DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Request for Continued Examination filed 3/19/2026 wherein claims 6, 18, and 20 are canceled and claims 1-5, 7-17, 19, and 21 are presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the portion of the link member being curved contiguous with the first planar surface at the first end and with the second planar surface at the second end to define a radius of curvature relative to the first planar surface at the first end and relative to the second planar surface at the second end” (Claim 1, lines 16-19), the “elongate body including a bent portion contiguous with the first planar surface at the first end and with the second planar surface at the second end, the bent portion defining a radius of curvature relative to the first planar surface at the first end and to the second planar surface at the second end” (Claim 12, lines 16-19), and the “elongate body including a bent portion contiguous with the first planar surface at the first end and with the second planar surface at the second end, the bent portion defining a radius of curvature relative to the first planar surface at the first end and to the second planar surface at the second end” (Claim 17, lines 12-15) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-17, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Applicant claims “the portion of the link member being curved contiguous with the first planar surface at the first end and with the second planar surface at the second end to define a radius of curvature relative to the first planar surface at the first end and relative to the second planar surface at the second end” (Claim 1, lines 16-19), “the elongate body including a bent portion contiguous with the first planar surface at the first end and with the second planar surface at the second end, the bent portion defining a radius of curvature relative to the first planar surface at the first end and to the second planar surface at the second end” (Claim 12, lines 16-19), and the “elongate body including a bent portion contiguous with the first planar surface at the first end and with the second planar surface at the second end, the bent portion defining a radius of curvature relative to the first planar surface at the first end and to the second planar surface at the second end” (Claim 17, lines 12-15). As described in Applicant’s remarks filed 3/19/2026, “the first and second planar surfaces are not located at first and second ends, respectively. Rather a noticeable gap exists between the locations of these radii of curvature and the first and second ends, respectively” (emphasis in original),
In the same manner that Applicant has described the prior art reference, Applicant’s drawings (see annotation above) do not show and the specification does not describe “the portion of the link member being curved contiguous with the first planar surface at the first end and with the second planar surface at the second end to define a radius of curvature relative to the first planar surface at the first end and relative to the second planar surface at the second end” as required by claim 1, “the elongate body including a bent portion contiguous with the first planar surface at the first end and with the second planar surface at the second end, the bent portion defining a radius of curvature relative to the first planar surface at the first end and to the second planar surface at the second end” as required by claim 12, and the “elongate body including a bent portion contiguous with the first planar surface at the first end and with the second planar surface at the second end, the bent portion defining a radius of curvature relative to the first planar surface at the first end and to the second planar surface at the second end” as required by claim 17. On the contrary, Applicant’s drawings show that the first and second planar surfaces are not located at first and second ends. Rather, in the same way as recognized by Applicant with the prior art reference, a noticeable gap exists between the locations of these radii of curvature and the first and second ends, respectively. Therefore, the claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one having ordinary skill in the art that Applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Claims 2-5 and 7-11 are rejected for the same reasons discussed above based on their dependency to claim 1.
Claims 13-16 and 21 are rejected for the same reasons discussed above based on their dependency to claim 12.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons above based on their dependency to claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scothern et al. (US 2017/0356347) in view of Kawata et al. (US 2011/0025010) and Kato et al. (US 6,298,962).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Scothern teaches an accessory gearbox (28) of an aircraft engine (Fig 1), comprising:
an accessory gearbox cover (58) mounted to the accessory gearbox (Figs 2-6), the accessory gearbox cover having an outer surface (Figs 2-6) with accessory mounts disposed thereon (for attachment of accessories via 59, 61);
a first accessory device (any one of 56) mounted to the accessory gearbox at a first mount of the accessory mounts (Figs 3-4);
a second accessory device (any other of 56) mounted to the accessory gearbox cover at a second mount of the accessory mounts (Figs 3-4), the second mount being spaced apart on the accessory gearbox cover from the first mount (Figs 3-4); and
a link member (62, 62A) dynamically coupling (Applicant does not provide a special definition for the term “dynamic coupling”; however, link member(s) 62, 62A comprise a linear structural cross member that secures the free end of the accessories to improve the dynamic characteristics of the accessory gearbox per [0059], just as Applicant’s link member may be a linear cross member that secures the free end of the accessories to “improv[e] the dynamic characteristics of the accessory gearbox” per [0017] and Figs 2-3 of Applicant’s Specification) the first accessory device to the second accessory device (Figs 3-4), the link member having an elongate body extending between a first end and a second end (Figs 3-4), the first end coupled to the first accessory device and the second end coupled to the second accessory device to mechanically interconnect the first and second accessory devices independent from the accessory gearbox cover (Figs 3-4). Scothern does not teach that the elongate body defines a first planar surface at the first end and a second planar surface at the second end, wherein a portion of the link member located between the first end and the second end is curved in a direction relative to the first planar surface and to the second planar surface of the elongate body, the portion of the link member being curved contiguous with the first planar surface at the first end and with the second planar surface at the second end.
