DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed September 23, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 9 remain pending, but stand rejected for the reasons detailed below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 20, “a case” should read -- the case --.
In claim 1, line 22, “a case” should read -- the case --.
In claim 3, line 1, “a case” should read -- the case --.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Publication No. 2002/0104769) in view of He (US Publication No. 2021/0099561) and Rittenhouse (US Publication No. 2017/0094380).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an electronic device (see Figures 7-9), comprising: a first main body (panel housing 6), a second main body (panel housing 8), and a cover plate (cover means 14), where the first main body (6) and the second main body (8) are rotatable relative to each other to a folded state (see Figure 7) or an unfolded state (see Figure 8); and wherein a rotational joint (adjacent cover means 14) is located between the first main body (6) and the second main body (8); wherein the cover plate (14) is disposed at the rotational joint (adjacent 14); the cover plate (14), the first main body (6), and the second main body (8) enclose to form a third cavity (opening 12 covered by 14); in a case that the first main body (6) and the second main body (8) rotate relative to each other to the unfolded state (see Figure 8), the first main body (6) and the second main body (8) jointly cover the cover plate (14; see Figure 8), or in the case that the first main body (6) and the second main body (8) rotate relative to each other to the folded state (see Figure 7), at least a portion of the cover plate (14) is exposed (see Figure 7), and the cover plate (14) is used for protecting the third cavity (12 covered by 14) in the folded state (see Figure 7).
Kim does not disclose an electronic device comprising: a speaker module and a connecting tube, wherein the first main body is provided with a first cavity and the speaker module, and the first cavity is in communication with the speaker module; the second main body is provided with a second cavity; and the connecting tube is disposed at a rotational joint between the first main body and the second main body, two ends of the connecting tube are respectively in communication with the first cavity and the second cavity, the first cavity, the connecting tube, and the second cavity together form a rear sound cavity of the speaker module, and the connecting tube is stretchable, wherein in a case that the first main body and the second main body rotate relative to each other to the folded state, the connecting tube is in a stretched state; and in a case that the first main body and the second main body rotate relative to each other to the unfolded state, the connecting tube is in a compressed state; wherein the connecting tube is located in the third cavity, and the cover plate is used for protecting the connecting tube in the folded state.
However, He discloses an electronic device, comprising: a first main body (Figure 4, first portion of housing 1001 accommodating third audio cavity 1002c), a second main body (Figure 4, second portion of housing 1001 accommodating second audio cavity 1002b), a speaker module (Paragraph [0080], audio output component; see also annotated Figure 4 below), and a connecting tube (first audio cavity 1002a), where the first main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002c) and the second main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002b) are rotatable relative to each other to a folded state (see Figure 4) or an unfolded state (see Figure 4); the first main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002c) is provided with a first cavity (third cavity 1002c) and the speaker module (see annotated Figure 4 below), and the first cavity (1002c) is in communication with the speaker module (see Paragraph [0090] and annotated Figure 4 below); the second main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002b) is provided with a second cavity (second cavity 1002b); and the connecting tube (first cavity 1002a) is disposed at a rotational joint (defined by rotation shaft 1003) between the first main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002c) and the second main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002b), two ends of the connecting tube (ends of 1002a) are respectively in communication with the first cavity (1002c) and the second cavity (1002b), the first cavity (1002c), the connecting tube (1002a), and the second cavity (1002b) together form a rear sound cavity of the speaker module (see Paragraph [0090] and annotated Figure 4 below), and the connecting tube is stretchable (see Paragraphs [0065]-[0066]); wherein in a case that the first main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002c) and the second main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002b) rotate relative to each other to the folded state (see Figure 4), the connecting tube (1002a) is in a stretched state (see Paragraphs [0043]-[0048]); and in a case that the first main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002c) and the second main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002b) rotate relative to each other to the unfolded state (see Figure 4), the connecting tube is in a compressed state (see Paragraphs [0043]-[0048]); wherein the first main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002c) and the second main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002b) enclosure to form a third cavity (bent space between portions of 1001 accommodating 1002b and 1002c); the connecting tube (1002a) is located in the third
cavity (bent space between portions of 1001 accommodating 1002b and 1002c).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the audio cavity component of He to the electronic device in Kim. Doing so would have allowed the electronic device to adjust the audio output based on the opening angle of the electronic device to enable the audio output component to output a better audio effect, thereby meeting an acoustic performance requirement (see Paragraphs [0035]-[0039] in He).
