Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 16-17 & 20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Independent claims 1 & 16 have been amended to recite “an upper connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a first group of adjacent slits; a middle connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit; and a lower connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one metal slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern”. Both the claims also recite that all the connection bars were formed in a common layer with the plurality of slits. So clearly there is no connection bar which is at an upper level or at a lower level compared to the other connection bars. So, the term “upper connection bar“ or “lower connection bar“ is not reflective of the claimed invention. Appropriate correction/clarification is requested.
Claims 2-6, 17 & 20 inherit the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112, 2nd paragraph (pre-AIA ) rejections based on their dependencies on either claim 1 or claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 16, 20-22, 24-25 & 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ho et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0134964 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ho et al. discloses an apparatus comprising: a substrate of a first conductivity (Par. 0015-0016; Figs. 1-2 – substrate 102 (first conductivity)); a drift layer of a second conductivity formed over the substrate (Par. 0017; Figs. 1-2 – drift layer114 (second conductivity));
a body region of the first conductivity formed in the drift layer (Par. 0017; Figs. 1-2 – body region 103 (first conductivity)); a source region of the second conductivity formed in the body region (Par. 0017; Figs. 1-2 – source region 104 (second conductivity)); a drain region of the second conductivity formed in the drift layer (Par. 0017; Figs. 1-2 – drain region 106 (second conductivity)); a gate dielectric layer formed over the body region and the drift layer (Par. 0017; Figs. 1-2 – gate dielectric 110);
a gate formed over the gate dielectric layer (Par. 0017; Figs. 1-2 –gate 108); a first dielectric layer extending from a top surface of the drift layer to a top surface of the gate (Par. 0017-0019; Figs. 1-2 – first dielectric layer comprising layer 124); and a field plate slit structure formed over the first dielectric layer, wherein the field plate slit structure comprises a plurality of slits (Par. 0015-0022; Figs. 1-2 – field plate slit structure 122 includes plurality of field plate vias 122a-d). Ho et al. does not explicitly disclose
the plurality of slits is connected to each other through a plurality of connection bars formed in a common layer with the plurality of slits; an upper connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a first group of adjacent slits; a middle connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit; and a lower connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one metal slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern.
So, let’s look at the similarities and differences between the instant claim and the disclosures of the prior art of Ho et al. in more detail. Like the instant claim, Ho et al. teaches a substrate, a drift layer, a body region, a source region in the body region, a drain region in the drift layer, a gate dielectric over the body region and the drift layer, a gate formed over the gate dielectric layer, a dielectric layer extending from a top surface of the drift layer to a top surface of the gate; and a field plate slit structure formed over the dielectric layer, wherein the field plate slit structure comprises a plurality of slits. The only difference between the instant claim and the prior art of Ho et al. is in how these plurality of slits are connected to each other. Whereas the instant claim teaches connecting the plurality of silts through multiple connection bars all formed in a common layer with the plurality of slits, Ho et al., teaches connecting the plurality of slits through a single connection bar formed above the plurality of slits. Although the instant claim is different in this respect from the prior art of Ho et al., the inventors have not claimed/disclosed any critical advantages that could be derived using the recited arrangement of connecting the plurality of slits. Ho et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the apparatus, comprising: the plurality of slits is connected to each other through a plurality of connection bars formed in a common layer with the plurality of slits; an upper connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a first group of adjacent slits; a middle connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit; and a lower connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one metal slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adapt the the apparatus, comprising: the plurality of slits is connected to each other through a plurality of connection bars formed in a common layer with the plurality of slits; an upper connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a first group of adjacent slits; a middle connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit; and a lower connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one metal slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern, since applicant has not disclosed that this particular arrangement solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the arrangement disclosed by the prior art of Ho et al..
In other words, the claimed arrangement of connecting the plurality of slits would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skills in the art since it merely involves a predictable variation that would have yielded the same result. Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed. The modification does not result in a novel or unobvious function, operation or result, and merely represents one of a finite number of predictable solutions to a known problem.
Regarding Claim 5, Ho et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the apparatus, wherein: the first conductivity is p-type; and the second conductivity is n-type (Par. 0016).
Regarding Claim 6, Ho et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the apparatus, wherein: the first dielectric layer is a silicide block layer (under BRI).