Kawata teaches (Figures 1-27C) a link member (see Figures 8-9) having an elongate body (3) that defines a first planar surface (annotated below) at a first end (annotated below) and a second planar surface (annotated below) at a second end (annotated below), wherein a portion (at 32) of the link member (see Figures 8-9) located between the first end (annotated below) and the second end (annotated below) is curved (see Figures 8-9) in a direction relative to the first planar surface (annotated below) and to the second planar surface (annotated below) of the elongate body (3), the portion (at 32) of the link member (see Figures 8-9) being curved contiguous with (see Figures 8-9) the first planar surface (annotated below) at the first end (annotated below) and with the second planar surface (annotated below) at the second end (annotated below) to define a radius of curvature (at 32) relative to the first planar surface (annotated below) at the first end (annotated below) and at the second planar surface (annotated below) at the second end (annotated below). Kato also teaches (see Figures 1A, 4B, 5A, 6B, 7A) a curved portion (at 106, 107, 108) of a link member (102) that is contiguous with the first end and the second end (see Figures 1A, 4B, 5A, 6B, 7A) of the link member (102), wherein the curved portion allows for the facilitation of buckling of the member body to mitigate the impact of a collision (see Column 8, lines 14-28 of Kato).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scothern have the elongate body defines a first planar surface at the first end and a second planar surface at the second end, wherein a portion of the link member located between the first end and the second end is curved in a direction relative to the first planar surface and to the second planar surface of the elongate body, the portion of the link member being curved contiguous with the first planar surface at the first end and with the second planar surface at the second end, as taught by Kawata, in order to prevent interference with other members which enables more efficient mounting in terms of spacing (see Paragraph 0158 of Kawata) and to allow for the facilitation of buckling of the link member to mitigate the impact of a collision (see Column 8, lines 14-28 of Kato).
It is noted that the term “contiguous” is interpreted using the dictionary definitions “next or near in time or sequence” as defined by Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary and “touching; in contact” or “in close proximity without actually touching” as defined by dictionary.com.
Regarding Claim 2, Scothern in view of Kawata and Kato teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Scothern further teaches the link member (62, 62A) is secured to a furthest axial position on one of the first accessory device (56H or 56C) or the second accessory device (56E or 56A) from the accessory gearbox cover (58) relative to an axis extending normally from the accessory gearbox cover (see Figs 3-4).
Regarding claim 3, Scothern in view of Kawata and Kato teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Scothern further teaches a third accessory device (the three devices being three separate devices of the group 56A, 56C, 56E, 56G, 56H; note there is an error/discrepancy between Figs 3-4 and the Specification at [0054, 58], where Figs 3-4 name 56G and 56H while the Specification does not mention a 56H and mentions two 56G components as an electric generator and a fuel flow governor; 56H in Figs 3-4, being substantially visually similar to 56E in Figs 3-4, is interpreted to be the electric generator and 56G in Figs 3-4 is interpreted to be the fuel flow governor) mounted to the accessory gearbox cover at a third mount of the accessory mounts (Figs 3-4), wherein a heaviest of the first accessory device, the second accessory device or the third accessory device (electric generators 56E, 56H in Figs 3-4 is heaviest per [0009-0010, 21-22, 52, 56]) is coupled, via the link member (62) chosen from the link member or an additional link member (62A), to a lightest of the first accessory device, the second accessory device or the third accessory device (56H and 56E coupled to 56G in Fig 4, which is lighter/smaller than the electric generators per [0009-0010, 21-22, 52, 56]).
