DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant’s amendment and remarks, filed 01 May 2026, in which claims 1, 11, and 21 are amended to change the scope and breadth of the claim, and claims 9, 19, and 29 are canceled.
This application is a domestic application, filed 05 Jan 2023; claims benefit as a CON of PCT/EP2021/068832, filed 07 July 2021; and claims benefit of foreign priority document EP 20184839.7, filed 09 July 2020. This foreign priority document is in English.
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 11, 18, 20-22, 24-25, 27-28, and 30 are pending in the current application. Claims 22 and 24-25, drawn to non-elected inventions, are withdrawn. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 11, 18, 20-21, 27-28, and 30 are examined on the merits herein.
Objections Withdrawn
Applicant’s amendment, filed 01 May 2026, with respect that the disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink has been fully considered and is persuasive, as the amended specification does not contain browser-executable code.
This objection has been withdrawn.
Rejections Withdrawn
Applicant’s amendment, filed 01 May 2026, with respect that claims 19 and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite has been fully considered and is persuasive, as claim 19 is canceled, and amended claim 21 does not recite the indicated language.
This rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, filed 01 May 2026, with respect that claims 1-2, 4-9, 11, 18, 20-21, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McPherson et al. (US 2022/0251128, filed 15 May 2020, of record) has been fully considered and is persuasive, as amended claim 1 recites the method further wherein the concentration of the iodine in the oxidation solution is 75 mM to 100 mM. Upon reconsideration, McPherson et al. does not specifically disclose a method meeting the all limitations of the claimed invention.
This rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, filed 01 May 2026, with respect that claims 1-2, 4-8, 18, 20-21, 27-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy et al. (US 5,783,684, issued 21 July 1998, provided by Applicant in IDS filed 03 Dec 2024) in view of Zon (Argrawal, S., ed., Methods in Molecular Biology, Vol. 20 Protocols for Oligonucleotides and Analogs, 1993, Humana Press Inc., p165-189, of record) has been fully considered and is persuasive, as amended claim 1 recites the method further wherein the concentration of the iodine in the oxidation solution is 75 mM to 100 mM. Upon reconsideration, Reddy et al. in view of Zon does not teach or fairly suggest a method meeting the all limitations of the claimed invention.
This rejection has been withdrawn.
The following are new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment, filed 01 May 2026, in which claims 1, 11, and 21 are amended to change the scope and breadth of the claim, and claims 9, 19, and 29 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Amended Claims 1-2, 4-8, 11, 18, 20-21, 27-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McPherson et al. (US 2022/0251128, filed 15 May 2020, of record).
McPherson et al. discloses methods for synthesizing oligonucleotides having at least one phosphorothioate diester linkage and at least one phosphate diester internucleoside linkage. In certain embodiments, the present disclosure provides oxidation reagents that produce low amounts of unwanted phosphate diester impurities (abstract). The oxidation step comprises oxidation of an intermediary phosphite triester compound into a phosphodiester compound (figure 2, step 3), addressing the structural limitations of the claimed formulas I and II. The oxidizing agent can be used to produce highly pure oligonucleotides that contain only a low percentage of unwanted phosphate diester linkages. In certain embodiments, adding an iodide source to a pyridine, water, and iodine oxidizing reagent results in an oxidizing reagent that can be used promptly upon preparation (paragraph 11 spanning pages 1-2), addressing limitations of claim 1 and 6-7. In certain embodiments, the oxidizing agent is a mixture of I2, a salt, pyridine, and water. In certain embodiments, the salt is selected from Nal, KI, Lil, or pyridinium iodide. In certain embodiments, the concentration of I2 is 0.001 M, 0.08 M, 0.09 M, or 0.1 M, or any range selected from two values above. In certain embodiments, the concentration of the salt is the same as the concentration of I2. In certain embodiments, the concentration of the salt is 0.001 M, 0.08 M, 0.09 M, or 0.1 M. In certain embodiments the oxidizing agent is a mixture of 0.05 M I2, 0.05 M KI, in a 9:1 volumetric ratio of pyridine and water (page 10, paragraph 234-235), addressing limitations of claims 1-2, 4-9, and 27-28. In working example 11, the oligonucleotide compound 682884 precursor is synthesized using the freshly prepared oxidizing agent to give a (P=O)1 impurity of 1.7% and no detectable incomplete oxidation (page 25, paragraph 362 to page 26, paragraph 363), addressing limitations of claims 18 and 30. The oligonucleotide compound 682884 contains 20 nucleotides (page 23, paragraph 338), addressing limitations of claim 21.