Regarding the functional limitation “the cover plate is used for protecting the connecting tube in the folded state,” because the electronic device of the device of Kim as modified by He is identical to the claimed structure, the electronic device of Kim as modified by He is considered to be as capable of performing the function as the claimed invention, absent any claimed structural difference. See MPEP § 2114 I & II, "While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function... A claim containing a 'recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus' if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” In the instant case, because cover plate 14 in Kim is used for protecting third cavity 12 in the folded state (see Figure 7), and because the connecting tube 1002a of He is combined to third cavity 12 of Kim, the cover plate of Kim is capable of protecting the connecting tube of He in the folded state. Therefore, Kim as modified by He is capable of performing the recited function.
Kim in view of He does not teach wherein the electronic device further comprises a double-shaft hinge structure, the first main body and the second main body are connected by two double-shaft hinge structures, the two double-shaft hinge structures are spaced apart from each other, and the connecting tube is located between the two double-shaft hinge structures.
However, Rittenhouse teaches an electronic device (Figure 1, mobile device 100) comprising a first main body (first portion 110), a second main body (second portion 120), and a double-shaft hinge structure (Figures 3-4, first hinge set 320,440), the first main body (110) and the second main body (120) are connected by two double-shaft hinge structures (first hinge set 320, 440 and second hinge set 340, 450), the two double hinge structures (320, 440 and 340, 450) are spaced apart from each other (see Figures 3-4), and the connecting tube (body 350 including transducers 310, corresponding to connecting tube 1002 in He) is located between the two double-shaft hinge structures (320, 440 and 340, 450).
Because Kim discloses wherein the first main body (6) and the second main body (8) are connected by a hinge structure (folding support 10), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the hinge structure of Kim as modified by He for the dual-axis hinge structure of Rittenhouse according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using a hinge structure to rotate two bodies of an electronic device relative to each other. Doing so would have also allowed the first and second bodies to rotate 360 degrees relative to each other (see Paragraph [0035] in Rittenhouse).
Because Rittenhouse teaches wherein the audio components are located between the dual hinge assemblies, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the connection tube between the dual-hinge assemblies of Kim as previously modified by He and Rittenhouse, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of He and Rittenhouse teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein the first main body (6 in Kim) comprises a first side close to the rotational joint (adjacent 14 in Kim), and the first cavity (1002c in He, combined to 6 in Kim) is located on the first side (see Figure 4 in He; see Figure 8 in Kim); and the second main body (8) comprises a second side close to the rotational joint (adjacent 14), and the second cavity (1002b in He, combined to 8 in Kim) is located on the second side (see Figure 4 in He; see Figure 8 in Kim).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of He and Rittenhouse teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, and further teaches (in He) wherein in a case that the first main body (6 in Kim, corresponding to portion of 1001 accommodating 1002c in He) and the second main body (8 in Kim, corresponding to portion of 1001 accommodating 1002b in He) rotate relative to each other to the folded state (see Figure 8 in Kim; see Figure 4 in He), the first main body (6 in Kim, corresponding to portion of 1001 accommodating 1002c in He) comprises a first surface (inner surface) facing the second main body (8 in Kim, corresponding to portion of 1001 accommodating 1002b in He) and a second surface (outer surface) facing away from the second main body (8 in Kim, corresponding to portion of 1001 accommodating 1002b in He), the second main body (8 in Kim, corresponding to portion of 1001 accommodating 1002b in He) comprises a third surface (inner surface) facing the first main body (6 in Kim, corresponding to portion of 1001 accommodating 1002c in He) and a fourth surface (outer surface) facing away from the first main body (6 in Kim, corresponding to portion of 1001 accommodating 1002c in He), and the first surface (inner surface of first body) is opposite to the third surface (inner surface of second body); the first cavity (1002c in He) is located between the first surface (inner surface of first body) and the second surface (outer surface of first body), and the second cavity (1002b in He) is located between the third surface (inner surface of second body) and the fourth surface (outer surface of second body).