Regarding Claim 4, Scothern in view of Kawata and Kato teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Scothern further teaches a third accessory device (the three devices being three separate devices of the group 56A, 56C, 56E, 56G, 56H; note there is an error/discrepancy between Figs 3-4 and the Specification at [0054, 58], where Figs 3-4 name 56G and 56H while the Specification does not mention a 56H and mentions two 56G components as an electric generator and a fuel flow governor; 56H in Figs 3-4, being substantially visually similar to 56E in Figs 3-4, is interpreted to be the electric generator and 56G in Figs 3-4 is interpreted to be the fuel flow governor) mounted to the accessory gearbox cover at a third mount of the accessory mounts (Figs 3-4),wherein the two heaviest of the first accessory device, the second accessory device or the third accessory device (electric generators 56E and 56H per [0009-0010, 21-22, 52, 56]) are coupled together via the link member (62) selected from the group of the link member or an additional link member (62A).
Regarding Claim 5, Scothern in view of Kawata and Kato teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Scothern further teaches the elongate body of the link member extends substantially linearly from the first end to the second end (Figs 3-4).
Regarding Claim 7, Scothern in view of Kawata and Kato teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Scothern further teaches the link member may be made of a flexible material ([0063] teaches the link member may comprise aluminum, which is a flexible material when compared to steel).
Regarding claim 9, Scothern in view of Kawata and Kato teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Scothern further teaches the link member is removably coupled to the first accessory device and the second accessory device ([0063]).
Regarding claim 11, Scothern in view of Kawata and Kato teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Scothern in view of Kawata and Kato does not teach, as discussed so far, an additional link member, wherein the first accessory device is dynamically coupled to the second accessory device via the link member and the additional link member.
However, merely duplicating the existing link member (62 or 62A) of Scothern satisfies the claimed invention and MPEP2144.04(VI)(B) provides that mere duplication of parts was an obvious extension of prior art teachings when no new and unexpected results are produced. In this case, duplicating the link member (62, 62A) such that two of the link member connects the same two accessories provides the predictable results of additional strength and displacement reduction (among the other advantages discussed in [0059]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scothern in view of Kawata and Kato to duplicate the link member because MPEP2144.04(VI)(B) provides that mere duplication of parts was an obvious extension of prior art teachings for amplified, i.e. increased stiffness, increased strength, reduced displacements of the accessories, and reduced stresses induced within the accessory gearbox during extreme events (Scothern [0059]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scothern et al. (US 2017/0356347) in view of Kawata et al. (US 2011/0025010) and Kato et al. (US 6,298,962) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Manteiga et al. (US 6,330,985).
Regarding claim 8, Scothern in view of Kawata and Kato teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Scothern in view of Kawata and Kato does not teach, as discussed so far, a dynamic absorber including a mass disposed at a predetermined position along a length of the elongate body.
Manteiga teaches (Figures 1-5) a dynamic absorber (46, 146) including a mass disposed at a predetermined position along a length of the elongate body (see Figures 2-5 and Column 5, lines 5-12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scothern in view of Kawata and Kato to provide the link of Manteiga having a dynamic absorber including a mass disposed at a predetermined position along a length of the elongate body, in order to produce a link component having resonant frequencies that are not in proximity to engine excitation frequencies (see Column 4, lines 50-61 of Manteiga).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scothern et al. (US 2017/0356347) in view of Kawata et al. (US 2011/0025010) and Kato et al. (US 6,298,962) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Frost (US 2008/0127774).
Regarding claim 10, Scothern in view of Kawata and Kato teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Scothern further teaches one or more additional accessory devices (at least three and up to at least eight accessory devices disclosed in Figs 3-4) mounted to the accessory gearbox cover at one or more additional mounts of the accessory mounts (Figs 3-4). Scothern further teaches 56A may be a motor/starter ([0054]) and at least accessories 56E and 56F being adjacent the driveshaft (52) in Figs 3-4. Scothern in view of Kawata and Kato does not teach one or more additional link members, wherein the first accessory device is dynamically coupled to the second accessory device via the link member and to at least one or the one or more additional accessory devices via the one or more additional link members.