Regarding Claim 16, Ho et al. discloses a device comprising: a first drain/source region and a second drain/source region formed over a substrate (Par. 0017; Figs. 1-2 – first drain/source region 104 and second drain/source region 106, substrate 102 ); a gate formed over the substrate and between the first drain/source region and the second drain/source region (Par. 0017; Figs. 1-2 – gate comprising gate electrode 108); an interlayer dielectric layer formed over the gate, the first drain/source region and the second drain/source region (Par. 0018; Figs. 1-2 – interlayer dielectric layer 118); and a plurality of contact plugs and a field plate slit structure formed in the interlayer dielectric layer, wherein the field plate slit structure comprises a plurality of slits (Par. 0015-0022; Figs. 1-2 – gate dielectric 110; contact plugs 120; field plate slit structure 122 includes plurality of field plate vias 122a-d). Ho et al. does not explicitly disclose
the plurality of slits is connected to each other through a plurality of connection bars formed in a layer in which the plurality of slits is formed; an upper connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a first group of adjacent slits; a middle connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit; and a lower connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one metal slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern.
So, let’s look at the similarities and differences between the instant claim and the disclosures of the prior art of Ho et al. in more detail. Like the instant claim, Ho et al. teaches a substrate, a drift layer, a body region, a source region in the body region, a drain region in the drift layer, a gate dielectric over the body region and the drift layer, a gate formed over the gate dielectric layer, a dielectric layer extending from a top surface of the drift layer to a top surface of the gate; and a field plate slit structure formed over the dielectric layer, wherein the field plate slit structure comprises a plurality of slits. The only difference between the instant claim and the prior art of Ho et al. is in how these plurality of slits are connected to each other. Whereas the instant claim teaches connecting the plurality of silts through multiple connection bars all formed in a common layer with the plurality of slits, Ho et al., teaches connecting the plurality of slits through a single connection bar formed above the plurality of slits. Although the instant claim is different in this respect from the prior art of Ho et al., the inventors have not claimed/disclosed any critical advantages that could be derived using the recited arrangement of connecting the plurality of slits. Ho et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the apparatus, comprising: the plurality of slits is connected to each other through a plurality of connection bars formed in a layer in which the plurality of slits is formed; an upper connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a first group of adjacent slits; a middle connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit; and a lower connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one metal slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adapt the apparatus, comprising: the plurality of slits is connected to each other through a plurality of connection bars formed in a layer in which the plurality of slits is formed; an upper connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a first group of adjacent slits; a middle connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit; and a lower connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one metal slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern, since applicant has not disclosed that this particular arrangement solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the arrangement disclosed by the prior art of Ho et al..
In other words, the claimed arrangement of connecting the plurality of slits would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skills in the art since it merely involves a predictable variation that would have yielded the same result. Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed. The modification does not result in a novel or unobvious function, operation or result, and merely represents one of a finite number of predictable solutions to a known problem.
Regarding Claim 20, Ho et al., as applied to claim 16, discloses
the device, wherein: the first drain/source region is a source region (Par. 0017; Figs. 1-2 – source region 104); and the second drain/source region is a drain region (Par. 0017; Figs. 1-2 – drain region 106).
Regarding Claim 21, Ho et al. discloses
a device comprising: a substrate of a first conductivity (Par. 0015-0016; Figs. 1-2 – substrate 102 (first conductivity)); a drift layer of a second conductivity formed over the substrate (Par. 0017; Figs. 1-2 – drift layer114 (second conductivity)); a body region of the first conductivity formed in the drift layer (Par. 0017; Figs. 1-2 – body region 103 (first conductivity)); a source region of the second conductivity formed in the body region (Par. 0017; Figs. 1-2 – source region 104 (second conductivity)); a drain region of the second conductivity laterally spaced from the source region (Par. 0017; Figs. 1-2 – drain region 106 (second conductivity)); a gate dielectric over the body region and the drift layer (Par. 0017; Figs. 1-2 – gate dielectric 110); a gate electrode on the gate dielectric (Par. 0017; Figs. 1-2 –gate 108); a silicide-block dielectric layer extending from a top surface of the drift layer to a top surface of the gate electrode (Par. 0017-0019; Figs. 1-2 – first dielectric layer comprising layer 124); and a field-plate slit structure on the silicide-block dielectric layer, the field-plate slit structure comprising: a plurality of parallel metal slits oriented along a channel direction extending between the source and drain regions (Par. 0015-0022; Figs. 1-2 – field plate slit structure 122 includes plurality of field plate vias 122a-d), a connection bar electrically connecting the slits (Par. 0015-0022; Figs. 1-2). Ho et al. does not explicitly disclose
a first connection bar electrically connecting left ends of a first group of adjacent slits, a second connection bar electrically connecting right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit, and a third connection bar electrically connecting left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern, and wherein the connection bars are formed in a layer in which the plurality of parallel metal slits is formed