McPherson et al. does not specifically disclose the method wherein the concentration of the iodine in the oxidation solution is 75 mM to 100 mM (claim 1). McPherson et al. does not specifically disclose the method wherein the oxidation solution comprises 100 mM KI and 100 mM I2, and the oxidation solution has a conductivity of between 3200 and 3900 μS/cm (claim 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of McPherson et al. to select the concentration of the I2 and the salt in the oxidizing agent. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select the concentration of the I2 and the salt in the oxidizing agent with a reasonable expectation of success because McPherson et al. teaches in certain embodiments the concentration of I2 is 0.08 M, 0.09 M, or 0.1 M, and in certain embodiments, the concentration of the salt is the same as the concentration of I2, and teaches embodiments where the oxidizing agent is a mixture of I2 and KI at the same concentration in a 9:1 volumetric ratio of pyridine and water, suggesting it would have been obvious to select the concentration to be 0.1 M (or 100 mM) I2 and 0.1 M KI in a 9:1 volumetric ratio of pyridine and water.
Regarding claim 11, McPherson et al. is silent as to the conductivity of the oxidation solution. MPEP 2112.01 especially at I. citing In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (C.C.P.A. 1977) and In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) discusses the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly recited or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to show the inventions of the applicant and the prior art are not the same or that the prior art inventions do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed invention. Further, MPEP 2112 provides “The inherent teaching of a prior art reference, a question of fact, arises both in the context of anticipation and obviousness.” In re Napier, 55 F.3d 610, 613, 34 USPQ2d 1782, 1784 (Fed. Cir. 1995) In this case McPherson et al. discloses embodiments and working examples of the oxidizing agent being a mixture of 0.05 M I2, 0.05 M KI, in a 9:1 volumetric ratio of pyridine and water, and provides guidance for selecting the concentration of I2 is 0.1M (or 100 mM) and the concentration of the salt is the same as the concentration of I2, making obvious the oxidizing agent have the same components and concentrations as the oxidation solution of the claimed invention. The conductivity of the oxidation solution would be a resultant physical property of the specific solvents, solutes in the solution, and their concentrations.
Regarding claim 20, McPherson et al. does not explicitly disclose the reaction temperature of the oxidation reaction. However, McPherson et al. discloses the invention as an improvement in the field of current solid-phase synthesis manufacturing processes of phosphorothioate diester linked oligonucleotides (page 1, paragraphs 4-7). One of skill in the art would have understood that in the state of the art at the time of McPherson et al. this step of the process is performed at room temperature, addressing limitations of claim 20. Further, McPherson et al. describing the manufacturing processes at page 1, paragraph 9 does not specify heating or cooling for the reaction steps, suggesting that the reactions are performed at room temperature and making obvious this limitation of claim 20.
Response to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s Remarks, filed 01 May 2026, have been fully considered and not found to be persuasive.
As detailed in the new grounds of rejection above, the broader disclosure of McPherson et al. teaches in certain embodiments the concentration of I2 is 0.08 M, 0.09 M, or 0.1 M, and in certain embodiments, the concentration of the salt is the same as the concentration of I2, and teaches embodiments where the oxidizing agent is a mixture of I2 and KI at the same concentration in a 9:1 volumetric ratio of pyridine and water, suggesting it would have been to select the embodiment wherein the oxidizing agent is a mixture of I2 and KI at the same 0.1 M or 100 mM concentration in a 9:1 volumetric ratio of pyridine and water. The specification at page 11 appears to show similar results for this embodiment compared to the embodiment where the oxidizing agent is a mixture of 50 mM I2 and 50 mM KI, which is the closest disclosed prior art embodiment.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN S LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693