034 the processing unit 151 identifies that an SNR value of the obtained digital signal is smaller than a threshold, the frequency scanning interval is entered, wherein the threshold may be determined according to the durable noise of the system).
However, Lim appears not to expressly teach
an analog-to-digital converter, converting said output signals for generating a plurality of digital signals; and
determining an average noise according to said digital signals, and
compensating said digital signals according to said average noise,
wherein said digital signal processor determines said average noise after said output signals are converted by said analog-to-digital converter.
Agarwal teaches
an analog-to-digital converter, converting said output signals for generating a plurality of digital signals (par 0062 Fig 11 the output of AFE 1106 is then transmitted to analog-to-digital converter 1108, where the signal can be converted into a digital [signal] and then can be used by a touch controller); and
determining an average noise according to said digital signals (par 0062 Fig 11 signal 1102, which is the signal being measured, as well as signals 1104, which represent the signals used to generate a noise estimate using equation (2), are supplied to [the noise processing circuit portion of and coupled to] analog front end (AFE) 1106), and [the noise processing circuit portion of and coupled to] AFE 1106 performs the weighted averaging of [noise] signals 1104), and
compensating said digital signals according to said average noise (par 0062 Fig 11 [the compensation circuit portion of] AFE 1106 performs subtracting the [average] noise estimate from the signal being measured 1102),
wherein said digital signal processor determines said average noise after said output signals are converted by said analog-to-digital converter (par 0062 Fig 11 [the compensation circuit portion of] AFE 1106 performs subtracting the [average] noise estimate from the signal being measured 1102, before said output signals are converted by said analog-to-digital converter).
Lim and Agarwal are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim with the inclusion of the compensated digital signals of Agarwal. The motivation would have been in order to provide an average noise offset for the respective row that can then be subtracted from touch signals at each touch node of the respective row.
Regarding Claim 15 (New), Lim teaches a touch sensing circuit, comprising:
a plurality of analog front-end circuits, generating a plurality of output signals according to a plurality of sensing signals (par 0030 Fig 2 the analog front end 13 includes at least a plurality of analog front-end circuits comprising a plurality of amplification units 131 and a plurality of filters 132, par 0031-0033 generating a plurality of output signals Siaf according to a plurality of sensing signals Si);
a digital signal processor, coupled to said analog-to-digital converter, adjusting a threshold value according to said digital signals (par 0034 the processing unit 151 identifies that an SNR value of the obtained digital signal is smaller than a threshold, the frequency scanning interval is entered, wherein the threshold may be determined according to the durable noise of the system).
However, Lim appears not to expressly teach
a noise processing circuit, coupled to said analog front-end circuits, and determining an average noise according to said common-mode noises; and
a compensation circuit, coupled to said noise processing circuit, and compensating said output signals according to said average noise;
an analog-to-digital converter, converting said output signals compensated by said compensation circuit for generating a plurality of digital signals.
Agarwal teaches
a noise processing circuit, coupled to said analog front-end circuits, and determining an average noise according to said common-mode noises (par 0062 Fig 11 signal 1102, which is the signal being measured, as well as signals 1104, which represent the signals used to generate a noise estimate using equation (2), are supplied to [the noise processing circuit portion of and coupled to] analog front end (AFE) 1106), and [the noise processing circuit portion of and coupled to] AFE 1106 performs the weighted averaging of [noise] signals 1104); and
a compensation circuit, coupled to said noise processing circuit, and compensating said output signals according to said average noise (par 0062 Fig 11 [the compensation circuit portion of] AFE 1106 performs subtracting the [average] noise estimate from the signal being measured 1102);
an analog-to-digital converter, converting said output signals compensated by said compensation circuit for generating a plurality of digital signals (par 0062 Fig 11 the output of AFE 1106 is then transmitted to analog-to-digital converter 1108, where the signal can be converted into a digital [signal] and then can be used by a touch controller).
Lim and Agarwal are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim with the inclusion of the compensated digital signals of Agarwal. The motivation would have been in order to provide an average noise offset for the respective row that can then be subtracted from touch signals at each touch node of the respective row.
