DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed 08/20/2026 which amended claims 1 and 17. Claims 1, 3-17 and 19-32 are currently pending in the application for patent.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-11, 17, 19-20 and 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano (US 2018/0095348) in view of Nishimori et al (US 2015/0042963; hereinafter referred to as Nishimori) and Iitsuka et al (US 2023/0082820; hereinafter referred to as Iitsuka).
Regarding Claims 1 and 17, Asano discloses a projection device (Figure 1; Projector 1), comprising:
a lighting module (Figure 1; Light Source Apparatus 100), configured to provide a lighting beam (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0063]; wherein the light source apparatus 100 emits white light Lw), comprising:
a light source (Figure 2; Blue Light Source Optical System 214), configured to provide an excitation beam (see Paragraph [0074]);
a rotating wheel module (Figure 2; Light Conversion Device 10), disposed on a transmission path of the excitation beam (see Figure 2; Paragraph [0077]; wherein it is disclosed that the blue light Lb1 having been transmitted through the dichroic mirror 213 irradiates the phosphor 112 through the condensing lenses 115 and 116 in the light conversion device 10 to thereby excite the phosphor 112), wherein the rotating wheel module (Figure 2; Light Conversion Device 10) comprises a plurality of driving blades (Figures 6 and 9; Cylindrical Fins 32), and the driving blades (Figures 6 and 9; Cylindrical Fins 32) are disposed at an interval and any two adjacent driving blades form an airflow channel (see Figures 7-9); and
a first airflow generator (Figures 9 and 10; Sirocco Fan 51), disposed beside the rotating wheel module (Figures 9 and 10; Light Conversion Device 10) and configured to generate a first airflow (see Paragraph [0091]; wherein it is disclosed that the Sirocco fan 51 sends the cooling air 50), wherein the first airflow (Figures 9 and 10; Cooling Air 50) flows through the airflow channels of the driving blades (Figures 6 and 9; Cylindrical Fins 32) to drive the rotating wheel module (Figures 9 and 10; Light Conversion Device 10) to rotate (see Figures 6, 9 and 10; Paragraph [0091]; wherein it is disclosed that the disc section 31 and the cylindrical fins 32 rotate by causing the cooling air 50 to pass through the cylindrical fins 32 located on upper side or lower side of the main shaft 42 when viewed from the direction in which the main shaft 42 is attached);
a light valve assembly (Figure 1; Red Light Valve 410R, Green Light Valve 410G and Blue Light Valve 410B), disposed on the transmission path of the lighting beam (see Figure 1), and configured to convert the lighting beam into an image beam (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0067]; wherein it is disclosed that the light valves 410R, 410G, and 410B each modulate pieces of the incident light pixel by pixel on the basis of the supplied image signals of respective colors to generate images of the respective colors such that the light valve 410R generates a red image, the light valve 410G generates a green image and the light valve 410B generates a blue image); and
a projection lens (Figure 1; Projection Optical System 600), configured to project the image beam out of the projection device (see Paragraph [0068]; wherein it is disclosed that the projection optical system 600 irradiates an unillustrated screen with the image light synthesized by the dichroic prism 540), wherein the first airflow generator (Figures 9 and 10; Sirocco Fan 51) is a fan (see Paragraph [0079]), and comprises a plurality of first fan blades and a first driving shaft (see Paragraph [0079]; wherein the fan is described as a Sirocco fan which inherently includes fan blades and a driving shaft), wherein an orthographic projection of the driving blades (Figures 6 and 9; Cylindrical Fins 32) of the rotating wheel module (Figures 9 and 10; Light Conversion Device 10) on a reference plane perpendicular to the first driving shaft (see Figures 9 and 10; wherein the first driving shaft of the Sirocco fan 51 inherently extends in an up-down direction perpendicular to the extension direction of the cylindrical fins 32) at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection of the first fan blades on the reference plane (see Figures 9 and 10).
Asano does not expressly disclose that at least a part of the light source is disposed on a flow path of the first airflow, wherein when viewed along a direction parallel to the first driving shaft, an orthographic projection of the driving blades of the rotating wheel module, which is projected along a projection direction parallel to the first driving shaft, on a reference plane perpendicular to the first driving shaft at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection of the first fan blades, which is projected along the projection direction, on the reference plane.