So, let’s look at the similarities and differences between the instant claim and the disclosures of the prior art of Ho et al. in more detail. Like the instant claim, Ho et al. teaches a substrate, a drift layer, a body region, a source region in the body region, a drain region in the drift layer, a gate dielectric over the body region and the drift layer, a gate formed over the gate dielectric layer, a dielectric layer extending from a top surface of the drift layer to a top surface of the gate; and a field plate slit structure formed over the dielectric layer, wherein the field plate slit structure comprises a plurality of slits. The only difference between the instant claim and the prior art of Ho et al. is in how these plurality of slits are connected to each other. Whereas the instant claim teaches connecting the plurality of silts through multiple connection bars all formed in a common layer with the plurality of slits, Ho et al., teaches connecting the plurality of slits through a single connection bar formed above the plurality of slits. Although the instant claim is different in this respect from the prior art of Ho et al., the inventors have not claimed/disclosed any critical advantages that could be derived using the recited arrangement of connecting the plurality of slits. Ho et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the device, comprising: a first connection bar electrically connecting left ends of a first group of adjacent slits, a second connection bar electrically connecting right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit, and a third connection bar electrically connecting left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern, and wherein the connection bars are formed in a layer in which the plurality of parallel metal slits is formed. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adapt the device, comprising: a first connection bar electrically connecting left ends of a first group of adjacent slits, a second connection bar electrically connecting right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit, and a third connection bar electrically connecting left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern, and wherein the connection bars are formed in a layer in which the plurality of parallel metal slits is formed, since applicant has not disclosed that this particular arrangement solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the arrangement disclosed by the prior art of Ho et al..
In other words, the claimed arrangement of connecting the plurality of slits would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skills in the art since it merely involves a predictable variation that would have yielded the same result. Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed. The modification does not result in a novel or unobvious function, operation or result, and merely represents one of a finite number of predictable solutions to a known problem.
Regarding Claim 22, modified Ho et al., as applied to claim 21, discloses
the device, wherein: the first conductivity is p-type (Par. 0016); and the second conductivity is n-type (Par. 0016).
Regarding Claim 24, modified Ho et al., as applied to claim 21, discloses
the device, wherein: each of the plurality of parallel metal slits has a width identical to a standard contact- plug width defined by a process node used to fabricate the device (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 25, modified Ho et al., as applied to claim 21, discloses
the device, wherein: the plurality of parallel metal slits is arranged symmetrically about a middle parallel metal slit of the plurality of parallel metal slits (Figs. 1-3 - implied).
Regarding Claim 28, modified Ho et al., as applied to claim 21, discloses
the device, wherein: the silicide-block dielectric layer is configured to prevent silicide formation on a portion of the gate electrode covered by the silicide-block dielectric layer (Figs. 1-2 - implied in light of the silicides shown in Fig. 8).
Claims 1-6, 16-17, & 20-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lee et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0344479 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee et al. discloses an apparatus comprising: a substrate of a first conductivity (Par. 0073-0074; Figs. 4-5 – substrate 110 (first conductivity)); a drift layer of a second conductivity formed over the substrate (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 – drift layer200 (second conductivity)); a body region of the first conductivity formed in the drift layer (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 – body region 250 (first conductivity)); a source region of the second conductivity formed in the body region (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 – source region 450 (second conductivity)); a drain region of the second conductivity formed in the drift layer (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 - drain region 410 (second conductivity));
a gate dielectric layer formed over the body region and the drift layer (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 – gate dielectric 310); a gate formed over the gate dielectric layer (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 – gate 300); a first dielectric layer extending from a top surface of the drift layer to a top surface of the gate (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 – first dielectric layer 600); and a field plate slit structure formed over the first dielectric layer, wherein the field plate slit structure comprises a plurality of slits (Par. 0073-0075 & 0101-0102; Figs. 4-5 – field plate slit structure 700 includes plurality of field plate segments).
Lee et al. does not explicitly disclose
the plurality of slits is connected to each other through a plurality of connection bars formed in a common layer with the plurality of slits; an upper connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a first group of adjacent slits; a middle connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit; and a lower connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one metal slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern.