Regarding Claim 18 (New), Lim teaches a touch sensing circuit, comprising:
a plurality of analog front-end circuits, generating a plurality of output signals according to a plurality of sensing signals (par 0030 Fig 2 the analog front end 13 includes at least a plurality of analog front-end circuits comprising a plurality of amplification units 131 and a plurality of filters 132, par 0031-0033 generating a plurality of output signals Siaf according to a plurality of sensing signals Si);
a digital signal processor, coupled to said analog-to-digital converter, adjusting a threshold value according to said compensated digital signals (par 0034 the processing unit 151 identifies that an SNR value of the obtained digital signal is smaller than a threshold, the frequency scanning interval is entered, wherein the threshold may be determined according to the durable noise of the system).
However, appears not to expressly teach
an analog-to-digital converter, converting said output signals for generating a plurality of digital signals; and
a digital signal processor, coupled to said analog-to-digital converter,
determining an average noise according to said digital signals,
compensating said digital signals according to said average noise.
Agarwal teaches
an analog-to-digital converter, converting said output signals for generating a plurality of digital signals (par 0062 Fig 11 the output of AFE 1106 is then transmitted to analog-to-digital converter 1108, where the signal can be converted into a digital [signal] and then can be used by a touch controller); and
a digital signal processor, coupled to said analog-to-digital converter (par 0061 Fig 10 measured signal 1002 can be passed through ADC 1010 and the noise estimate signal can be passed through ADC 1012. After being converted, the digital noise estimate signal is subtracted from the digital measured signal, which can then be used by a touch controller (as an example) for further processing),
determining an average noise according to said digital signals (par 0062 Fig 11 signal 1102, which is the signal being measured, as well as signals 1104, which represent the signals used to generate a noise estimate using equation (2), are supplied to [the noise processing circuit portion of and coupled to] analog front end (AFE) 1106), and [the noise processing circuit portion of and coupled to] AFE 1106 performs the weighted averaging of [noise] signals 1104),
compensating said digital signals according to said average noise (par 0062 Fig 11 [the compensation circuit portion of] AFE 1106 performs subtracting the [average] noise estimate from the signal being measured 1102).
Lim and Agarwal are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim with the inclusion of the compensated digital signals of Agarwal. The motivation would have been in order to provide an average noise offset for the respective row that can then be subtracted from touch signals at each touch node of the respective row.
Claims 2-5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (U.S. Patent Application 20160132147 A1) in view of Agarwal et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20140152582 A1, hereinafter “Agarwal”) and Kim et al. (Korea Patent Application Publication KR102059845B1, hereinafter “Kim’).
Regarding Claim 2 (Currently Amended), Lim as modified teaches the touch sensing circuit of claim 1, wherein said noise processing circuit comprises:
an averaging circuit, coupled to said filtering circuit, and averaging said noise summation signal for determining said average noise (Agarwal par 0062 Fig 11 signal 1102, which is the signal being measured, as well as signals 1104, which represent the signals used to generate a noise estimate using equation (2), are supplied to [the noise processing circuit portion of and coupled to] analog front end (AFE) 1106), and [the noise processing/averaging circuit portion of and coupled to] AFE 1106 performs the weighted averaging of [noise] signals 1104; the averaging circuit portion being coupled to the filtering circuit portion of the AFE, par 0060).
However, Lim as modified appears not to expressly teach
wherein said noise processing circuit comprises:
a summing circuit, coupled to said analog front-end circuits, and summing said output signals for generating an output summation signal;
a filtering circuit, coupled to said summing circuit, and filtering said output summation signal for generating a noise summation signal.
Kim teaches wherein said noise processing circuit comprises:
a summing circuit, coupled to said analog front-end circuits, and summing said output signals for generating an output summation signal; a filtering circuit, coupled to said summing circuit, and filtering said output summation signal for generating a noise summation signal (par 0057 Fig 2 summing module 322 sums the signal (C) output from the first sensor 21 and the signal (D) output from the second sensor, so that signals other than noise are removed and the amplified noise (E) is removed. Extract (see (b) and (c) of Figure 7). The signal (C) output from the first sensor 21 includes a sensing signal (C1) and noise (C2), and the signal (D) output from the second sensor 22 includes a sensing signal (D1) and noise (D2), and the sensing signals C1 and C2 have opposite phases, so when the signals C and D are added by the summing module 322, the sensing signals C1 and D1 are canceled [filtering circuit] out and [noise is] amplified twice. The noise (E) is extracted. Since the noise (E) output by the summation module 322 is amplified compared to the original noise, the adjustment module 323 attenuates the noise (E) to 1/2 and outputs the adjusted noise (F). (see (d) in Figure 7). The noise (F) [noise summation signal] output by the control module 323 is used by the noise removal unit 33 to remove noise from the sensing signal).