Nishimori discloses a lighting module (Figure 1), configured to provide a lighting beam (see Paragraph [0055]), comprising a light source (Figure 1; Light Source Unit 1), configured to provide an excitation beam (see Paragraph [0025]); a rotating wheel module (Figure 1; Phosphor Wheel 5) disposed on a transmission path of the excitation beam (see Figure 1), a first airflow generator (Figure 1; Axial Flow Fan 19), configured to generate a first airflow (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0033]), wherein
at least a part of the light source (Figure 1; Light Source Unit 1) is disposed on a flow path of the first airflow (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the lighting module of Asano such that at least a part of the light source is disposed on a flow path of the first airflow, as taught by Nishimori, because doing so would make it possible to sufficiently cool both the light source unit and phosphor wheel without the addition of a dedicated cooling fan for the phosphor wheel, such that an increase in size, cost, and noise of the light source device is suppressed (see Nishimori Paragraph [0038]).
Asano as modified by Nishimori does not expressly disclose that when viewed along a direction parallel to the first driving shaft, an orthographic projection of the driving blades of the rotating wheel module, which is projected along a projection direction parallel to the first driving shaft, on a reference plane perpendicular to the first driving shaft at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection of the first fan blades, which is projected along the projection direction, on the reference plane.
Iitsuka discloses a lighting module (Figure 2; Light Source Apparatus 2), configured to provide a lighting beam (see Figure 2), comprising:
a light source (Figure 2; Light Source 21), configured to provide an excitation beam (see Paragraph [0042]);
a rotating wheel module (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Unit 40), disposed on a transmission path of the excitation beam (see Figure 2), wherein the rotating wheel module (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Unit 40) comprises a plurality of driving blades (Figure 4; Heat Dissipation Member 413); and
a first airflow generator (Figure 4; Fan 46), configured to generate a first airflow (see Paragraph [0093]),
wherein the first airflow generator (Figure 4; Fan 46) is a fan (see Figure 4), and comprises a plurality of first fan blades and a first driving shaft (see Figure 4; wherein the shaft corresponds to axis of rotation O1),
wherein when viewed along a direction parallel to the first driving shaft (Figure 4; Y axis direction), an orthographic projection of the driving blades (Figure 4; Heat Dissipation Member 413) of the rotating wheel module (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Unit 40), which is projected along a projection direction parallel to the first driving shaft (see Figure 4), on a reference plane perpendicular to the first driving shaft (see Figure 4; wherein the shaft corresponds to axis of rotation O1) at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection of the first fan blades, which is projected along the projection direction, on the reference plane (see Figure 4; wherein when viewed from a y axis direction the fan blades of fan 46 and overlaps with heat dissipation members 413).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the lighting module of Asano as modified by Nishimori such that when viewed along a direction parallel to the first driving shaft, an orthographic projection of the driving blades of the rotating wheel module, which is projected along a projection direction parallel to the first driving shaft, on a reference plane perpendicular to the first driving shaft at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection of the first fan blades, which is projected along the projection direction, on the reference plane, because doing so would increase the efficiency at which the heat exchanger cools the airflow (see Iisuka Paragraph [0100]).
Regarding Claims 3 and 19, Asano as modified by Nishimori and Iitsuka discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 17 as detailed above.
Asano further discloses an orthographic projection of the light source (Figure 2; Blue Light Source Optical System 214) on the reference plane of the first airflow generator (Figures 9 and 10; Sirocco Fan 51) at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection of the first fan blades on the reference plane (see Figures 2, 9 and 10; Paragraph [0101]; wherein it is disclosed that the Sirocco fan 51 may be positioned to sends cooling air 50 from either a left or right side and wherein when the Sirocco fan 51 is positioned on the same side as the blue light source optical system 214 the blue light source optical system 214 at least partially overlaps the fan blades of the Sirocco fan 51 on the reference plane of the Sirocco fan 51).
Regarding Claims 4 and 20, Asano as modified by Nishimori and Iitsuka discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 17 as detailed above.
Asano further discloses a second airflow generator configured to generate a second airflow (see Figures 11-13 and Paragraphs [0102]-[0104]; wherein it is disclosed that streams of the cooling air 50L and the cooling air 50R are blown to the cylindrical fins 32 from the right and left directions and wherein the unillustrated blower duct or exhaust duct constitutes a second airflow generator), wherein the second airflow flows through the airflow channels of the driving blades (Figures 11-13; Cylindrical Fins 32) to drive the rotating wheel module (Figures 11-13; Light Conversion Devices 10 and 10A) to rotate (see Figures 11-13 and Paragraph [0102]-[0104]; wherein it is disclosed that the streams of the cooling air 50L and the cooling air 50R are blown to the cylindrical fins 32 from the right and left directions and wherein the unillustrated blower duct or exhaust duct constitutes a second airflow generator).