So, let’s look at the similarities and differences between the instant claim and the disclosures of the prior art of Lee et al. in more detail. Like the instant claim, Lee et al. teaches a substrate, a drift layer, a body region, a source region in the body region, a drain region in the drift layer, a gate dielectric over the body region and the drift layer, a gate formed over the gate dielectric layer, a dielectric layer extending from a top surface of the drift layer to a top surface of the gate; and a field plate slit structure formed over the dielectric layer, wherein the field plate slit structure comprises a plurality of slits. The only difference between the instant claim and the prior art of Lee et al. is in how these plurality of slits are connected to each other. Whereas the instant claim teaches connecting the plurality of silts through multiple connection bars all formed in a common layer with the plurality of slits, Lee et al., teaches connecting the plurality of slits through a single connection bar formed above the plurality of slits. Although the instant claim is different in this respect from the prior art of Lee et al., the inventors have not claimed/disclosed any critical advantages that could be derived using the recited arrangement of connecting the plurality of slits. Lee et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the apparatus, comprising: the plurality of slits is connected to each other through a plurality of connection bars formed in a common layer with the plurality of slits; an upper connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a first group of adjacent slits; a middle connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit; and a lower connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one metal slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adapt the apparatus, comprising: the plurality of slits is connected to each other through a plurality of connection bars formed in a common layer with the plurality of slits; an upper connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a first group of adjacent slits; a middle connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit; and a lower connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one metal slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern, since applicant has not disclosed that this particular arrangement solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the arrangement disclosed by the prior art of Lee et al..
In other words, the claimed arrangement of connecting the plurality of slits would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skills in the art since it merely involves a predictable variation that would have yielded the same result. Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed. The modification does not result in a novel or unobvious function, operation or result, and merely represents one of a finite number of predictable solutions to a known problem.
Regarding Claim 2, Lee et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the apparatus, wherein: the plurality of slits is connected to the source region through a metal line formed over the plurality of slits (Par. 0073-0075 & 0101-0102; Figs. 4-5 – metal line 810).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses the apparatus, further comprising: a buried layer of the second conductivity between the substrate and the drift layer (Par. 0073-0075 & 0101-0102; Figs. 4-5 – buried layer 130 (second conductivity));
a second dielectric layer formed over the gate (Par. 0073-0075 & 0101-0102; Figs. 4-5 – second dielectric layer 650); and a source contact plug, the plurality of slits and a drain contact plug formed in the second dielectric layer, and wherein the source contact plug, the plurality of slits and the drain contact plug are formed of a same conductive material (Par. 0073-0075, 0101-0102 & 0126; Figs. 4-5 – source contact plug 710, field plate 700 with plurality of slits, drain contact plug 750).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the apparatus, further comprising: a body contact of the first conductivity formed in the body region, wherein the body contact and the source region are electrically connected to each other (Par. 0070-0073 & 0101-0102; Figs. 4-5 –body contact 430).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the apparatus, wherein: the first conductivity is p-type (Par. 0073-0075); and the second conductivity is n-type (Par. 0073-0075).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the apparatus, wherein: the first dielectric layer is a silicide block layer (Par. 0073).
Regarding Claim 16, Lee et al. discloses a device comprising: a first drain/source region and a second drain/source region formed over a substrate (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 – first drain/source region 450 and second drain/source region 410, substrate 110); a gate formed over the substrate and between the first drain/source region and the second drain/source region (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 – gate 300); an interlayer dielectric layer formed over the gate, the first drain/source region and the second drain/source region (Par. 0073-0075 & 0101-0102; Figs. 4-5 – interlayer dielectric layer 650); and a plurality of contact plugs and a field plate slit structure formed in the interlayer
dielectric layer, wherein the field plate slit structure comprises a plurality of slits (Par. 0073-0075, 0101-0102 & 0126; Figs. 4-5 – source contact plug 710, field plate 700 with plurality of slits, drain contact plug 750).
Lee et al. does not explicitly disclose
the plurality of slits is connected to each other through a plurality of connection bars formed in a layer in which the plurality of slits is formed; an upper connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a first group of adjacent slits; a middle connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit; and a lower connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one metal slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern.