Frost teaches (Figures 1-7) an accessory gearbox (104) of an aircraft engine (102) comprising: an accessory gearbox cover (118) mounted to the accessory gearbox (104), the accessory gearbox cover (118) having an outer surface (see Figure 3) with accessory mounts disposed thereon (see Figure 3 and annotation below); an accessory device (108, 110, 160, 112; see Figure 3) of at least up to four accessory devices (see Figures 2-3) mounted to the accessory gearbox (104) at a mount of the at least up to four accessory mounts (see Figure 3 and annotation below); and an additional link member (see Figure 3 and annotation below), wherein the accessory device (108, 110, 160, or 112; see Figure 3) is dynamically coupled to the others of the up to at least four accessory devices via the additional link member (see Figure 3 and annotation below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scothern in view of Kawata and Kato to further include the additional link, as taught by Frost, since a simple substitution of one known element (in this case, the link assembly as taught by Scothern) for another (in this case, the link assembly as taught by Frost) to obtain predictable results (in this case, connecting accessories together) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 415-421, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
Note, Applicant does not provide a special definition for the term “dynamic coupling”. However, link member(s) 62, 62A comprise a linear structural cross member that secures the free end of the accessories to improve the dynamic characteristics of the accessory gearbox per [0059], just as Applicant’s link member may be a linear cross member that secures the free end of the accessories to “improv[e] the dynamic characteristics of the accessory gearbox” per [0017] and Figs 2-3 of Applicant’s Specification. Thus, Scothern in view of Kato and Frost is interpreted to read on the claim.
Claims 12-17, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scothern et al. (US 2017/0356347) in view of in view of Frost (US 2008/0127774), Kawata et al. (US 2011/0025010), Kato et al. (US 6,298,962), and Manteiga et al. (US 6,330,985).
Regarding Independent Claim 12, Scothern teaches an aircraft engine (Fig 1), comprising:
a main shaft (23) extending through a core (encased by 66) of the engine (Fig 1);
tower shaft (38) drivingly engaged to the main shaft at a first end of the tower shaft (Fig 1);
an accessory gearbox (28) disposed outside of the core of the engine (Fig 1),
the accessory gearbox drivingly engaged to the tower shaft at a second end of the tower shaft (Fig 1),
the accessory gearbox comprising an accessory gearbox cover (58) mounted to the accessory gearbox (Figs 2-6),
the accessory gearbox cover having an outer surface (Figs 2-6) with accessory mounts disposed thereon (for attachment of accessories via 59, 61);
a first accessory device (any one of 56) mounted to the accessory gearbox at a first mount of the accessory mounts (Figs 3-4);
a second accessory device (any other of 56) mounted to the accessory gearbox cover at a second mount of the accessory mounts (Figs 3-4), the second mount being spaced apart on the accessory gearbox cover from the first mount (Figs 3-4); and
a link member (62, 62A) dynamically coupling (Applicant does not provide a special definition for the term “dynamic coupling”; however, link member(s) 62, 62A comprise a linear structural cross member that secures the free end of the accessories to improve the dynamic characteristics of the accessory gearbox per [0059], just as Applicant’s link member may be a linear cross member that secures the free end of the accessories to “improv[e] the dynamic characteristics of the accessory gearbox” per [0017] and Figs 2-3 of Applicant’s Specification) the first accessory device to the second accessory device (Figs 3-4), the link member having an elongate body extending between a first end and a second end (Figs 3-4), the first end coupled to the first accessory device and the second end coupled to the second accessory device to mechanically interconnect the first and second accessory devices independent from the accessory gearbox cover (Figs 3-4), one or more additional accessory devices (at least three and up to at least eight accessory devices disclosed in Figs 3-4) mounted to the accessory gearbox cover at one or more additional mounts of the accessory mounts (Figs 3-4), wherein the first accessory device (one of 56H, 56G, or 56E) and the one or more additional accessory devices (any other of 56H, 56G, or 56E) are mechanically interconnected (via 62) independently from (see Figure 4) the accessory gearbox cover (58). Scothern further teaches 56A may be a motor/starter ([0054]) and at least accessories 56E and 56F being adjacent the driveshaft (52) in Figs 3-4.
Scothern does not teach one or more additional link members, wherein the first accessory device is dynamically coupled to the second accessory device via the link member and to at least one or the one or more additional accessory devices via the one or more additional link members to mechanically interconnect the first accessory device and the at least one of the one or more additional accessory devices, the link member having an elongate body of rectangular cross-section, the elongate body having a planar surface and including a bent portion defining a radius of curvature relative to the planar surface, or a dynamic absorber including a mass being disposed at a predetermined position along a length of the elongate body, the mass protruding from a surface of the elongate body.
