DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. The amendment filed on April 30, 2026 has been fully considered. In light of the amendment, the previous rejections not cited below are withdrawn. The new grounds of rejections are set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minaki (JP 2008/184473, based on machine translation) in view of Kiyohara et al (JP 2016-068037, based on machine translation) and Tanaka et al (WO 2020/226010, submitted in IDS on 01/06/23).
It is noted that while the rejection is made over WO 2020/226010 for date purposes, in order to elucidate the examiner's position the corresponding US equivalent viz. US 2022/0056178 is relied upon. All citations to paragraph numbers, etc., below refer to US 2022/0056178.
5. Minaki discloses a method for producing hollow resin particles comprising:
1) dissolving a precursor of a resin (A), specifically fluororesin, and a phase separation promoting agent (C) in a volatile solvent (B) to prepare a solution (E);
2) suspending said solution (E) in a solvent (D);
3) polymerizing the precursor of the resin (A) in the presence of an initiator (Abstract, claim 1, also as to instant claim 11),
4) removing the liquid after washing the particles ([0045], as to instant claim 12),
wherein the produced hollow particles are having an average size of 20-250 micron ([0043]).
6. The precursor of the resin (A) includes a fluororesin, specifically cited tetrafluorostyrene ([0020], as to instant claim 2). Since molar mass of tetrafluorostyrene is 176 and the molar mass of fluorine is 19, therefore, the fluorine content in said tetrafluorostyrene will be 43%mass.
7. The precursor monomers also include cyclopentadiene and divinylbenzene ([0013], which monomers are cross-linkable monomers (as to instant claim 8).
8. The solvent (B) comprises pentane or hexane or toluene ([0028], as to instant claim 9); the solvent (D) comprises water ([0029], [0032], as to instant claim 1). The specific combination of (D), (A) and (B) include a combination of water, hexane and hydrophobic precursor ([0032]).
9. Based on the teachings of Minaki, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to choose and use tetrafluorostyrene and a cross-linkable divinylbenzene as the comonomers for preparing the resin (A), hexane as the solvent (B) and water as the solvent (D) to prepare the hollow particles, since it would have been obvious to choose material based on its suitability. Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045).
10. As to instant claim 11, given the initiator is required for polymerization, but may cause premature polymerization if added before dispersing step, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to add the initiator after the dispersion is made, so to prevent premature polymerization as well. Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results).
11. The specifically exemplified polymerization temperature was 70-250⁰C (Table 1). Since polymerization is conducted at a temperature of more than 50⁰C, therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to suspend the solution (E) at any temperature below 50⁰C, such as room temperature, followed by heating said dispersion to a temperature higher than 50⁰C, i.e. to 70-250⁰C to conduct polymerization as well (as to instant claim 10).
12. Minaki does not recite the phase separation promoter being a compound of formula (C1), specifically aromatic vinyl polymer or polyalkyl (meth)acrylate.
13. However, Kiyohara et al discloses a method for producing hollow resin particles comprising:
1) dispersing a mixed solution containing:
a) a monomer mixture of a polyfunctional monomer having two or more ethylenically unsaturated groups ([0012]) and a monofunctional monomer ([0016]);
b) a non-reactive solvent, specifically toluene or ethyl acetate ([0026], as to instant
claim 9), and
c) a non-crosslinkable polymer, specifically polystyrene, poly(meth)acrylic resins
including polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA) ([0019]), acting as a phase separation
agent ([0021], as to instant claims 1,6),
in an aqueous solution ([0026]) and
2) heating the dispersion at a temperature of 70⁰C and polymerizing the monomer mixture ([0033], [0051], as to instant claim 10);
3) isolating the hollow particles and removing the non-reactive organic solvent ([0042], as to instant claim 12).
The mixed solution may contain a polymerization initiator such as azobisisobutylenitrile ([0036], as to instant claim 11).