So, let’s look at the similarities and differences between the instant claim and the disclosures of the prior art of Lee et al. in more detail. Like the instant claim, Lee et al. teaches a substrate, a drift layer, a body region, a source region in the body region, a drain region in the drift layer, a gate dielectric over the body region and the drift layer, a gate formed over the gate dielectric layer, a dielectric layer extending from a top surface of the drift layer to a top surface of the gate; and a field plate slit structure formed over the dielectric layer, wherein the field plate slit structure comprises a plurality of slits. The only difference between the instant claim and the prior art of Lee et al. is in how the plurality of slits are connected to each other. Whereas the instant claim teaches connecting the plurality of silts through multiple connection bars all formed in a common layer with the plurality of slits, Lee et al., teaches connecting the plurality of slits through a single connection bar formed above the plurality of slits. Although the instant claim is different in this respect from the prior art of Lee et al., the inventors have not claimed/disclosed any critical advantages that could be derived using the recited arrangement of connecting the plurality of slits. Lee et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the apparatus, comprising: the plurality of slits is connected to each other through a plurality of connection bars formed in a layer in which the plurality of slits is formed; an upper connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a first group of adjacent slits; a middle connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit; and a lower connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one metal slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adapt the apparatus, comprising: the plurality of slits is connected to each other through a plurality of connection bars formed in a layer in which the plurality of slits is formed; an upper connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a first group of adjacent slits; a middle connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit; and a lower connection bar of the plurality of connection bars electrically connects left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one metal slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern, since applicant has not disclosed that this particular arrangement solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the arrangement disclosed by the prior art of Lee et al..
In other words, the claimed arrangement of connecting the plurality of slits would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skills in the art since it merely involves a predictable variation that would have yielded the same result. Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed. The modification does not result in a novel or unobvious function, operation or result, and merely represents one of a finite number of predictable solutions to a known problem.
Regarding Claim 17, Lee et al., as applied to claim 16, discloses the device, further comprising: a buried layer and an epitaxial layer over the substrate (Par. 0073-0075 & 0101-0102; Figs. 4-5 – buried layer 130 (second conductivity); epitaxial layer 150);
a drift layer over the epitaxial layer, wherein the second drain/source region is a drain region formed in the drift layer (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 – drift layer200 (second conductivity)); a body region in the drift layer, wherein the first drain/source region is in the body region (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 – body region 250 (first conductivity)); and a body contact formed in the body region, wherein the body contact and the first drain/source region are electrically connected to each other (Par. 0070-0073 & 0101-0102; Figs. 4-5 –body contact 430).
Regarding Claim 20, Lee et al., as applied to claim 16, discloses
the device, wherein: the first drain/source region is a source region (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 – source region 450); and the second drain/source region is a drain region (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 – drain region 410).
Regarding Claim 21, Lee et al. discloses
a device comprising: a substrate of a first conductivity (Par. 0073-0074; Figs. 4-5 – substrate 110 (first conductivity)); a drift layer of a second conductivity formed over the substrate (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 – drift layer200 (second conductivity)); a body region of the first conductivity formed in the drift layer (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 – body region 250 (first conductivity)); a source region of the second conductivity formed in the body region (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 – source region 450 (second conductivity)); a drain region of the second conductivity laterally spaced from the source region (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 - drain region 410 (second conductivity));
a gate dielectric over the body region and the drift layer (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 – gate dielectric 310); a gate electrode on the gate dielectric (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 – gate 300); a silicide-block dielectric layer extending from a top surface of the drift layer to a top surface of the gate electrode (Par. 0073-0075; Figs. 4-5 – silicide-block dielectric layer 600); and a field-plate slit structure on the silicide-block dielectric layer (Par. 0073-0075 & 0101-0102; Figs. 4-5 – field plate slit structure 700 includes plurality of field plate segments), the field-plate slit structure comprising:
a plurality of parallel metal slits oriented along a channel direction extending between the source and drain regions (Fig. 5), a connection bar electrically connecting the slits (Par. 0073-0075 & 0101-0102; Figs. 4-5 – connection bar 810).