Frost teaches (Figures 1-7) an accessory gearbox (104) of an aircraft engine (102) comprising: an accessory gearbox cover (118) mounted to the accessory gearbox (104), the accessory gearbox cover (118) having an outer surface (see Figure 3) with accessory mounts disposed thereon (see Figure 3 and annotation above); an accessory device (108, 110, 160, 112; see Figure 3) of at least up to four accessory devices (see Figures 2-3) mounted to the accessory gearbox (104) at a mount of the at least up to four accessory mounts (see Figure 3 and annotation above); and an additional link member (see Figure 3 and annotation above), wherein the accessory device (108, 110, 160, or 112; see Figure 3) is dynamically coupled to the others of the up to at least four accessory devices via the additional link member (see Figure 3 and annotation above), wherein the additional link members (see Figure 3 and annotation above) mechanically interconnect the first accessory device (one of 108, 110, 160, or 112; see Figure 3) and the at least one of the one or more additional accessory devices (another of 108, 110, 160, or 112; see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scothern to further include the additional link, as taught by Frost, since a simple substitution of one known element (in this case, the link assembly as taught by Scothern) for another (in this case, the link assembly as taught by Frost) to obtain predictable results (in this case, connecting two elements together) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 415-421, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B. Scothern in view of Frost does not teach, as discussed so far, the link member having an elongate body of rectangular cross-section, the elongate body having a planar surface and including a bent portion defining a radius of curvature relative to the planar surface, or a dynamic absorber including a mass being disposed at a predetermined position along a length of the elongate body, the mass protruding from a surface of the elongate body.
Kawata teaches (Figures 1-27C) a link member (see Figures 8-9) having an elongate body (3) of rectangular cross-section (see Paragraph 0102 and Figures 8-9), the elongate body (3) having a first planar surface (annotated above) at the first end (annotated above) and a second planar surface (annotated above) at the second end (annotated above), and including a bent portion (32) contiguous with (see Figure 9) the first planar surface (annotated above) at the first end (annotated above) and with the second planar surface (annotated above) at the second end (annotated above), the bent portion (32) defining a radius of curvature (at 32, see Figure 9) relative to the first planar surface (annotated above) at the first end (annotated above) and to the second planar surface (annotated above) at the second end (annotated above). Kato also teaches (see Figures 1A, 4B, 5A, 6B, 7A) a curved portion (at 106, 107, 108) of a link member (102) that is contiguous with the first end and the second end (see Figures 1A, 4B, 5A, 6B, 7A) of the link member (102), wherein the curved portion allows for the facilitation of buckling of the member body to mitigate the impact of a collision (see Column 8, lines 14-28 of Kato).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scothern in view of Frost to have the link member having an elongate body of rectangular cross-section, the elongate body having a planar surface and including a bent portion defining a radius of curvature relative to the planar surface, as taught by Kawata, in order to prevent interference with other members which enables more efficient mounting in terms of spacing (see Paragraph 0158 of Kawata) and to allow for the facilitation of buckling of the link member to mitigate the impact of a collision (see Column 8, lines 14-28 of Kato). Scothern in view of Frost, Kawata, and Kato does not teach, as discussed so far, a dynamic absorber including a mass being disposed at a predetermined position along a length of the elongate body, the mass protruding from a surface of the elongate body.
Manteiga teaches (Figures 1-5) a dynamic absorber (46, 146) including a mass disposed at a predetermined position along a length of the elongate body (see Figures 2-5 and Column 5, lines 5-12), the mass (46, 146) protruding from a surface of the elongate body (38, 138; see Figures 2-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scothern in view of Frost, Kawata, and Kato to provide the link of Manteiga having a dynamic absorber including a mass disposed at a predetermined position along a length of the elongate body, the mass protruding from a surface of the elongate body, in order to produce a link component having resonant frequencies that are not in proximity to engine excitation frequencies (see Column 4, lines 50-61 of Manteiga).
Note, Applicant does not provide a special definition for the term “dynamic coupling”. However, link member(s) 62, 62A comprise a linear structural cross member that secures the free end of the accessories to improve the dynamic characteristics of the accessory gearbox per [0059], just as Applicant’s link member may be a linear cross member that secures the free end of the accessories to “improv[e] the dynamic characteristics of the accessory gearbox” per [0017] and Figs 2-3 of Applicant’s Specification. Thus, Scothern in view of Frost is interpreted to read on the claim.
It is noted that the term “contiguous” is interpreted using the dictionary definitions “next or near in time or sequence” as defined by Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary and “touching; in contact” or “in close proximity without actually touching” as defined by dictionary.com.
Regarding claim 13, Scothern in view of Frost, Kawata, Kato, and Manteiga teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Scothern further teaches the link member is secured to a furthest axial position on one of the first accessory device or the second accessory device from the accessory gearbox cover relative to an axis extending normally from the accessory gearbox cover (Figs 3-4).
