DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-13, 15-17 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOO et al. (US PGpub: 2019/0393355 A1), hereinafter YOO, in view of CALLEGARI et al. (US PGPub: 2014/0138781 A1), hereinafter CALLEGARI.
Regarding claim 1, YOO teaches a semiconductor device (Paragraphs [0021] - [0036]; figure 1) comprising:
a substrate (101);
a gate electrode film (140) including a metal element (paragraph [0047]) on the substrate;
a gate insulating film including a ferroelectric material (120) between the substrate and the gate electrode film; and
a buffer oxide film (130) including an oxide of a semiconductor material (silicon oxide; Paragraph [0031]) between the gate insulating film and the gate electrode film, the buffer oxide film being in contact with the gate insulating film ((see Fig. 1);
YOO does not explicitly teach a buffer film including Si, between the buffer oxide film and the gate electrode film, wherein a thickness of the buffer oxide film is 5 angstroms (A) to 15 A (Paragraph [0031])
However it is taught in CALLEGARI that buffer film (110, FIG. 1. See annotated modified FIG. 3 ) including Si (material can be silicon, see paragraph [0031]. The layer 110 may also include a conductive, heavily doped semiconductor with high oxygen affinity, e.g., Si, SiGe, etc.), between the buffer oxide film (buffer oxide layer 112) and the gate electrode film(114, FIG. 3) (On the other hand, if layers 110 and 112 are not removed, the conductive layer 114 YOO teaches that may be optionally deposited on the top of layer 110 as stated in Paragraph [0036]), a thickness of the buffer oxide film is 5 angstroms (A) to 15 A (Paragraph [0031] in YOO. In YOO it is 2nm to 10nm). The examiner thinks that buffer oxide film with 5-15 angstrom is common and possible to be manipulated to in order to fit the device need.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use YOO’s semiconductor device with other teaching from CALLEGARI so that While the present principles are illustratively described in terms of a single scavenger layer, it should be understood that the process may be repeated one or more times to further reduce oxide levels in the capacitor dielectric materials. As the result of the use of a single scavenger layer, the capacitance effective thickness (CET) is reduced by 5 Angstroms or more. The stack has an oxygen scavenged passivation layer formed on the substrate and an oxygen scavenged high dielectric constant material formed over the passivation layer wherein the passivation layer and the high dielectric constant layer include reduced oxygen content sufficient to permit an improvement of at least 5 Angstroms for CET and EOT.
Regarding claim 2, YOO teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the gate insulating film includes hafnium-based oxide having ferroelectricity (Paragraphs [0027] and [0031]).
Regarding claim 3, YOO teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the gate electrode film includes: tungsten; titanium nitride; or tungsten and titanium nitride (Paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 4, YOO teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the substrate includes silicon (Si), and the buffer oxide film includes an Si oxide film (Paragraph [0023] for the Si substrate and Paragraph [0025], [0031] for the silicon oxide buffer).
Regarding claim 6, YOO teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising: an interface film between the substrate and the gate insulating film, wherein the interface film includes an oxide of a semiconductor material included in the substrate (Interface film 110 between the substrate 101 and the gate insulating film 120, wherein the interface film includes an oxide of a semiconductor material included in the substrate in paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 7, YOO teaches the semiconductor device of claim 6, wherein the substrate includes silicon (Si), and the interface film includes an Si oxide film (Paragraph [0023] for the Si substrate and Paragraph [0025], [0031] for the silicon oxide buffer).
Regarding claim 9, YOO teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate including a first semiconductor material ((Si) (101);
a gate electrode film including a metal element (140) including a metal element (paragraph [0047]), on the substrate (101);
a gate insulating film including a ferroelectric material (120) between the substrate and the gate electrode film;
an interface film (110) including an oxide of the first semiconductor material (silicon oxide; Paragraph [0025]), between the gate insulating film (120) and the substrate (101); and
a buffer oxide film (130) including an oxide of a semiconductor material (silicon oxide; Paragraph [0031]) between the gate insulating film and the gate electrode film, wherein a thickness of the interface film is smaller than a thickness of the buffer oxide film (silicon oxide; Paragraph [0025]), between the gate insulating film and the substrate has a thickness smaller (1 nm; paragraph [0025]) than a thickness of the buffer oxide film (2 nm to 10 nm; Paragraph [0031 ]).
YOO does not explicitly teach a buffer film including the second semiconductor material, between the buffer oxide film and the gate electrode film, wherein a thickness of the buffer oxide film is 5 angstroms (A) to 15 A (Paragraph [0031])
However it is taught in CALLEGARI that buffer film (110, FIG. 1. See annotated modified FIG. 3 ) including Si (material can be silicon, SiGe see paragraph [0031]. The layer 110 may also include a conductive, heavily doped semiconductor with high oxygen affinity, e.g., Si, SiGe, etc.), between the buffer oxide film (buffer oxide layer 112) and the gate electrode film(114, FIG. 3) (On the other hand, if layers 110 and 112 are not removed, the conductive layer 114 may be optionally deposited on the top of layer 110 as stated in Paragraph [0036]). a thickness of the buffer oxide film is 5 angstroms (A) to 15 A (Paragraph [0031] in YOO). The examiner thinks that buffer oxide film with 5-15 angstrom is common and possible to be manipulated to in order to fit the device need.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use YOO’s semiconductor device with other teaching from CALLEGARI so that While the present principles are illustratively described in terms of a single scavenger layer, it should be understood that the process may be repeated one or more times to further reduce oxide levels in the capacitor dielectric materials. As the result of the use of a single scavenger layer, the capacitance effective thickness (CET) is reduced by 5 Angstroms or more. The stack has an oxygen scavenged passivation layer formed on the substrate and an oxygen scavenged high dielectric constant material formed over the passivation layer wherein the passivation layer and the high dielectric constant layer include reduced oxygen content sufficient to permit an improvement of at least 5 Angstroms for CET and EOT.