Lim Agarwal and Kim are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim/Agarwal with the inclusion of the noise processing circuit of Kim. The motivation would have been in order to provide a touch sensor device capable of effective noise removal by extracting and quantifying only the noise component from a signal containing noise and subtracting the extracted noise amount from the sensing signal (Kim par 0012).
Regarding Claim 3 (Currently Amended), Lim as modified teaches the touch sensing circuit of claim 1, further comprising:
a digital signal processor, coupled to said analog-to-digital converter (Lim par 0034 the processing unit 151 identifies that an SNR value of the obtained digital signal is smaller than a threshold, the frequency scanning interval is entered, wherein the threshold may be determined according to the durable noise of the system)
and generating a touch signal according to said digital signals (Lim par 0034 the processing unit 151 identifies that an SNR value of the obtained digital signal is smaller than a threshold, the frequency scanning interval is entered, wherein the threshold may be determined according to the durable noise of the system).
However, Lim as modified appears not to expressly teach the digital signal processor generating a touch signal according to said digital signals and a threshold value.
Kim teaches a digital signal processor generating a touch signal according to said digital signals and a threshold value (par 0059 when the cumulative sum value is smaller than the reference value [threshold], the signal output to the touch sensor and from which the noise has been removed is used to calculate a physical quantity using the touch sensor).
Lim Agarwal and Kim are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim/Agarwal with the inclusion of the threshold of Kim. The motivation would have been in order to provide a threshold at which the noise extraction unit and the noise removal unit can operate normally (Kim par 0021).
Regarding Claim 4 (Currently Amended), Lim as modified teaches the touch sensing circuit of claim 1, wherein said noise processing circuit comprises:
an averaging circuit, coupled to said summing circuit, and averaging said noise summation signal for determining said average noise (Agarwal par 0062 Fig 11 signal 1102, which is the signal being measured, as well as signals 1104, which represent the signals used to generate a noise estimate using equation (2), are supplied to [the noise processing circuit portion of and coupled to] analog front end (AFE) 1106), and [the noise processing circuit portion of and coupled to] AFE 1106 performs the weighted averaging of [noise] signals 1104). However, Lim as modified appears not to expressly teach
wherein said noise processing circuit comprises:
a summing circuit, coupled to said analog front-end circuits, and summing said output signals for generating an output summation signal.
Kim teaches a summing circuit, coupled to said analog front-end circuits, and summing said output signals for generating an output summation signal (par 0057 Fig 2 summing module 322 sums the signal (C) output from the first sensor 21 and the signal (D) output from the second sensor, so that signals other than noise are removed and the amplified noise (E) is removed. Extract (see (b) and (c) of Figure 7). The signal (C) output from the first sensor 21 includes a sensing signal (C1) and noise (C2), and the signal (D) output from the second sensor 22 includes a sensing signal (D1) and noise (D2), and the sensing signals C1 and C2 have opposite phases, so when the signals C and D are added by the summing module 322, the sensing signals C1 and D1 are canceled [filtering circuit] out and [noise is] amplified twice. The noise (E) is extracted. Since the noise (E) output by the summation module 322 is amplified compared to the original noise, the adjustment module 323 attenuates the noise (E) to 1/2 and outputs the adjusted noise (F). (see (d) in Figure 7). The noise (F) [noise summation signal] output by the control module 323 is used by the noise removal unit 33 to remove noise from the sensing signal).
Lim Agarwal and Kim are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim/Agarwal with the inclusion of the noise processing circuit of Kim. The motivation would have been in order to provide a touch sensor device capable of effective noise removal by extracting and quantifying only the noise component from a signal containing noise and subtracting the extracted noise amount from the sensing signal (Kim par 0012).