Regarding claim 14, Scothern in view of Frost, Kawata, Kato, and Manteiga teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Scothern further teaches an additional accessory device (the three devices being three separate devices of the group 56A, 56C, 56E, 56G, 56H; note there is an error/discrepancy between Figs 3-4 and the Specification at [0054, 58], where Figs 3-4 name 56G and 56H while the Specification does not mention a 56H and mentions two 56G components as an electric generator and a fuel flow governor; 56H in Figs 3-4, being substantially visually similar to 56E in Figs 3-4, is interpreted to be the electric generator and 56G in Figs 3-4 is interpreted to be the fuel flow governor) mounted to the accessory gearbox cover at an additional mount of the accessory mounts (Figs 3-4), wherein a heaviest of the first accessory device, the second accessory device or the additional accessory devices (electric generators 56E, 56H in Figs 3-4 is heaviest per [0009-0010, 21-22, 52, 56]) is coupled, via the link member (62) chosen from the link member or an additional link member (62A), to a lightest of the first accessory device, the second accessory device or the additional accessory devices (56H and 56E coupled to 56G in Fig 4, which is lighter/smaller than the electric generators per [0009-0010, 21-22, 52, 56]).
Regarding Claim 15, Scothern in view of Frost, Kawata, Kato, and Manteiga teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Scothern further teaches wherein the two heaviest of the first accessory device, the second accessory device or the one or more additional accessory devices (the three devices being three separate devices of the group 56A, 56C, 56E, 56G, 56H; note there is an error/discrepancy between Figs 3-4 and the Specification at [0054, 58], where Figs 3-4 name 56G and 56H while the Specification does not mention a 56H and mentions two 56G components as an electric generator and a fuel flow governor; 56H in Figs 3-4, being substantially visually similar to 56E in Figs 3-4, is interpreted to be the electric generator and 56G in Figs 3-4 is interpreted to be the fuel flow governor, the electric generators are 56E and 56H) are coupled together via the link member (62) selected from the group of the link member or an additional link member (62A).
Regarding claim 16, Scothern in view of Frost, Kawata, Kato, and Manteiga teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Scothern in view of Frost, Kawata, Kato, and Manteiga does not teach, as discussed so far, an additional link member, wherein the first accessory device is dynamically coupled to the accessory gearbox cover via the additional link member.
Frost teaches (Figures 1-7) an accessory gearbox (104) of an aircraft engine (102) comprising: an accessory gearbox cover (118) mounted to the accessory gearbox (104), the accessory gearbox cover (118) having an outer surface (see Figure 3) with accessory mounts disposed thereon (see Figure 3 and annotation above); an accessory device (108, 110, 160, 112; see Figure 3) of at least up to four accessory devices (see Figures 2-3) mounted to the accessory gearbox (104) at a mount of the at least up to four accessory mounts (see Figure 3 and annotation above); and an additional link member (see Figure 3 and annotation above), wherein the accessory device (108, 110, 160, or 112; see Figure 3) is dynamically coupled to the accessory gearbox cover (118) via the additional link member (see Figure 3 and annotation above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scothern in view of Frost, Kawata, Kato, and Manteiga to have the additional link, as taught by Frost, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 12.
Regarding Independent Claim 17, Scothern teaches a method for securing accessory devices (56) to an accessory gearbox (28) of an aircraft engine (Fig 1), comprising:
securing a first accessory (any one of 56) of the accessory devices to a cover (58) of the accessory gearbox at a first accessory mount disposed on an outer surface of the cover (for attachment of accessories via 59, 61);
securing a second accessory (any other one of 56) of the accessory devices to the cover of the accessory gearbox at a second accessory mount disposed on the outer surface of the cover (for attachment of accessories via 59, 61),
the second accessory mount spaced apart from the first accessory mount (Figs 2-4); and
dynamically coupling the first accessory to the second accessory via a mechanical interconnection (via 62, 62A) independent from the cover of the accessory gearbox (Figs 3-4), by securing a first end of a link member (62, 62A) to the first accessory and securing a second end of the link member to the second of the accessory devices (Figs 3-4),
securing a third accessory (another one of 56; see Figures 2-4) of the accessory devices to the cover (58) of the accessory gearbox (28) at a third accessory mount disposed on the outer surface of the cover (see Figures 3-4), wherein the third accessory (one of 56H, 56G, or 56E; see Figure 4) is coupled to (via 62) one of the first accessory (another of 56H, 56G, or 56E) or the second accessory (another of 56H, 56G, or 56E) independent from (see Figure 4) the cover (58) of the accessory gearbox (28).
