DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed December 12, 2025, with respect to claims 9-10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Accordingly, claims 9-10 Rejections have been withdrawn.
Further on, claims 9-10 are objected as allowable prior art
Applicant’s amendments/arguments/remarks filed December 12, 2025, with respect to claims 1-6 and 8 rejections, have been fully considered but they are unpersuasive as explained below.
Applicant respectfully asserts that the cited prior art fails to meet the limitations in amended claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully submits that the reason amended claim 1 does not differentiate from the cited prior art is because the amended claim 1 don’t include the limitations “…wherein the abutment of the first lid and the second lid defines a gap outboard of the annular groove…” as defined in allowable objected claim 9.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are pending in this application.
Claims 11-20 are allowable over the prior art.
Claims 9-10 are objected as allowable prior art.
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 are allowable over the prior art.
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (THOMAS – US 3,205,875 A).
Regarding claim 1, THOMAS (Figs. 1-2 and 4) discloses:
An apparatus (engine casing or housing 10: Fig. 2) to be disposed within a seal wall (rear wall 11: Fig. 2) comprising:
a bushing portion (bushing 18: Fig. 1) including a hole (bore 17: Figs. 1-2) to receive a rod (shaft 12: Figs. 1-2) extending through the bushing portion (bushing 18: Fig. 1); and
a disk portion (cover plate 16: Figs. 1-2) concentric with the bushing portion (bushing 18: Fig. 1),
the disk portion (cover plate 16: Figs. 1-2) including:
a first enclosed slot (elongated arcuate groove 51: Fig. 1) spaced apart from the bushing portion (bushing 18: Fig. 1) by a first radial displacement (elongated arcuate groove 51 is positioned at a first radius from bushing 18: Fig. 1); and
a second enclosed slot (arcuate groove 63: Fig. 1) spaced apart from the bushing portion (bushing 18: Fig. 1) by a second radial displacement (arcuate groove 63 is positioned at a second radius from bushing 18, where the first radius is larger than the second radius with respect to bushing 18: Fig. 1), the first radial displacement (elongated arcuate groove 51 is positioned at a first radius from bushing 18: Fig. 1) different than the second radial displacement (arcuate groove 63 is positioned at a second radius from bushing 18, where the first radius is larger than the second radius: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, THOMAS disclose the apparatus according to claim 1, and further on THOMAS also discloses:
wherein the disk portion (cover plate 16: Figs. 1-2) and the bushing portion (bushing 18: Fig. 1) are integral.
Regarding claim 4, THOMAS disclose the apparatus according to claim 1, and further on THOMAS also discloses:
wherein the first enclosed slot (elongated arcuate groove 51: Fig. 1) is arc-shaped and has a first angular displacement (First angle position: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, THOMAS disclose the apparatus according to claim 4, and further on THOMAS also discloses:
wherein the first enclosed slot (elongated arcuate groove 51: Fig. 1) is a first slot and the disk portion (cover plate 16: Figs. 1-2) includes a third slot (elongated arcuate groove 50: Fig. 1), the third slot having the first angular displacement (First angle position: Fig. 1) at the first radial displacement (elongated arcuate groove 51 is positioned at a first radius from bushing 18: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, THOMAS disclose the apparatus according to claim 5, and further on THOMAS also discloses:
wherein the bushing portion (bushing 18: Fig. 1) defines a first axis bisecting the bushing portion (bushing 18: Fig. 1), the first slot (elongated arcuate groove 51: Fig. 1) and the third slot (elongated arcuate groove 50: Fig. 1) being symmetrical about the first axis.
Regarding claim 8, THOMAS disclose the apparatus according to claim 1, and further on THOMAS also discloses:
wherein the bushing portion (bushing 18: Fig. 1) defines a first axis bisecting the first enclosed slot (elongated arcuate groove 51: Fig. 1) and a second axis bisecting the second enclosed slot (arcuate groove 63: Fig. 1), the first axis perpendicular to the second axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (THOMAS – US 3,205,875 A), in view of (Jorn – US 3,781,073 A).
Regarding claims 3, THOMAS disclose the apparatus according to claim 1.
But THOMAS does not explicitly and/or specifically meet the following limitations:
an elastomer seal disposed within the first enclosed slot (regarding claim 3).
a first lid; and a second lid abutting the first lid, an abutment of the first lid and the second lid defining an annular groove, the annular groove retaining the disk portion (regarding claim 9).
However, regarding limitations (A)-(B) above, Jorn (Figs. 13-14 and 21-22) discloses/teaches the following:
An apparatus (bearing, joint or knuckle, between a steering rod and a lever or arm connected to a wheel in an automotive steering linkage) to be disposed within a seal wall comprising: a bushing portion (Bushing Portion 901: Examiner Annotated Jorn Figs. 21-22 below) including a hole (hole 951: Examiner Annotated Jorn Figs. 21-22 below) to receive a rod (shaft 43: Figs. 13-14) extending through the bushing portion (Bushing Portion 901); and a disk portion (Disk Portion 981: Examiner Annotated Jorn Figs. 21-22 below) including an enclosed slot (slot 69: Fig. 21) spaced apart from the bushing portion (Bushing Portion 901), the disk portion (Disk Portion 981) being concentric with the bushing portion (Bushing Portion 901).
Examiner Annotated Jorn Figs. 21-22
An elastomer seal {The shell is perforated at 69 and is covered over its unperforated portions of the inner surface with an elastomeric film 70 as previously described. The annular flange 65 is provided along its opposite axial surfaces with metal rings 71 and 72 which are also perforated, the perforations being circular holes. The outer surfaces of these rings are covered with elastomeric linings 73 and 74. The flange 65 also has embedded therein an intermediate ring 75 which likewise is perforated. The rubber layers 70, 73 and 74 are produced by penetration of the elastomeric mass through the holes 69 and constitute a uniform film} disposed within the enclosed slot (slot 69: Fig. 21).
A first lid (First lid 991: Examiner Annotated Jorn Figs. 21-22 above); and a second lid (Second lid 992: Examiner Annotated Jorn Figs. 21-22 above) abutting the first lid (First lid 991: Examiner Annotated Jorn Figs. 21-22 above), an abutment of the first lid (First lid 991: Examiner Annotated Jorn Figs. 21-22 above) and the second lid (Second lid 992: Examiner Annotated Jorn Figs. 21-22 above) defining an annular groove, the annular groove retaining the disk portion (Disk Portion 981)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus of THOMAS incorporating an elastomer seal as taught by Jorn to serve as vibration or shock dampers to resist/minimize the shear forces.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUBEN PICON-FELICIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/GRANT MOUBRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747