Lee et al. does not explicitly disclose
a first connection bar electrically connecting left ends of a first group of adjacent slits, a second connection bar electrically connecting right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit, and a third connection bar electrically connecting left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern, and wherein the connection bars are formed in a layer in which the plurality of parallel metal slits is formed
So, let’s look at the similarities and differences between the instant claim and the disclosures of the prior art of Lee et al. in more detail. Like the instant claim, Lee et al. teaches a substrate, a drift layer, a body region, a source region in the body region, a drain region in the drift layer, a gate dielectric over the body region and the drift layer, a gate formed over the gate dielectric layer, a dielectric layer extending from a top surface of the drift layer to a top surface of the gate; and a field plate slit structure formed over the dielectric layer, wherein the field plate slit structure comprises a plurality of slits. The only difference between the instant claim and the prior art of Lee et al. is in how the plurality of slits are connected to each other. Whereas the instant claim teaches connecting the plurality of silts through multiple connection bars all formed in a common layer with the plurality of slits, Lee et al., teaches connecting the plurality of slits through a single connection bar formed above the plurality of slits. Although the instant claim is different in this respect from the prior art of Lee et al., the inventors have not claimed/disclosed any critical advantages that could be derived using the recited arrangement of connecting the plurality of slits. Lee et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the device, comprising: a first connection bar electrically connecting left ends of a first group of adjacent slits, a second connection bar electrically connecting right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit, and a third connection bar electrically connecting left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern, and wherein the connection bars are formed in a layer in which the plurality of parallel metal slits is formed. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adapt the device, comprising: a first connection bar electrically connecting left ends of a first group of adjacent slits, a second connection bar electrically connecting right ends of a second group of adjacent slits that overlaps the first group by one slit, and a third connection bar electrically connecting left ends of a third group of adjacent slits that overlaps the second group by one slit, thereby forming an alternating left-right-left electrical connection pattern, and wherein the connection bars are formed in a layer in which the plurality of parallel metal slits is formed, since applicant has not disclosed that this particular arrangement solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the arrangement disclosed by the prior art of Lee et al..
In other words, the claimed arrangement of connecting the plurality of slits would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skills in the art since it merely involves a predictable variation that would have yielded the same result. Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed. The modification does not result in a novel or unobvious function, operation or result, and merely represents one of a finite number of predictable solutions to a known problem.
Regarding Claim 22, modified Lee et al., as applied to claim 21, discloses
the device, wherein: the first conductivity is p-type (Par. 0073-0075); and the second conductivity is n-type (Par. 0073-0075).
Regarding Claim 23, modified Lee et al., as applied to claim 21, discloses
the device, wherein: the plurality of parallel metal slits comprises seven parallel metal slits (Par. 0022, 0073-0075, 0102; Fig. 5 – this Fig. shows nine parallel metal slits; but it explicitly teaches that it can be two or more segments; clearly this includes possibility of having seven parallel metal slits instead of nine shown in Fig. 5); and the three connection bars are integrally formed of the same conductive material used for source, drain and body contact plugs (Par. 0102).
Regarding Claim 24, modified Lee et al., as applied to claim 21, discloses
the device, wherein: each of the plurality of parallel metal slits has a width identical to a standard contact- plug width defined by a process node used to fabricate the device (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 25, modified Lee et al., as applied to claim 21, discloses
the device, wherein: the plurality of parallel metal slits is arranged symmetrically about a middle parallel metal slit of the plurality of parallel metal slits (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 26, modified Lee et al., as applied to claim 21, discloses
the device, wherein: the field-plate slit structure is electrically connected to the source region ((Par. 0073-0075 & 0101-0102; Figs. 4-5).
Regarding Claim 27, modified Lee et al., as applied to claim 21, discloses
the device, further comprising: a buried layer of the second conductivity between the substrate and the drift layer (Par. 0073-0075 & 0101-0102; Figs. 4-5 – buried layer 130 (second conductivity))
Regarding Claim 28, modified Lee et al., as applied to claim 21, discloses
the device, wherein: the silicide-block dielectric layer is configured to prevent silicide formation on a portion of the gate electrode covered by the silicide-block dielectric layer (Par. 0123).
Regarding Claim 29, modified Lee et al., as applied to claim 21, discloses
the device, wherein: the plurality of parallel metal slits and the three connection bars are integrally formed with contact plugs by filling openings for each with a conductive material and planarizing (Par. 0126 in light of rejection of claim 21).
Regarding Claim 30, modified Lee et al., as applied to claim 21, discloses
the device, wherein: the plurality of parallel metal slits comprises seven parallel metal slits, and wherein from a top view, a middle line of a fourth parallel metal silt is aligned with a middle line of the gate electrode (Par. 0022, 0073-0075, 0102; Fig. 5 – this Fig. shows nine parallel metal slits; but it explicitly teaches that it can be two or more slits; clearly this includes possibility of having seven parallel metal slits instead of nine shown in Fig. 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 31 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 09/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot because of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments made to the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
10/18/2025
/SYED I GHEYAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893