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of He and Rittenhouse teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, and further teaches (in He) wherein in a case that the connecting tube (1002a) is in the stretched state (see Paragraphs [0043]-[0048]), the connecting tube is an arc-shaped tube (see Paragraph [0059] and Figure 6); and in a case that the connecting tube (1002a) is in the compressed state (see Paragraphs [0043]-[0048]), the connecting tube (1002a) is a straight tube (see Paragraph [0060] and Figure 7 in He; see also Figure 8 in Kim).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of He and Rittenhouse teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, and further teaches (in He) wherein a communication portion (Paragraph [0065], opening between 1002a and 1002c) between the connecting tube (1002a) and the first cavity (1002c) is located in the first main body (6 in Kim, corresponding to portion of 1001 accommodating 1002c in He).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of He and Rittenhouse teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, and further teaches (in He) wherein a communication portion (Paragraph [0065], opening between 1002a and 1002b) between the connecting tube (1002a) and the second cavity (1002b) is located in the second main body (8 in Kim, corresponding to portion of 1001 accommodating 1002b in He).
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of He and Rittenhouse teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, and further teaches (in Rittenhouse) wherein the double-shaft hinge structure (320, 440) comprises: a first rotating shaft (Figure 4A, top shaft of 440), a first connection portion (Figure 4A, top bracket of 440), a second rotating shaft (Figure 4A, bottom shaft of 440), a second connection portion (Figure 4A, bottom bracket of 440), and a third connection portion (Figure 4A, end connector of 440), wherein the first rotating shaft (top shaft of 440) and the second rotating shaft (bottom shaft of 440) are spaced apart from each other (see Figure 4B) and both are located on a first side of the third connection portion (end connector of 440); two opposite ends of the third connection portion (ends of end connector) are respectively connected to the first rotating shaft (top shaft of 440) and the second rotating shaft (bottom shaft of 440); the first connection portion (top bracket of 440) is respectively connected to the first rotating shaft (top shaft of 440) and the first main body (110); and the second connection portion (bottom bracket of 440) is respectively connected to the second rotating shaft (bottom shaft of 440) and the second main body (120).
In the event Applicant disagrees with Examiner’s interpretation of He, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Publication No. 2002/0104769) in view of He (US Publication No. 2021/0099561), Cai (CN Publication No. 200966127, as cited in IDS), and Rittenhouse (US Publication No. 2017/0094380).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an electronic device (see Figures 7-9), comprising: a first main body (panel housing 6), a second main body (panel housing 8), and a cover plate (cover means 14), where the first main body (6) and the second main body (8) are rotatable relative to each other to a folded state (see Figure 7) or an unfolded state (see Figure 8); and wherein a rotational joint (adjacent cover means 14) is located between the first main body (6) and the second main body (8); wherein the cover plate (14) is disposed at the rotational joint (adjacent 14); the cover plate (14), the first main body (6), and the second main body (8) enclose to form a third cavity (opening 12 covered by 14); in a case that the first main body (6) and the second main body (8) rotate relative to each other to the unfolded state (see Figure 8), the first main body (6) and the second main body (8) jointly cover the cover plate (14; see Figure 8), or in the case that the first main body (6) and the second main body (8) rotate relative to each other to the folded state (see Figure 7), at least a portion of the cover plate (14) is exposed (see Figure 7), and the cover plate (14) is used for protecting the third cavity (12 covered by 14) in the folded state (see Figure 7).
Kim does not disclose an electronic device comprising: a speaker module and a connecting tube, wherein the first main body is provided with a first cavity and the speaker module, and the first cavity is in communication with the speaker module; the second main body is provided with a second cavity; and the connecting tube is disposed at a rotational joint between the first main body and the second main body, two ends of the connecting tube are respectively in communication with the first cavity and the second cavity, the first cavity, the connecting tube, and the second cavity together form a rear sound cavity of the speaker module, and the connecting tube is stretchable, wherein in a case that the first main body and the second main body rotate relative to each other to the folded state, the connecting tube is in a stretched state; and in a case that the first main body and the second main body rotate relative to each other to the unfolded state, the connecting tube is in a compressed state; wherein the connecting tube is located in the third cavity, and the cover plate is used for protecting the connecting tube in the folded state.