Scothern does not teach that the link member has an elongate body of rectangular cross-section and having a planar surface, the elongate body including a bent portion defining a radius of curvature relative to the planar surface, dynamically coupling the third accessory to one of the first accessory or the second accessory via an additional link member, or installing a mass acting as a dynamic absorber at a predetermined position along a length of the link member, the mass protruding from a surface of the link member.
Frost teaches (Figures 1-7) an accessory gearbox (104) of an aircraft engine (102) comprising: an accessory gearbox cover (118) mounted to the accessory gearbox (104), the accessory gearbox cover (118) having an outer surface (see Figure 3) with accessory mounts disposed thereon (see Figure 3 and annotation above); an accessory device (108, 110, 160, 112; see Figure 3) of at least up to four accessory devices (see Figures 2-3) mounted to the accessory gearbox (104) at a mount of the at least up to four accessory mounts (see Figure 3 and annotation above); and an additional link member (see Figure 3 and annotation above), wherein the accessory device (108, 110, 160, or 112; see Figure 3) is dynamically coupled to the others of the up to at least four accessory devices via the additional link member (see Figure 3 and annotation above), wherein the additional link members (see Figure 3 and annotation above) mechanically interconnect the first accessory device (one of 108, 110, 160, or 112; see Figure 3) or the second accessory device (another of 108, 110, 160, or 112; see Figure 3) to a third accessory device (another of 108, 110, 160, or 112; see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scothern to include the additional link, as taught by Frost, since a simple substitution of one known element (in this case, the link assembly as taught by Scothern) for another (in this case, the link assembly as taught by Frost) to obtain predictable results (in this case, connecting accessories together) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 415-421, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B. Scothern in view of Frost does not teach, as discussed so far, the link member has an elongate body of rectangular cross-section and having a planar surface, the elongate body including a bent portion defining a radius of curvature relative to the planar surface, or installing a mass acting as a dynamic absorber at a predetermined position along a length of the link member, the mass protruding from a surface of the link member.
Kawata teaches (Figures 1-27C) a link member (see Figures 8-9) having an elongate body (3) of rectangular cross-section (see Paragraph 0102 and Figures 8-9), the elongate body (3) having a first planar surface (annotated above) at the first end (annotated above) and a second planar surface (annotated above) at the second end (annotated above), the elongate body (3) including a bent portion (32) contiguous with (see Figure 9) the first planar surface (annotated above) at the first end (annotated above) and with the second planar surface (annotated above) at the second end (annotated above), the bent portion (32) defining a radius of curvature (at 32) relative to the first planar surface (annotated above) at the first end (annotated above) and to the second planar surface (annotated above) at the second end (annotated above). Kato also teaches (see Figures 1A, 4B, 5A, 6B, 7A) a curved portion (at 106, 107, 108) of a link member (102) that is contiguous with the first end and the second end (see Figures 1A, 4B, 5A, 6B, 7A) of the link member (102), wherein the curved portion allows for the facilitation of buckling of the member body to mitigate the impact of a collision (see Column 8, lines 14-28 of Kato).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scothern in view of Frost to have the link member having an elongate body of rectangular cross-section, the elongate body having a planar surface and including a bent portion defining a radius of curvature relative to the planar surface, as taught by Kawata, in order to prevent interference with other members which enables more efficient mounting in terms of spacing (see Paragraph 0158 of Kawata) and to allow for the facilitation of buckling of the link member to mitigate the impact of a collision (see Column 8, lines 14-28 of Kato). Scothern in view of Frost, Kawata, and Kato does not teach, as discussed so far, installing a mass acting as a dynamic absorber at a predetermined position along a length of the link member, the mass protruding from a surface of the link member.
Manteiga teaches (Figures 1-5) installing (see Figures 2-5) a mass (46, 146) acting as a dynamic absorber at a predetermined position along a length of the link member (see Figures 2-5 and Column 5, lines 5-12), the mass (46, 146) protruding from a surface of the link member (38, 138; see Figures 2-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scothern in view of Frost, Kawata, and Kato to install a mass acting as a dynamic absorber at a predetermined position along a length of the link member, the mass protruding from a surface of the link member, as taught by Manteiga, in order to produce a link component having resonant frequencies that are not in proximity to engine excitation frequencies (see Column 4, lines 50-61 of Manteiga).