14. Since a) the phase separation agent, specifically polystyrene or PMMA, is the same as that claimed (instant claim 6) and disclosed in instant invention, b) the non-reactive solvent, specifically toluene or ethyl acetate, is the same as that disclosed in instant invention ([0069] of instant specification), therefore, the relationship cited in instant claim 4 will intrinsically and necessarily be fulfilled (as to instant claim 4). Since PTO cannot conduct experiments the proof of burden is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01.
15. As to instant claims 10-11, given the mixed solution is cited as being polymerized at 70⁰C, therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art, to either i) conduct both the steps of dispersing the mixed solution into water and polymerizing at 70⁰C, or ii) disperse the mixed solution into water at ambient temperature, and further heat said dispersion to 70⁰C to conduct polymerization, as well, since selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results).
16. Since both Kiyohara et al and Minaki are related to methods for making hollow resin particles in the presence of a phase separation promoter, and thus belong to the same field of endeavor, wherein Kiyohara et al teaches that phase separation promoters for such methods include polystyrene or polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Minaki and Kiyohara et al, and to include, or obvious to try to use, at least partially, polystyrene or polymethyl methacrylate as the phase separation promoter in the method of Minaki, either in addition to or as at least partial substitution of the phase separation promoter used by Minaki as well, since it would have been obvious to choose material based on its suitability, thereby arriving at the present invention.
Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045). Case law holds that the mere substitution of an equivalent (something equal in value or meaning, as taught by analogous prior art) is not an act of invention; where equivalency is known to the prior art, the substitution of one equivalent for another is not patentable. See In re Ruff 118 USPQ 343 (CCPA 1958).
17. Minaki does not recite the precursor for the fluororesin being fluorinated alkyl (meth)acrylates.
18. However, Tanaka et al discloses a method for producing hollow fine particles comprising:
1) dispersing a solution containing: a fluorine-containing monomer, a multifunctional monomer ([0026]), an oil-soluble initiator, a non-polymerizable solvent, including toluene or ethyl acetate ([0036]), in water and 2) polymerizing the dispersion (Abstract), wherein the fluorine-containing monomers includes a fluoroalkyl methacrylate such as ([0019]-[0024], as to instant claims 1-2):
Given the fluorinated acrylic monomer of Tanaka et al is the same as claimed and exemplified in instant invention, therefore, the fluorinated acrylic monomer of Tanaka et al will intrinsically and necessarily have a fluorine content of at least 30% by mass (as to instant claim 7). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2112.01(I). Since PTO cannot conduct experiments the proof of burden is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01.
19. Since both Minaki and Tanaka et al are related to processes for making hollow fine particles by dispersing monofunctional monomers, polyfunctional monomers, toluene solvent and oil-soluble initiator into water, followed by polymerizing the monomers, and thereby belong to the same field of endeavor, wherein Tanaka et al specifies the used monofunctional monomers being fluoroalkyl methacrylates, therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Tanaka et al and Minaki, and to include, at least partially and at least in a minor amount, fluoroalkyl methacrylate monomers of Tanaka et al as the monofunctional alkyl methacrylate monomers component in the process of Minaki, since it would have been obvious to choose material based on its suitability, depending on the specific end-use of said hollow particles, especially since Tanaka et al recites said fluoropolymer containing hollow particles being used in various electric material applications ([0140] of Tanaka et al). Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045). Case law holds that the mere substitution of an equivalent (something equal in value or meaning, as taught by analogous prior art) is not an act of invention; where equivalency is known to the prior art, the substitution of one equivalent for another is not patentable. See In re Ruff 118 USPQ 343 (CCPA 1958). The key to supporting any rejection under 35 USC 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 USC 103 should be made explicit. The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that "‘[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’" KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141
20. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minaki (JP 2008/184473, based on machine translation) in view of Lee et al (WO 2015/138163, submitted in IDS on 03/04/25) and Kiyohara et al (JP 2016-068037, based on machine translation).