However, He discloses an electronic device, comprising: a first main body (Figure 4, first portion of housing 1001 accommodating third audio cavity 1002c), a second main body (Figure 4, second portion of housing 1001 accommodating second audio cavity 1002b), a speaker module (Paragraph [0080], audio output component; see also annotated Figure 4 above), and a connecting tube (first audio cavity 1002a), where the first main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002c) and the second main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002b) are rotatable relative to each other to a folded state (see Figure 4) or an unfolded state (see Figure 4); the first main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002c) is provided with a first cavity (third cavity 1002c) and the speaker module (see annotated Figure 4 above), and the first cavity (1002c) is in communication with the speaker module (see Paragraph [0090] and annotated Figure 4 above); the second main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002b) is provided with a second cavity (second cavity 1002b); and the connecting tube (first cavity 1002a) is disposed at a rotational joint (defined by rotation shaft 1003) between the first main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002c) and the second main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002b), two ends of the connecting tube (ends of 1002a) are respectively in communication with the first cavity (1002c) and the second cavity (1002b), the first cavity (1002c), the connecting tube (1002a), and the second cavity (1002b) together form a rear sound cavity of the speaker module (see Paragraph [0090] and annotated Figure 4 above), and the connecting tube is stretchable (see Paragraphs [0065]-[0066]), wherein in a case that the first main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002c) and the second main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002b) rotate relative to each other to the folded state (see Figure 4), the connecting tube (1002a) is in a stretched state (see Paragraphs [0043]-[0048]); and in a case that the first main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002c) and the second main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002b) rotate relative to each other to the unfolded state (see Figure 4), the connecting tube is in a compressed state (see Paragraphs [0043]-[0048]), wherein the first main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002c) and the second main body (portion of 1001 accommodating 1002b) enclosure to form a third cavity (bent space between portions of 1001 accommodating 1002b and 1002c); the connecting tube (1002a) is located in the third cavity (bent space between portions of 1001 accommodating 1002b and 1002c).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the audio cavity component of He to the electronic device of Kim. Doing so would have allowed the electronic device to adjust the audio output based on the opening angle of the electronic device to enable the audio output component to output a better audio effect, thereby meeting an acoustic performance requirement (see Paragraph [0035]-[0039] in He).
Regarding the functional limitation “the cover plate is used for protecting the connecting tube in the folded state,” because the electronic device of the device of Kim as modified by He is identical to the claimed structure, the electronic device of Kim as modified by He is considered to be as capable of performing the function as the claimed invention, absent any claimed structural difference. See MPEP § 2114 I & II, "While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function... A claim containing a 'recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus' if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” In the instant case, because cover plate 14 in Kim is used for protecting third cavity 12 in the folded state (see Figure 7), and because the connecting tube 1002a of He is combined to third cavity 12 of Kim, the cover plate of Kim is capable of protecting the connecting tube of He in the folded state. Therefore, Kim as modified by He is capable of performing the recited function.
He suggests wherein the first main body is provided with a first cavity and the speaker module, and the first cavity is in communication with the speaker module, wherein the first cavity, the connecting tube, and the second cavity together form a rear sound cavity of the speaker module, and the connecting tube is stretchable, wherein in a case that the first main body and the second main body rotate relative to each other to the folded state, the connecting tube is in a stretched state; and in a case that the first main body and the second main body rotate relative to each other to the unfolded state, the connecting tube is in a compressed state.