Regarding Claim 5 (Currently Amended), Lim as modified teaches the touch sensing circuit of claim 4, further comprising:
a digital signal processor, coupled to said analog-to-digital converter (Lim par 0034 the processing unit 151 identifies that an SNR value of the obtained digital signal is smaller than a threshold, the frequency scanning interval is entered, wherein the threshold may be determined according to the durable noise of the system), adjusting said digital signals (Lim par 0034 the processing unit 151 identifies that an SNR value of the obtained digital signal is smaller than a threshold, the frequency scanning interval is entered, wherein the threshold may be determined according to the durable noise of the system), and
generating a touch signal according to said digital signals (Lim par 0034 the processing unit 151 identifies that an SNR value of the obtained digital signal is smaller than a threshold, the frequency scanning interval is entered, wherein the threshold may be determined according to the durable noise of the system).
However, Lim as modified appears not to expressly teach the digital signal processor generating a touch signal according to said digital signals and a threshold value.
Kim teaches a digital signal processor generating a touch signal according to said digital signals and a threshold value (par 0059 when the cumulative sum value is smaller than the reference value [threshold], the signal output to the touch sensor and from which the noise has been removed is used to calculate a physical quantity using the touch sensor).
Lim Agarwal and Kim are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim/Agarwal with the inclusion of the threshold of Kim. The motivation would have been in order to provide a threshold at which the noise extraction unit and the noise removal unit can operate normally (Kim par 0021).
Regarding Claim 16 (New), Lim as modified teaches the touch sensing circuit of claim 15, wherein said noise processing circuit comprises:
an averaging circuit, coupled to said filtering circuit, and averaging said noise summation signal for determining said average noise (Agarwal par 0062 Fig 11 signal 1102, which is the signal being measured, as well as signals 1104, which represent the signals used to generate a noise estimate using equation (2), are supplied to [the noise processing circuit portion of and coupled to] analog front end (AFE) 1106), and [the noise processing/averaging circuit portion of and coupled to] AFE 1106 performs the weighted averaging of [noise] signals 1104; the averaging circuit portion being coupled to the filtering circuit portion of the AFE, par 0060).
However, Lim as modified appears not to expressly teach
a summing circuit, coupled to said analog front-end circuits, and summing said output signals for generating an output summation signal;
a filtering circuit, coupled to said summing circuit, and filtering said output summation signal for generating a noise summation signal.
Kim teaches wherein said noise processing circuit comprises:
a summing circuit, coupled to said analog front-end circuits, and summing said output signals for generating an output summation signal; a filtering circuit, coupled to said summing circuit, and filtering said output summation signal for generating a noise summation signal (par 0057 Fig 2 summing module 322 sums the signal (C) output from the first sensor 21 and the signal (D) output from the second sensor, so that signals other than noise are removed and the amplified noise (E) is removed. Extract (see (b) and (c) of Figure 7). The signal (C) output from the first sensor 21 includes a sensing signal (C1) and noise (C2), and the signal (D) output from the second sensor 22 includes a sensing signal (D1) and noise (D2), and the sensing signals C1 and C2 have opposite phases, so when the signals C and D are added by the summing module 322, the sensing signals C1 and D1 are canceled [filtering circuit] out and [noise is] amplified twice. The noise (E) is extracted. Since the noise (E) output by the summation module 322 is amplified compared to the original noise, the adjustment module 323 attenuates the noise (E) to 1/2 and outputs the adjusted noise (F). (see (d) in Figure 7). The noise (F) [noise summation signal] output by the control module 323 is used by the noise removal unit 33 to remove noise from the sensing signal).
Lim Agarwal and Kim are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim/Agarwal with the inclusion of the noise processing circuit of Kim. The motivation would have been in order to provide a touch sensor device capable of effective noise removal by extracting and quantifying only the noise component from a signal containing noise and subtracting the extracted noise amount from the sensing signal (Kim par 0012).