21. Minaki discloses a method for producing hollow resin particles comprising:
1) dissolving a precursor of a resin (A), specifically fluororesin, and a phase separation promoting agent (C) in a volatile solvent (B) to prepare a solution (E);
2) suspending said solution (E) in a solvent (D);
3) polymerizing the precursor of the resin (A) in the presence of an initiator (Abstract, claim 1, also as to instant claim 11),
4) removing the liquid after washing the particles ([0045], as to instant claim 12),
wherein the produced hollow particles are having an average size of 20-250 micron ([0043]).
22. The precursor of the resin (A) includes a fluororesin, specifically cited tetrafluorostyrene ([0020], as to instant claim 2). Since molar mass of tetrafluorostyrene is 176 and the molar mass of fluorine is 19, therefore, the fluorine content in said tetrafluorostyrene will be 43%mass.
23. The precursor monomers also include cyclopentadiene and divinylbenzene ([0013], which monomers are cross-linkable monomers (as to instant claim 8).
24. The solvent (B) comprises pentane or hexane or toluene ([0028], as to instant claim 9); the solvent (D) comprises water ([0029], [0032], as to instant claim 1). The specific combination of (D), (A) and (B) include a combination of water, hexane and hydrophobic precursor ([0032]).
25. Based on the teachings of Minaki, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to choose and use tetrafluorostyrene and a cross-linkable divinylbenzene as the comonomers for preparing the resin (A), hexane as the solvent (B) and water as the solvent (D) to prepare the hollow particles, since it would have been obvious to choose material based on its suitability. Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045).
26. As to instant claim 11, given the initiator is required for polymerization, but may cause premature polymerization if added before dispersing step, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to add the initiator after the dispersion is made, so to prevent premature polymerization as well. Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results).
27. The specifically exemplified polymerization temperature was 70-250⁰C (Table 1). Since polymerization is conducted at a temperature of more than 50⁰C, therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to suspend the solution (E) at any temperature below 50⁰C, such as room temperature, followed by heating said dispersion to a temperature higher than 50⁰C, i.e. to 70-250⁰C to conduct polymerization as well (as to instant claim 10).
28. Minaki does not recite the precursor for the fluororesin being fluorinated alkyl (meth)acrylates.
29. However, Lee et al discloses a method for producing hollow particles comprising:
providing a mixture of water, a non-reactant solvent, at least one acrylic monomer including ethyl glycol dimethacrylate (p. 4, lines 20-22, i.e. polyfunctional methacrylate), at least one fluorinated acrylic monomer, an initiator, followed by shearing the components to form a mini-emulsion and further heating to at least 50⁰C to form said hollow particles (Abstract, p. 2, lines 5-20), wherein the fluorinated acrylic monomers are having the formula
Wherein Rf is a linear or branched perfluoroalkyl group containing 1-10 carbon atoms and A is O (p. 4, lines 25-30, as to instant claims 1-2).
30. Given the fluorinated acrylic monomer of Lee et al is the same as claimed in instant invention, therefore, the fluorinated acrylic monomer of Lee et al will intrinsically and necessarily have a fluorine content of at least 30% by mass (as to instant claim 7). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2112.01(I). Since PTO cannot conduct experiments the proof of burden is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01.
31. Since both Minaki and Lee et al are related to processes for making hollow particles by dispersing monofunctional monomers, polyfunctional monomers, an organic solvent and oil-soluble initiator into water, followed by polymerizing, and thereby belong to the same field of endeavor, wherein Lee et al specifies the used monofunctional monomers being fluoroalkyl methacrylates, therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee et al and Minaki, and to include, or obvious to try to include, at least partially, fluoroalkyl (meth)acrylate monomers of Lee et al as the monofunctional monomers in the process of Minaki, since it would have been obvious to choose material based on its suitability, depending on the specific end-use of said hollow particles, especially since Lee et al teaches such fluoropolymer-based hollow particles being used in coating, molding applications and as drug delivery systems (p. 3, lines 20-25 of Lee et al). Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045). Case law holds that the mere substitution of an equivalent (something equal in value or meaning, as taught by analogous prior art) is not an act of invention; where equivalency is known to the prior art, the substitution of one equivalent for another is not patentable. See In re Ruff 118 USPQ 343 (CCPA 1958). The key to supporting any rejection under 35 USC 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 USC 103 should be made explicit. The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that "‘[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’" KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141
32. Minaki does not recite the phase separation promoter being a compound of formula (C1), specifically aromatic vinyl polymer or polyalkyl (meth)acrylate.