However, Cai explicitly teaches an electronic device (see Figures 1-2) comprising: a first main body (upper shell 2), a second main body (lower shell 1), and a speaker (speaker 3), wherein the first main body (2) is provided with a first cavity (space within 2) and the speaker module (3), and the first cavity (space within 2) is in communication with the speaker module (3), wherein the first cavity (space within 2), the connecting tube (scalable capsule 4), and the second cavity (space within 1) together form a rear sound cavity (see Figures 1-2) of the speaker module (3), and the connecting tube (4) is stretchable (see Figures 1-2), wherein in a case that the first main body (2) and the second main body (1) rotate relative to each other to the folded state (see Figure 1), the connecting tube (4) is in a stretched state (see Figure 1); and in a case that the first main body (2) and the second main body (1) rotate relative to each other to the unfolded state (see Figure 2), the connecting tube (4) is in a compressed state (see Figure 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the speaker of He within the first cavity of Kim, as taught in Cai, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of connecting a speaker within a flexible sound cavity. Doing so would have also ensured the speaker was in communication with the speaker cavity for proper sound production quality.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the flexible connection tube of Kim as modified by He for the flexible connection tube of Cai according to known methods to yield the predictable results of establishing a flexible sound connection tube between two cavities in pivotal housings of an electronic device.
Kim in view of He and Cai does not teach wherein the electronic device further comprises a double-shaft hinge structure, the first main body and the second main body are connected by two double-shaft hinge structures, the two double-shaft hinge structures are spaced apart from each other, and the connecting tube is located between the two double-shaft hinge structures.
However, Rittenhouse teaches an electronic device (Figure 1, mobile device 100) comprising a first main body (first portion 110), a second main body (second portion 120), and a double-shaft hinge structure (Figures 3-4, first hinge set 320,440), the first main body (110) and the second main body (120) are connected by two double-shaft hinge structures (first hinge set 320, 440 and second hinge set 340, 450), the two double hinge structures (320, 440 and 340, 450) are spaced apart from each other (see Figures 3-4), and the connecting tube (body 350 including transducers 310, corresponding to connecting tube 1002 in He) is located between the two double-shaft hinge structures (320, 440 and 340, 450).
Because Kim discloses wherein the first main body (6) and the second main body (8) are connected by a hinge structure (folding support 10), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the hinge structure of Kim as modified by He and Cai for the dual-axis hinge structure of Rittenhouse according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using a hinge structure to rotate two bodies of an electronic device relative to each other. Doing so would have also allowed the first and second bodies to rotate 360 degrees relative to each other (see Paragraph [0035] in Rittenhouse).
Because Rittenhouse teaches wherein the audio components are located between the dual hinge assemblies, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the connection tube between the dual-hinge assemblies of Kim as previously modified by He, Cai, and Rittenhouse, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 23, 2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues neither Kim nor He nor Kim in view of He and Rittenhouse teach wherein the cover plate is used for protecting the connecting tube in the folded state (Arguments, pages 6-10). In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually (i.e. Kim and He), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Examiner agrees neither Kim nor He, alone, teach wherein the cover plate is used for protecting the connecting tube in the folded state. However, Examiner maintains that when connecting tube 1002a in He is combined to the cavity covered by cover means 14 in Kim, cover means 14 is functionally capable of protecting connecting tube 1002a, at least to some degree, from dust or debris.
Applicant argues it would not have been obvious to substitute the hinge of Kim for the double shaft hinge of Rittenhouse, because doing so would increase the non-display area between the two displays of Kim and because there is no incentive to use a double shaft hinge (Arguments, page 10-11). However, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). Examiner submits the incentive to include the double hinge shaft would be to allow the display to rotate 360-degrees relative to each other (see Paragraph [0035] in Rittenhouse; see also rejection of claim 1 above). Examiner also submits a PHOSITA would have the requisite knowledge to combine a dual shaft hinge to a dual display device, while maintaining a minimal non-display area at the benefit of allowing the two displays to rotate 360-degrees relative to each other. For example, a single, flexible display could be connected between the two housings connected via the dual shaft hinge such that there is no non-display area between the foldable structures in an unfolded state. The displays of Kim could also be extended/adjusted/configured such that the space between the displays is minimized in an unfolded state. Therefore, Examiner maintains it would have been obvious to substitute the hinge structure of Kim as modified by He for the dual-axis hinge structure of Rittenhouse according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using a hinge structure to rotate two bodies of an electronic device relative to each other, and because doing so would have also allowed the first and second bodies to rotate 360 degrees relative to each other (see Paragraph [0035] in Rittenhouse).
For these reasons, and the reasons detailed above, claims 1-4, 6-7, and 9 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAGE CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc