DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-11 have been examined on the merits.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of the applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 09/21/2022. It is noted that applicant has filed a certified copy of the application, CN202211153918.0, as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Each information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on or before 11/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner and an initial copy is attached herewith.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, “another” should read “an other”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, the recitation “are integrally injection molded” is indefinite because seemingly applicant is claiming a method step in an apparatus claim thus confusing the metes, bounds and scope of the claim as claim 2 depends from claim 1 which is directed to a battery. For examination, the examiner has interpreted the limitation as “wherein the first insulator and the first current collector are configured by integral injection molding”.
In claim 4, it is unclear if the recitation “a part” refers to the previously recited “a part” of claim 3 or to another part. Therefore, claim 4 is rendered indefinite. For examination, the former interpretation is used. Claims 5-6 are rejected based on dependence on claim 4.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the other" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 10, it is unclear if the recitation “a part” refers to the previously recited “a part” of claim 9 or to another part. Therefore, claim 10 is rendered indefinite. For examination, the former interpretation is used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lai (US 20240097285 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lai discloses a battery (Fig. 1; [0035]), comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1; 2, 31);
a cell (Fig. 1; 1), which is disposed in (Fig. 1) the housing (2, 31), and comprises a main body (annotated Fig. 1; MB) and a first tab (Fig. 1; 11), wherein the first tab (11) is led out (Fig. 1) from one end (annotated Fig. 1; 1E) of the main body (MB);
a first insulator (Fig. 1; 43), which is disposed in the housing (2, 31);
a first current collector (Fig. 1; 41), which is integrally formed (“injection molded”; [0089]) in the first insulator (43; [0057]), and is connected to ([0073]) the first tab (11);
wherein a largest circumferential outer edge (annotated Fig. 1; 1OE) of an orthographic projection (Fig. 9; projection of 41 onto the same plane as 43) of the first current collector (41) facing an end surface (annotated Fig. 1; 1E) of the main body (MB) is located inside (Fig. 9) a largest circumferential outer edge (annotated Fig. 9; 2OE) of an orthographic projection (Fig. 9; projection of 43 onto same plane as 41) of the first insulator (43) facing the end surface (1E) of the main body (MB).
Regarding claim 2, Lai discloses wherein the first insulator (43) and the first current collector (41) are integrally injection molded ([0089]).
Regarding claim 3, Lai discloses wherein a part (Fig. 1; 411) of the first current collector (41) is embedded ([0089]; Fig. 2) inside (Fig. 2) the first insulator (43), and another part (Fig. 1; 412) of the first current collector (41) is located outside (Fig. 2) the first insulator (43).
Regarding claim 4, Lai discloses wherein a thickness (Fig. 1; thickness of 411) of at least a part (Fig. 1; 411) of the first current collector (41) embedded (Fig. 2) inside the first insulator (43) is smaller (Fig. 1) than a thickness (Fig. 1; thickness of 412) of the first current collector (41) outside (Fig. 2) the first insulator (43).
Regarding claim 5, Lai discloses wherein the battery (Fig. 1) further comprises a pole assembly (Fig. 1; 33), the pole assembly (33) is disposed on ([0090]; Fig. 1) the housing (2, 31), and the first current collector (41) comprises a tab connection portion (Fig. 1; 411, 413) and a pole connection portion (Fig. 1; 412), the pole connection portion (412) is disposed on the tab connection portion (411, 413), and the tab connection portion (412) is embedded (Fig. 2) in the first insulator (43), at least a part (Fig. 1; 412) of the pole connection portion (412) is located outside (Fig. 2) the first insulator (43), and faces the pole assembly (33) so as to be connected ([0095]) with the pole assembly (33).
Regarding claim 6, Lai discloses wherein the battery (Fig. 1) further comprises a second insulator (Fig. 1; 32; [0088]), and the second insulator (32) is disposed in (Fig. 1) the housing (2, 31) and is located between (Fig. 1) the housing (31) and the first current collector (41), so that the housing (2, 31) and the first current collector (41) are insulated from each other (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Lai discloses wherein a first through hole (Fig. 1; 432) is formed inside the first insulator (43), and the first current collector (41) is located in (Fig. 2) the first through hole (432); wherein a first position-limiting portion (Fig. 9; 438) is provided on a side wall (Fig. 1; 433) of the first through hole (432), and a second position-limiting portion (Fig. 1; 414) is provided on a circumferential outer side (annotated Fig. 1; COS) of the first current collector (41), one (Fig. 9; 438) of the first position-limiting portion (438) and the second position-limiting portion (414) is a protrusion (Fig. 9; 438; “clamping part”; [0070]), and the other (Fig. 1; 414) is an accommodation space (Fig. 1; 414; “positioning holes”; [0070]), and the protrusion (438) is located in (Fig. 9) the accommodation space (414).
Regarding claim 8, Lai discloses wherein the cell (1) further comprises a second tab (Fig. 1; 12), the first tab (11) and the second tab (12) are led out (Fig. 1) from a same end (annotated Fig. 1; 1E) of the main body (MB), the battery (Fig. 1) further comprises a second current collector (Fig. 1; 42), and the second current collector (42) connects ([0090]) the second tab (12) and the housing (2, 31); wherein the first current collector (41) and the second current collector (42) are insulated ([0090]) from each other.
Regarding claim 9, Lai discloses wherein at least a part (Fig. 1; 421) of the second current collector (42) is located inside (Fig. 2) the first insulator (43).
Regarding claim 10, Lai discloses wherein a second through hole (Fig. 1; 4332) is formed inside (Fig. 1) the first insulator (43), and a part (Fig. 1; 421) of the second current collector (42) is located in the second through hole (433).
Regarding claim 11, Lai discloses wherein the battery (Fig. 1) is a cylindrical battery (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/G.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723