Claim 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (U.S. Patent Application 20160132147 A1) in view of Agarwal et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20140152582 A1, hereinafter “Agarwal”) and further in view of Kim et al. (Korea Patent Application Publication KR102059845B1, hereinafter “Kim”) and Reed et al. (U.S. Patent 10928955 B1, hereinafter “Reed”).
Regarding Claim 6 (Original), Lim as modified teaches the touch sensing circuit of claim 5. However, Lim as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
said digital signal processor
determines an adjusting value according to said digital signals and
adjusts said digital signals according to said adjusting value.
Reed teaches
said digital signal processor
determines an adjusting value according to said digital signals (Reed col 3 lines 19-25 the noise characteristic can be determined by averaging background touch signals corresponding to touch nodes in a respective row or column of the masked touch image to determine a noise offset that can be subtracted from each touch signal corresponding to touch nodes in a respective row or column of the unmasked touch image) and
adjusts said digital signals according to said adjusting value (Reed col 3 lines 25-27 the determining and subtracting of the noise characteristic can be repeated iteratively within a window of time and/or until one or more noise criteria are met).
Lim Agarwal Kim and Reed are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim/Agarwal/Kim with the inclusion of the adjusted compensated digital signals of Reed. The motivation would have been in order to provide an average noise offset for the respective row that can then be subtracted from touch signals at each touch node of the respective row in the (unmasked) touch image (Reed col 12 lines 41-63).
Claims 7, 10-13, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (U.S. Patent Application 20160132147 A1) in view of Agarwal et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20140152582 A1, hereinafter “Agarwal”) and further in view of Reed et al. (U.S. Patent 10928955 B1, hereinafter “Reed”).
Regarding Claim 7 (Currently Amended), Lim as modified teaches the touch sensing circuit of claim 4, further comprising:
a digital signal processor, coupled to said analog-to-digital converter (Agarwal par 0061 Fig 10 measured signal 1002 can be passed through ADC 1010 and the noise estimate signal can be passed through ADC 1012. After being converted, the digital noise estimate signal is subtracted from the digital measured signal, which can then be used by a touch controller (as an example) for further processing).
However, Lim as modified appears not to expressly teach
adjusting a threshold value, and
generating a touch signal according to said digital signals and said adjusted threshold value.
Reed teaches a digital signal processor adjusting a threshold value (col 14 line 60 – 67 the signal threshold for identifying a touch node corresponding to a touch can be set based on a maximum signal detected in a touch image (in the frame which the noise suppression algorithm is to be applied to the touch image). In such examples, the maximum signal among the touch nodes in the touch image can be found, and the threshold can be set to a percentage (e.g., 50%, 60%) of the maximum signal in the touch image (e.g., as shown by threshold 806), and
generating a touch signal according to said digital signals (col 13 lines 63-65 Fig 7 process 700 can iteratively remove noise from the touch image until satisfaction of one or more noise criteria) and said adjusted threshold value (col 15 lines 34-36 Fig 8 touch nodes can be identified as corresponding to “touch” when their touch signal exceeds a threshold).
Lim Agarwal and Reed are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim/Agarwal with the inclusion of the adjusted compensated digital signals of Reed. The motivation would have been in order to provide an average noise offset for the respective row that can then be subtracted from touch signals at each touch node of the respective row in the (unmasked) touch image (Reed col 12 lines 41-63).
Regarding Claim 10 (Currently Amended), Lim as modified teaches the touch sensing circuit of claim 9. However, Lim as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein said digital signal processor
sums said digital signals for generating a digital summation signal, and
averages said digital summation signal for determining said average noise.
Reed teaches wherein said digital signal processor
sums said digital signals for generating a digital summation signal (col 12 lines 41-63 a noise offset can be computed for a first respective row of the touch image by computing an average of the touch signals in the masked touch image for the respective row. For example, the touch signals of “background” touch nodes in the respective row in the masked touch image can be summed and divided by the number of “background” touch nodes in the respective row in the masked touch image), and
averages said digital summation signal for determining said average noise (col 12 lines 41-63 a noise offset [average noise] can be computed for a first respective row of the touch image by computing an average of the touch signals in the masked touch image for the respective row. For example, the touch signals of “background” touch nodes in the respective row in the masked touch image can be summed and divided by the number of “background” touch nodes in the respective row in the masked touch image).
