DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 3, 4, 7 and 8 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9 and 10 have been amended; support for the amendment can be found in original claims 3, 4, 7 and 8.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6 and 9-11 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the clamping part 438 of Lai is not located on the vertical inner side wall of the avoidance hole 432 and, therefore, Lai fails to disclose the “first position-limiting portion” at the required location as recited in claim 1 (pg. 7-8).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., vertical inner side wall) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Element 433 of Lai may be considered a side wall of the through hole 432 because it surrounds and is to the side of the through hole 432.
Applicant argues that “COS” labeled in Fig. 1 of Lai is not a circumferential outer side but an internal planar area (pg. 8) and therefore 414 is an internal axial hole and not a circumferential outer side feature (pg. 8). Thus, applicant argues, that Lai fails to disclose a “second position-limiting portion” (pg. 8).
These arguments are not found persuasive because “COS” is on an outer side of a circumference (annotated Fig. 1; C) of the first current collector (Fig. 1; 41) . The examiner notes that applicant appears to intend to claim a side that extends along a circumference in a vertical direction (where the vertical direction is the direction in which the longest dimension of the battery extends). However, that is not presently claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the other one" in line 21. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2, 5, 6 and 9-11 are rejected for dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lai (US 20240097285 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lai discloses a battery (Fig. 1; [0035]), comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1; 2, 31);
a cell (Fig. 1; 1), which is disposed in (Fig. 1) the housing (2, 31), and comprises a main body (annotated Fig. 1; MB) and a first tab (Fig. 1; 11), wherein the first tab (11) is led out (Fig. 1) from one end (annotated Fig. 1; 1E) of the main body (MB);
a first insulator (Fig. 1; 43), which is disposed in the housing (2, 31);
a first current collector (Fig. 1; 41), which is integrally formed (“injection molded”; [0089]) in the first insulator (43; [0057]), and is connected to ([0073]) the first tab (11);
wherein a largest circumferential outer edge (annotated Fig. 1; 1OE) of an orthographic projection (Fig. 9; projection of 41 onto the same plane as 43) of the first current collector (41) facing an end surface (annotated Fig. 1; 1E) of the main body (MB) is located inside (Fig. 9) a largest circumferential outer edge (annotated Fig. 9; 2OE) of an orthographic projection (Fig. 9; projection of 43 onto same plane as 41) of the first insulator (43) facing the end surface (1E) of the main body (MB),
wherein a part (Fig. 1; 411) of the first current collector (41) is embedded ([0089]; Fig. 2) inside (Fig. 2) the first insulator (43), and another part (Fig. 1; 412) of the first current collector (41) is located outside (Fig. 2) the first insulator (43),
wherein a thickness (Fig. 1; thickness of 411 in the vertical direction) of at least the part (Fig. 1; 411) of the first current collector (41) embedded (Fig. 2) inside the first insulator (43) is smaller (Fig. 1) than a thickness (Fig. 1; thickness of 412 in the vertical direction) of the first current collector (41) outside (Fig. 2) the first insulator (43)
wherein a first through hole (Fig. 1; 432, 433) is formed inside the first insulator (43), and the first current collector (41) is located in (Fig. 2) the first through hole (432); wherein a first position-limiting portion (Fig. 9; 438) is provided on a side wall (Fig. 1; 433) of the first through hole (432), and a second position-limiting portion (Fig. 1; 414) is provided on a circumferential outer side (annotated Fig. 1; COS) of the first current collector (41), one (Fig. 9; 438) of the first position-limiting portion (438) and the second position-limiting portion (414) is a protrusion (Fig. 9; 438; “clamping part”; [0070]), and the other (Fig. 1; 414) is an accommodation space (Fig. 1; 414; “positioning holes”; [0070]), and the protrusion (438) is located in (Fig. 9) the accommodation space (414),
wherein the cell (1) further comprises a second tab (Fig. 1; 12), the first tab (11) and the second tab (12) are led out (Fig. 1) from a same end (annotated Fig. 1; 1E) of the main body (MB), the battery (Fig. 1) further comprises a second current collector (Fig. 1; 42), and the second current collector (42) connects ([0090]) the second tab (12) and the housing (2, 31); wherein the first current collector (41) and the second current collector (42) are insulated ([0090]) from each other.
Regarding claim 2, Lai discloses wherein the first insulator (43) and the first current collector (41) are configured by integral injection molding ([0089]).
Regarding claim 5, Lai discloses wherein the battery (Fig. 1) further comprises a pole assembly (Fig. 1; 33), the pole assembly (33) is disposed on ([0090]; Fig. 1) the housing (2, 31), and the first current collector (41) comprises a tab connection portion (Fig. 1; 411, 413) and a pole connection portion (Fig. 1; 412), the pole connection portion (412) is disposed on the tab connection portion (411, 413), and the tab connection portion (412) is embedded (Fig. 2) in the first insulator (43), at least a part (Fig. 1; 412) of the pole connection portion (412) is located outside (Fig. 2) the first insulator (43), and faces the pole assembly (33) so as to be connected ([0095]) with the pole assembly (33).
Regarding claim 6, Lai discloses wherein the battery (Fig. 1) further comprises a second insulator (Fig. 1; 32; [0088]), and the second insulator (32) is disposed in (Fig. 1) the housing (2, 31) and is located between (Fig. 1) the housing (31) and the first current collector (41), so that the housing (2, 31) and the first current collector (41) are insulated from each other (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Lai discloses wherein at least a part (Fig. 1; 421) of the second current collector (42) is located inside (Fig. 2) the first insulator (43).
Regarding claim 10, Lai discloses wherein a second through hole (Fig. 1; 4332) is formed inside (Fig. 1) the first insulator (43), and a part (Fig. 1; 421) of the second current collector (42) is located in the second through hole (433).
Regarding claim 11, Lai discloses wherein the battery (Fig. 1) is a cylindrical battery (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723