Regarding Claims 7 and 23, Asano as modified by Nishimori and Iitsuka discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 17 as detailed above.
Asano further discloses the rotating wheel module (Figure 3; Light Conversion Device 10) further comprises a first passive rotating shaft (Figure 3; Main Shaft 42), and the first airflow generator (Figures 9 and 10; Sirocco Fan 51) comprises a first driving shaft (see Paragraph [0079]; wherein the fan is described as a Sirocco fan which inherently includes fan blades and a driving shaft), and the first passive rotating shaft (Figure 3; Main Shaft 42) is perpendicular to the first driving shaft (see Figures 3, 9 and 10; wherein the first driving shaft of the Sirocco fan 51 inherently extends in an up-down direction perpendicular to the extension direction of the main shaft 42), wherein the rotating wheel module (Figures 9 and 10; Light Conversion Device 10) is not connected to the first airflow generator (see Figures 9 and 10).
Regarding Claims 8 and 24, Asano as modified by Nishimori and Iitsuka discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 17 as detailed above.
Asano further discloses the rotating wheel module (Figure 3; Light Conversion device 10) further comprises a base plate (Figure 3; Disc Section 31) and an optical element (Figure 3; Phosphor 112) connected to the base plate (see Figure 3).
Regarding Claims 9 and 25, Asano as modified by Nishimori and Iitsuka discloses the limitations of claims 8 and 24 as detailed above.
Asano further discloses the base plate (Figure 3; Disc Section 31) comprises a light-transmitting glass or a reflective metal layer (see Paragraph [0081]; wherein it is disclosed that the disc section is made of a material such as aluminum, copper, an aluminum-silicon carbide composite material).
Regarding Claims 10 and 26, Asano as modified by Nishimori and Iitsuka discloses the limitations of claims 8 and 24 as detailed above.
Asano further discloses the optical element (Figure 3; Phosphor 112) comprises at least one wavelength conversion layer or a light diffusing layer (see Paragraph [0084]).
Regarding Claims 11 and 27, Asano as modified by Nishimori and Iitsuka discloses the limitations of claims 8 and 24 as detailed above.
Asano further discloses the driving blades (Figure 3; Cylindrical Fins 32) are disposed on the base plate (see Figure 3).
Claims 5, 6, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano (US 2018/0095348) as modified by Nishimori et al (US 2015/0042963; hereinafter referred to as Nishimori) and Iitsuka et al (US 2023/0082820; hereinafter referred to as Iitsuka) as applied to claims 1, 4, 17 and 20, in view of Wang et al (US 2015/0009685; hereinafter referred to as Wang).
Regarding Claims 5 and 21, Asano as modified by Nishimori and Iitsuka discloses the limitations of claims 4 and 20 as detailed above.
Asano as modified by Nishimori and Iitsuka does not expressly disclose that the rotating wheel module further comprises a first rotating wheel and a second rotating wheel, and the driving blades are disposed on the first rotating wheel and the second rotating wheel.
Wang discloses a lighting module (Figure 1B; Phosphor Wheel Heat-Dissipating Module 3) comprising a rotating wheel module (Figure 1B; Phosphor Wheel 1), wherein
the rotating wheel (Figure 1B; Phosphor Wheel 1) module further comprises a first rotating wheel (Figure 1B; First Surface 10) and a second rotating wheel (Figure 1B; Second Surface 11), and driving blades (Figure 1B; Impeller 2) are disposed on the first rotating wheel and the second rotating wheel (see Figure 1B; wherein the impeller 2 is disposed between the first surface 10 and the second surface 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projection device of Asano as modified by Nishimori and Iitsuka such that the rotating wheel module further comprises a first rotating wheel and a second rotating wheel, and the driving blades are disposed on the first rotating wheel and the second rotating wheel, as taught by Wang, because doing so would effectively remove heat from the phosphor wheel of a laser projection system without increasing the area of the phosphor wheel (see Wang Paragraph [0006]).
Regarding Claims 6 and 22, Asano as modified by Nishimori and Iitsuka discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 17 as detailed above.
Asano as modified by Nishimori and Iitsuka does not expressly disclose that the rotating wheel module further comprises a base plate, the base plate comprises a first disc body and a second disc body, the first disc body is coaxial with the second disc body and spaced apart from the second disc body, and the driving blades are located between the first disc body and the second disc body.