Lim Agarwal and Reed are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim/Agarwal with the inclusion of the signal noise averaging of Reed. The motivation would have been in order to provide an average noise offset for the respective row that can then be subtracted from touch signals at each touch node of the respective row in the (unmasked) touch image (Reed col 12 lines 41-63).
Regarding Claim 11 (Original), Lim as modified teaches the touch sensing circuit of claim 9. However, Lim as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
said digital signal processor further adjusts said compensated digital signals, and
generates a touch signal according to said adjusted digital signals and a threshold value.
Reed teaches wherein
said digital signal processor further adjusts said compensated digital signals (col 12 lines 41-63 Fig 7 the determining and removing of the noise characteristic [by subtracting the noise average from the digital signals] can be applied to [each of the touch nodes in each of the] rows and each of the columns in the touch image for each iteration of 705; col 16 lines 57-59 compensation can be applied to the touch nodes before removing structured noise), and
generates a touch signal according to said adjusted digital signals (col 13 lines 63-65 Fig 7 process 700 can iteratively remove noise from the touch image until satisfaction of one or more noise criteria) and a threshold value (col 15 lines 34-36 Fig 8 touch nodes can be identified as corresponding to “touch” when their touch signal exceeds a threshold).
Lim Agarwal and Reed are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim/Agarwal with the inclusion of the adjusted compensated digital signals of Reed. The motivation would have been in order to provide an average noise offset for the respective row that can then be subtracted from touch signals at each touch node of the respective row in the (unmasked) touch image (Reed col 12 lines 41-63).
Regarding Claim 12 (Original), Lim as modified teaches the touch sensing circuit of claim 11, wherein
said digital signal processor determines an adjusting value according to said compensated digital signals (Reed col 16 lines 57-59 compensation can be applied to the touch nodes before removing structured noise; col 3 lines 19-25 the noise characteristic can be determined by averaging background touch signals corresponding to touch nodes in a respective row or column of the masked touch image to determine a noise offset that can be subtracted from each touch signal corresponding to touch nodes in a respective row or column of the unmasked touch image), and
adjusts said compensated digital signals according to said adjusting value (Reed col 3 lines 25-27 the determining and subtracting of the noise characteristic can be repeated iteratively within a window of time and/or until one or more noise criteria are met).
Lim Agarwal and Reed are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim/Agarwal with the inclusion of the adjusted compensated digital signals of Reed. The motivation would have been in order to provide an average noise offset for the respective row that can then be subtracted from touch signals at each touch node of the respective row in the (unmasked) touch image (Reed col 12 lines 41-63).
Regarding Claim 13 (Original), Lim as modified teaches the touch sensing circuit of claim 9, wherein
said digital signal processor
adjusts a threshold value (Reed col 14 line 60-67 the signal threshold for identifying a touch node corresponding to a touch can be set based on a maximum signal detected in a touch image (in the frame which the noise suppression algorithm is to be applied to the touch image). In such examples, the maximum signal among the touch nodes in the touch image can be found, and the threshold can be set to a percentage (e.g., 50%, 60%) of the maximum signal in the touch image (e.g., as shown by threshold 806), and
generates a touch signal according to said compensated digital signals (Reed col 13 lines 63-65 Fig 7 process 700 can iteratively remove noise from the touch image until satisfaction of one or more noise criteria) and said adjusted threshold value (Reed col 15 lines 34-36 Fig 8 touch nodes can be identified as corresponding to “touch” when their touch signal exceeds a threshold).
Lim Agarwal and Reed are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim/Agarwal with the inclusion of the adjusted compensated digital signals of Reed. The motivation would have been in order to provide an average noise offset for the respective row that can then be subtracted from touch signals at each touch node of the respective row in the (unmasked) touch image (Reed col 12 lines 41-63).
Regarding Claim 17 (New), Lim as modified teaches the touch sensing circuit of claim 15. However, Lim as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
said digital signal processor generates a touch signal according to said digital signals and said adjusted threshold value.
Reed teaches wherein said digital signal processor generates a touch signal according to said digital signals (col 13 lines 63-65 Fig 7 process 700 can iteratively remove noise from the touch image until satisfaction of one or more noise criteria) and said adjusted threshold value (col 15 lines 34-36 Fig 8 touch nodes can be identified as corresponding to “touch” when their touch signal exceeds a threshold).
Lim Agarwal and Reed are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim/Agarwal with the inclusion of the adjusted compensated digital signals of Reed. The motivation would have been in order to provide an average noise offset for the respective row that can then be subtracted from touch signals at each touch node of the respective row in the (unmasked) touch image (Reed col 12 lines 41-63).
Regarding Claim 19 (Currently Amended), Lim as modified teaches the touch sensing circuit of claim 18. However, Lim as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein said digital signal processor
sums said digital signals for generating a digital summation signal, and
averages said digital summation signal for determining said average noise.
Reed teaches wherein said digital signal processor
sums said digital signals for generating a digital summation signal (col 12 lines 41-63 a noise offset can be computed for a first respective row of the touch image by computing an average of the touch signals in the masked touch image for the respective row. For example, the touch signals of “background” touch nodes in the respective row in the masked touch image can be summed and divided by the number of “background” touch nodes in the respective row in the masked touch image), and
averages said digital summation signal for determining said average noise (col 12 lines 41-63 a noise offset [average noise] can be computed for a first respective row of the touch image by computing an average of the touch signals in the masked touch image for the respective row. For example, the touch signals of “background” touch nodes in the respective row in the masked touch image can be summed and divided by the number of “background” touch nodes in the respective row in the masked touch image).
Lim Agarwal and Reed are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim/Agarwal with the inclusion of the signal noise averaging of Reed. The motivation would have been in order to provide an average noise offset for the respective row that can then be subtracted from touch signals at each touch node of the respective row in the (unmasked) touch image (Reed col 12 lines 41-63).
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (U.S. Patent Application 20160132147 A1) in view of Agarwal et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20140152582 A1, hereinafter “Agarwal”) and further in view of Reed et al. (U.S. Patent 10928955 B1, hereinafter “Reed”) and Kent (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20080062151 A1).
Regarding Claim 8 (Original), Lim as modified teaches the touch sensing circuit of claim 7. However, Lim as modified appears not to expressly teach wherein
said digital signal processor
determines an adjusting value according to said digital signals and
adjusts said threshold value according to said adjusting value.
Kent teaches wherein
said digital signal processor
determines an adjusting value according to said digital signals (par 0267 determining a noise or signal instability level in a given region) and
adjusts said threshold value according to said adjusting value (par 0267 determining a noise or signal instability level in a given region, and setting the threshold above an average noise or instability level for that region).
Lim Agarwal Reed and Kent are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim/Agarwal /Reed with the inclusion of the threshold adjustment of Kent. The motivation would have been in order to provide an adaptive threshold, in which the threshold varies based on actual sets of received data, thus allowing increased sensitivity and rejection of artifacts of limited amplitude (Kent par 0027).
Regarding Claim 14 (Original), Lim as modified teaches the touch sensing circuit of claim 13, wherein
said digital signal processor determines an adjusting value according to said compensated digital signals (Reed col 16 lines 57-59 compensation can be applied to the touch nodes before removing structured noise; col 3 lines 19-25 the noise characteristic can be determined by averaging background touch signals corresponding to touch nodes in a respective row or column of the masked touch image to determine a noise offset that can be subtracted from each touch signal corresponding to touch nodes in a respective row or column of the unmasked touch image).
However, Lim as modified appears not to expressly teach
adjusts said threshold value according to said adjusting value.
Kent teaches adjusts said threshold value according to said adjusting value (par 0267 determining a noise or signal instability level in a given region, and setting the threshold above an average noise or instability level for that region).
Lim Agarwal Reed and Kent are analogous art as they each pertain to touch sensing circuits. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch sensing circuit of Lim/Agarwal /Reed with the inclusion of the threshold adjustment of Kent. The motivation would have been in order to provide an adaptive threshold, in which the threshold varies based on actual sets of received data, thus allowing increased sensitivity and rejection of artifacts of limited amplitude (Kent par 0027).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 15, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MARK EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624