33. However, Kiyohara et al discloses a method for producing hollow resin particles comprising:
1) dispersing a mixed solution containing:
a) a monomer mixture of a polyfunctional monomer having two or more ethylenically unsaturated groups ([0012]) and a monofunctional monomer ([0016]);
b) a non-reactive solvent, specifically toluene or ethyl acetate ([0026], as to instant
claim 9), and
c) a non-crosslinkable polymer, specifically polystyrene or poly(meth)acrylic resins
including polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA) ([0019]), acting as a phase separation
agent ([0021], as to instant claims 1,6),
in an aqueous solution ([0026]) and
2) heating the dispersion at a temperature of 70⁰C and polymerizing the monomer mixture ([0033], [0051], as to instant claim 10);
3) isolating the hollow particles and removing the non-reactive organic solvent ([0042], as to instant claim 12).
The mixed solution may contain a polymerization initiator such as azobisisobutylenitrile ([0036], as to instant claim 11).
34. Since a) the phase separation agent, specifically polystyrene or PMMA, is the same as that claimed (instant claim 6) and disclosed in instant invention, b) the non-reactive solvent, specifically toluene or ethyl acetate, is the same as that disclosed in instant invention ([0069] of instant specification), therefore, the relationship cited in instant claim 4 will intrinsically and necessarily be fulfilled (as to instant claim 4). Since PTO cannot conduct experiments the proof of burden is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01.
35. As to instant claims 10-11, given the mixed solution is cited as being polymerized at 70⁰C, therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art, to either i) conduct both the steps of dispersing the mixed solution into water and polymerizing at 70⁰C, or ii) disperse the mixed solution into water at ambient temperature, and further heat said dispersion to 70⁰C to conduct polymerization, as well, since selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results).
36. Since both Kiyohara et al and Minaki are related to methods for making hollow resin particles in the presence of a phase separation promoter, and thus belong to the same field of endeavor, wherein Kiyohara et al teaches that phase separation promoters for such methods include polystyrene or polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Minaki and Kiyohara et al, and to include, or obvious to try to use, at least partially, polystyrene or polymethyl methacrylate as the phase separation promoter in the method of Minaki, either in addition to or as at least partial substitution of the phase separation promoter used by Minaki as well, since it would have been obvious to choose material based on its suitability, thereby arriving at the present invention.
Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045). Case law holds that the mere substitution of an equivalent (something equal in value or meaning, as taught by analogous prior art) is not an act of invention; where equivalency is known to the prior art, the substitution of one equivalent for another is not patentable. See In re Ruff 118 USPQ 343 (CCPA 1958).
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
37. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of a copending application 18/619,369 (published US 2024/0269638) in view of Kiyohara et al (JP 2016-068037, based on machine translation) and Minaki (JP 2008/184473, based on machine translation).
38. The rejection is adequately set forth on pages 14-22 of an Office action mailed on January 30, 2026 and is incorporated here by reference.
Since no Terminal Disclaimer has been filed, the rejection is maintained.
Response to Arguments
39. Applicant's arguments filed on April 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in light of new grounds of rejections and discussion set forth above.
40. In addition, it is noted that the above rejections are based on the combination of references. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Minaki (JP 2008/184473) clearly teaches that halogen-containing vinyl-based monomers including fluororesins can be used in the disclosed process for making hollow particles ([0020]). Further, though Minaki teaches the use of phosphate ester as a phase separation promoter, the secondary reference of Kiyohara et al (JP 2016-068037) shows that polystyrene and PMMA can be used as phase separation promoters to form hollow particles as well, and it would be obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to choose and use said polystyrene and PMMA as additional phase separation promoters to form hollow resin particles in the process of Minaki as well. Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045).
Conclusion
/IRINA KRYLOVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764