Wang discloses a lighting module (Figure 1B; Phosphor Wheel Heat-Dissipating Module 3) comprising a rotating wheel module (Figure 1B; Phosphor Wheel 1), wherein
the rotating wheel module (Figure 1B; Phosphor Wheel 1) further comprises a base plate (Figure 1B; First Surface 10 and Second Surface 11), the base plate (Figure 1B; First Surface 10 and Second Surface 11) comprises a first disc body (Figure 1B; First Surface 10) and a second disc body (Figure 1; Second Surface 11), the first disc body (Figure 1B; First Surface 10) is coaxial with the second disc body (Figure 1; Second Surface 11) and spaced apart from the second disc body (see Figure 1), and the driving blades (Figure 1B; Impeller 2) are located between the first disc body (Figure 1B; First Surface 10) and the second disc body (see Figure 1; wherein the impeller 2 is located between the first surface 10 and the second surface 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projection device of Asano as modified by Nishimori and Iitsuka such that the rotating wheel module further comprises a base plate, the base plate comprises a first disc body and a second disc body, the first disc body is coaxial with the second disc body and spaced apart from the second disc body, and the driving blades are located between the first disc body and the second disc body, as taught by Wang, because doing so would effectively remove heat from the phosphor wheel of a laser projection system without increasing the area of the phosphor wheel (see Wang Paragraph [0006]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance.
Regarding Claim 12, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious a lighting module, configured to provide a lighting beam, comprising: a light source, configured to provide an excitation beam; a rotating wheel module, disposed on a transmission path of the excitation beam, wherein the rotating wheel module comprises a base plate, an optical element and a plurality of driving blades, wherein the optical element is connected to the base plate, and the driving blades are disposed at an interval and any two adjacent driving blades form an airflow channel; a first airflow generator, configured to generate a first airflow, wherein the first airflow flows through the airflow channels of the driving blades to drive the rotating wheel module to rotate, and at least a part of the light source is disposed on a flow path of the first airflow; and
a second airflow generator configured to generate a second airflow, wherein the base plate further comprises a first disc body and a first passive rotating shaft, and the second airflow generator comprises a second driving shaft, wherein the driving blades are obliquely disposed on the first disc body, the first passive rotating shaft is perpendicular to the first disc body, and the first passive rotating shaft is parallel to the second driving shaft.
These limitations render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record.
Dependent claim 13 is likewise non-obvious over the prior art of record by virtue of its dependency upon allowable independent claim 12.
Regarding Claim 14, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious a lighting module, configured to provide a lighting beam, comprising: a light source, configured to provide an excitation beam; a rotating wheel module, disposed on a transmission path of the excitation beam, wherein the rotating wheel module comprises a plurality of driving blades, and the driving blades are disposed at an interval and any two adjacent driving blades form an airflow channel; and a first airflow generator, configured to generate a first airflow, wherein the first airflow flows through the airflow channels of the driving blades to drive the rotating wheel module to rotate, and at least a part of the light source is disposed on a flow path of the first airflow
wherein the rotating wheel module further comprises a first rotating wheel, a slide rail, and a sliding block slidably disposed on the slide rail, wherein the first rotating wheel comprises a first passive rotating shaft, the driving blades are disposed on the first rotating wheel, the first passive rotating shaft is pivotally connected to the slide rail, the first airflow generator comprises a first driving shaft, the first driving shaft is perpendicular to the first passive rotating shaft, and an extension direction of the slide rail is parallel to the first driving shaft.
These limitations render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record.
Dependent claims 15-16 are likewise non-obvious by virtue of their dependency upon allowable independent claim 14.
Claims 28-32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claim 28, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious a second airflow generator configured to generate a second airflow, wherein the base plate further comprises a first disc body and a first passive rotating shaft, the second airflow generator comprises a second driving shaft, the driving blades are obliquely disposed on the first disc body, the first passive rotating shaft is perpendicular to the first disc body, and the first passive rotating shaft is parallel to the second driving shaft.
This limitation in combination with the limitations of claims 17 and 24 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Dependent claim 29 would likewise be non-obvious over the prior art of record if the abovementioned amendment were made.
Regarding Claim 30, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the rotating wheel module comprises a first rotating wheel, a slide rail, and a sliding block slidably disposed on the slide rail, wherein the first rotating wheel comprises a first passive rotating shaft, the driving blades are disposed on the first rotating wheel, the first passive rotating shaft is pivotally connected to the slide rail, the first airflow generator comprises a first driving shaft, the first driving shaft is perpendicular to the first passive rotating shaft, and an extension direction of the slide rail is parallel to the first driving shaft.
This limitation in combination with the limitations of claim 17 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Dependent claims 31 and 32 would likewise be non-obvious over the prior art of record if the abovementioned amendment were made.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-17 and 19-32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Inquiry
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882