Note, Applicant does not provide a special definition for the term “dynamic coupling”. However, link member(s) 62, 62A comprise a linear structural cross member that secures the free end of the accessories to improve the dynamic characteristics of the accessory gearbox per [0059], just as Applicant’s link member may be a linear cross member that secures the free end of the accessories to “improv[e] the dynamic characteristics of the accessory gearbox” per [0017] and Figs 2-3 of Applicant’s Specification. Thus, Scothern in view of Frost, Kawata, Kato, and Manteiga is interpreted to read on the claim.
It is noted that the term “contiguous” is interpreted using the dictionary definitions “next or near in time or sequence” as defined by Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary and “touching; in contact” or “in close proximity without actually touching” as defined by dictionary.com.
Regarding Claim 19, Scothern in view of Frost, Kawata, Kato, and Manteiga teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Scothern further teaches dynamically coupling, via the link member, a heaviest of the first accessory, the second accessory or the third accessory (electric generators 56E, 56H in Figs 3-4 is heaviest per [0009-0010, 21-22, 52, 56]) to a lightest of the first accessory, the second accessory or the third accessory (56H and 56E coupled to 56G in Fig 4, which is lighter/smaller than the electric generators per [0009-0010, 21-22, 52, 56]).
Regarding Claim 21, Scothern in view of Frost, Kawata, Kato, and Manteiga teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Scothern in view of Frost, Kawata, Kato, and Manteiga does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the mass of the dynamic absorber is distinct from and operatively coupled to the elongate body at the predetermined position.
Manteiga teaches (Figures 1-5) that the mass (146) of the dynamic absorber is distinct from and operatively coupled to (via 60) the elongate body (at 138) at the predetermined position (by positioning the mass at or between vibration mode antinodes; see Column 5, lines 5-12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scothern in view of Frost, Kawata, Kato, and Manteiga to have the mass of the dynamic absorber be distinct from and operatively coupled to the elongate body at the predetermined position, as taught by Manteiga, in order to allow the designer the flexibility to reposition undesirable resonant modes with little effect on other acceptably placed modes by placing the mass at or between vibration mode antinodes (see Column 5, lines 5-12 of Manteiga).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Kawata does not teach that the curvature of the curved portion is not located at first and second ends and, instead, a noticeable gap exists between the locations of the radii of curvature and the first and second ends. In response, it is initially noted that Applicant’s drawings (see annotation above) do not show and the specification does not describe “the portion of the link member being curved contiguous with the first planar surface at the first end and with the second planar surface at the second end to define a radius of curvature relative to the first planar surface at the first end and relative to the second planar surface at the second end” as required by claim 1, “the elongate body including a bent portion contiguous with the first planar surface at the first end and with the second planar surface at the second end, the bent portion defining a radius of curvature relative to the first planar surface at the first end and to the second planar surface at the second end” as required by claim 12, and the “elongate body including a bent portion contiguous with the first planar surface at the first end and with the second planar surface at the second end, the bent portion defining a radius of curvature relative to the first planar surface at the first end and to the second planar surface at the second end” as required by claim 17. On the contrary, Applicant’s drawings show that the first and second planar surfaces are not located at first and second ends. Rather, in the same way as recognized by Applicant with the prior art reference, a noticeable gap exists between the locations of these radii of curvature and the first and second ends, respectively. Therefore, no support can be found in Applicant’s originally filed disclosure for the amended independent claims.
It is further noted that Kawata teaches (Figures 1-27C) a link member (see Figures 8-9) having an elongate body (3) that defines a first planar surface (annotated below) at a first end (annotated below) and a second planar surface (annotated below) at a second end (annotated below), wherein a portion (at 32) of the link member (see Figures 8-9) located between the first end (annotated below) and the second end (annotated below) is curved (see Figures 8-9) in a direction relative to the first planar surface (annotated below) and to the second planar surface (annotated below) of the elongate body (3), the portion (at 32) of the link member (see Figures 8-9) being curved contiguous with (see Figures 8-9) the first planar surface (annotated below) at the first end (annotated below) and with the second planar surface (annotated below) at the second end (annotated below) to define a radius of curvature (at 32) relative to the first planar surface (annotated below) at the first end (annotated below) and at the second planar surface (annotated below) at the second end (annotated below).
Moreover, the profile of the bent portion shown in Kawata’s Figure 9 is substantially identical to the profile of Applicant’s Figure 4. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741