Regarding claim 10, YOO teaches the semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein the gate insulating film includes hafnium-based oxide having ferroelectricity (Paragraphs [0025] -[0031]).
Regarding claim 11, YOO teaches the semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein the first semiconductor material and the second semiconductor material are the same material as each other (Paragraphs [0025] -[0031]).
Regarding claim 12, YOO teaches the semiconductor device of claim 11, wherein the first semiconductor material and the second semiconductor material each include silicon (Si ) (Paragraphs [0025] -[0031]).
Regarding claim 13, YOO teaches the semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein the buffer oxide film is in contact with the gate insulating film (Fig. 1, gate electrode film 140 and buffer oxide film 130).
Regarding claim 15, YOO does not explicitly teach the semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein the thickness of the interface film is 5 angstroms (A) or less (an interface film (110) including an oxide of the first semiconductor material (silicon oxide; Paragraph [0025]), between the gate insulating film and the substrate has a thickness smaller (1 nm; paragraph [0025]) than a thickness of the buffer oxide film (2 nm to 10 nm; Paragraph [0031 ]).
Regarding claim 16, YOO does not explicitly teach the semiconductor device of claim 15, wherein the thickness of the interface film is 1 A or less (an interface film (110) including an oxide of the first semiconductor material (silicon oxide; Paragraph [0025]), between the gate insulating film and the substrate has a thickness smaller (1 nm; paragraph [0025]) than a thickness of the buffer oxide film (2 nm to 10 nm; Paragraph [0031 ]).
Regarding claim 17, YOO teaches the semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein the gate electrode film (140, Paragraph [0047]) is in contact with the buffer oxide film (buffer oxide film 130, FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 26, YOO teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate including silicon (Si) (101);
a gate electrode film (140) including a metal element (paragraph [0047]), on the substrate (FIG. 1);
a gate insulating film including a ferroelectric material (120) between the substrate and the gate electrode film;
a buffer oxide film (130) including an Si oxide film (silicon oxide; Paragraph [0031]).
YOO does not explicitly teach a buffer film including the second semiconductor material, between the gate insulating film and the gate electrode film and a buffer oxide film including an Si oxide film, between the gate insulating film and the buffer film, a thickness of the buffer oxide film is 5 angstroms (A) to 15 A.
However it is taught in CALLEGARI that buffer film (110, FIG. 1. See annotated modified FIG. 3 ) including Si (material can be silicon, SiGe see paragraph [0031]. The layer 110 may also include a conductive, heavily doped semiconductor with high oxygen affinity, e.g., Si, SiGe, etc.), between the gate insulating film (108) and the gate electrode film(114, FIG. 3) (On the other hand, if layers 110 and 112 are not removed, the conductive layer 114 may be optionally deposited on the top of layer 110 as stated in Paragraph [0036]). a buffer oxide film (112) between the gate insulating film (108) and the buffer film (110). a thickness of the buffer oxide film is 5 angstroms (A) to 15 A (Paragraph [0031] in YOO). The examiner thinks that buffer oxide film with 5-15 angstrom is common and possible to be manipulated to in order to fit the device need.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use YOO’s semiconductor device with other teaching from CALLEGARI so that While the present principles are illustratively described in terms of a single scavenger layer, it should be understood that the process may be repeated one or more times to further reduce oxide levels in the capacitor dielectric materials. As the result of the use of a single scavenger layer, the capacitance effective thickness (CET) is reduced by 5 Angstroms or more. The stack has an oxygen scavenged passivation layer formed on the substrate and an oxygen scavenged high dielectric constant material formed over the passivation layer wherein the passivation layer and the high dielectric constant layer include reduced oxygen content sufficient to permit an improvement of at least 5 Angstroms for CET and EOT.
Regarding claim 27, YOO does not explicitly teach the semiconductor device of claim 26, further comprising: an interface film including a silicon oxide film, between the substrate and the gate insulating film (an interface film (110) including an oxide of the first semiconductor material (silicon oxide; Paragraph [0025]), between the gate insulating film and the substrate has a thickness smaller (1 nm; paragraph [0025]) than a thickness of the buffer oxide film (2 nm to 10 nm; Paragraph [0031 ]).
Regarding claim 28, YOO teaches the semiconductor device of claim 27, wherein a thickness of the interface film is smaller than a thickness of the buffer oxide film (an interface film (110) including an oxide of the first semiconductor material (silicon oxide; Paragraph [0025]), between the gate insulating film and the substrate has a thickness smaller (1 nm; paragraph [0025]) than a thickness of the buffer oxide film (2 nm to 10 nm; Paragraph [0031 ]).
Conclusion
/SHEIKH MARUF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897