DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-13 & 21-27 in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7 & 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Akkinepally et al. (US Pub. 2021/0305163).
Regarding claim 1, Akkinepally teaches a package structure comprising:
a first die 114-1 and a second die 114-2 embedded in a first insulating material (not shown but Akkinepally discusses an overmold material surrounding the two dies 114 in Para [0035], Fig. 2);
a first redistribution structure 202 over the first die 114-1 and the second die 114-2, the first redistribution structure comprising:
a dielectric layer 430 (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4A & Para [0028]);
a first conductive pad (450-1, see Fig. 4H & Fig. 2) in physical contact with a first die connector of the first die 114-1 (note the unlabeled die connector on the bottom surface of the die 114-1 in Fig. 2);
a second conductive pad (450-1, see Fig. 4H & Fig. 2) in physical contact with a second die connector of the second die 114-2 (note the unlabeled die connector on the bottom surface of the die 114-1 in Fig. 2);
a second insulating material 162/166 extending partially through the first redistribution structure 202, wherein a material of the second insulating material 162 is different from a material of the dielectric layer (Akkinepally teaches in Para [0028] wherein the dielectric layer can be carbon-doped dielectric or fluorine-doped dielectric and further teaches in Para [0023] wherein the second insulating material 162/166 can be organic polymer);
a first via 163 extending through the second insulating material 162 to physically contact the first conductive pad 450-1 (Fig. 4H & Fig. 2); and
a second via 163 extending through the second insulating material 162 to physically contact the second conductive pad (450-1 (Fig. 4H & Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Akkinepally teaches the package structure of claim 7, further comprising: a package substrate 204 coupled to the first redistribution structure 202, wherein the first redistribution structure is disposed between the package substrate 204 and the first die 114-1 (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Akkinepally teaches the package structure of claim 7, wherein the second insulating material has a dielectric constant that is in a range from 2.8 to 4.2 (Akkinepally teaches in Para [0023] low-and/or ultra low-k dielectric that are understood to be within the above claim range).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkinepally as applied to claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 13, while Akkinepally teaches the package structure of claim 7, wherein the second insulating material has a silica filler content; however, Akkinepally is silent wherein said content is less than 70 percent by weight. Notwithstanding, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Furthermore, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 & 21-27 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to claim 1, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest, a package comprising: a first die and a second die embedded in a first molding material; a first redistribution structure over the first die and the second die; a second molding material over portions of the first die and the second die, wherein the second molding material is disposed between a first portion of the first redistribution structure and a second portion of the first redistribution structure; a first via extending through the second molding material, wherein the first via is electrically connected to the first die; a second via extending through the second molding material, wherein the second via is electrically connected to the second die; and a silicon bridge electrically coupled to the first via and the second via.
Claims 2-6 are allowed as being directly or indirectly dependent of the allowed independent base claim 1.
With respect to claim 21, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest, a package comprising: a first die and a second die embedded in a first molding material; a first redistribution structure over the first die and the second die, wherein a first portion of the first redistribution structure is disposed over the first die, and a second portion of the first redistribution structure is disposed over the second die; a second molding material disposed between the first portion of the first redistribution structure and the second portion of the first redistribution structure; a silicon bridge disposed over the second molding material, wherein a first width of the silicon bridge in a direction that is parallel to a top surface of the second molding material is smaller or equal to a smallest width of the second molding material between a first outermost sidewall of the second molding material and a second outermost sidewall of the second molding material; a first via extending through the second molding material, wherein the first via electrically connects the silicon bridge to the first die; and a second via extending through the second molding material, wherein the second via electrically connects the silicon bridge to the second die.
Claims 22-27 are allowed as being directly or indirectly dependent of the allowed independent base claim 21.
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TIMOR KARIMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818